Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14
Socks (Read 13328 times)

Re: Socks
Reply #60 - Sep 9th, 2023 at 1:07pm

Might put Socks in the Lure Coursing Trial later this year.

Dependson cost—not the $25 entry fee but think have to join the Tassie Kennel Club (or whatever it is called) and $90 is a bit much—will be alright when trialling in obedience etc as well as lure coursing.

Reply #61 - Sep 22nd, 2023 at 11:32am

Definitely not entering the trial. cost all up will be close to $150, not counting the petrol to drive there and back.

But a fun run is coming up and Socks will get her two runs! Man does she LOVE running really fast!

Reply #62 - Sep 23rd, 2023 at 10:11pm

Well, went to the fun run but it was crap.

HUGE delay before starting, I was pissed off, Socks was pissed off.

Mediocre run before lunch (for people not dogs!) after lunch during her run I heard “Slow the bags” which NEVER had to be said for Socks before!

Ah well, having travelled all that way I drove a bit further and bought some incredibly good raspberry jam and lovely tart raspberry syrup, then onto Bunnings for a heap of stuff then home again.

Think everything could have been managed better and I include me and Socks in that.

Ah well, better run. next time!

Reply #63 - Sep 24th, 2023 at 8:18pm

Holy crap, that dog can FART!

Previously, my dainty little chihuahua, Tiffany, was the dog with the worst farts, really bloody bad! Boisterous tomboy Demi, over 3 times Tiffany’s weight (8.5Kg v 2.5Kg) was a tyro at the farting game.

Enter the new champion, Socks! Much more weight and size to give real OOMPH and
VOLUME
to posterior exhalations. God, her farts
stink!
« Last Edit: Oct 12th, 2023 at 9:36am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #64 - Oct 5th, 2023 at 8:07am

Booby REALLY liked reading the above post on dog farts.

Meantime, I am expecting an important phone call so told Socks we weren’t going for a walk.

She is now in her bed, sulking, her back firmly towards me. No difficulty conveying that she is pissed.
« Last Edit: Oct 12th, 2023 at 9:37am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #65 - Oct 13th, 2023 at 3:58pm

Took the mutt to the big park again today!

When we got there—we had company! A lady about my age was letting her kelpy–bull mastiff cross have a run there. The two dogs did the polite “sniff each other’s arse” thing but Socks wanted to run! So she did.

I chatted with the lady while we slowly strolled along the park. Both of us moved here at about the same time, both on 2 acres but different towns.

The kelpy–bull mastiff looked like an oversize kelpy with the wrong head, just like Socks is a hound with the wrong head (pretty much the right weight and size for a staghound tho.)

Looked like it might rain so we headed back to our cars. Bugger! Socks grabbed the ball the lady was throwing for her mutt and would not give it back. So we stood there chatting, waiting to get the dogs into the car. Very pleasant BUT I could feel this big fart wanting to enter the real world and I did not want to disgrace myself. Who hasn’t been in this situation?

I managed to release arse gas discreetly, Socks eventually let the kelpy get its ball back and we both headed to our respective homes.

Nice.

Reply #66 - Oct 22nd, 2023 at 10:27am

Eating a late second breakfast or brunch—asparagus spears wrapped in prosciutto—and dropped a bit of asparagus onto the floor. Live in floor cleaner aka Socks sprang into action, gulp and the sparrowsguts was gone. Ummm is asparagus good for dogs?

American Kennel Club—COOKED asparagus is fine, raw is too rough.

Then the interesting bit since I want to grow a fair bit of asparagus: dogs should not eat asparagus fern, the leafy bit above the spear. OK, work out where the hell to plant it—Tassie a bit cold for it—and maybe have it in the poly tunnel or a separate cloche? Protect the asparagus from the cold and the dog from the fern at the same time.

Reply #67 - Oct 27th, 2023 at 10:52am

Re the veg patch—there is an area 3m wide by 27m long where I will have a few crab apple trees to pollinate the orchard next to it. Part of the polytunnel or greenhouse will be in this space. Enclose that area on both sides and put a few chooks there.

The vege patch will therefore be fully fenced off from the dog and the chickens will have a nice big area to roam in. Truly fresh, free range eggs! Best eaten 3 days after laying. No rooster!

Due to some changes to the apple orchard* the strip of land between orchard and vege patch will be FOUR metres wide! 4 x 27 = 108 square metres.

Deduct 10sqm for trees, polytunnel we have 98sqm for three chooks. That is 98/3 ≈ 33sqm per chook.

3sqm is considered free range, my chooks will have 33sqm! Free bloody range alright!

In early to mid spring I might have the chooks in a portable roost not in the normal run but in the orchard: any codlin moth trying to crawl out the ground and up the trunk of MY trees will make a chook’s breakfast!

*Change was first row 4m not 3m from side fence, rows start 2m not 3m from back fence. Change worked VERY well!
« Last Edit: Aug 6th, 2024 at 7:02pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #68 - Oct 27th, 2023 at 10:55am

Socks is not 100% happy with me—she is on a diet.

Thinking of other things I had not noticed that intestinal worms no longer ate some of her food—she had put on a nice coat over her ribs. So I am slowly causing her to lose that coat.

Since she loves running really fast letting her get too fat would be cruel.

From 28.7Kg she is down to 27.7Kg, bit more to go yet.

Reply #69 - Oct 27th, 2023 at 4:39pm

Hmmmm another visit to the big empty park.

Pulled up, had a careful look around—a family with a couple toddlers was there, so Socks was on the lead until some turns and tiny hills were between us and the two toddlers. Socks behaved VERY badly towards a toddler in the local recreation ground here so she is no longer allowed off-lead there.

But eventually took the lead off—BIG MISTAKE! Now, I am pretty conscientious in picking up after Socks (or Demi, Tiffany or Kandi) but some unconscionable BASTARD on a horse let his horse SHIT in the park and did NOT pick up!

Dogs love to roll on smelly <stuff> but they don’t like what comes after, stupid animals! Socks got a hosing down at the park and a more thorough bath once home.

That is not the fun bit: Socks LOVES running in {shallow} water and, as I have said before, there is a river along one side of the park. Silly bitch would run around then JUMP into the river, the shallow bank, with a splash then run in the river for the bit known to be shallow.

Socks did have a grand time. She did NOT like either bath she got, too bloody bad! Took some videos but none really good but I will see what I can put together to post on my fine forum, not here with stinking thieves like Booby given licence to steal and troll and doxx to their hearts content.

Reply #70 - Dec 13th, 2023 at 2:49pm

Well done Socks!

Today had made an appointment at the vet for Socks’ annual checkup and vaccinations. Got there in time to toilet walk the mutt up and down the street and report in in plenty of time.

Socks weighs about 26.6Kg, a good weight.

I mentioned sometimes dark stools (could be blood in the alimentary canal) and golden urine—too dark. I agreed to the cost of a blood test and the consult together—$300.

So Socks got taken out of the room and blood got taken. I did not hear the tiniest whimper from my lovely dog! Not one!

Vets don’t know dog breeds too well, asked if I was sure she was a staghound not a greyhound—explained a (pure breed) staghound was 50% greyhound, so no worries.

Eventually Socks is returned to me—rather excited and restless, bits of loud barking.

She got the heartworm vaxx orally then the three year parvo vaxx via injection—not a whimper from Socks! Proud of her!

Heh, I described Demi objecting violently to the heartworm vaxx injection, being muzzled then eating treats THROUGH the muzzle while being injected and not caring—there was FOOD!

Also mentioned my dainty chi Tiffany: some stupid vet just stuck a needle in her side, didn’t ask me for help first, didn’t do it into a fold of skin between her shoulders. Well, he got a mouthful of needles—not hard, just enough to register a protest. Next year this former rugby-playing young guy starts muzzling Tiffy in yards of fabric. I jeered openly at him—this big man muzzling the tiny dog!

Heh, I am sure the vets could have told me stories—but the next patient was there. The vets were sure impressed with Socks’ sweet nature, stoicism and beauty.
« Last Edit: Dec 13th, 2023 at 9:26pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #71 - Dec 13th, 2023 at 2:53pm

Got home, quick walk up and down the street for Socks then DONDER EN BLITZEM!

Got inside, walked with an armful of groceries to the lounge, switched the lounge light on, walked through to the kitchen and was stacking perishables in the fridge when I noticed—fridge light not on!

Checked the lounge—lounge light not on! Hmmm!

Grabbed phone—my street had no power due to lightning.

Had some of the loudest thunder I have ever heard a while ago!

Reply #72 - Dec 23rd, 2023 at 6:21am

Wow! The bitch is still in her bed nearly 20 minutes after her usual breakfast time! Dogs are devoted to their stomachs so she must really need some extra sleep!

Reply #73 - Feb 8th, 2024 at 2:56pm

On Twitter I chat to a bloke with early onset dementia. He has an assistance dog called Margo—she has been on plane flights like Sydney–Adelaide in the cabin.

So he posts about his dog and some, like me respond.

I posted at about 7.30 that “Madame” was having a “lie in” and it was 30 minutes past her regular breakfast time. Then I posted she finally got up just before 8.00am, an hour after breakfast time.

Margot is a dog really into licking, like washing his head. In contrast, Socks has given me ONE lick so far this year!

Reply #74 - Apr 13th, 2024 at 2:57pm

Was in Launceston this morning—Harvest Farmers’ Market. After my marketing I drove to a dog park I had looked up—was even on the way home. TomTom got me to the dog park no probs.

Slightly disconcerting—a warning sign about snakes. Ummm {Gulp} OK.

Through the gate, take the lead off Socks, ZZZOOOOOMMMMMM!!!!!! off she goes. Get into the park proper—a bull mastiff cross American Staffy is there, starts chasing Socks. I relax and chat with the 3-4 other dog owners there (numbers change, some leave, some arrive.) No concern about Socks—no lumbering mastiff is going to catch her and the dogs are just having fun anyway—no growling or snarling, just dogs having fun playing chasey.

There is a rather overweight Jack Russell there, a really sweet dog, just wants cuddles, pats and scratches just above the tail—I am happy to oblige.

Then Socks discovers the river—the dog park is on one bank of the North Esk River. She *** LOVES *** running through water, as long as it is not too deep.

At the end I see my girl panting deeply—had a lot of fun, had to catch up the oxygen deficit. Great training for the coursing meet next Saturday. Will go back there Wed I think, 3.30–4.30PM roughly, be more dogs there then and Socks needs to run to prep for the meet Saturday. Might go to the Good Guys prior and buy a chest freezer—buy a big one of those for less than a smaller upright freezer! Quite the round trip—like $40 petrol minimum—so need to pack in the benefits. Will also visit BBQs Galore, organise a bigger smoker than the tiny one I have now. Two shopping events justifying the dog park excursion.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14