Most Tolled City In The World,And Its In Australia (Read 865 times)

Re: Most Tolled City In The World,And Its In Australia
Reply #15 - Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:25pm

Captain Caveman:

I'm also reading up on ALL this 👇

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trans-Pacific_Partnership

I've been way too busy taking care of old AND young family members over these past few years so I just need to gather my thoughts before I come back to you.

I reflect on issues and I do that best when watering all my gardens and when I'm cooking. I'll catch you later.

Cheers

Reply #16 - Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:27pm

Carl D wrote on Feb 8th, 2023 at 12:43pm:
As well as no toll roads we also don't have to pay for parking in shopping centres (as far as I'm aware -there's definitely no charge at Belmont Forum, just a 4 hour limit).

https://twitter.com/PMalinauskasMP/status/1623079494327357442

BREAKING NEWS: Labor’s reforms to regulate shopping centre car parking have kicked in today.

This means that there are no longer car parking fees at Westfield West Lakes.

A big win for shoppers and workers!

You 'Eastern Staters' seem to be getting ripped off big time with toll roads and shopping centre parking fees.

(We do have paid parking at most of our hospitals though - and that's something that only started in the last 10 years or so).

The Tolls are probably or hopefully paying for the constant upkeep and new Tunnels to try and improve the situation.
But I think its also a case of not doing something properly the first time so it keeps industry and jobs going to always keep fixing it... sort of like Road Crews for Councils in regards to pothole prone roads.

Reply #17 - Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:27pm

whiteknight wrote on Feb 8th, 2023 at 6:16am:
Get rid of road tolls.   Sad

Western Australia: no toll roads, no pokies, no day light savings - no worries   Smiley

Reply #18 - Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:29pm

Grappler Racist Filth wrote on Feb 8th, 2023 at 10:43am:
Jasin wrote on Feb 8th, 2023 at 10:21am:
Some of the Tolled Freeways have already been paid for by the Tolls and yet they still operate.
About 10 years ago, I saw a list of the amount made from the Tolls at the time and if I remember correctly, the M7 Toll made the most, although it offered 10kms less than the others. The Northern Sydney Tolls also made a lot more than the others.

The sad thing about Sydney is that is poorly planned.
I had the fluke circumstance of actually meeting the person in charge (years ago) of fixing Sydney's Traffic infrastructure and I mentioned that the problem was easy - making Parramatta the major CBD in Sydney so everyone had easy and equal access from all points of the city (like Melbourne) and not have to squeeze into a bottleneck situation to the east into Sydney Harbour.
He said that they did think of that but the $billions involved of restructuring that wasn't feasible (what about the money made from Tolls?).
So I just said, "May the Force be with you then. Because Sydney was built for Boats, not Cars. (etc)"

Thus Sydney is forced to use Tunnels here there an everywhere. I even worked in the pre-stage surveying of one tunnel that they didn't want the public to know about (going under Balmain) because once things officially begin - the public can't stop it with Protests, etc.
I also worked awhile on the Upgrade of Castle Hill that was designed for Horse and Carriage and not the larger Vehicles of today and that took a few years of widening everything.

Personally, I don't see Sydney improving with the majority of the traffic trying to squeeze into

Years ago I proposed TSTCL (testicle for short) - the Trans Sydney Tunnels Corporation Limited - even put together a major plan etc...
..... today on the stock market TESTICLE shares went up 3.3%.... Hot Air Sydney took a dive.....

Well considering some Moslem in a little white van with a smuggled in old USSR nuke black marketed from a former Soviet satellite nation - will send Sydney's Real Estate into the biggest
BOOM!
it will ever experience with a "Allah Akhbar!" ...will eventually level it for a proper re-design or turn the worlds best harbour into a giant lake.

Reply #19 - Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:37pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:27pm:

Western Australia: no toll roads, no pokies, no day light savings - no worries   Smiley

Yeah no worries 😐

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-01/wa-rental-crisis-hits-hard-family-evicted...

Reply #20 - Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:41pm

When in Construction - I would have to get up at 3am from out Scrambletown way to drive in (45mins) to say Coogee where I would find a parking spot early, have a snooze in car, wake up and have breakfast before work. Any time after 4 and the time of the trip can add an extra 30mins on as the traffic increases.
Driving back in the arvo maxed mostly at 3 hours with 2 hours min regarding the 9-5 time frame.

They call them 'freeways' - but they are anything but in normal times unless way out beyond the major hub of the city.

Sydney is only good if you own a boat and live on the harbour itself. I've lived at Kirribilli and even that's not good enough beyond walking across the bridge to work (office) in the city.

How Sydney has found itself on those Global Polls of 'Best cities to live in, etc' is beyond me. Sydney is the pits and those Polls are obviously 'paid for' (like those Travel-Hotel/Motel things).
I remember Finland being listed as the most depressed country in the world a while back and it had a high suicide rate as well to go with it. A bit of $$$ by its Tourism industry and for 5 years running now - all the Finns are suddenly the 'happiest' people on the planet. In truth, the country is just a big Retirement and Aged Care Facility with mostly foreign immigration ticking its population growth along.

Reply #21 - Feb 9th, 2023 at 8:54am

Lisa Jones wrote on Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:37pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 8th, 2023 at 2:27pm:

Yeah no worries 😐

What a farkkkkking mess!

I'm STILL trying to understand what its govt is thinking??

Read these 2 articles on WA's state govt's record. Absolute reckless neglect!

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-01/wa-rental-crisis-hits-hard-family-evicted...

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-08-28/women-giving-birth-sent-to-other-hospital...

Reply #22 - Feb 9th, 2023 at 9:32am

I LOVE toll roads.

I can go at warp speed from one part of the city to another, pay $5 and fit in twice as much work.

I regularly get from my place to Balmain in 15 mins, if I did that without the Cross City Tunnel it would be more like 45.

Reply #23 - Feb 9th, 2023 at 9:59am

Gordon wrote on Feb 9th, 2023 at 9:32am:
I LOVE toll roads.

I can go at warp speed from one part of the city to another, pay $5 and fit in twice as much work.

I regularly get from my place to Balmain in 15 mins, if I did that without the Cross City Tunnel it would be more like 45.

Er.... you pay $6.50.

The whole system is designed so you DON'T know how much you are paying for each trip. Go from Bondi to
Mac Uni, say, and you pay cross city, harbour, Military Road, Lane Cove tunnel: about $20 in tolls, 1 hour return  (public transport $8 and 2 hours return)
Balmain to Airport: $22 return. ($36 by bus/train).

https://www.linkt.com.au/using-toll-roads/trip-compare/sydney
https://www.linkt.com.au/using-toll-roads/about-sydney-toll-roads/sydney

whiteknight

Reply #24 - Feb 12th, 2023 at 6:04pm

NSW Labor promises no driver will pay more than $60 a week in road tolls

New Daily
Feb 12 2023

NSW Labor will cap road tolls to $60 a week if it wins the March state election, as the party seeks to overhaul the bloated toll network and press infrastructure operators for a better deal.

Over 50,000 drivers would be better off under the plan, saving around $147 million over its initial two year lifespan, the party said.

Professor Allan Fels, renowned economist and former chair of the consumer watchdog ACCC, would be appointed to lead the review of the state’s toll system under Labor.

Opposition leader Chris Minns said deals made by the current government were driving record tolls.

“This mess is Dominic Perrottet’s own making – they have signed secret contracts and privatised toll roads,” Mr Minns said.

“Toll companies can’t lose. Sydney drivers can’t win.”   

Quarterly refunds
The change would be on top of the government’s existing rebate of up $750 for eligible drivers and M5 cashback scheme.

Prof Fels would lead a review into long term reform options to overhaul the tolling system in NSW, including reviewing contracts with private road operators, the biggest of which in Sydney is Transurban.

A cap of $60 a week would commence on January 1, 2024 if Labor wins the March election and any tolls charged above the cap would be refunded on a quarterly basis by Service NSW.

Last week private operator Transurban, which controls 10 out of 12 of Sydney’s tolls roads, said the state’s drivers paid over $835 million in tolls in just six months.

In a note to investors the company revealed earnings of $1.66 billion for the back half of last year and said tolls would increase by around 20 per cent over the next four years.

The government has conducted a review of Sydney’s tolling system, which was due for completion last September, but has been delayed for release until after the election next month.   Sad

-AAP

Reply #25 - Feb 12th, 2023 at 8:16pm

Sounds good

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #26 - Feb 12th, 2023 at 8:53pm

Gateway bridge was paid off years ago. The state government then sold it off to a private company and still charge. clowns.

Reply #27 - Feb 12th, 2023 at 9:28pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 12th, 2023 at 8:53pm:
Gateway bridge was paid off years ago. The state government then sold it off to a private company and still charge. clowns.

A few points to keep in mind.

1. That particular (QLD state) bridge has undergone a lot of expansion/improvements over the years. A LOT!

2. The private company in question is : Transurban. The good thing is that Transurban is an AUSTRALIAN owned company and it builds/operates toll roads in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane AS WELL AS in Greater Washington, United States and Montreal, Canada.

3. If you take a closer look at who the major shareholders are you will discover that they are well known major Superannuation brands. In effect....many Aussies have their super/future pensions tied up in Transurban.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #28 - Feb 12th, 2023 at 9:46pm

ok, but why pay for a bridge that's been paid off?

Reply #29 - Feb 13th, 2023 at 8:15am

Lisa Jones wrote on Feb 12th, 2023 at 9:28pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 12th, 2023 at 8:53pm:

A few points to keep in mind.

1. That particular (QLD state) bridge has undergone a lot of expansion/improvements over the years. A LOT!

2. The private company in question is : Transurban. The good thing is that Transurban is an AUSTRALIAN owned company and it builds/operates toll roads in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane AS WELL AS in Greater Washington, United States and Montreal, Canada.

3. If you take a closer look at who the major shareholders are you will discover that they are well known major Superannuation brands. In effect....many Aussies have their super/future pensions tied up in Transurban.

Not quite Lisa.
We may own it but...

Unisuper 12.5%

State Street corporation. (US bank) 6.3%
Black Rock (US investment) 7.1%
Vanguard (US investment) 5%

The yanks make more from it than we do.