Socks (Read 15905 times)

Re: Socks
Reply #75 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:10pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 13th, 2024 at 2:57pm:
Was in Launceston this morning—Harvest Farmers’ Market. After my marketing I drove to a dog park I had looked up—was even on the way home. TomTom got me to the dog park no probs.

Slightly disconcerting—a warning sign about snakes. Ummm {Gulp} OK.

Through the gate, take the lead off Socks, ZZZOOOOOMMMMMM!!!!!! off she goes. Get into the park proper—a bull mastiff cross American Staffy is there, starts chasing Socks. I relax and chat with the 3-4 other dog owners there (numbers change, some leave, some arrive.) No concern about Socks—no lumbering mastiff is going to catch her and the dogs are just having fun anyway—no growling or snarling, just dogs having fun playing chasey.

There is a rather overweight Jack Russell there, a really sweet dog, just wants cuddles, pats and scratches just above the tail—I am happy to oblige.

Then Socks discovers the river—the dog park is on one bank of the North Esk River. She *** LOVES *** running through water, as long as it is not too deep.

At the end I see my girl panting deeply—had a lot of fun, had to catch up the oxygen deficit. Great training for the coursing meet next Saturday. Will go back there Wed I think, 3.30–4.30PM roughly, be more dogs there then and Socks needs to run to prep for the meet Saturday. Might go to the Good Guys prior and buy a chest freezer—buy a big one of those for less than a smaller upright freezer! Quite the round trip—like $40 petrol minimum—so need to pack in the benefits. Will also visit BBQs Galore, organise a bigger smoker than the tiny one I have now. Two shopping events justifying the dog park excursion.

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 13th, 2024 at 2:57pm:
Was in Launceston this morning—Harvest Farmers’ Market.

Is that near the brewery?

Reply #76 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:33pm

Yeah, just uphill a bit, past Tamar St (I think that is the cross street, has Albert Hall on the corner with Cimitiere St.)

There are a couple meets in Brighton—I might make a trip out of it—visit Spice House Friday, Salamanca Market Saturday, nice meal somewhere, breakfast Sunday then the meet.

LOT of driving so lots of $$$ to get to Hobart—get my money’s worth.

Looking at lots smoking YouTubes right now, can see need to stock up on some spices—mustard seed, juniper berries, cloves, coriander, pepper!

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!

Reply #77 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:40pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:33pm:
LOT of driving so lots of $$$ to get to Hobart—get my money’s worth.

Passing through Perth   Wink

Reply #78 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:45pm

Maybe winter next year and I might be in Perth, WA.

Reply #79 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:47pm

That is winter next year.

Reply #80 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:49pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:45pm:
Maybe winter next year and I might be in Perth, WA.

I meant Perth between Launceston and Hobart   Wink

Reply #81 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 3:57pm

I know where Perth, Tas, is as I went to the Evandale Antiques Market not far from Perth, Tas.

Reply #82 - Apr 17th, 2024 at 11:13am

Saw this on waking up—oh well, I guess as long as the head is warm:

Cold_feet.jpeg (163 KB | 11 )
Cold_feet.jpeg

Reply #83 - Apr 17th, 2024 at 11:15am

Normally the blanket & rug are shrugged off by morning. Today I needed an early morning pee and Socks had wandered off to look for any food and to have a drink so I tucked her back in a couple of hours before rising for the day.

Reply #84 - Apr 20th, 2024 at 3:03pm

First lure coursing fun run today.

Comments on Socks “Grown a bit” and “more mature” etc. Maybe a more honest comment: bringing Socks to the meet to discuss the club, new structure of the fun run days etc and “Socks is a lurcher and very vocal!” Yup, LOTS of dogs around and she knows she will be able to run!

Her first run—average.

Second run—wow! Very clever anticipation where the lure would shoot to next, very fast running and she grabbed hold of the lure before it even stopped at the end of the course! Very nice indeed.

Another dog owner looked at Socks and said she was in great condition, can see the ribs when Socks holds her body the right way. I told her, yeah, she was putting on some weight so I put her on a bit of a diet because Socks lives for running and can’t run as far/fast if overweight.

Weather was nice, sunny, not much wind 18–20°C.

Reply #85 - Apr 20th, 2024 at 6:59pm

Goober is a thief and a troll and the so–called management here lets the idiot get away with it. Any wonder OzPol is circling the drain hole?

Reply #86 - Apr 25th, 2024 at 3:30pm

A fun run to be held near Hobart next month. Reckon I will drive to Hobart Fri morning, get to Hobart, visit the Spice House—could go crazy in there spending $$$ but will try and restrain myself. Sat visit Salamanca Market, something I have been wanting to do for ages. Lunch/dinner, to the pet-friendly accommodation and to the fun run in the morning.

Poor Socks will have to be in the car by herself for quite a while. Temperatures will be fine for that, likely to be 12–15°C max temps but still a long time. I will of course look up dog parks near where we will be and we can do a loooong walk along the river

An alternative is to book her in the boarding kennel for a week while I do a bit of a road trip to/around Hobart—this would be pretty cruel to Socks who has this massive separation anxiety. Have to work things out—can always split the visit to Salamanca market over two weeks—two fun runs near Hobart next month.

Separation anxiety.

You have never heard a dog make a noise until you have heard Socks wail because I have left her at home! LOUD like
LOUD!

I needed to change my rego from SA to Tas and have a road safety test done. Socks would just be in the way—can’t leave her in the car to attend the Tas rego office because the car had to be dropped off at the garage for the road safety testing. Massive screams as I drove off.

On the ferry Geelong–Devonport I HAD to leave Socks in one of the kennels—massive whine as I headed for the accommodation decks.

There is a liar who posts here tho currently must be on a holiday. That scumbag talked of “rescuing” i.e. STEALING Socks. Obviously “Lisa Jones” was wildly jealous that I had adopted what turned into a beautiful, sweet natured dog.

If the liar HAD managed to steal Socks the screaming and whining Socks would have uttered would have seen the liar “Lisa Jones” eject Socks from his car right on the highway no doubt.

The very stupid Goober tried to pretend recently that I had been unfair to Socks by not taking up “Lisa Jones’” offer to take Socks to Sydney.” Christ! I had to explain to the high school dropout that Larry had not “offered” to take Socks but had threatened to STEAL Socks from me!

Socks is perfectly happy here as are the greyhounds, whippets, terriers etc I see around town and at the fun run days.

People as stupid as Goober or even more stupid (e.g. “Jasin” aka Jaye) are driving intelligent members from OzPol.

Bam has left, CarlD hasn’t visited or posted for two weeks and DNA doesn’t post much anymore. If he goes who with any intelligence and knowledge will be left? Not many.

« Last Edit: Apr 25th, 2024 at 4:18pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #87 - May 4th, 2024 at 10:18pm

Took Socks to the dog park in the local big(ish) smoke.

Some people and dogs I had met before, including a sedate Great Dane 5 years old and already middle aged not more than 3 years before she will pass away, poor thing. A German shepherd, not aggressive but obviously wanting to try and dominate Socks—a truce seems to have been agreed to by the two dogs. Socks seemed to have lost her fear or realised she could always outrun the Shepherd and they seemed to adjust to each other.

These are well socialised dogs—there was never any growling or snarling, Socks initially wary of the bigger dog just dropped the wariness.

Two Irish Terriers were regulars at the park that hadn’t been there my last two visits there. They were all barking and aggression when Socks was on the other side of this fence, quiet once Socks was on the same side. Dogs!

It was a regular love fest for Socks, many comments on how beautiful she is. Love hearing that  Grin

Park is a bit far away. When I go to that park I always have business, food shopping and the like, to do as well as take Socks to the dog park. Just means I go there later in the day. Means it is pretty dark by the time I arrive home—darker as winter gets closer. Hopefully the group—anxiously asking if I was bringing Socks back there, will visit the park earlier. They don’t want to be there in the dark so should be OK.

Socks did plenty of running and walking—we did laps of the park most of the time. Be in good shape for the next lure coursing fun run.
« Last Edit: May 19th, 2024 at 9:33am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #88 - May 19th, 2024 at 10:34am

Finally Socks seems to be asserting herself.

Friday afternoon at the dog park, all people and dogs we had not met before. One of the dogs was a German Shepherd/Golden Retriever cross—big dog,long white straight fur.

We all meeted and greeted etc, all was well.

Another guy and his two dogs, kelpie crosses, and some balls and frisbees for playing Fetch! One of the balls was plastic, any whistle it may have had long gone. Now, Socks LOVES plastic balls, loves to chew them, “play soccer” with them etc. So she was happily chewing etc the plastic ball. The big white dog wanted a turn.

So the dog approached Socks to try and take ownership of the ball. Ha! I heard what I had never heard from Socks before: a growl! FINALLY my dog was standing up for herself, asserting herself! Typically it was “resource guarding” that did it. Not a vicious growl or long or loud. Just Socks saying “Mine!” and the big Shepherd cross backed off! As I said before, well socialised dogs.

Possibly Socks got more confidence after her last interaction with the German Shepherd that is one of her playmates there.

Eventually got hold of the ball and returned it to the guy. After that Socks played with the other dogs a bit. She doesn’t really do “Fetch” but did sort of chase after tennis balls and frisbees. LOL! I bent down to pick up a frisbee to throw it. Suddenly Pounce! Slide! Socks who had been like 20 metres or more away got to the frisbee before I did and the frisbee was right at my feet! LOL!

Be back to that town Monday to get food supplies for the week and to give Socks a nice run hopefully with some playmates.

Yes, Socks ate three firelighters yesterday. These were a kind I had not come across before. The usual kind is white, smooth and smells disgusting, this kind was brown and came in squares, a bit like chocolate bars. The smell was different, not as strong or disgusting.

I used some to get a fire going in the Saxon woodburner, leaving some out of the packet. Socks must have thought they were food! (Dogs are always if not hungry more than willing to eat.)

First I knew there was a brown lump on the edge of her bed and I thought she had broken a cardinal rule about not pooping in the house. A second look showed me what had happened.

I assume she bolted them, as dogs do bolt their food, but soon regretted and reversed her act. Was a bit anxious—was there another firelighter square in her tummy? Had her tummy digested any of the constituents.

Socks was not really happy last night but is back to her normal sweet self today. Phew!

Obviously I will not buy that kind of firelighter again!
« Last Edit: May 25th, 2024 at 5:40am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #89 - May 25th, 2024 at 5:47am

Well, woke up this morning “Wha. . .?” Socks was on my bed.

She has not done this for a while. When the tradies came to knock down the chimneys and replace cornices etc one bedroom became my bed/lounge/study/dining room and the change meant Socks was on my bed every morning and then she adjusted and was in her own bed all night for several nights in a row until this morning.

Oh well.

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15