Pages: 1 ... 15 16 17 
Socks (Read 20303 times)

Re: Socks
Reply #240 - Nov 17th, 2025 at 7:15am

Bought and downloaded two photos.

The one of Socks turning at speed shows earth flying from under her paws, that is the power she is capable of—the ground is a football oval and well grassed and the ground is anything but dry after all the rain we had recently. Nevertheless, soil is flying out from under her feet.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #241 - Nov 17th, 2025 at 5:49pm

Heh, I noticed lots of “tropical dogs” at the meet. Mostly whippets.

Also terriers, a collee and a long haired weimaraner.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #242 - Nov 19th, 2025 at 11:52am

Got the high res version of the second photo today.

Socks is stretched out above the field, obviously having just pushed off.

Her right front foot is dangling, bit like how homos have “limp wrists.”  Smiley Smiley

All dogs do that, it isn’t a peculiarity of Socks, guess preparing to land and jump off again.

Sis’ stepson reckons Socks has a “happy face” in that photo. Why not, she is running! Socks lives to run, is built to run very fast.

A full breed staghound can run as fast as a greyhound and keep running for longer. Socks has some Great Dane genes and so, paradoxically, is smaller than a full breed staghound.

Greyhounds and staghounds can reach 64kph, Socks would get close to that.

At the dog park yesterday afternoon, went into a paddock where a kelpie cross was obviously looking for an excuse to run so it and Socks played Fetch—of course Socks outran the kelpie everytime but the mutts enjoyed themselves and we enjoyed our mutts having a great time.

Yeah, I did show the photo of Socks cornering at speed  Cool

They were from NW Tassie where there is “nothing.” Be nice if the club could put on the odd event for the west coast but finding a safe place might be difficult—need a well grassed venue that is fully fenced and has a large field.

I was told years ago now that there was a football oval in the west that didn’t have grass. It has gravel! OUCH!
« Last Edit: Nov 23rd, 2025 at 2:11pm by Jovial Monk »  

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #243 - Nov 23rd, 2025 at 2:45pm

Got to Launie and the dog park by 9.00am.

Socks happily playing with the other dogs there, mainly running, man she loves to run and is sooo good at it. Had set a timer on my phone, 10.30am I called an end to the fun and we choofed off to the obedience training.

The bit-over-an-hour of running (that IS what Socks loves to do) had taken the  “piss and vinegar” out of Socks sufficiently that she performed like A STAR! (ummm stand for exam she did show her love for the instructor rather than stand unmoving and, since she had not eaten anything she WAS rather distracted by the smell of some arsehole barbequing! (Can’t feed a dog just before it will run—torsion bloat!)

The acid test—the recall from 10 metres away—went really well! Socks did take off like an ICBM but I could see her sort of remember and at my signal obligingly sat right in front of me.

I praised and petted Socks for a couple of minutes—until I realised that everybody else had returned to the starting line in front of this fence and the instructor said something to me. Unashamed and unabashed I said that you need to praise the dog when it did something right. He couldn’t disagree and didn’t try to.

One moment of comedy: my left ear suddenly suffered, and I quote, “severe to profound hearing loss” a few years ago. I thought the instructor wanted everyone to “leave [their] dog” but he only wanted my neighbor with the Dobermann to do so {Oops!}

Naturally when it was my turn the instructor called out “Holly, leave your dog!”  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Because Socks did so well I took her back to the dog park as a reward. But I think she had had enough so I called her and, after some shopping, we drove home.

Definite progress!
« Last Edit: Nov 30th, 2025 at 6:45pm by Jovial Monk »  

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #244 - Nov 23rd, 2025 at 2:55pm

Actually, after the timer went I got sucked into conversation with two other dog owners there.

Got one useful bit of info. I mentioned that I gave Socks sardines for heart, brain and joints. The younger dog owner I was talking to agreed and said he gives his mutt sardines and MACKEREL!

So got a tin of mackerel with my other purchases. Sourdough, mackerel, avioli and tomatoes etc make a nice supper I reckon. Socks will get veges with her mackerel!

Why sardines, why mackerel? Fatty fish! So chockfull of fish oil! Omega 3 and Omega 6 aplenty! Good for heart, brain, joints and fur.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #245 - Nov 23rd, 2025 at 7:20pm

Oh yeah. Not for the first time, I saw some “tropical dogs” today.

There are a couple of paddocks attached to the main paddock. One for “vulnerable” dogs and one for greyhounds. Socks has just under 50% greyhound genetics. Socks also has the greyhound coat, very short haired.

I have seen like half a dozen greyhounds all up since starting to take Socks to that park.

Yeah, no, hounds like Socks with short thin fur are NOT “tropical dogs.” Their slim build means temperature control of their bodies is difficult when it is too cold and when it is too hot.

Physical activity while outside in cooler weather allows the dog to keep its body temperature up.  When it is not exercising the dog’s body temperature can be controlled with heaters, blankets etc.

If it gets too hot body temperature regulation becomes very difficult. So I walk Socks early in the day in summer. The house never gets too hot and even with 35°C temperatures during the day at night temperatures drop to a mellow 12°C.

Of course, one could use a bit of commonsense unless you are really thick: Greyhounds, staghounds and whippets plus the Jack Russell terrier, all short haired dogs, were bred and used in England first! Look up the latitude of London and look up the latitude of Hobart. Socks is perfectly fine here!

The Great Dane was bred, initially from English mastiffs in Germany. Early on it was called “The English Dog” then it became “The German Dog” and the breed finally was called the Great Dane.

Great Danes do not have thin bodies. The one we see at the other dog park, not in Launceston, weighs 76Kg. But they do have short fur.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #246 - Nov 24th, 2025 at 6:28pm

At the “local” dog park this arvo:

In the medium sized paddock there was ANOTHER “tropical dog:” in this case a rehomed racing greyhound. Woman who brought the greyhound had a delightful Scottish accent, very nice to hear indeed.

Her greyhound wore a muzzle—it is the law! An exception is the greyhound-only subpark of the Launceston dog park.

Not quite sure why—anyone know? No greyhound I have encountered has been aggressive.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #247 - Nov 24th, 2025 at 6:33pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 24th, 2025 at 6:28pm:
At the “local” dog park this arvo:

In the medium sized paddock there was ANOTHER “tropical dog:” in this case a rehomed racing greyhound. Woman who brought the greyhound had a delightful Scottish accent, very nice to hear indeed.

Her greyhound wore a muzzle—it is the law! An exception is the greyhound-only subpark of the Launceston dog park.

Not quite sure why—anyone know? No greyhound I have encountered has been aggressive.

Outdated laws based on the belief they'd bite each other on the race track.

They've been repealed here in WA.

Reply #248 - Nov 30th, 2025 at 1:48pm

Left home nice and early, got to the Launceston dog park with time for Socks to run and play for an hour and a half.

So we did that, walking around the circumference of the park for exercise for me. Timer rang, called Socks and we choofed off to the training area.

Umm only 2-3 cars palred where usually there are a few dozen.

Yup, last week was the last week for the year. Would have been nice if we had been informed or reminded of that! I had searched the club website and facebook page—no mention.

Maybe a newsletter contained the date?

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #249 - Nov 30th, 2025 at 2:03pm

So we drove off grumpily. PetStock—Socks weighs about 26.3–26.4Kg, nice. Will slowly slim her a little bit more.

Coles for frozen veges, sardines and tuna for Socks and yoghurt for me. Good IGA place for a few ingredients for the beef pie, sourdough bread, fruit, veg. Bulk butcher for pet mince, chicken necks and brisket bones, all for Socks. Headed home.

I have mentioned there is a spot on a river fairly close to home where, when possible, I stop and let Socks stretch her legs and toilet.

Decided to walk in the opposite direction from our usual stroll, along a road so Socks was on the lead. Walked about a kilometre, saw a bridge ahead so we strolled another kilometre to that bridge. Bridge had a narrow footpath, say 400mm wide. We stepped up to that, walked along—fine while the bridge was over the banks of the river.

When we had walked far enough that we were over the water—and it was flowing fairly vigorously I noticed Socks had moved off the footpath. Trying to get her to get back on the footpath—there is traffic on the road, not much but some—got hysterical resistance.

Hmmm Socks had practically cried when we tried to cross an inlet and she was about out of her depth.

Did some scumbag throw Socks into a river, the sea or a swimming pool? Something so she was suddenly out of her depth or nearly so? Was this related to her antipathy to toddlers? I had assumed it was tail pulling caused that.

Some people should not be allowed to own dogs!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #250 - Dec 7th, 2025 at 9:54am

Yesterday left early and drove a loooong distance to Brighton near Hobart.

Sprint coursing, the dog running a measured 100 metres and is timed. Haven’t got Socks’ time yet. She would be one of the fastest dogs there, partly because she has a longer stride than the whippets that are the common “tropical dog” that takes part in lure and sprint coursing and MUCH longer than the herding dogs and terriers that are the two other main classes.

Socks is also very strong. She is a tad overweight {Oops} but not by much.

Saturday I am visiting Launceston: Harvest Farmers Market, Young’s Vege Shed, Alps and Amici, Bunnings and a couple other places. Dog will come with me tho easier to leave her at home: she has separation anxiety. So a visit to the dog park there will be part of it—is not far from Young’s Vege Shed. She can run again.

NB: Generally dog parks should not be visited on the weekend: place will be full of dogs that only get one brief visit to the park each week and that is when dog bites happen. But big park, not too many dogs and Socks is fast so will be OK. Been there Sunday mornings after all.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #251 - Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:55am

Something someone said yesterday. . .

Heh, coursing dogs bred to chase rabbits, hares, foxes and deer and, in Australia, kangaroos.

Socks, mostly staghound, is of a breed that, here, was called “Kangaroo Dog” and still, in the US, is called “Coyote Hound” because that is the creature they are used to control.

Could—not that it would ever happen in real life—Socks take down a kangaroo? She has a HUGE prey drive and aggression to prey—broken the wire pulling the lure quite a few times, including yesterday. Before her runs she is a right royal pain in the backside, so eager to run.

Socks, not being a full breed staghound, is smaller than a normal staghound bitch. She is well muscled from all the walking and running she gets.

Frankly, I would hate to see her even try to take on one of the wallabies that parade up and down my street. Not sure how it would go.

As I thought:
Yes if the dog thinks it can take the roo on or if the roo is an aggressive male and corners the unfortunate dog.

As well as making boxing movements with their front paws roos kick ferociously with their hind feet,

Add to this the fact that both front paws and back feet come armed with a truly impressive set of wolverine claws which can do real damage or kill.

When I was 12 I was visiting my estranged fathers pig farm in Queensland and on a walk with our huge Saluki and huge German Shepherd. The dogs teamed up and herded the big red male roo into the dam backwards. They then swam in to circle him.

The roo deftly disembowelled both the dogs and they died on the spot howling in front of me.

So yes roos should be considered dangerous to dogs!

https://www.quora.com/Are-kangaroos-aggressive-to-dogs

“Kangaroo dogs” got a mention in Henry Lawson’s funny short story “The Loaded Dog.” His unflattering description: thievish, spidery kangaroo dogs. The story is on the web and is worth reading BTW.

Topics in the right MRB!

Pages: 1 ... 15 16 17