Ex Partner Suspected Of Poisoning Inlaws (Read 3937 times)

Ex Partner Suspected Of Poisoning Inlaws
Aug 8th, 2023 at 12:50am

I honestly thought every Aussie knew the difference between harmless mushrooms and poisonous ones. I can easily spot harmless mushrooms, I pick them around here in the bush, and plant my foot on any others

If they're white or yellow underneath, don't touch them. If they're domed, don't touch them. If they're flat on top and light brown underneath, they're ok

This female cooked mushrooms for her inlaws but didn't eat any herself, nor would she say where she got them from

She is separated from her partner, the son of two of the dead elderly people

On TV, her body language didn't fit the grave situation that unfolded, with three dead and one fighting for life in hospital. And she got their names mixed up during the Current Affair interview

She was crying but getting something out of the corner of her eye seemed more important. She tried to control the conversation with the interviewer, then headed straight for her front door, refusing to respond any further

https://9now.nine.com.au/a-current-affair/reporter-sam-cucchiara-approaches-vict...

If the detectives apply the "Reid" method of interrogation, they will get the truth out of her, usually it works

Re: Ex Partner Suspected Of Poisoning Inlaws
Reply #1 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 1:24am

I'm guessing that the oldies didn't get to
see the "mushrooms" before they were
cooked and served up.  I don't really know,
but wouldn't the wrong flavour and aroma
indicate they weren't field mushies?

Reply #2 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 1:41am

AusGeoff wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 1:24am:
I'm guessing that the oldies didn't get to
see the "mushrooms" before they were
cooked and served up.  I don't really know,
but wouldn't the wrong flavour and aroma
indicate they weren't field mushies?

Yes, correct ones do have a certain aroma

But I wouldn't have eaten them, not knowing which ones they were, I would have asked her the question, "Which ones did you cook, what did they look like, what colour were they underneath?"

It's possible that since they're daughter inlaw cooked them, they weren't worried, But even the most seemingly innocent people can harbor dark thoughts, and plan accordingly, for example if there is substantial Super accounts, property, or insurance policies

Reply #3 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 2:16am

Yes, I immediately thought of some possible inheritance motivation.

The plot thickens!

Reply #4 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 8:14am

I won't touch mushrooms.....

chimera

Armidale
Reply #5 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 8:27am

AusGeoff wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 2:16am:
The plot thickens!

If the casserole had curry, Worcestershire, rosemary and onion, it would be too thick to smell the difference.

'The edible members of the Agaric family all have pink to brown/black gills, a white cap and usually a stout stem with a skirt. There are however toxic members of this family that look very similar.'

There is no home test available to distinguish safe and edible mushrooms from poisonous mushrooms. https://www.health.vic.gov.au/health-advisories/poisonous-mushrooms-growing-in-v...
« Last Edit: Aug 8th, 2023 at 8:44am by chimera »  

Reply #6 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 9:17am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 8:14am:

I posted pics -
see here:

https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1691235994/0

Reply #7 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:22am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 9:17am:

I posted pics -
see here:

The second last one looks edible, but it's hard to tell with the terrible lighting conditions they were photographed under

Out in the sunlight, identifying mushrooms that have sprouted up through the night, will be easy if you have been shown by someone who knows

I was shown when I was a kid during early primary school, by a bloke who had a pie making store, we used to pick mushrooms for him, after a while he grew his own mushrooms in the back of the shop. You could see all his pie making going on through the shop front window, very transparent business, all on show for anyone who cared to peer through the large window. Everyone of his pies was a great tasty meal in itself, and a good variety, including mushroom of course

My secret is to target in on the only mushroom that I know is edible and non poisonous, I don't second guess, there's only one I look for, flat top with light brown gills, they can have a rounded top but they must be brown underneath. They are common where ever I've been in my travels, so are the poisonous mushrooms. You've got to know the difference

The lady in question couldn't have bought those mushrooms she cooked from the supermarket, so that leaves either picking them out of the ground, or they were given to her by someone

As Geoff said, the plot thickens

Reply #8 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:34am

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:22am:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 9:17am:

I posted pics -
see here:

The second last one looks edible, but it's hard to tell with the terrible lighting conditions they were photographed under

Out in the sunlight, identifying mushrooms that have sprouted up through the night, will be easy if you have been shown by someone who knows

I was shown when I was a kid during early primary school, by a bloke who had a pie making store, we used to pick mushrooms for him, after a while he grew his own mushrooms in the back of the shop. You could see all his pie making going on through the shop front window, very transparent business, all on show for anyone who cared to peer through the large window. Everyone of his pies was a great tasty meal in itself, and a good variety, including mushroom of course

My secret is to target in on the only mushroom that I know is edible and non poisonous, I don't second guess, there's only one I look for, flat top with light brown gills, they can have a rounded top but they must be brown underneath. They are common where ever I've been in my travels, so are the poisonous mushrooms. You've got to know the difference

The lady in question couldn't have bought those mushrooms she cooked from the supermarket, so that leaves either picking them out of the ground, or they were given to her by someone

As Geoff said, the plot thickens

I uploaded the pic to here:
https://champignouf.com/

I think it's: gymnopilus luteus
Or perhaps gymnopilus ventricosus , gymnopilus , gymnopilus spectabilis , or gymnopilus spectabilis
or something totally different!

Warning!!! Many mushrooms look alike and many are toxic!
Champignouf makes a lot of mistakes!
Do not eat mushrooms without being sure they are edible, you could die!

It also says:

Champignouf is an automated mushroom identifier software program, you just have to upload a picture to know what kind of mushroom it could be.
It knows more than 1000 species, and will suggest you results depending on the photo.
Is that a cep, a chanterelle, or something that could kill you? It is still work in progress, and the accuracy is at the moment not that good, but will get better in time.

BE VERY CAREFUL, do not eat any mushroom if you aren't 100% certain they are edible! YOU COULD DIE
Remember that champignouf makes a lot of mistakes, because mushrooms are tricky, and toxic and edible ones can look almost indistinguishable.
Even if it look like the one that Champignouf suggests, and it's edible, DO NOT TRUST OUR RESULTS.

Reply #9 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:52am

Toxic femininity

Reply #10 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:53am

I thought it would be good to go mushroom hunting a few years ago but
after uploading pictures to many mushroom identifier sites
I realised that there is no 100% way of finding out if they are safe to eat.
I never found exact matches either.

As per the above example - I don't find any with an offset stem.
There are just too many different types of mushrooms -

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fungi_of_Australia

250,000 fungal species
The total number of fungi which actually occur in Australia,
including those not yet discovered, has been estimated at around 250,000 fungal species,
including about 5,000 mushrooms, of which roughly 5% have been described.

Reply #11 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:58am

I like gourmet mushrooms but they are very expensive:

Reply #12 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 1:07pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:34am:
BE VERY CAREFUL, do not eat any mushroom if you aren't 100% certain they are edible! YOU COULD DIE

Yeah that's right

I pick only the one species out of the ground, and I don't even know it's scientific name, I just know it's non toxic, I'll never pick any other species

If supermarkets have more than one edible species, that's fine, and you could be reasonably sure they'll be ok

But picking them straight out of the ground is a different matter, mistakes can be made ... and that's what the lady might rely on in her defense, if she did in fact harvest them in the bush

They reckon she didn't eat any though. So, why not? Perhaps she wasn't hungry, but thought her in-laws might like a feed, so she could keep on the right side of them or something, she said she loved them

Reply #13 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 1:19pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 1:07pm:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:34am:

Yeah that's right

I pick only the one species out of the ground, and I don't even know it's scientific name, I just know it's non toxic, I'll never pick any other species

If supermarkets have more than one edible species, that's fine, and you could be reasonably sure they'll be ok

But picking them straight out of the ground is a different matter, mistakes can be made ... and that's what the lady might rely on in her defense, if she did in fact harvest them in the bush

They reckon she didn't eat any though. So, why not? Perhaps she wasn't hungry, but thought her in-laws might like a feed, so she could keep on the right side of them or something, she said she loved them.

Yes - as you said:

for example if there is substantial Super accounts, property, or insurance policies.    Embarrassed

I'm sure the cops will investigate it thoroughly.
Colombo is on to her.

If was Columbo I'd take her back to the site where the mushrooms
were picked to see if they can be identified.

Reply #14 - Aug 8th, 2023 at 5:10pm

Edible...

Just make sure the stem turns blue when pinched/crushed...  Cheesy

Reply #15 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 2:02am

We regularly have dozens of these
Amanita muscaria mushrooms growing
in our front lawn.

They have hallucinogenic properties, courtesy
of ibotenic acid and muscimol, are not toxic,
but need to be consumed with extreme caution.

Reply #16 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 7:06am

AusGeoff wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 2:02am:
We regularly have dozens of these
Amanita muscaria mushrooms growing
in our front lawn.

https://i.postimg.cc/DzWChnhQ/1200px-Amanita-muscaria-3-vliegenzwammen-op-rij-1....

They have hallucinogenic properties, courtesy
of ibotenic acid and muscimol, are not toxic,
but need to be consumed with extreme caution.

I've heard of people frying those up with bacon for a yummy meal
and they have no effect whatsoever as you describe.
They are supposed to be very tasty.
Maybe cooking them destroys any active chemicals?

Reply #17 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 8:51am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:58am:

Listen to this...

Reply #18 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 9:12am

I honestly can’t understand how she would cook up a meal for all the oldies but not eat it herself. Why not? What did she eat?  I mean, as a cook one would at least do taste tests along the way for flavour/salt etc. Did she not even do that?
And then from what I’m reading she’s not helping with the investigation of where the mushrooms came from?
So oddly strange.
We have a lot of mushrooms all sorts in our paddocks including mushrooms that look normal but I read long ago how even these can be toxic. So I have avoided them forever.
Mum told me how dad ate some mushrooms that he picked from fields and ended up sick in hospital. Yet he survived.
That’s all I know. Now I wish I could’ve asked more about it.

The only thing I could think of was he must’ve taste tested during cooking before eating so it might not have been so damaging?
I looked up how long it can take for reaction.

How long does it take to get sick from a poisonous mushroom?
The symptoms usually appear within 20 minutes to 4 hours of ingesting the mushrooms, and include nausea, vomiting, cramps, and diarrhea, which normally pass after the irritant had been expelled. Severe cases may require hospitalization.

« Last Edit: Aug 9th, 2023 at 9:18am by Sophia »  

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #19 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 11:42am

Frank wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 8:51am:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 8th, 2023 at 11:58am:

Listen to this...

How silly -
Shitake mushrooms are the best - LOL

Reply #20 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 1:20pm

Sophia wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 9:12am:
I honestly can’t understand how she would cook up a meal for all the oldies but not eat it herself. Why not? What did she eat?  I mean, as a cook one would at least do taste tests along the way for flavour/salt etc. Did she not even do that?
And then from what I’m reading she’s not helping with the investigation of where the mushrooms came from?
So oddly strange.
We have a lot of mushrooms all sorts in our paddocks including mushrooms that look normal but I read long ago how even these can be toxic. So I have avoided them forever.
Mum told me how dad ate some mushrooms that he picked from fields and ended up sick in hospital. Yet he survived.
That’s all I know. Now I wish I could’ve asked more about it.

The only thing I could think of was he must’ve taste tested during cooking before eating so it might not have been so damaging?
I looked up how long it can take for reaction.

How long does it take to get sick from a poisonous mushroom?
The symptoms usually appear within 20 minutes to 4 hours of ingesting the mushrooms, and include nausea, vomiting, cramps, and diarrhea, which normally pass after the irritant had been expelled. Severe cases may require hospitalization.

She may have known they were poisonous ... it's obvious they weren't from Woolies

Her ex husband got pretty crook some months ago, he ended up in hospital, relatives were called in twice to say their goodbyes .... They say it's not linked to this more recent case

Yesterday it appears she swore at a reporter when she was asked how she was doing, the TV censors beeped it out, whatever it was

The Police are forensically testing a dehydrator seized from a local tip. They must be quite sure it was hers

https://www.9news.com.au/national/mushroom-poison-deaths-leongatha-police-testin...

« Last Edit: Aug 9th, 2023 at 2:02pm by Bias_2012 »  

Reply #21 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 1:25pm

dear Bias,
Columbo is on to it:

Reply #22 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 4:09pm

Ok I’m gonna say it: I think there’s more to this news story than meets the eye.

Note : The presumption of innocence which defines our legal system stands. She’s innocent until PROVEN guilty. At this stage the woman hasn’t even been charged with anything.

Having said that : I personally think she’s done something dreadfully wrong. However I do think it’s a case of manslaughter rather than murder.

Let me explain further : The children and this lady never ate any mushrooms - only the adults. Yes? Well that could easily be explained away thus: she and the children NEVER liked/ate mushrooms anyway. I personally believe this is a case of a foolish lady using toadstools instead of mushrooms in her cooking. I could be wrong. But right now that’s what I’m thinking.

Anyone else have a theory about what’s happened?

Reply #23 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:17pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 4:09pm:
Ok I’m gonna say it: I think there’s more to this news story than meets the eye.

Note : The presumption of innocence which defines our legal system stands. She’s innocent until PROVEN guilty. At this stage the woman hasn’t even been charged with anything.

Having said that : I personally think she’s done something dreadfully wrong. However I do think it’s a case of manslaughter rather than murder.

Let me explain further : The children and this lady never ate any mushrooms - only the adults. Yes? Well that could easily be explained away thus: she and the children NEVER liked/ate mushrooms anyway. I personally believe this is a case of a foolish lady using toadstools instead of mushrooms in her cooking. I could be wrong. But right now that’s what I’m thinking.

Channel 7 news tonight -

her first story was that she bought the mushrooms from a shop.
Her story then changed.   Undecided

Reply #24 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:42pm

All the reports so far say she cooked Death Cap mushrooms ... why would she serve those up?

"Death cap mushrooms are the most dangerous species"

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-08-08/victoria-mushrooms-which-types-poisonous-...

Reply #25 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:45pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:17pm:

Channel 7 news tonight -

Can't imagine any shop selling Death Cap mushrooms

Reply #26 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:48pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:45pm:

Channel 7 news tonight -

Can't imagine Channel 7 reporting news.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #27 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:49pm

If it's her first group-murder, she was told there's no way to trace the stuff, she needs the money and had the flu, then why are the cops coming down so hard?  Only crims plan ahead and know the street smarts.
« Last Edit: Aug 9th, 2023 at 7:30pm by chimera »  

Reply #28 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 7:17pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:45pm:

Channel 7 news tonight -

Columbo will ask her questions.

Just one more thing -
we found a food dehydrator at the local tip.
They are used for drying mushrooms aren't they?
Did you send it there?

https://www.9news.com.au/national/mushroom-poison-deaths-leongatha-police-testin...

Reply #29 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 7:20pm

Women like to kill with poison.

Reply #30 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 8:08pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 7:20pm:

Columbo -
just one more thing:

Why did you say that you bought the mushrooms from a shop?

Agnes.

St Agness

Reply #31 - Aug 9th, 2023 at 9:52pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 7:20pm:

I like to use a gun- I don't often miss.

Why Johnny Ringo, you look like someone just walked over your grave ~

Reply #32 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 2:56am

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 9th, 2023 at 6:48pm:
Can't imagine Channel 7 reporting news.

Grin     Grin    Grin

Reply #33 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 5:10am

Channel 7 news tonight -

Sort of an - you said you couldn't bear to see it again and put it away out of sight but you were seen wearing that dress less than two weeks later - oops moment?

OOPS!  I think she may have sealed her fate ....... you know what they say about liars and consistency ....

chimera

Armidale
Reply #34 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 5:33am

she and the children NEVER liked/ate mushrooms anyway.

..because.....

Reply #35 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 6:07am

Just one more thing:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-12384271/Mushroom-poisoning-Erin-Patter...

Mushroom poisoning:
Erin Patterson’s husband suffered mystery illness a year before his family’s deaths in Leongatha

Erin Patterson invited her ex-in-laws and their family to lunch
    Three of the four guests died from possible mushroom poisoning
    Her ex-husband suffered a mystery stomach illness last May

Reply #36 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 7:24am

chimera wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 5:33am:
she and the children NEVER liked/ate mushrooms anyway.

..because.....

I find it odd if a  person doesn’t like mushrooms, why cook it then?
Strange saying she bought them from a shop… if that were even remotely true, then other customers would be suffering the same fate. It turns out that isn’t the case…right Columbo?

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #37 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 7:47am

Just read the comments in this topic.

The woman is starting to look pretty guilty to me.

This is not a case of a young newly married daughter in law who struggles with cooking and needs time to learn while we all patiently eat the food she’s cooked that’s not as tasty as it should be.

The daughter in law is an obese older woman who’s basically had a go at knocking off her hubby. Now she’s successfully knocked off his parents.

😔😩🥺

Reply #38 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 7:49am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 7:47am:

This is not a case of a young newly married daughter in law who struggles with cooking and needs time to learn while we all patiently eat the food she’s cooked that’s not as tasty as it should be.

The daughter in law is an obese older woman who’s basically had a go at knocking off her hubby. Now she’s successfully knocked off his parents.

😔😩🥺

Is she a witch possessed by demons?

chimera

Armidale
Reply #39 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 8:15am

Check her vote in mail-in fraud.
https://www.democrats.org.au/

Reply #40 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:04am

She looks like a dullard. Probably thought nobody would suspect her.

images_235.jpeg (35 KB | 7 )
images_235.jpeg

Reply #41 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:18am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 7:49am:

😔😩🥺

She’s also an innocent witch bitch until proven guilty. I get that she looks shifty and guilty as hell in all the MMM pics we’ve been given but due legal process must take place.

I think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) that she is guilty of more than just manslaughter. I also think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) that she’s out on bail atm ONLY because she’s under police surveillance (to see what she says/does next). Also, the police need more time to get a few facts to back up their case (toxicology results/garbage tip evidence/talking to more people such as family, neighbours even doctors known to the woman and her family).

To be honest : I see her getting charged sooner than later. It’s just a matter of time.

I keep coming back to this : her former husband nearly died under similar circumstances. He managed to survive (only just) and so he lived to tell the tale so to speak. Her former in laws are now dead from the same type of procedure ie cooking a meal.

👆 That leads me to this : I think whatever this woman tried on her former husband was a practice run. She learned from that practice run just how to perfect the experiment and achieve the result she was after. I have no doubt that she would have wanted her former husband dead too BUT unfortunately for her ... he didn’t. Right now .... he’s a victim who got away and is no doubt telling the police a lot of stuff about her.

Re motive : the woman has only pretended to be amicably separated from her former husband. It was part n parcel of her ruse to ease her victims into a false sense of security. And trust. Once this was achieved, her plan to eliminate certain people could be carried out SO THAT SHE ENDED UP WITH MONEY!

I’m sure I’ve read a book that’s like this unfolding news article. Police should probably take a closer look at what books this woman has been reading (library cards, online e books and of course her bookshelf).  One of those books might well prove to be rather interesting. It’s as if she’s copied that book’s plot and is re enacting it.

« Last Edit: Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:25am by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #42 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:38am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:18am:

😔😩🥺

She’s also an innocent witch bitch until proven guilty. I get that she looks shifty and guilty as hell in all the MMM pics we’ve been given but due legal process must take place.

I think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) that she is guilty of more than just manslaughter. I also think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) ...

What's MMM?   Undecided

Reply #43 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:48am

😔😩🥺

I think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) that she is guilty of more than just manslaughter. I also think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) that she’s out on bail atm ONLY because she’s under police surveillance (to see what she says/does next). Also, the police need more time to get a few facts to back up their case (toxicology results/garbage tip evidence/talking to more people such as family, neighbours even doctors known to the woman and her family).

To be honest : I see her getting charged sooner than later. It’s just a matter of time.

I keep coming back to this : her former husband nearly died under similar circumstances. He managed to survive (only just) and so he lived to tell the tale so to speak. Her former in laws are now dead from the same type of procedure ie cooking a meal.

👆 That leads me to this : I think whatever this woman tried on her former husband was a practice run. She learned from that practice run just how to perfect the experiment and achieve the result she was after. I have no doubt that she would have wanted her former husband dead too BUT unfortunately for her ... he didn’t. Right now .... he’s a victim who got away and is no doubt telling the police a lot of stuff about her.

Re motive : the woman has only pretended to be amicably separated from her former husband. It was part n parcel of her ruse to ease her victims into a false sense of security. And trust. Once this was achieved, her plan to eliminate certain people could be carried out SO THAT SHE ENDED UP WITH MONEY!

I’m sure I’ve read a book that’s like this unfolding news article. Police should probably take a closer look at what books this woman has been reading (library cards, online e books and of course her bookshelf).  One of those books might well prove to be rather interesting. It’s as if she’s copied that book’s plot and is re enacting it.

If found guilty, should she be sentenced to eat a deathcap mushroom?

Reply #44 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:52am

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:38am:

😔😩🥺

I think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) that she is guilty of more than just manslaughter. I also think (note : my personal opinion only based on what I’ve been reading in MMM) ...

What's MMM?   Undecided

Do you mean MSM?

Or is MMM something else I've not heard of?   Undecided

Reply #45 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:56am

https://www.news.com.au/national/victoria/daughterinlaw-flees-home-after-mushroo...

👆 Hmmm. God I feel sorry for her kids.

Edit : I’ve just read Greggary’s comment. My humblest apologies to all. I use the acronym MMM when posting on a Facebook group I co admin. It stands for Mainstream Media Misinformation (or Mainstream Media Manure).

Reply #46 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 10:00am

https://www.news.com.au/national/victoria/courts-law/erin-patterson-claimed-to-p...

Yep. The former husband is speaking out about how she nearly poisoned him last year.

Bloody awful stuff to read. 😩😔🥺

Reply #47 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 10:00am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:56am:
https://www.news.com.au/national/victoria/daughterinlaw-flees-home-after-mushroo...

👆 Hmmm. God I feel sorry for her kids.

Edit : I’ve just read Greggary’s comment. My humblest apologies to all. I use the acronym MMM when posting on a Facebook group I co admin. It stands for Mainstream Media Misinformation (or Mainstream Media Manure).

Ah, okay.

For a minute there I thought you were getting all your information from crappy commercial radio stations.

Bit Grose

Reply #48 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 10:04am

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:52am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 9:38am:

😔😩🥺

What's MMM?   Undecided

Do you mean MSM?

Or is MMM something else I've not heard of?   Undecided

I wondered that myself.

MMM is an acronym that stands for Male-Male-Male. It is commonly used in sexual conversations and refers specifically to three men engaging in sexual activities with each other. The acronym is often associated with threesomes or group sexual activities among men.

What kind of group do you admin, Lisa?

Reply #49 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 10:06am

Right this is THE article to read. It sets the record of events quite clearly. In chronological order.

Aussie .... what’s your take on this unfolding news story?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-12389293/amp/Mushroom-deaths-Erin-Simon...

Reply #50 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 12:22pm

Shop would only buy in cultivated mushrooms.

Reply #51 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 12:27pm

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 12:22pm:
Shop would only buy in cultivated mushrooms.

I bought some mushrooms just now. Harris Farm had at least 10 varieties of fancy ones.
I went for good old cup mushrooms Smiley

Reply #52 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 1:21pm

😔😩🥺

The cops are taking their time -
I'm sure she'll get a fair trial.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #53 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 1:23pm

The toxicology will take weeks. They must be growing mushrooms.

Reply #54 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 8:20pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 1:21pm:
The cops are taking their time -
I'm sure she'll get a fair trial.

She traveled to Melbourne to speak with her lawyers today.

In the meanwhile ...

The dish at the centre of the suspected poisoning has been revealed to be a beef Wellington pie, according to numerous media reports.

https://www.9news.com.au/national/leongatha-mushroom-poisoning-updates-erin-patt...

The mushrooms were hidden in a pie

Still questions to be answered .. Where did the mushrooms come from? ... How much knowledge did she have about different mushrooms? ... Why did her Ex fall ill last year?

« Last Edit: Aug 11th, 2023 at 1:01am by Bias_2012 »  

Reply #55 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 10:07pm

So why didn't she fall ill, too?  This is not looking good for her.

Erin Patterson goes missing
Reply #56 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 11:05pm

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/melbourne/article-12392383/Leongatha-mushroom-c...

Leongatha mushroom cook Erin Patterson goes MISSING: Lawyers can't find her and are forced to camp outside her home to hand her legal advice - as police investigate poisoned beef wellington deaths

Re: Erin Patterson goes missing
Reply #57 - Aug 10th, 2023 at 11:37pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 11:05pm:
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/melbourne/article-12392383/Leongatha-mushroom-c...

Leongatha mushroom cook Erin Patterson goes MISSING: Lawyers can't find her and are forced to camp outside her home to hand her legal advice - as police investigate poisoned beef wellington deaths

I think I saw a snippet of news where she had a suitcase and said she was getting away from the house and all reporters.

After watching the series “Hunted” I can assure you they will track her if need to.

In the link above, I found this in the timeline of interest.

Daily Mail Australia understands Ms Patterson's owns several properties, investing wisely after inheriting money she received from the death of her parents in 2019.

Property records obtained by Daily Mail Australia reveal Simon and Erin both registered themselves as the single owners of two different houses in February 2021 - 15 months before he fell ill with a mystery stomach illness.

Both her parents died in 2019. I’d love to know more details.

Milton Friedman

chimera

Armidale
Reply #58 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 2:46am

Sophia wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 11:37pm:
she had a suitcase and said she was getting away from the house and all reporters.

After filling it with fresh stock, her produce is ready for sale.
https://www.visitmelbourne.com/eat-and-drink/local-produce/farmers-markets

Reply #59 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 4:02am

Sophia wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 11:37pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 10th, 2023 at 11:05pm:

I think I saw a snippet of news where she had a suitcase and said she was getting away from the house and all reporters.

After watching the series “Hunted” I can assure you they will track her if need to.

In the link above, I found this in the timeline of interest.

Daily Mail Australia understands Ms Patterson's owns several properties, investing wisely after inheriting money she received from the death of her parents in 2019.

Property records obtained by Daily Mail Australia reveal Simon and Erin both registered themselves as the single owners of two different houses in February 2021 - 15 months before he fell ill with a mystery stomach illness.

Both her parents died in 2019. I’d love to know more details.

People have a way of dying around her - she didn't eat the Beef Wellington? Some dinner party....

Reply #60 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 4:08am

Has there been any reporting of exactly where
Patterson allegedly purchased the mushrooms
and/or the name of the retailer?

Apparently she said she didn't pick them, but
bought them.  But... every local grocery store in
Leongatha and a farmers' market all say they
haven't had any recalls on mushroom
products.

They had to be picked, thus far by person(s) unknown.

Reply #61 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 4:34am

AusGeoff wrote on Aug 11th, 2023 at 4:08am:

products.

That's one of the unanswered questions. The answer will have to come out sooner or later, it's something she won't be able to lie about

Reply #62 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 6:39am

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 11th, 2023 at 4:34am:
AusGeoff wrote on Aug 11th, 2023 at 4:08am:

products.

That's one of the unanswered questions. The answer will have to come out sooner or later, it's something she won't be able to lie about

Police now suspect she picked the mushrooms from her own property which is huge and STILL has a lot of these types of mushrooms growing around near tree trunks.

Note : That huge property with the nice house we’ve seen her rush into and close the door is only in her name.

Reply #63 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 6:45am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 11th, 2023 at 6:39am:
Police now suspect she picked the mushrooms from her own property which is huge and STILL has a lot of these types of mushrooms growing around near tree trunks.

Note : That huge property with the nice house we’ve seen her rush into and close the door is only in her name.

Those Amanita Phalloides death caps grow around oak trees.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amanita_phalloides

Reply #64 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 6:51am

Reply #65 - Aug 11th, 2023 at 10:18pm

Reply #66 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 3:50am

My old man's a dustman,
He wears a dustman's hat,
He wears cor blimey trousers,
And he lives in a council flat...

I say I say, I say;

My dustbin's absolutely full with toadstools;

How do you know it's full?

—Cause there's not mushroom inside!

Lonnie Donegan, 1960.

Reply #67 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 5:59am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 11th, 2023 at 6:45am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 11th, 2023 at 6:39am:

Those Amanita Phalloides death caps grow around oak trees.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amanita_phalloides

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/99/Amanita_phalloides_1.J...

Nobody could mistake those for mushrooms.  My personal view is that this is a shot duck.... she's going down... did well out of it once - both her parents died in the same year and that will be looked at .... now trying for another round.  If there are toxicology reports on her parents ...... for some people one decent hit in life is never enough...

So neither she nor her two children became ill...... the dead and ill presented a day later with symptoms..... what and where did they eat in the meantime, though it does say symptoms might not appear for a day but the damage is done to liver and stuff?  The guy alive needs a liver transplant.  Her dehydrator was found at the tip.... she threw it out that day before the people reported sick.....

This is not looking good..... think of the good old days when sudden gut illness was common so nobody noticed.  Told him not to drink that creek water .... and to cook his meat carefully .... historically many people died of  dysentery including kings.... hmmmmm ...

https://www.news.com.au/national/victoria/courts-law/exhusband-of-mushroom-mum-e...
« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2023 at 6:07am by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM »  

Reply #68 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 6:28am

Hi Grappler,
the story is complicated as many species of Amanita mushrooms are edible:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amanita

The genus Amanita contains about 600 species of agarics, including some of the most toxic known mushrooms found worldwide, as well as some well-regarded edible species. This genus is responsible for approximately 95% of the fatalities resulting from mushroom poisoning, with the death cap accounting for about 50% on its own. The most potent toxin present in these mushrooms is α-Amanitin.

The genus also contains many edible mushrooms, but mycologists discourage mushroom hunters, other than experts, from selecting any of these for human consumption. Nonetheless, in some cultures, the larger local edible species of Amanita are mainstays of the markets in the local growing season. Samples of this are Amanita zambiana and other fleshy species in central Africa, A. basii and similar species in Mexico, A. caesarea and the "Blusher" Amanita rubescens in Europe, and A. chepangiana in South-East Asia. Other species are used for colouring sauces, such as the red A. jacksonii, with a range from eastern Canada to eastern Mexico.

Many species are of unknown edibility.

Reply #69 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 6:44am

I don't eat mushrooms - and I know which ones to pick.  The golden top rule is not to pick anything white underneath.

Wonder how many druggies in search of the golden top trip have succumbed to poisoning....

Ancient history, you can bet on it.   

"Awr, Fatima, I'm sorry about my sleeping around and beating you last night."

"It's all right, Mohamed - eat your mushrooms...."

Reply #70 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 6:55am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 6:44am:
I don't eat mushrooms - and I know which ones to pick.  The golden top rule is not to pick anything white underneath.

Wonder how many druggies in search of the golden top trip have succumbed to poisoning....

The answer is buy your mushrooms from the supermarket.  Smiley

chimera

Armidale
Reply #71 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 7:42am

Woolworths made a killing from mushrooms, a total $33.2 billion in sales for the first half of the 2022/23 financial year, a 4% increase.

Reply #72 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 8:45am

Ok everyone....I’ve been doing a bit of investigating.

Take a look at this interesting time line of events regarding the mushroom chef.

BOTH her parents suddenly died in 2019 (when she was around 40).

👉 She inherited shitloads of money.

👉 She used that money to buy 3 properties. Possibly 4.

👉 Her husband STILL wanted out of the marriage despite hanging around to be there to comfort her during both her parent’s sudden deaths AND despite all the money she had suddenly come into.

👉 The amicable split which followed wasn’t really all that amicable. The husband’s mates are coming forward saying HE made sure it was as amicable as possible so he could still see the kids and make sure they continued to play sport (he’s a local kids basketball coach there). He was into sport. She was into sitting around all day and cooking/eating (she was good at that).

👉 The mushroom chef wanted her ex back. The separation was meant to be a trial separation but it soon became apparent it was heading towards divorce.

👉 The plan was to get back at her ex and everyone she thought was part of the network of support for her ex using her cooking/eating credentials.

👉 Everyone turns up. Her ex bails out at the last minute.

Those who turned up are dead. Note. 1 is fighting for his life.

And here we are today.

Of course this is all conjecture. But an interesting story is emerging behind the scenes. And it’s kinda making sense.
« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2023 at 8:50am by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #73 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 8:47am

chimera wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 7:42am:
Woolworths made a killing from mushrooms, a total $33.2 billion in sales for the first half of the 2022/23 financial year, a 4% increase.

check this out:
https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1674368339/21#21

How much would you pay for mushrooms that
have already reached their best before date?

Reply #74 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:20am

Toxic femininity

There have also been reports in News Corp alleging that Erin's ex-husband Simon Patterson had told a friend he believed he had been poisoned by Erin in the past.

Reply #75 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:33am

Gordon wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:20am:
Toxic femininity

There have also been reports in News Corp alleging that Erin's ex-husband Simon Patterson had told a friend he believed he had been poisoned by Erin in the past.

His mates are saying that was her get back for some argument they were having at that time. It almost killed him.

I think (I could be wrong of course) our mushroom chef has been using her Home Science skills to resolve her problems in the Relationships and Conflict Resolution areas.

Edit : IF my husband ever wanted out (yeah right) I would pack his suitcases AND call him a cab BEFORE he had a chance to give me his lame reasons. Then I’d throw a party to celebrate my FREEDOM (from all his incessant washing/ironing/dry cleaning/running his errands). 😂🤣😆

Reply #76 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:39am

A quick note to all: This earlier post is merely an UNofficial timeline of events which is slowly emerging through social media gossip networks.

We have to respect the presumption of innocence.

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 8:45am:

Take a look at this interesting time line of events regarding the mushroom chef.

👉 Her husband STILL wanted out of the marriage despite hanging around to be there to comfort her during both her parent’s sudden deaths AND despite all the money she had suddenly come into.

👉 The amicable split which followed wasn’t really all that amicable. The husband’s mates are coming forward saying HE made sure it was as amicable as possible so he could still see the kids and make sure they continued to play sport (he’s a local kids basketball coach there). He was into sport. She was into sitting around all day and cooking/eating (she was good at that).

👉 The mushroom chef wanted her ex back. The separation was meant to be a trial separation but it soon became apparent it was heading towards divorce.

👉 The plan was to get back at her ex and everyone she thought was part of the network of support for her ex using her cooking/eating credentials.

And here we are today.

Of course this is all conjecture. But an interesting story is emerging behind the scenes. And it’s kinda making sense.

Reply #77 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:50am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 11th, 2023 at 10:18pm:

OMG  Grin Grin

I wonder if mushroom sales have either dropped or boomed?
I’ve certainly been put off. Makes my stomach turn every time I see this story.

Milton Friedman

Reply #78 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:54am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:39am:
A quick note to all: This earlier post is merely an UNofficial timeline of events which is slowly emerging through social media gossip networks.

And here we are today.

That seems so lucky the ex bailed out of dinner invite at last minute, his guardian Angel must’ve been working overtime whispering to not go.
Those poor elderly folk… took up to 8 days to die. It must’ve been horrific.

Milton Friedman

Reply #79 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 10:06am

Victoria’s Mushroom Chef - a global breaking news sensation.

https://www.betootaadvocate.com/humans-of-betoota/man-who-left-his-towel-on-the-...

Man Who Left His Towel On The Floor Yet Again Served Up Mushroom Risotto For Dinner

Despite repeatedly being told not to, a local man left his new towel on the bedroom floor again this morning.

It is a somewhat normal occurrence for Reece Doulton, a 32-year-old city worker from the French Quarter. Regular enough for him to shrug off questions from his fiancé centred around the functionality of his brain and dedication to keeping his promises to hang his towel up from now on.

But Reece fears he made have finally crossed a line.

“I got the usual text messages in the afternoon from my partner, Grace,” he said.

“You know, she’s asking me if I’m a smacking idiot. Asking me if I do it deliberately to annoy her. She asks me if I think she’s some sort of punk bitch I can repeatedly ignore and take for grant. You know, the regular stuff. Anyway, I just said I was sorry and that I’d get something for dinner on the way home but she told me not to worry, she’d already sorted it,”

“Now, I’m going to preface this by saying I am joking but when I got home last night, she served up a mushroom risotto for dinner. She’s never done a bloody risotto in her life. I asked her why she decided on cooking that, she just nonchalantly shrugged and said she felt like it. She had a craving, she said. Pretty weird but OK, you know.”

Reece then looked over each shoulder and leaned in.

“The worst part is, she told me she’d had a late lunch at the office and that she wouldn’t be joining me. It’s probably nothing but mate, a man has to wonder, doesn’t he? I went to see Barbie last week and, you know, pursed my lips and did some pensive smiles at all the right times. If you’ve seen it, you know what I mean. Did the vacuuming and watered the plants. I even hung the washing out when Grace said she needed me to do it,” he said.

“It’s probably nothing but you know, she was pretty cross about the towel and then she serves up mushroom risotto just out of the blue. I’m just saying it’s pretty weird.”

More to come.

Reply #80 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 10:12am

Sophia wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:54am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:39am:

And here we are today.

That seems so lucky the ex bailed out of dinner invite at last minute, his guardian Angel must’ve been working overtime whispering to not go.
Those poor elderly folk… took up to 8 days to die. It must’ve been horrific.

She's a bunny boiler.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #81 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 10:45am

How effing ugly is she. Don't these fat chicks have an ounce of self-respect.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #82 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 10:57am

She's missing out.
7 health benefits of mushrooms
Decrease the risk of cancer.
Lower sodium intake.
Promote lower cholesterol.
Protect brain health.
Provide a source of vitamin D.
Stimulate a healthier gut.
Support a healthy immune system.

Reply #83 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 11:10am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 10:45am:

How effing ugly is she. Don't these fat chicks have an ounce of self-respect.

Touch that or eat a death cap?
PASS THE MUSHROOMS!!!

Reply #84 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 2:14pm

Seems her ex had a heart murmur - it kept murmuring - "Don't go ..... don't go!"

Maybe he felt something wrong in his bones after her parents' deaths... but why not warn anyone?
« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2023 at 2:56pm by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM »  

Reply #85 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 3:52pm

Sophia wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 9:50am:

OMG  Grin Grin

My Kitchen Rules:

chimera

Armidale
Reply #86 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 4:06pm

hmm...she shows a grey stem and red top....

Reply #87 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 4:13pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 3:52pm:

OMG  Grin Grin

My Kitchen Rules:

https://media.gab.com/system/media_attachments/files/145/066/356/original/ea5cbc...

She looks like a toadstool

Reply #88 - Aug 12th, 2023 at 5:27pm

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 6:44am:

That's something I didn't know about Gold Top mushrooms, they are highly illegal once they are out of the ground, the cops will want to know why you've got them, drugs or for evening meal

Have a good excuse if you're stopped by a cop

https://www.australianseedbank.com/a-guide-to-hunting-gold-top-magic-mushies/  .... scroll down a bit to "Mushroom hunting advice"

Reply #89 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 11:21am

Gordon wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 4:13pm:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 12th, 2023 at 3:52pm:

OMG  Grin Grin

My Kitchen Rules:

https://media.gab.com/system/media_attachments/files/145/066/356/original/ea5cbc...

She looks like a toadstool

Monday might prove to be a very interesting day.

1. Accident?
2. Manslaughter?
3. Murder?

I’m thinking 3 - based on the little bits of info we’ve been allowed to know by (MMM) Mainstream Media Manipulation. Of course like everyone else here ...I don’t know all the details so I could be wrong.

I feel for those 2 innocent children which are caught up in all this terrible drama. Thank God they’ve been removed by Child Services and are now in the care of their dad (who is lucky to be alive). These 2 kids no longer have ANY grandparents. 🥺😔😩

Reply #90 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 1:21pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 11:21am:
1. Accident?
2. Manslaughter?
3. Murder?

I’m thinking 3 - based on the little bits of info we’ve been allowed to know by (MMM) Mainstream Media Manipulation. Of course like everyone else here ...I don’t know all the details so I could be wrong.

She reckons she didn't set out to kill anyone, she said "I didn't do anything wrong" .... I'll bet she goes for "Accidental" first up

For it to be manslaughter or murder, the Prosecution has to prove "intent", that will be hard, and if they can't prove that, it'll be because there's only circumstantial evidence to go by

The circumstantial evidence seems pretty strong though, so her defense team could get her to plead guilty to "gross negligence" ... and try to secure a soft sentence of about five years with half that being non parole

She's already receiving sympathy from the cops, they said it's "complex", and said it may have been purely "accidental" ... Before she's even charged or attends court

This could end up being another case where both the defense and the prosecution agree that she is not really guilty of a serious homicide

The kids must have been hungry looking at that pie, I wonder what she said to them? Maybe, "That's not for you two, I've got something else here to fill you up"

The thing is, at 48 years of age, surely she had a bit of knowledge about poisonous mushrooms, she couldn't be that dumb not to know something

Reply #91 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 5:43pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 1:21pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 11:21am:
1. Accident?
2. Manslaughter?
3. Murder?

She reckons she didn't set out to kill anyone, she said "I didn't do anything wrong" .... I'll bet she goes for "Accidental" first up

For it to be manslaughter or murder, the Prosecution has to prove "intent", that will be hard, and if they can't prove that, it'll be because there's only circumstantial evidence to go by

The circumstantial evidence seems pretty strong though, so her defense team could get her to plead guilty to "gross negligence" ... and try to secure a soft sentence of about five years with half that being non parole

She's already receiving sympathy from the cops, they said it's "complex", and said it may have been purely "accidental" ... Before she's even charged or attends court

This could end up being another case where both the defense and the prosecution agree that she is not really guilty of a serious homicide

The kids must have been hungry looking at that pie, I wonder what she said to them? Maybe, "That's not for you two, I've got something else here to fill you up"

The thing is, at 48 years of age, surely she had a bit of knowledge about poisonous mushrooms, she couldn't be that dumb not to know something

Exactly.

Meantime VicPol have confiscated her mobile and have set her up elsewhere so she can get some privacy (the media was most definitely harassing her no end) and both her children have been handed over to her ex husband (the guy who didn’t turn up at the last minute so he’s still alive).

My thoughts? The place where she’s currently/quietly staying is tapped and she’s under 24/7 surveillance whilst police/detectives are investigating that dehydrator, her house (that’s currently unoccupied) and her mobile phone search history.

Children’s Services are probably busy with those 2 kids atm.

At some stage ... those 2 kids will be interviewed separately and draw something strange which will concern their mum’s parents ie their maternal grandparents.

Remember BOTH Erin’s mother AND father died in 2019 in their 60’s and as Covid19 turned up, their deaths weren’t as conspicuous or obvious. That double death event provided Erin with:

1. A massive financial windfall as she inherited a lot of serious money and she bought some 3+ properties. Who knows ...she probably thought her money would make her husband change his mind and stay in the marriage.

2. Massive sympathy from those around her esp her husband who wanted out. Who knows she probably put on the waterworks 👉 emotional blackmail.

Being a woman I would love nothing more than to be proven wrong about this matter. But the more I think about it ... the worse it gets for Erin. Here are a few examples going round my head atm.

a) Who throws away their kitchen appliance (that dehydrator) after cooking a meal which kills all your visitors?

b) That dish she cooked up requires you to chop up veges and fry them up with the mince/cubed meat. That dehydrator was used by Erin to turn the mushrooms into fine powder. It’s a long and unnecessary process. And as stated in 1. after this process she threw the dehydrator in the bin.

c) Everyone invited to that lunch is either dead or about to die. Her ex husband would have been either dead or about to die EXCEPT for the fact that he pulled out of going AT the LAST minute.

d) Only Erin and her 2 kids who were at that lunch did not eat that pie. Erin is a short stocky large woman who clearly loves her tucker.

e) Then there’s this - Erin is in her mid to late 40’s. She and her former husband had been responsible for putting together/editing/printing the local community magazine. For years. At first they helped Erin’s husband’s parents ie in-laws (both now deceased because of mushroom poisoning) who were dedicated  to community development and this job. Each edition showcased the region’s activities and heritage value. Many editions featured the different types of foods which were locally grown, produced, sold and made.

In fact - last night I had the pleasure of reading back-copies of these community magazines. I was taken aback by the next level awesome close-knit community and the beautiful picturesque region. And then I noticed something quite interesting: articles on mushrooms. Organic home grown mushrooms. Then I noticed more articles on non edible mushrooms and why they were inedible. And how poisonous they were.

These very articles were being proof-read and typed into/placed into these magazines across a number of editions by Erin and her husband for some time. In fact from 2019 onwards.

Bottom line? Erin would have known exactly which mushrooms were legit and which ones were not.

Note : I hope to God I’m completely wrong and these tragic circumstances can be explained. And I also hope we can all get back to buying mushrooms and using them in our recipes. 🥺😔😩

chimera

Armidale
Reply #92 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 5:52pm

If you found those articles by your own inquiry then it may be useful for the investigators. Maybe drop them a line at the local cops?

Reply #93 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 5:59pm

chimera wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 5:52pm:
If you found those articles by your own inquiry then it may be useful for the investigators. Maybe drop them a line at the local cops?

Yeah?

So are you suggesting I SHOULD NOTIFY THE AUTHORITIES?? Surely they already know all this anyway??

😳

chimera

Armidale
Reply #94 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 6:09pm

I dunno what they dunno. You may have something very helpful.

Reply #95 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 6:10pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 5:59pm:
chimera wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 5:52pm:

Yeah?

So are you suggesting I SHOULD NOTIFY THE AUTHORITIES?? Surely they already know all this anyway??

😳

You found important evidence:

These very articles were being proof-read and typed into/placed into these magazines
across a number of editions by Erin and her husband for some time.
In fact from 2019 onwards.

Reply #96 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 6:13pm

Ok. I’ll drop them a line. I’ll also provide the links.

It’s probably something they already know.

BBL.

Reply #97 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 6:36pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 6:13pm:

Yes, it's known by about everyone by now, it was in news reports

Reply #98 - Aug 13th, 2023 at 7:46pm

Click on this Youtube link and go straight to 8min and listen for a few seconds

https://youtu.be/CHQES8WOgBA

Reply #99 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 11:59am

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 13th, 2023 at 7:46pm:

Click on this Youtube link and go straight to 8min and listen for a few seconds

https://youtu.be/CHQES8WOgBA

Thanks Bias.

Just so you know I did catch your posts and as a result I did not email VicPol.

Meantime here’s an update on this terrible tragedy.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/11176294/mushroom-murder-australia-update-victim-deat...

The 4th victim may well recover IF he gets/survives a liver transplant. The poor old bugger has so many hurdles to get through first. God I hope he survives AND tells us exactly what happened that day. 🙏🙏🙏

Reply #100 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 4:22pm

I'm calling BS on everything she says here.
She's toxic

https://www.news.com.au/national/victoria/news/erin-patterson-gives-new-account-...e34f058

Reply #101 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 4:31pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 4:22pm:
I'm calling BS on everything she says here.
She's toxic

https://www.news.com.au/national/victoria/news/erin-patterson-gives-new-account-...e34f058

Gordy your link was problematic. Not to worry ... heaps more links are available about the latest development in this saga which has now gripped the world.

https://amp.9news.com.au/article/2b26d63c-f1e2-4059-91c9-029115b57f94

It took me a mere 60 seconds to find a lot of holes in her latest account.

She’s not fooling anyone. VicPol are still investigating AND waiting to see what else she does before they act.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #102 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 5:42pm

just charge this 'thing'

Reply #103 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 5:49pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 4:31pm:
Gordy your link was problematic

Gordon didn't swipe it completely

Here it is again

Reply #104 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 5:56pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 5:42pm:
just charge this 'thing'

Not so quick ... she said she bought the mushrooms at two separate stores, and that she got sick too

Reply #105 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 6:43pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 5:49pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 4:31pm:
Gordy your link was problematic

Gordon didn't swipe it completely

Here it is again

I hate posting links when using phone..

Total BS

The bit about her kids not liking mushrooms and scraping them off, surely the toxins would have leeched into the rest of the dish.

In her statement, Erin said she dumped a food dehydrator at a local tip after the disastrous lunch following a conversation about the gadget with her children, where her ex-husband had asked “is that what you used to poison them?”.

She said in the statement she then “panicked” over the thought that she could lose custody of her children, according to the ABC, and rid herself of the processor.

She said she had lied to investigators when she told them she dumped it “a long time ago”.

Erin said her children were not present at the time of the meal, stating they had actually gone to the movies.

They ate the leftovers from the lunch the following night.

Erin said her children did not like mushrooms, so she “scraped” them off.

She said the fungi used in the dish were a mixture of button mushrooms bought at a supermarket chain and dried ones from an Asian grocery store in Melbourne months prior.

Reply #106 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:16pm

Mushroom Roulette?

Now it's the dried ones bought months before in a downtown Chinese store.... and some button tops bought locally..... OK - show me the stores ....

"I find your story hard to believe, Erin.."

"Oh?  Which part?"

I feel the hounds are closing in... too many changes of story.....

Reply #107 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:42pm

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:16pm:
Mushroom Roulette?

Now it's the dried ones bought months before in a downtown Chinese store.... and some button tops bought locally..... OK - show me the stores ....

"I find your story hard to believe, Erin.."

"Oh?  Which part?"

I feel the hounds are closing in... too many changes of story.....

Why panic and dump the dehydrator? Is she trying to tell us she dehydrated the dried mushrooms, because it's unlikely she'd have dehydrated the bog standard buttons.

She's fat, ugly, stupid and guilty.

Reply #108 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:54pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 6:43pm:
a mixture of button mushrooms bought at a supermarket chain and dried ones from an Asian grocery store in Melbourne months prior.

Ah well, if the dried mushrooms from the Asian store were poisonous, she'll be in the clear

Dried mushrooms keep for many months, and she cooked them only three months after buying them

Hope she kept the receipt so she can clear her name quickly, avoiding any further fuss about the tragedy

Reply #109 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:56pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:54pm:
a mixture of button mushrooms bought at a supermarket chain and dried ones from an Asian grocery store in Melbourne months prior.

Ah well, if the dried mushrooms from the Asian store were poisonous, she'll be in the clear

Dried mushrooms keep for many months, and she cooked them only three months after buying them

Hope she kept the receipt so she can clear her name

Unlikely. There would be multiple other cases.

Reply #110 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:59pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:56pm:

Yes, that's a point well worth considering

Reply #111 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 10:14pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:42pm:
Why panic and dump the dehydrator? Is she trying to tell us she dehydrated the dried mushrooms,

That's a very good point also ... she was drying out mushrooms that were already dried out

That only leaves the supermarket mushrooms for drying out, if they needed it, and why would she toss the dehydrator after drying those edible mushrooms

It's not making much sense

Reply #112 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 10:17pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 9:56pm:

Exactly my thought also.

Now if these dried mushrooms were bought from a store…. There must be some left there or similar which can be seized and tested. The store owner should be asked questions.
But her being cagey about where they from…. About her inconsistencies about this dehydrator…she’s not making herself look very honest.

Milton Friedman

Reply #113 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 11:09pm

She might have thoroughly cleaned the dehydrator before throwing it out. If so, the forensic results won't show much

But she did say that she gave the police a sample of the leftover pie to take with them, so that should be easy to analyze

Reply #114 - Aug 14th, 2023 at 11:54pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 11:09pm:
She might have thoroughly cleaned the dehydrator before throwing it out. If so, the forensic results won't show much

But she did say that she gave the police a sample of the leftover pie to take with them, so that should be easy to analyze

Beef Wellington isn’t a pie unless its a pot pie I believe?
Now without knowing or being privy to ALL details and specifics of timeline.
I’m only going by what has been reported.
If it takes up to 24 hours or so for symptoms of toxic mushroom consumption, and if it had taken a further week before 3 people died with one critical … being hospitalised…. and the woman that cooked the beef Wellington was also in hospital.
So with over a week gone by before deaths occurred… how could there be any beef Wellington left over to give police?
Did she give police that? I wonder what their findings are then?
It may be quite some time before any assertions are proven or disproven.

I’m still perplexed by the fact her ex was hospitalised in a bad way and in a coma last year.

First thing he asked her after his parents were hospitalised was what did she poison them with?

Milton Friedman

Reply #115 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 4:15am

Latest report yesterday 14/8.

Patterson changes her story every day, which
is enough to raise anyone's suspicions. 

BTW... Beef Wellington is not a "pie". 

Reply #116 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 5:06am

The essence of the lie is that the story keeps changing............... she's going down..... for a long time....

If toxicology reports on her hubby's illness show similar........ gurgle.......................

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #117 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 10:11am

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 5:56pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 5:42pm:
just charge this 'thing'

Not so quick ... she said she bought the mushrooms at two separate stores, and that she got sick too

story changes and has holes everywhere. red flags galore.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #118 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 10:13am

She may get off prison on defence of mental disability, same as Trump.

Reply #119 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 10:50am

chimera wrote on Aug 15th, 2023 at 10:13am:
She may get off prison on defence of mental disability, same as Trump.

.. or same as the Mad Musso of Mascot...... clearly a head case .....

Now there's a good alliterative title - Mad Musso Of Mascot Meets Masters!  That'll sell papers!!

Reply #120 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 12:29pm

Ok here’s the thing : some of the women in my Facebook group live NEAR Leongatha OR have relatives who live IN Leongatha.

Apparently the town folk in the region are angry with the current ongoing saga for a number of reasons...including the fact that this tragedy has made their town globally famous for all the wrong reasons.

Presently there’s a lot of grief over those who have died as they were well known and loved (church ministers and their wives and their congregations are heavily involved in town community organisations). The old guy who is currently fighting for his life is a much loved church minister who’s very down to earth and forever helping the local community. It’s important that this guy pulls through and gives detectives the truth about what happened because the truth is never going to come from Erin Patterson who keeps changing her story (many South Gippsland residents believe Erin is trying to explain away anomalies but the more she talks the worse these anomalies get). Town folk are coming forward to offer their kidneys (or whatever other body organs are required) ...to save the old guy’s life.

Community anger 👉 lots of it and it’s mainly targeted at VicPol. Why? They’re taking too long to arrest and charge Erin Patterson with manslaughter/murder. They think her ever changing accounts alone indicate it’s clearly one or the other. Also the fact that both her children were taken off her by Victoria’s Child Protection Services means this : there’s a risk of harm to both those kids by their mother.

Also those in the town are stating that the mushroom excuse is just that - an excuse! Erin Patterson is the editor of the local rag and has been so for some time. She and those working with her in producing the monthly publication constantly post articles on mushrooms and which are safe etc.

Then there’s this : It’s now being alleged that Erin’s own relatives don’t want to get involved in this current messy situation. They’re not offering support to her. They’re concerned about the 2 children caught up in this nightmare and are trying to offer help to them not her. Some of her own relatives believe Erin needs a lot of professional help. Oh and they have stated that the amicable split with the ex husband is BS. Why? Child custody issues.

« Last Edit: Aug 15th, 2023 at 12:41pm by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #121 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 1:19pm

AusGeoff wrote on Aug 15th, 2023 at 4:15am:
Latest report yesterday 14/8.

Patterson changes her story every day, which
is enough to raise anyone's suspicions. 

BTW... Beef Wellington is not a "pie". 

https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/beef-wellington

Beef Wellington

Wrapped in golden, buttery puff pastry and filled with deeply savory mushroom duxelles, beef Wellington is an unforgettable centerpiece to any feast. Dried porcini deliver extra umami to the beef, while a touch of Dijon and chopped herbs adds a layer of freshness as well. Skipping the foie gras makes the dish more approachable, and swapping out the traditional crepe lining for phyllo (thanks to a trick from Kenji Lopez-Alt) streamlines the process, but beef Wellington still demands several hours of searing, stuffing, rolling, and chilling to ensure its magical result.

Reply #122 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 1:24pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 15th, 2023 at 12:29pm:
Ok here’s the thing : some of the women in my Facebook group live NEAR Leongatha OR have relatives who live IN Leongatha.

Apparently the town folk in the region are angry with the current ongoing saga for a number of reasons...including the fact that this tragedy has made their town globally famous for all the wrong reasons.

Presently there’s a lot of grief over those who have died as they were well known and loved (church ministers and their wives and their congregations are heavily involved in town community organisations). The old guy who is currently fighting for his life is a much loved church minister who’s very down to earth and forever helping the local community. It’s important that this guy pulls through and gives detectives the truth about what happened because the truth is never going to come from Erin Patterson who keeps changing her story (many South Gippsland residents believe Erin is trying to explain away anomalies but the more she talks the worse these anomalies get). Town folk are coming forward to offer their kidneys (or whatever other body organs are required) ...to save the old guy’s life.

Community anger 👉 lots of it and it’s mainly targeted at VicPol. Why? They’re taking too long to arrest and charge Erin Patterson with manslaughter/murder. They think her ever changing accounts alone indicate it’s clearly one or the other. Also the fact that both her children were taken off her by Victoria’s Child Protection Services means this : there’s a risk of harm to both those kids by their mother.

Also those in the town are stating that the mushroom excuse is just that - an excuse! Erin Patterson is the editor of the local rag and has been so for some time. She and those working with her in producing the monthly publication constantly post articles on mushrooms and which are safe etc.

Then there’s this : It’s now being alleged that Erin’s own relatives don’t want to get involved in this current messy situation. They’re not offering support to her. They’re concerned about the 2 children caught up in this nightmare and are trying to offer help to them not her. Some of her own relatives believe Erin needs a lot of professional help. Oh and they have stated that the amicable split with the ex husband is BS. Why? Child custody issues.

Nothing better than walk the walk and talk the talk with local yokels to get a better picture.

We often go through Leongatha to visit friends in Foster.
I’ve stopped in the township to go to their op shops which are different with so many old fashioned craft stuff I love and it’s hard to find anywhere else… this is indicative of old fashioned country town values still held dear.
These places out-that-away are lovely with a nicer pace of life.
I could imagine how upsetting their town is getting the wrong and undeserved attention at present.
A stigma that will now stick with them anytime the town’s name is mentioned.
It’s bit like the town of Childers… when we drive through there I think of all those tragic backpackers deaths from the fire to the building.

« Last Edit: Aug 15th, 2023 at 2:16pm by Sophia »  

Milton Friedman

Reply #123 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 2:27pm

A comment and pic from another forum:

another trial by media? "a mushroom ate my baby" "pair of scissors and
a black matinee jacket suggest satanic ritual" "dehydrator found at local dump"

Reply #124 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 4:54pm

Sophia wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 11:54pm:
Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 14th, 2023 at 11:09pm:

Beef Wellington isn’t a pie unless its a pot pie I believe?
Now without knowing or being privy to ALL details and specifics of timeline.
I’m only going by what has been reported.
If it takes up to 24 hours or so for symptoms of toxic mushroom consumption, and if it had taken a further week before 3 people died with one critical … being hospitalised…. and the woman that cooked the beef Wellington was also in hospital.
So with over a week gone by before deaths occurred… how could there be any beef Wellington left over to give police?
Did she give police that? I wonder what their findings are then?
It may be quite some time before any assertions are proven or disproven.

I’m still perplexed by the fact her ex was hospitalised in a bad way and in a coma last year.

First thing he asked her after his parents were hospitalised was what did she poison them with?

Here's an article from The Age, yesterday 14th Aug

"In the statement to police, Patterson claimed she kept the beef Wellington leftovers for investigators to collect as evidence."

"Patterson told the Department of Health where she had purchased the dried mushrooms and confirmed that samples recovered from the Asian grocery store in containers with handwritten labels were the same as the type she had purchased months before."

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/what-the-chef-from-the-fatal-poisono...

Mushrooms in containers with "handwritten labels" ... who in their right mind would buy and eat those mushrooms?

Wonder what was written on the labels? ... "Home Grown Edible Mushrooms" or "Freshly Picked Mushrooms" perhaps

Reply #125 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 5:12pm

Sophia wrote on Aug 15th, 2023 at 1:24pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 15th, 2023 at 12:29pm:

Nothing better than walk the walk and talk the talk with local yokels to get a better picture.

We often go through Leongatha to visit friends in Foster.
I’ve stopped in the township to go to their op shops which are different with so many old fashioned craft stuff I love and it’s hard to find anywhere else… this is indicative of old fashioned country town values still held dear.
These places out-that-away are lovely with a nicer pace of life.
I could imagine how upsetting their town is getting the wrong and undeserved attention at present.
A stigma that will now stick with them anytime the town’s name is mentioned.
It’s bit like the town of Childers… when we drive through there I think of all those tragic backpackers deaths from the fire to the building.

Yes. Sadly this is how some towns will be forever remembered ie for their tragedies. 😔🥺

Sophie ...in a previous post (by me) I mentioned Erin’s children had been removed and were currently in the care of Victoria’s Child Services.

Well in that post I also pointed out how interesting it would be to see what drawings those 2 innocent children produced whilst chatting to Victoria’s Child Services psychologists/experts. You see children who have gone through a lot of trauma can’t always put into words/verbalise what they’ve gone through but find it easier to draw about it instead.

Well one of the mothers in my Facebook group
(who is from the Leongatha region) has just posted this up 👇

Warning : this is not an easy read

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/real-life/news-life/death-wall-inside-mushroom...
« Last Edit: Aug 15th, 2023 at 5:18pm by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #126 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 5:19pm

From the above link :

Death wall’ inside mushroom chef’s house

The former home of the woman who prepared the lunch in a suspected fatal mushroom poisoning featured a “death wall” with disturbing children’s drawings.

EXCLUSIVE

The former home of the woman who prepared the lunch in a suspected fatal mushroom poisoning that killed three people featured a creepy “death wall” with disturbing children’s drawings of tombstones and an ominous warning that “you don’t [have] long to live”.

A photo obtained exclusively by news.com.au from inside the Korumburra home previously owned by Erin Patterson shows a large section of one wall covered in red, blue and black graffiti.

1. The article continues (sorry I can’t post it up as it’s too upsetting)

2. The drawings those 2 children left behind are in that article (sorry I can’t post them up as it’s too upsetting)

Note : This news article has apparently angered many residents of Leongatha and their anger is directed at VicPol who are taking too long to arrest Erin Patterson. They just want this online saga to stop as they feel that these articles are destroying/hurting their town.
« Last Edit: Aug 15th, 2023 at 5:31pm by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #127 - Aug 15th, 2023 at 6:35pm

With children… they draw what they are currently going through… in the moment.
When my dad passed suddenly, we would be discussing the funeral, the gravestone  etc
I later saw my (then younger) children had drawn gravestones …
So I’m wondering if it’s something with these children drawing on what they call “the death wall” as something that was drawn during and after the hospitalisation and deaths.
Especially when written “you don’t have long to live” and then later “rip”.
All written as it was happening and not premeditating anything sinister.

Milton Friedman

Reply #128 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 12:29pm

It's reported now that she is an experienced forager of wild fungi

"The deadly mushroom cook behind the poisonous lunch that killed three of her relatives was an experienced fungi forager, a friend of the family says.

The friend said Erin Patterson was “very good at foraging” and knew how to identify the wild mushroom varieties near her home in Leongatha in Victoria’s Gippsland region.

“The Patterson family (including Erin and ex-husband Simon) would pick mushrooms each year when they were in season,”

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/23505071/erin-patterson-mushroom-deaths-experience...

https://www.perthnow.com.au/news/crime/erin-patterson-family-friend-says-deadly-...

Reply #129 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 12:36pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 16th, 2023 at 12:29pm:
It's reported now that she is an experienced forager of wild fungi

"The deadly mushroom cook behind the poisonous lunch that killed three of her relatives was an experienced fungi forager, a friend of the family says.

The friend said Erin Patterson was “very good at foraging” and knew how to identify the wild mushroom varieties near her home in Leongatha in Victoria’s Gippsland region.

“The Patterson family (including Erin and ex-husband Simon) would pick mushrooms each year when they were in season,”

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/23505071/erin-patterson-mushroom-deaths-experience...

https://www.perthnow.com.au/news/crime/erin-patterson-family-friend-says-deadly-...

Yep. And as the editor of the local rag she herself was responsible for articles on this subject matter.

HINT : THAT IS WHY SHE CAN ONLY STATE SHE BOUGHT THE MUSHROOMS FROM A STORE

Reply #130 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:14pm

Health officials and shops hit back

"HEALTH officials and grocers in Victoria have hit back at claims made by the mum who cooked a mushroom lunch that left three dead."

" .... But despite her claims she bought the fungus from shops in the state, Victoria’s Health Department has no health alerts for any mushroom sales."

"Asian shops and mushroom growers in the area have also not had any issues reported to them, and none of their mushroom products have been recalled, reports the Herald Sun.

The Australian Mushroom Growers Association said: "Given the recent focus on mushrooms, the AMGA feels it necessary to inform the public that commercially grown mushrooms, produced in Australia, are safe and high quality."

"The only poisonous mushrooms are those picked in the wild."

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/23496411/mushroom-deaths-grocers-officials-hit-bac...

Reply #131 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:18pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:14pm:

"HEALTH officials and grocers in Victoria have hit back at claims made by the mum who cooked a mushroom lunch that left three dead."

" .... But despite her claims she bought the fungus from shops in the state, Victoria’s Health Department has no health alerts for any mushroom sales."

"Asian shops and mushroom growers in the area have also not had any issues reported to them, and none of their mushroom products have been recalled, reports the Herald Sun.

The Australian Mushroom Growers Association said: "Given the recent focus on mushrooms, the AMGA feels it necessary to inform the public that commercially grown mushrooms, produced in Australia, are safe and high quality."

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/23496411/mushroom-deaths-grocers-officials-hit-bac...

Criminologists/crime reporters are also commenting about the many discrepancies in her accountS.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/the-12-deadly-questions-in-the-mushr...

Reply #132 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:27pm

Ok from my above link :

Patterson admits she lied about the food dehydrator when first questioned by police, and regrets accepting initial legal advice to refuse to answer further questions. Detectives will now seek to re-interview her.

Police have made it clear this is not a murder probe, but an investigation into unexplained deaths. Patterson has repeatedly said she has done nothing wrong.

Here are 12 follow-up questions the homicide squad is likely to ask.

1. You don’t remember the name of the Asian grocer, but can you take us to the location?

2. If it was a commercially available product, why have there been no other cases of death cap poisoning?

3. Why use dried mushrooms?
Gordon Ramsay’s beef Wellington recipe calls for a wild mushroom paste to be used. This usually requires cooking all moisture out of the mushrooms, but dehydrated ones could be used. It would mean the actual fillet of beef may not have been compromised by poisoned juice.

4. How did you recover?
Patterson says she was given a liver protecting drug. There is no known cure for death cap mushroom poisoning and the fungi is one of the most toxic poisons on Earth.

5. Why did Patterson get a mild dose of illness?
Patterson is more than 20 years younger than her guests, which may make her more resilient.

6. The lunch was on July 29. The guests presented at hospital the following day with severe symptoms. You presented, but the medical staff chose not to admit you. Why?

7. When did you learn of the food poisoning and why were you confident your children would not become ill?
All of Patterson’s guests went to hospital with suspected food poisoning on July 30, with each couple presenting separately with symptoms so severe they were quickly transferred to Melbourne. On that evening, although the four guests who ate the beef Wellington were severely ill, Patterson says she gave her children leftovers from the same suspected poisoned meal.

8. Why were you well enough to go home and dispose of the dehydrator at a local tip before returning to hospital two days after the lunch, with symptoms sufficiently bad to require you to be transferred to Melbourne?

9. Did you make a sauce, or gravy with any of the mushrooms?

10. Why did you dispose of the dehydrator but keep the remains of the beef Wellington to be tested by the Health Department?

11. Were tests conducted on Erin Patterson in hospital that could shed light on the mystery?

12. When can we get forensic results?
The Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine has about 200 different types of poisons on file. In this case, they will have to get a clinical sample to compare to pathology from the victims, which may take several weeks.

Reply #133 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:46pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:14pm:

Australia's mushroom industry says it is "absolutely impossible" that a grower could produce poison fungi,
https://www.abc.net.au/news/rural/2023-08-16/mushrooms-poisoning-leongatha-shopp...

Reply #134 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:47pm

4 things we know about our mushroom lady.

1: Fat
2: Ugly
3: Stupid
4: Liar

Is she also a murderer?

Reply #135 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 2:06pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 16th, 2023 at 1:47pm:

Is she also a murderer?

It was stated on the news that she was upset because some people
on social media called her a witch.

Reply #136 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 2:12pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2023 at 2:06pm:

Is she also a murderer?

I don't believe in the existence of witches, but the 4 things I said about her ARE true.

Reply #137 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 2:46pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 16th, 2023 at 2:12pm:

Is she also a murderer?

I don't believe in the existence of witches, but the 4 things I said about her ARE true.

Witches mix up magic potions and play around with poisons.

Reply #138 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 5:48pm

Is she also a murderer?

Witches do exist ok?

However this topic isn’t about witches ... it’s about bitches.

I kid you not Gordy if/when that Church Minister pulls through (he’s still waiting for a liver transplant) ... and he finally talks about what happened and his testimony is then compared to that of one of the now dead females (who gave her testimony to a paramedic as she lay dying in the ambulance) and these 2 testimonies match up...VicPol are coming for a certain short fat psychopathic bitch in a Target uniform.

Reply #139 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 7:11pm

Is she also a murderer?

24603490_n.jpg (17 KB | 10 )
24603490_n.jpg

Reply #140 - Aug 16th, 2023 at 7:44pm

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/real-life/news-life/death-wall-inside-mushroom...

Here's a collage of the death wall - it was written by kids.

Reply #141 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 12:36am

It ain't looking good for her... but it's a crazy thing to do - people do crazy things... look at that guy up Rocky's way who killed his wife and baby daughter... WTF??

It beggars belief that she ate it herself and had pretty mild symptoms - then developed those later etc... and her kids had none.

Tox reports on her parents and her husband might be revealing.... I don't think she'll get bail...

Released on own recognisance with the strict instruction that you are to hold no dinner parties and are not to approach any mushrooms.

Jesus - give her a job in the prison cook house... that'd go down a treat ....

Reply #142 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 7:42am

Won’t be long now.

Erin knows she’s facing murder charges.

Reply #143 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 7:46am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 7:42am:
Won’t be long now.

Been scrambling from the outset to make the story sound good.... those cops are just lining up all their ducks... they don't want a loose cannon jury to set her free...

Reply #144 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:07am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 7:46am:
Won’t be long now.

Been scrambling from the outset to make the story sound good.... those cops are just lining up all their ducks... they don't want a loose cannon jury to set her free...

Pretty much.

It’s certainly no accident. Nor is it manslaughter. Where Erin went horribly wrong was assuming everyone would die. The fact that a few of her victims survived to tell the tale (1 being a woman struggling to tell a paramedic what went down before she died) ... the other being the church minister who’s in a stable condition in hospital waiting for a liver transplant (he’s been talking to police for sure) and her own husband who cancelled at the last minute (he was no doubt her main target).

Erin’s famous uncle ie mother’s brother (a well known high profile Australian lawyer) would have been beyond horrified had he still been alive.

I feel for those 2 kids caught up in this nightmare.

Reply #145 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:17am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:07am:
Won’t be long now.

Pretty much.

It’s certainly no accident. Nor is it manslaughter. Where Erin went horribly wrong was assuming everyone would die. The fact that a few of her victims survived to tell the tale (1 being a woman struggling to tell a paramedic what went down before she died) ... the other being the church minister who’s in a stable condition in hospital waiting for a liver transplant (he’s been talking to police for sure) and her own husband who cancelled at the last minute (he was no doubt her main target).

Erin’s famous uncle ie mother’s brother (a well known high profile Australian lawyer) would have been beyond horrified had he still been alive.

Why were the kids writing such morbid things on the wall?

The cops spoke to the man - the painter who found that and took the picture.   Embarrassed

Reply #146 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:20am

Very prophetic is Monty Python.... why are you always on about women, Stan?

Reply #147 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:22am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:17am:
Won’t be long now.

Pretty much.

The cops spoke to the man - the painter who found that and took the picture.   Embarrassed

Ahh yes. What an unexpected bit of evidence that turned out to be. Clinical and child psychologists have commented at length about those scrawls. It’s all part of the tragic jigsaw puzzle that’s slowly revealing how unwell this woman is.

Reply #148 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 10:51am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:22am:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 8:17am:
Won’t be long now.

Pretty much.

Ahh yes. What an unexpected bit of evidence that turned out to be. Clinical and child psychologists have commented at length about those scrawls. It’s all part of the tragic jigsaw puzzle that’s slowly revealing how unwell this woman is.

Whereabouts? Any links? I’d love to see what they (clinical and child psychologists) had to say please.

Milton Friedman

Reply #149 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 10:52am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 12:36am:
It ain't looking good for her... but it's a crazy thing to do - people do crazy things... look at that guy up Rocky's way who killed his wife and baby daughter... WTF??

It beggars belief that she ate it herself and had pretty mild symptoms - then developed those later etc... and her kids had none.

Tox reports on her parents and her husband might be revealing.... I don't think she'll get bail...

Released on own recognisance with the strict instruction that you are to hold no dinner parties and are not to approach any mushrooms.

Jesus - give her a job in the prison cook house... that'd go down a treat ....

Now there’s an idea!  Tongue

Milton Friedman

Violet Crumble

Reply #150 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 1:34pm

Beef Wellington is awfully heavy for a lunch dish. But those poor folks were awfully stout.

Reply #151 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 3:21pm

Reply #152 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 5:46pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 3:21pm:

Erin Patterson, 48

A stay-at-home mother, she edited the local newsletter, The Burra Flyer, from 2018 until 2020. She has given a sworn written statement to police documenting her recollections of the July 29 lunch at which she served beef Wellington to her guests.

Reply #153 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 7:37pm

Identifying the Deathcap. Amanita phalloides

160,855 views  Sep 15, 2020

How to identify the deadly poisonous Deathcap (Amanita Phalliodes)

Reply #154 - Aug 17th, 2023 at 7:58pm

Australian Mushroom Poisoning: Psychologist Analyzes Behavior and Body Language

Reply #155 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:51am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 17th, 2023 at 7:37pm:
Identifying the Deathcap. Amanita phalloides

160,855 views  Sep 15, 2020

How to identify the deadly poisonous Deathcap (Amanita Phalliodes)

Russel Quoit.... he'd get it right!!

Reply #156 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:22pm

Australian mushroom poisoning:

Friend reveals Erin Patterson was an ‘experienced’ fungi forager

NZ Herald
16 Aug, 2023 12:42 PM

The mushroom cook behind the toxic beef wellington that poisoned four people, leaving three of them dead, was an “experience fungi forager”, according to a source close to the family.

According to the Daily Mail Australia, Erin Patterson was known to often and expertly pick wild mushrooms around Victoria’s Gippsland region.

A friend of Patterson’s family revealed Erin was “very good at foraging” and at identifying different mushroom varieties.

“The Patterson family (including Erin and estranged husband Simon) would pick mushrooms each year when they were in season,” the friend said.

“It’s very common for people to go mushroom picking around that area.”

Reply #157 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:40pm

4 things we know about her

FAT
UGLY
STUPID
LIAR

But is she a murderer?

Reply #158 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:42pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:22pm:

NZ Herald

https://www.nzherald.co.nz/resizer/3sTCbPQxUuV9L54uNJASoxMD7h4=/1440x819/smart/f...

The mushroom cook behind the toxic beef wellington that poisoned four people, leaving three of them dead, was an “experience fungi forager”, according to a source close to the family.

According to the Daily Mail Australia, Erin Patterson was known to often and expertly pick wild mushrooms around Victoria’s Gippsland region.

A friend of Patterson’s family revealed Erin was “very good at foraging” and at identifying different mushroom varieties.

“The Patterson family (including Erin and estranged husband Simon) would pick mushrooms each year when they were in season,” the friend said.

She probably found and ate a different species of poisonous mushroom which causes sickness and vomiting to make it look like she also ate the same meal.

Reply #159 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:49pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:42pm:
She probably found and ate a different species of poisonous mushroom which causes
sickness and vomiting to make it look like she also ate the same meal.

Apparently she's very upset as some people on social media
have called her a wicked witch.

Reply #160 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:52pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:49pm:
She probably found and ate a different species of poisonous mushroom which causes

I wouldn't specuate about that, I'll stick to the facts.

She's a

FAT
UGLY
STUPID
LIAR

Reply #161 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 9:13pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:52pm:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:49pm:

I wouldn't specuate about that, I'll stick to the facts.

She's a

FAT
UGLY
STUPID
LIAR

....who loves wearing a Target uniform every day.

Reply #162 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 9:15pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 18th, 2023 at 7:22pm:

NZ Herald

https://www.nzherald.co.nz/resizer/3sTCbPQxUuV9L54uNJASoxMD7h4=/1440x819/smart/f...

She probably found and ate a different species of poisonous mushroom which causes sickness and vomiting to make it look like she also ate the same meal.

Nahh. I reckon she took a few laxatives to make it appear as though she had symptoms.

Re: Ex Partner Suspected Of Poisoning Inlaws DRAMA
Reply #163 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 9:16pm

Media cashing in on tragedy???

https://amp.theage.com.au/culture/tv-and-radio/how-soon-is-too-soon-could-leonga...

The Age

Death cap case. How soon is too soon: Could Leongatha mushroom deaths become TV drama?

It’s the case that’s gripped the nation, but could the small-town tragedy be turned into a TV series - and should it?

By Karl Quinn AUGUST 18, 2023

Erin Patterson cooked lunch for four guests, three of whom later died. She has denied any wrongdoing.

There are many things yet to be revealed about the tragic mushroom-lunch deaths in Leongatha. But the one near-certainty about the case that has gripped the nation is that someone is already turning their mind to how, when, and in what form it can be told as a TV drama.

Re: Ex Partner Suspected Of Poisoning Inlaws DRAMA
Reply #164 - Aug 18th, 2023 at 9:38pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 18th, 2023 at 9:16pm:
Media cashing in on tragedy???

https://amp.theage.com.au/culture/tv-and-radio/how-soon-is-too-soon-could-leonga...

The Age

Death cap case. How soon is too soon: Could Leongatha mushroom deaths become TV drama?

It’s the case that’s gripped the nation, but could the small-town tragedy be turned into a TV series - and should it?

By Karl Quinn AUGUST 18, 2023

Erin Patterson cooked lunch for four guests, three of whom later died. She has denied any wrongdoing.

There are many things yet to be revealed about the tragic mushroom-lunch deaths in Leongatha. But the one near-certainty about the case that has gripped the nation is that someone is already turning their mind to how, when, and in what form it can be told as a TV drama.

Of course it will be a TV drama one day.
I reckon the cops are just waiting to charge her -
carefully collecting more evidence.
Apparently they put her into a secret safe house as
she was getting too many unwelcome visitors.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #165 - Aug 31st, 2023 at 8:05am

A memorial is being held. It will be followed by a light snack, cheese or mushroom on crackers.

Reply #166 - Aug 31st, 2023 at 2:47pm

The latest news is that Erin visited lawyers in Melbourne and she was advised not to talk to the media

It's likely we'll hear nothing more now until the Police have something further to say about the case

https://www.9news.com.au/national/leongatha-mushroom-incident-erin-patterson-vis...

A memorial service is being held today for the victims of the mushroom poisoning

"Hundreds of locals filed into Korumburra Recreation Centre on a dreary Thursday afternoon to farewell their much-loved neighbours, Don and Gail Patterson."

https://www.theadvocate.com.au/story/8330002/son-of-poisonous-mushroom-victims-t...

Reply #167 - Sep 24th, 2023 at 2:55pm

Poisoning survivor Ian Wilkinson has been released from hospital

"We are pleased to announce that Ian Wilkinson has made significant progress in his recovery and was released from Austin Hospital on Friday," the family said.
"This milestone marks a moment of immense relief and gratitude for Ian and the entire Wilkinson family."

https://www.9news.com.au/national/mushroom-poisoning-survivor-pastor-ian-wilkins...

Nothing about having a liver transplant, he probably didn't need it. Let's hope he makes a full recovery without it

Reply #168 - Oct 4th, 2023 at 8:10pm

"Surviving victim of mushroom poisoning farewells wife at emotional service"

By Richard Wood
Allanah Sciberras
5:22pm Oct 4, 2023

"Heather Wilkinson, 66, was remembered as a humble person who "just loved being a mum" at the service at the Korumburra Recreation Centre.
Her husband, Ian Wilkinson, walked into the service with the assistance of a walking frame, just weeks after he was released from hospital following the poisoning on July 29"

https://www.9news.com.au/national/mushroom-deaths-victoria-heather-wilkinson-pub...

The person responsible for the poisoning, Erin Paterson, was no where to be seen at this memorial