Porter Davies homes liquidation…. (Read 1124 times)

Porter Davies homes liquidation….
Apr 4th, 2023 at 10:17pm

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/angry-tradies-vandalis...

It’s so distressing… those poor people left in the lurch with unfinished homes, and all them unpaid tradies.

To think that Porter Davies took money off people even the day before notice of liquidation ….

And no insurance for anyone…..

To make matters worse the tradies are trashing the homes in anger against Porter Davies but its the ordinary persons that are being hurt… they suffer losses too and having unfinished homes trashed, flooded and even set alight which is causing even more loss for the couples/families that have forked out for these homes to be built.

I will tell a story about that mob… my son and his former partner had a Porter Home built.
It was never done properly… a lot of faults… as hubby and I would often go to check on the progress.
There was a delay and the lining that went between the wall and bricks were all battered against the weather.
Then there was windows with no bottom runners… when the windows were to open… it was gouging through the wooden window sill.
And… the rubbish and broken bricks that were piled up were never cleaned up despite calling them often.
In the end… it was dear old dad (hubby) and his trailer went there so son and dad cleaned it up and went to tip.
There was an issue with ceiling insulation… it was sprayed in rubbish that the weather had blown it all on one side… i said… according to the contract it was supposed to be batts.

Nothing ever done.

So I’ve not been impressed for a few years and had heard then that they went out of business or stopped business…. also heard that the foam put underneath the concrete was expanding and forcing the floor upwards.
So I was surprised to see they were building houses again.
But not surprised (but disgusted) of this latest fiasco.

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Re: Porter Davies homes liquidation….
Reply #1 - Apr 4th, 2023 at 11:48pm

A family with three young children have been left devastated after their
new Porter Davis home was destroyed by a suspicious fire in Melbourne's
south-east.

The blaze comes amid a rise in vandalism at construction sites by suspected
out-of-pocket tradies after the collapse of Porter Davis, which went bust late
last month.  Devastated customers are now padlocking fences and installing
security cameras to ensure their new homes aren't targeted.

Reply #2 - Apr 4th, 2023 at 11:58pm

yes,
Porter Davies baited people into getting great deals on homes built
only days before they went into liquidation.
It's theft.

Reply #3 - Apr 5th, 2023 at 12:13am

Insolvent trading is illegal. If a director allows a new debt to be incurred
knowing the company is insolvent and unable to pay those debts as and
when they fall due for payment, the director may be guilty of insolvent
trading.  If a director suspects insolvency, they must take positive steps to
confirm the position of the company and realistically assess the available
options

A director found guilty of insolvent trading may become personally liable for
the repayment of debts incurred after the company became insolvent—and
this may lead to a loss of personal assets and even personal bankruptcy.

Directors may also face disqualification as a director if they are found
guilty of insolvent trading.      Further, fines of up to $200,000 as well as
imprisonment for up to 5 years may apply

The company's managing director and founder Anthony Roberts is worth
an estimated $500 million.

Reply #4 - Apr 5th, 2023 at 12:34am

AusGeoff wrote on Apr 5th, 2023 at 12:13am:
options

https://i.postimg.cc/KYhtxqCt/Screenshot-2023-04-05-at-00-07-59-To-me-that-s-the...

Good - I hope they get him.

Reply #5 - Apr 5th, 2023 at 12:39am

Bobby. wrote on Apr 4th, 2023 at 11:58pm:
yes,
It's theft.

It's a SCAM.
No different to Online Scams.
They need to be held accountable.

Reply #6 - Apr 5th, 2023 at 11:18pm

Ahhh I’m glad this has been covered.

Let’s keep an eye out on what happens to this director then. I’d like to see some of his personal wealth go straight to those families who he’s wronged.

AusGeoff wrote on Apr 5th, 2023 at 12:13am:
options

https://i.postimg.cc/KYhtxqCt/Screenshot-2023-04-05-at-00-07-59-To-me-that-s-the...

Reply #7 - Apr 5th, 2023 at 11:24pm

Jasin wrote on Apr 5th, 2023 at 12:39am:
Bobby. wrote on Apr 4th, 2023 at 11:58pm:
yes,
It's theft.

It's a SCAM.
No different to Online Scams.
They need to be held accountable.

I'd like to see all the creditors paid back every penny from the thief's bank account and
then the thief tried in court and hanged outside the courthouse with
the creditor who was most ripped off having the honor of pulling the lever -
all broadcast on live TV in full HD with no adverts and good close up shots.

Reply #8 - Apr 6th, 2023 at 12:02am

https://claxon.agency/how-this-550m-per-year-home-builder-is-changing-the-game-p...

👆 During the start of the Covid19 pandemic Anthony Roberts availed himself of the opportunity to put up a LinkedIn page in which he stated 1 qualification from Harvard. Back in the 80’s.

He hired the above well known public relations consultancy (Claxon Agency) to market/spruik his brand Porter Davis Homes.

Anthony Roberts also hired a CEO to run the business (a guy whose name “sounds” Greek but I could be wrong). The point though is this : the guy he hired to be the CEO can’t put a sentence together properly (if his LinkedIn page is anything to go by). And his qualifications look wrong. You can’t get a post graduate qualification before an undergraduate qualification. The LinkedIn page tells me he’s probably never gone to Uni AND GRADUATED with anything. I honestly feel he’s only ever attended TAFE.

IF Anthony Roberts is worth over $1/2 billion in personal wealth and he was baiting unsuspecting clients for more money through his CEO and via that CEO other appointed staff .... then those 1700 families (who are now out of pocket because of the collapse of his company) AS A WHOLE ENTITY need to be closely looked at. Why? I suspect that both Anthony Roberts AND that dumbarse CEO he appointed are BOTH guilty of using the firm as a front for a pyramid scheme which effectively existed to bring in more investors through misleading and deceptive conduct. Throughout this time I reckon both the owner and the CEO have been diverting incoming funds into their own private accounts. And Anthony Roberts has been getting the lion’s share of such funds. Forensic accounting investigations will ultimately prove what money has gone where. I suspect lots has gone into luxury lifestyle goods/services. A thorough investigation will trace those expenses.

Meantime :

1. Tradies have not been paid. They can’t pay their bills  ie money they owe their suppliers, their own expenses ie rent/mortgage/utilities/fuel/food.

2. Families are left without homes and many have lost their deposits. Getting a deposit together essentially means pooling your life savings.

I’d like to see both the owner AND that tosspot of a CEO go down. Together.

Sophia many thanks for starting such a worthy topic. Let’s all keep an eye out on how this dreadful matter proceeds.

Let’s hope and pray that these honest workers AND home owners stuck with half built homes ... get their money back.

« Last Edit: Apr 6th, 2023 at 12:17am by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #9 - Apr 6th, 2023 at 7:38am

Nothing will happen to them.
Stuff like this has happened in the past and 90% of them get away with the money. Sure, there are Current Affair chases, etc. But legally - they mostly get away with the money and run.

Reply #10 - Apr 6th, 2023 at 7:40am

Jasin wrote on Apr 6th, 2023 at 7:38am:
Nothing will happen to them.
Stuff like this has happened in the past and 90% of them get away with the money. Sure, there are Current Affair chases, etc. But legally - they mostly get away with the money and run.

In the Bible they used to crucify thieves.   Huh

Reply #11 - Apr 6th, 2023 at 11:18am

Bobby. wrote on Apr 6th, 2023 at 7:40am:
In the Bible they used to crucify thieves.   Huh

Yes ... that was what the Roman Empire did around 2000 years ago in order to keep law and order in all the Mediterranean countries they controlled.

They crucified thieves and anyone they deemed was a threat to the stability of the Roman Empire.

In fact that’s why they crucified Jesus Christ. However the Romans were clever in how they went about it. They took the opportunity to pretend to allow the Jews to think they had the power to decide the fate of Jesus Christ. This made the Jews think they had control over legal process.

They didn’t of course.

It was just a mind game of sorts.

The Jews (led by proud and notable religious leaders and lawyers) argued FOR Jesus Christ’s crucifixion.

The Romans essentially responded with a quick “OK - whatever you reckon.”

And that’s how Jesus Christ found himself crucified btwn 2 other crucified thieves.

Those Roman soldiers who were on guard at the crucifixion had front row seats to the whole thing. The Roman soldier/guard nearest Jesus saw and heard everything Jesus uttered as He lay slowly bleeding to death in what has often been described by historians as a horrific and slow torturous method.

Anyway THAT Roman soldier soon realised the senseless brutality of what had taken place AFTER seeing and hearing what Jesus said whilst in so much unbearable pain and agony. The Roman’s remarks whilst on duty are captured in the Bible : Truly this man was indeed the Son of God.

He had a vision of the confronting reality of the event.

It’s a pity many so called Christians today - don’t.

Anyway - have a safe Easter break. Please note the Easter we celebrate at this time has nothing to do with Jesus Christ. It’s a pagan festival that the Roman Catholic Church infused into its pagan based religious system in order to appease its citizens at the time so they could control the spread of Christianity under their official Roman rules and regulations. The Roman Catholic Church is merely that. Do not think for a moment it has anything to do with God and Jesus Christ and the Holy Bible. It’s an extension of paganism and only the uneducated and unaware think otherwise.

Whilst at Sydney Uni I undertook some subjects in Ancient History and Bible History. In these areas we were lectured by eminent atheist scholars who had no qualms about telling students what Roman Catholicism was really about and how it originated and framed/controlled History.

Anyway ... apologies for the long post.

Cheers

« Last Edit: Apr 6th, 2023 at 11:35am by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #12 - Apr 23rd, 2023 at 8:09am

There’s yet another house mob (Clough I think) in trouble… but not in liquidation…leaving house owners with unfinished and uninsured homes!

Where was authority or insurance agents, or tax accountant auditors to check insurance payments that clients paid with these housing mobs?
Maybe was best if clients took their own insurance out…. I wonder now.
Then there’s yet another mob (Metricon) cutting back staff.
I just don’t feel any trust to have a house built in this day and age.

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #13 - Apr 23rd, 2023 at 12:21pm

Just laser-print your own home. Much easier and cheaper.