Halloween in Australia; Insidious US Disease? (Read 1372 times)

Halloween in Australia; Insidious US Disease?
Oct 31st, 2022 at 8:42am

Five million of us will celebrate(?) Halloween this year in Australia,
according to the ABC News yesterday.

In its first survey of Halloween intentions, the Australian Retailers
Association found that the average amount spent on Halloween is
$86 per person, equating to a $430 million boost for retailers.

Those in the 35- to 49-year-old age group are the most likely to
celebrate Halloween, with one in five to hold or attend a party
without children.

While Halloween has slowly taken hold in Australia over the past
few decades to be a retail event, the holiday in the US is a major deal.
Americans' expected to spend $US100 per person for a massive
total of AU$16.5 billion on Halloween this year.

One Melbourne resident said while he's not against people having
fun, he will not be celebrating Halloween. He said the October date
represented "Americanisation at its worst".  [I agree]

"Halloween in Australia, and more precisely the way in which it has
bewilderingly entered our cultural landscape like a cheap show bag,
really kind of angers me," he said. "It was just dumped here as a
commercial exercise".

My local Woolies was selling orange "Halloween" pumpkins for $6 per kg
I weighed one last Tuesday, and it would've taken $30 of my hard-earned.
This morning Woolies were selling the same pumpkins for $4.50
for the whole thing FFS!

Is this price gouging on a major scale?   Should the ACCC investigate?

At any rate, as an atheist I've never "celebrated" Halloween, one reason
being its religious origins.  The English word 'Halloween' comes from
"All Hallows' Eve", being the evening before the Christian holy days of
All Hallows' Day (All Saints' Day) on 1 November and All Souls' Day
on 2 November.

Belgarion

Re: Halloween in Australia; Insidious US Disease?
Reply #1 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:03am

The bastardised version of the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain has arrived in Australia via US TV and movies and is exploited by businesses to make a profit.  That the concept of allowing children to enter strangers premises and demand lollies with menaces is something to be embraced shows the intelligence level of some people.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #2 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:11am

Who cares where it came from, it's really fun for kids. Don't be such a misery guts.

I'll be taking my 5yo this arvo.

Trick or treat
Smell my feet
Give me something good to eat

Reply #3 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:28am

Belgarion wrote on Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:03am:
The bastardised version of the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain has arrived in Australia via US TV and movies and is exploited by businesses to make a profit.  That the concept of allowing children to enter strangers premises and demand lollies with menaces is something to be embraced shows the intelligence level of some people.

Truth! ✅

Reply #4 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:41am

Gordon wrote on Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:11am:
Who cares where it came from, it's really fun for kids. Don't be such a misery guts.

Trick or treat
Smell my feet

In our little town, we have a register of people's names and their
addresses where the kids can safely knock in order to get their
sugar kicks.   It also stops hoards of kids banging on my front door
for half the night.

Reply #5 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:45am

AusGeoff wrote on Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:41am:

Trick or treat
Smell my feet

for half the night.

You're lying.  Kids don't randomly knock on doors, they go to houses with decorations which signifies they are participating.

If you dont like Halloween then just dont do it.

And while you're at it, examine the origins of everything you like, dont just cherry pick the ones you don't.

Reply #6 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:50am

A few years ago a few streets away from me, 4 houses put on a street party with a sausage sizzle, fairy floss machine and even beers and wine for the parents. Imagine how horrible it is for all these  neighbours and their kids to fun and getting to know each other.

BAN IT

Reply #7 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:58am

Trick or treat
Smell my feet

sugar kicks.  It also stops hoards of kids banging on my front door for half the night.

Come on! If your house isn't decorated the kids bypass it.

Unless of course it's my place! I seriously can't stand this dark pagan celebration and I have nothing on my property remotely suggesting that I'm into Halloween.

Unfortunately the kids and their parents know that I give treats to everyone ALL the freaking time!

Anyway .... later on this afternoon I'll do what I always do...chop up lots of fresh carrot sticks for the kids to grab and chomp on.

Why?

They're orange and sweet (fits the Halloween theme).

They're refreshing and healthy. And parents VERY MUCH appreciate seeing their kids eat veges instead of chocolates and lollies.

Reply #8 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 10:01am

Gordon wrote on Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:45am:
for half the night.

You're lying.

You do realise that this is an offensive claim don't you?  It simply points up
how devoid of legitimate comment you are.  Ad hominems only make the user
look even more stupid than their words would indicate. 

If you don't like Halloween then just don't do it.

Are you truly this dense?  Any normal person would've realised by now I don't
like Halloween, and I don't "do it".    You really need to catch up mate.  (Hint:
read the thread title.)

And while you're at it, examine the origins of everything you like, don't just cherry pick the ones you don't.

Uh..... what?  This means... uh... I give up LOL.

Reply #9 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 10:11am

No you're lying because you've said something that sounds like a big fat lie.

Kids ONLY knock on doors decorated for Halloween because that's a way to know which house is participating. It's that simple

They're not knocking on your door half the night, you made that up.

Probs one stupid kid knocked on your door once and you're still angry you had to get out of your recliner chair.

Reply #10 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 10:17am

And......from personal experiences from my older one now 15, from about 12 and up kids are too cool to go trick or treating, so it really mostly little kids doing it and mostly between the ages of 5 to 10.

5 to 10 year old usually don't roam the street for half the night.

Stop lying!

Reply #11 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 1:12pm

I don't mind it. The kids enjoy it. The parents like seeing 'something' that the kids get to enjoy 'socially' without TV or Net.

I see where Geoff is coming from. Jealous Australians who hate something from someone else, because they couldn't think up an Australian version first, etc.

But I do dislike the Media/Retail exploitation of the original thing historically. Just like Christmas.

South-Western Sydney: a group of kids go Halloweening and I guess, they just kinda went to any old house. Daylight hours of course. Suddenly I hear the kids screaming in terror and running back the way they came. Screaming in a way that makes the mind fight that gnawing feeling that something isn't right, but it is Halloween and they should be screaming, etc - all part of the vibe. Sure enough - within just 10 minutes! Cop cars, Police chopper, etc all turned up on the house 2-doors down. Silly Pineapple Polynesian 20'something was drunk with a fake sawn-off shotgun and scared the kids with it when they knocked on his door. Oh well - Trick or Treat?? Undecided

Reply #12 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 1:14pm

Insidious? Here we go again. There is a section of the Australian population that fixates on Anti-Americanism. Halloween is not American and until recent years, it was not "celebrated" in the US, except in the old New England states like Mass, Conn, NH, Maine and Vermont. It was particularly frowned upon by the Southern Baptists and other Christian US sects.

Holloween, as we are now seeing it in Australia is nothing more than a marketing ploy by Australian importers of garish orange and black plastic geegaws produced in China. Americans don't give a rats ass whether Australians buy into it or not. What is insidious is Anti-Americanism in Australia.

Reply #13 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 1:21pm

I think Issue. Like many people do. They get the blurred line between the Religious/Military/Political America and the Mafia-Media of Entertainment/Sport/Music/Medicine, etc.

They are basically Anti-American, in that they are Anti-MEDIA-American. Take the Fake Political Democrats for instance - nothing more than a Media infiltrator of true Political American culture. It the Media and its Retail that has turned things like Halloween and Christmas into something pretty ugly in the eyes of many.
It's this same Media that Australian Celebrities run to for their Republic and being Anti-British Royalty (but not 'political'? Huh)
It's a very stupid world we tune into sometimes.

Re: Halloween in Australia; Insidious MEDIA Disease?
Reply #14 - Oct 31st, 2022 at 1:23pm

...but hey

The Media of Oceania leaves North Americans in the Dark (continent), oppresses South Americans and is rejected by Sahulians (us Australians).

Just like Monotheism of the Middle-East left Africa in the Dark (continent), oppressed Europe and was rejected by Asia.
« Last Edit: Oct 31st, 2022 at 9:15pm by Jasin »