One flew over the Cuckoo's nest (Read 1204 times)

Re: One flew over the Cuckoo's nest
Reply #15 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:34pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Oct 19th, 2023 at 10:28pm:
I heard recently that the author of OFOTCN, Ken Kesey, based his novel on an analogy for communism vs democracy.

I bet we heard that in the same place.

Reply #16 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:48pm

Jasin wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:32pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 5:27pm:
The movie is about a lousy mental institution that does more harm than good.

Just because you're in a country where the Medical Industry is an Alpha female, Beta male 'western' style too and you're insecure to put your faith in an Alpha female 'professionally' for any medical problems you may have.
Your only choice is to go to the 4 other regions where Alpha males run the Medical Show.

You get what you pay for.

That makes me feel very peculiar:

MeisterEckhart

Reply #17 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:49pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:34pm:
I heard recently that the author of OFOTCN, Ken Kesey, based his novel on an analogy for communism vs democracy.

I bet we heard that in the same place.

Ha ha! Maybe! Jimmy and Joe!

Reply #18 - Oct 21st, 2023 at 1:12pm

Jasin wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:34pm:
I see your point Ausgeoff.
Maybe I'm missing the 'humorous' application of Nurse Ratched being the villain.
If this is the case - then I think the movie and story are just 'diabolical' like the mind of the Murphy character and his sense of humour.
That's something I find hard to relate to as humour. My flaw.

Nope.  It's not a "flaw" at all mate.  We—all of us—often
hold vastly different views of movies.  And all perfectly valid.

I read the book by Ken Kesey, which may've helped to clarify
the battle between the convicted rapist (of a 15-year-old girl)
McMurphy and WWII army nurse Ratched, and the system
(represented here by Ratched). Ratched's worst crime was
to try and turn the patients against each other in order to
destroy McMurphy as a self-proclaimed champion for the rights
of the other men.

Of interest, in the film, Ratched was a much more interesting,
more ambiguous character than in Kesey's novel.

Reply #19 - Oct 21st, 2023 at 1:35pm

Well as someone who has worked in the Mental Health system.
The writer of One Flew Over the Cuckoo Nest would be considered 'deeply disturbed' in his incorrect assessment of the Health System.
It's that, or the Writer considers the American Health System a farce, evil, etc - because he's just a sook Beta male who can't cope that the Western Health System is a bastion of the Alpha Female.
It's like watching Australian male sportsman trying to 'jump rank' against the more 'professional' female sportswomen that don't suffer scandals, drugs, alcohol and other 'Beta' traits like the males do.

So you've just confirmed my assessment that the Story is a Beta Male sook about the unwillingness to conform to the Alpha Female's way of doing things in the Health System.

If you couldn't cope with a woman like Ratched in the Health System - then there is definitely something wrong with you indeed.  Grin I've worked with plenty like her. They do a great 'disciplined' job. The Freeloaders in the Public system would whinge and whine. But those who pay for Private Mental Health would call her a 'friend' indeed.

It's just a movie about an arsehole male patient who wouldn't and couldn't allow a Female Nurse to do her job - because in his mind, he was boss of the Ward and the Patients, not her. Thus the terrible conflict and outcome.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #20 - Oct 21st, 2023 at 1:45pm

Jasin wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 1:35pm:
Well as someone who has worked in the Mental Health system.

That would give you an insight into the movie others wouldn't have.

What's your take on Ratched's motivation that drives her to threaten Bibbit?

Reply #21 - Oct 21st, 2023 at 1:46pm

I've never heard that.    Source please.

The inspiration for "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest"
came while Kesey was working the night shift at the
Menlo Park Veterans' Hospital in CA. There, Kesey often
spent time talking to the psychiatric patients, sometimes
under the influence of the CIA-supplied hallucinogenic
drugs he'd volunteered to experiment with.

He didn't believe those patients were insane, but rather
that society had pushed them out because they didn't
fit conventional ideas of how people were supposed to
act and behave.

Fun fact...    Kesey was also a sometimes mentor of The
Grateful Dead, and performed with them.

Ken Kesey’s Acid Test:

Reply #22 - Oct 21st, 2023 at 1:56pm

...It's that, or the Writer considers the American Health System a farce, evil, etc - because he's just a sook Beta male who can't cope that the Western Health System is a bastion of the Alpha Female.

This confirms my opinion that you've totally missed
the point of the movie.  It has nothing to do with
"Beta" males and/or "Alpha" women LOL.

Or that the "western health system", (whatever that is?)
is a bastion for strong, purposeful female leaders.  It's not.

Ratched wasn't a leader—she was a follower.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #23 - Oct 21st, 2023 at 2:04pm

AusGeoff wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 1:56pm:

Do you mean she was a follower in the way female SS camp officers were followers- i.e. 'only following orders'?

Reply #24 - Oct 21st, 2023 at 2:38pm

...It's that, or the Writer considers the American Health System a farce, evil, etc - because he's just a sook Beta male who can't cope that the Western Health System is a bastion of the Alpha Female.

This confirms my opinion that you've totally missed
the point of the movie.  It has nothing to do with
"Beta" males and/or "Alpha" women LOL.

Or that the "western health system", (whatever that is?)
is a bastion for strong, purposeful female leaders.  It's not.

I know what the point of the movie is.
It's just that it is disgustingly sexist and violently wrong.
It's not a movie or story that should be praised.

Reply #25 - Nov 14th, 2023 at 8:30pm

All right, now listen up... now, which of you is the bull goose loonie around here?  Let me tell you, from now on I'm the bull goose loonie - ain't nobody gonna be crazier than I am, OK.  Now the name of the game here is to see who's the first to screw the balls off of Nurse Ratshed, and I reckon I'm your man! And I told the Doc I was in here because I drink too much and I screw too much - but I defy any man to say NO when that cute little red haired thing is right there in front of him.. and she WAS fifteen going on thirty... you know what I mean? ...

What could be sexist about that?

Reply #26 - Nov 14th, 2023 at 8:37pm

Now, all bar room jokes aside (apart from you, Smith .. just stay in your seat where we can all watch you) .... where is the vote?

I was considering someone schtrong...... agreeable ...... someone susceptible to ordnung!  I vass considering a Gimp!  Vhat zer Hell iss a Gimp?  A.. a... Gimp, Senator..... a Gimpanzee ... a MONKEY!!

Reply #27 - Nov 14th, 2023 at 8:41pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 2:04pm:

Do you mean she was a follower in the way female SS camp officers were followers- i.e. 'only following orders'?

Jawohl, Herr Gruppenfuhrer!  Zat iss brecisely vhat ve meant!!  But she took her orders to heart very seriously and  **coughs** made them her own ........

Reply #28 - Nov 17th, 2023 at 7:02am

... and our strands on manifesto and on my consideration of the post of Mod are gone, too!

Clearly a need for a New Broom to Sweep out the rubbish here... in a Tavern - down at the evening water-hole - there are many festos and they don't have to agree like some chanting class for Islamic kids or similar...

Demand a New Mod NOW!!  Move the election forward!!!  Power To The Tavern NOW!!!

Damn - it wasn't Washington's shift - it was Ngomo's shift...

Ngomo.jpg (7 KB | 11 )
Ngomo.jpg

Reply #29 - Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:57pm

Looks like this election is going to be stolen from us!  Now I want you to all walk down to the Capitol and let them know how you feel about it.... I know we had the state of Georgia in the bag... but cheating has caused us to lose that vital state...

Mr. President - we don't have a state of Georgia in Australia

Well - maybe not the state of Georgia - but this election still looks like being stolen from us.... how else could we have a voting order going 4,3,2,1?  Rigged - I tellz yez - rigged!!

Guess I'll have to concede - that's a relief.. I didn't want the job anyway - just the campaign trail.... we promised to give them a run for their money - and the voters sure ran from us.... finks....