Pages: 1 ... 11 12 13 14 
Socks (Read 12027 times)

Re: Socks
Reply #180 - Jan 14th, 2025 at 6:42pm

LOL! I heard a low rumbling noise and thought “Thunder?” Nope—it was Socks snoring!  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #181 - Mar 3rd, 2025 at 10:01pm

AHAHAHAHA! fun and games in the dog park this afternoon!

There was a kelpy/labrador cross mutt in the park when me and Socks entered the dog park.

LOL, this mutt tried to be bossy to Socks, Poor fool, ahahaha!

Of course, tactic #1: Socks ran, easily outpacing the mutt. Socks against any dog other than a race trained greyhound? No contest!

That was phase 1. Phase 2, Socks went on the offensive, ohhh ahahahahaha!
At first, pretending to run away, she turned and
POW!
the mutt was rolling at speed over the ground. A few more demonstrations and the mutt made sure to not be near Socks lolololololol!

Poor mutt! Socks had learned the game of bumping a dog onto its back against an American bulldog back in Adelaide. It is VERY hard to bump an American (or even English) bulldog onto its back. (“White Fang” by Jack London covers a fight between White Fang, a wolf/dog cross, against a bulldog—the bulldog nearly choked White Fang to death.) Socks did manage it a few times tho she was usually the one hitting the ground with a thump  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

So the smaller dog this afternoon had no chance. It ended up rolling along the ground a few times. LOL!

I did call off Socks and clipped the lead on her—don’t want antagonism to get too intense.

But it was funny tho: the attacker turned into a victim.

Neither dog hurt the other, this was just dogs establishing their position in the hierarchy vis a vis each other. I called Socks off to stop things getting too intense just like I get Socks and take her to another paddock when another dog is just too bloody intense in interacting with Socks. This time Socks was the dog getting too intense.

But, oh god, Socks was just SOOO GOOOD in bumping the mutt and sending it rolling over the ground. LOL!

Reply #182 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 7:51pm

Nice!

New program for the Lure Coursing Club for 2025 just published. Starts next month. Might even enter trials this year.

Just wonder how she will behave. The superfast last run of 2024 saw her just chasing the lure—so intensely that she didn’t slow down like the dogs all do near the end of the course (which is also the start of the course) and had to do a very fast deceleration. The first run that day, run at normal speed she showed clever anticipation as to where the lure would go: that behavior might cost her points in a trial. Have a few months to see how she does.

Hope they run a superfast run or two for Socks. Shit she can
RUN!

Leroy

Reply #183 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 7:57pm

Sausage rolls are not good for a dog, just carry a bag of carrots in your car, much better snack.

Reply #184 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 8:23pm

Nah, a sausage roll maybe 10 times a year won’t do her any harm. She has burned some energy so a bit of meat and fat won’t harm her. She is in good form, very healthy and energetic.

Reply #185 - Mar 12th, 2025 at 1:05pm

Was going to go to the dog park yesterday (couldn’t on Monday—a public holiday here so the food shops closed) but was too slow getting ready so had to tell Socks—no dog park today. Today—crap weather, tomorrow will be better.

Dogs love routine. This week has broken our routine from day one! Ah well, we had a pretty good walk today.

Have a guest coming early next month to stay a week or two. Better get the house ready for her arrival.

Reply #186 - Mar 13th, 2025 at 11:52am

Back from a 3Km walk with Socks.

Forgot I meant to make chocolate gelato  Cry  Ah well, tomorrow.

Off to the dog park soon.

Reply #187 - Mar 13th, 2025 at 6:18pm

{chuckle} Poor fools  (<==Goon show reference folks!)

Went to the dog park.No one else there. Went to the paddock has some very easy agility obstacles: dog walk, scramble, tables.

Called the dog to me. She walked to me. “Sit!” and she sat. {Amazing!} “Heel!” {nothing, LOL.) Alright, guide the dog past my right side, behind me, then up my left side “Sit!” and Socks sat. Wow—imagining Demi not taking ANY notice of my commands before a year of formal obedience training  Grin )

So, along the course, up, along and down the dog walk (had to train the bitch NOT to jump from the top of the down ramp  Grin Grin Grin Then the “tyre” which here was square “Through” I commanded. “Huh?” came the reply, Socks having already walked past the “tyre.” LOL, call the bitch back and show her what was wanted. A quick hop and it was done.

The table. Looks like a small errrr table. “Up” I commanded, up the bitch went. Amazing! Sit! Stay! and I walked slowly all around the table, Socks not moving. Wonderful! I returned to stand opposite the bitch “Exercise completed!” and she hopped down and did some running, free to do what she wants.

Magic!

She also does the “automatic sit” better and better as well. Lovely!

OK, the “poor fools” bit. Went back to the big paddock and soon enough other owners and dogs arrived. A couple had unbounded optimism they could catch Socks. Poor fools  Grin Grin Grin  Never getting out of first gear Socks just outran the other dogs with hardly any effort at all.

Staghound: can run as fast as a greyhound and can run for longer. Short legged (under a metre in length  Grin Cheesy ) mutts just can NOT catch Socks.

But Socks did plenty of running, good warmup to the Lure Coursing season starting in 3 weeks!
« Last Edit: Mar 13th, 2025 at 6:23pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #188 - Mar 24th, 2025 at 11:07am

Did a 5Km walk of the mutt today, mostly on dirt roads. Was looking for blackberries, saw some vines but no fruit.

Took a wrong turn—found something nice! Saw movement behind the house where I made the discovery, waved, stayed.

The owner doddered out to the front. I pointed to my discovery and asked if he harvested it. Nope. Told him I would harvest it next summer (fruit there was way overripe) and leave him a couple of bottles of mead.

The fruit? Prickly pear! Don’t pick the “pears” with your bare hand! It is not called prickly pear for nothing!

Not only that, the guy told me where his bits of prickly pear cacti came from—can supplement the local fruit from there if needed. The type of prickly pear is not the prohibited variety which is nice.

Aren’t dogs great?
« Last Edit: Mar 24th, 2025 at 11:48am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #189 - Apr 4th, 2025 at 9:44am

Two weeks ago this Tuesday I was in Launceston. Visited PetStock (or whatever it is called) and got the mutt to sit on the scale. My eyes almost did that comic thing of popping out the sockets: mutt was 24Kg, not the 26Kg at the time of the vet visit (tho even then I thought she looked too skinny but the vet was happy with her weight so I left it.)

So, I have tried to fatten the bitch up. Not by giving her huge meals—her waist has to stay skinny because of her breed—but increasing the meals somewhat and boosting the protein content.

Tuesday I was back in Launceston for various reasons and, of course, popped the bitch back on the scales: 24.6Kg. So making progress  back to a sensible weight, be 25Kg by the next lure coursing fun run, just 1Kg less than before March.

What caused the drop in weight? Not sure. I gave her a worming tablet according to the schedule. Never saw any sign of worms and I do pick up after my dog so I would have seen it if they were there (“grains of rice” for any dog owner reading this.)

So—dunno. Socks was the same, same sweet personality, same wanting to run etc etc.

Instead of 500g of veges Socks now gets 500g of veges plus pasta and tuna and often an egg besides. Her mince for breakfast is like 50% bigger and she had two eggs besides. I have some cooked pork a bit old in the fridge that Socks will get as a surprise lunch.
« Last Edit: Apr 6th, 2025 at 6:10pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #190 - Apr 4th, 2025 at 11:28am

Surprise lunch wolfed down no problem  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #191 - Apr 5th, 2025 at 7:26pm

OK, tomorrow morning we are off to the first formal obedience training Socks has done for quite a while. Hope it shows she is OK with that, reckon she will be, is getting better and better just doing bits of obedience training while doing our walks.

At the end of the short course, will see if it is worth going on with obedience.

Would put her in agility—all dogs love that, running, jumping, through tunnels and up the scramble etc etc—but I can’t run (not far off needing the titanium hip replaced) and have a lousy sense of direction so someone else would have to take her through the circuit.

Tracking is available in the same club and I will see if she could do that.

Reply #192 - Apr 6th, 2025 at 4:44pm

I said the above so calmly—intense activity followed!

Printed out the form they wanted me to give tomorrow. I moved the printer, not the printer power cord. Power cord? POWER CORD! Hmmm not here, not there WTF is it? Some time spent panicking ahhhh there it is!

So print out and fill in the form, one item done.

Next bit: vaccination certificate. Ummm, I KNOW I have it, know I put it somewhere safe. Hmmm, not in the filing cabinet <SHIT!> Hmmm OK, calm down, you put it somewhere safe. Ahhh, THERE it is!

OK, what next. “Soft treats” ummm no soft treats, had meant to buy some “Devon sausage” aka fritz elsewhere in Australia but I had been thrown off by thinking the session was on 7 April, not 6 April. Bit of a brainfart. Formed a plan and went to bed after setting alarms.

Another little panic, went to the local servo, filled up with petrol. Looked at the car clock and nearly had a heart attack: 8.30am. WHAT? Decided to still go, typed the address in the TomTom satnav device. ETA 9.10am. Despite knowing about the change from DST it had still thrown me! Bloody car clock does not get a time signal, unlike the TomTom.

Oh the plan? I knew there was a servo on the road I had to take, stopped there and bought two chicken wraps. Opened one, removed the chicken, cut it into small pieces and put them into a plastic bag I had brought with me.

The trip there and back was over 220Km. I was not going to just go to the obedience training and back home, obviously! Went to KMart, wanted two “pantry organisers” aka shelves to fit in the back of a pantry cupboard to make it easier to see stuff in the back. Mummy’s day soon, complicated crap not the simple stuff I wanted. Silently mouthing curses I left. Bunnings the next stop. Not much happiness for me there either. Ah well.
« Last Edit: Apr 6th, 2025 at 5:08pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #193 - Apr 11th, 2025 at 8:36am

Saturday—Lure Coursing funday! Yes!

Coursing used to be hunting rabbits, foxes, deer etc with dogs. These days coursing is chasing an artificial lure of three shopping bags tied at one metre intervals to a nylon wire pulled around a course created with special pegs. Sharp turns, short and a long straight stretch to show the dogs’ speed.

It is at one of the better locations.

Making a batch of minestrone today to take tomorrow. Maybe some Anzac biscuits too? This location has a half decent kitchen/lunchroom.

I wonder if the course director will notice Socks’ weight loss? He pointed out last year that Socks was in “optimum condition” with three vertebra visible and 3-4 ribs plus the pin bones of her hips just showing under her fur.

Nice weather tomorrow, should be low 20s, excellent for humans and canines.

Reply #194 - Apr 12th, 2025 at 4:14pm

Drive into the Ross Sports Ground. Bit late, others already there. Wanted to leave mutt in the car while I registered and had a chat etc. No way, Madame stacked on such a turn I thought I better take her.

(Dogs with their brilliant noses and good ears soon figure out where they are and why as soon as you get near a location. Socks was born to run so when she figures out we are at a lure coursing meet—and the excitement level soon reached 100.) Barking, whining, jumping, pulling at the lead AAARGH! She is normally so well behaved, not at a lure coursing event!)

Register, walk the mutt. Walk it some more. Back to the registration to pay—the “magic square” EFTPOS wasn’t working earlier. Walk the mutt some more. Get sick of putting up with her excited, crap behavior, put her in the car.

Attend a talk on design of a course, walk the course. To be honest I don’t really care: Socks loves, lives, to run, she runs fastest at the lure coursing and all I care about is she gets a couple good runs.

First run, is mediocre. Walk slowly to cool her down (after having walked her briskly to warm her up, well, warm her muscles up) just before her run. For many dogs—her run was excellent but for Socks—execrable.

Back in the car, plug the phone into the socket, turn ignition key to power accessories and so charge the iPhone, set up the hotspot and connect the laptop to it, take part in the RatChat in between walking the mutt, having lunch etc.

After lunch (my lunch, mutt gets no solid food until after her last run) walk to warm her up, wait, go into the ring. Take off lead, hold the mutt, the bags start moving and “Tallyho” cried the course director and I let the mutt charge forward. This run was not mediocre  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Socks charged forward, motor whizzing to keep the lure ahead of her. After one sharp turn I suddenly hear the motor speed up dramatically—Socks nearly got her teeth on it ahahahaha!

Took like five minutes to get the lead on the mutt and the mutt’s mouth off the lure—nothing wrong with her prey drive.

Ahahaha the last few dogs at each session are beginners or dogs being tried to see how they would go. LOL, one dog ended up being chased by the lure instead of vv  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Another, a Sheltie (Shetland Island Sheep Dog) would chase the lure for a bit then run back to “Mummy.” Never mind, every dog is welcome to have a go, no rush.

Someone had two Scottish Deerhounds there. I saw the shaggy coat some staghounds inherit (Socks has the short greyhound coat.) LOL it was like those hounds were skipping not running and exhibited very little prey drive, surprising in a Sight Coursing Hound, but there you go.

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 13 14