Nuclear Power Is Not The Way To Go For Australia (Read 1235 times)
whiteknight

Nuclear Power Is Not The Way To Go For Australia
Oct 5th, 2022 at 3:19am

Australian Conservation Foundation says ‘next-generation’ nuclear power a furphy

New Daily
Oct 5 2022

Small-scale nuclear power for Australia’s remote mining sites and communities has been dismissed as toxic and too expensive.

Research released on Wednesday by the Australian Conservation Foundation found the nuclear option would increase power bills, risk catastrophic accidents and bring new challenges for dealing with waste.

“Our energy future is renewable, not radioactive,” report co-author Dave Sweeney said.   Smiley

Australia’s nuclear power proponents are not calling for large-scale plants with giant cooling towers that have been ruled out for decades by NIMBY (not in my backyard) politics.

“Instead, they promote ‘next-generation’ technology, which simply does not exist in the commercial world,” Mr Sweeney said.

Small modular reactors (SMRs) generate less than 300 megawatts of electricity, while commercial nuclear plants such as Japan’s Fukushima generate more than 5000MW.

The ACF report dismisses the new SMR technology as expensive and unviable, and found small reactors in Russia and China have been subject to serious delays and cost blowouts.

SMRs could not be introduced to Australia without huge taxpayer subsidies, and would result in higher electricity prices, the report said.

“While there are hopes and dreams of ramping up SMR production, the mass-manufacturing facilities needed to produce the technology are found nowhere in the world,” the report said.

Earlier this year, CSIRO estimated 2030 costs at up to $326 per megawatt hour for SMR-generated nuclear power compared to up to $82 for wind and solar in a grid powered 90 per cent by renewable electricity.

Federal energy agencies have also found the designs are at best “paper reactors” and billions of dollars away from being ready.

Banned under current Australian law, nuclear power should at least be discussed as an option, according to Opposition Leader Peter Dutton.

Australia is rich in uranium with the world’s biggest reserves and is the third-biggest exporter, mostly to the United States where it is used in nuclear power plants or processed to be sold to other countries.

A South Australian royal commission in 2016 found nuclear power did not make economic sense in Australia, and a 2019 federal inquiry confirmed large-scale plants weren’t viable and lacked community support.

But small modular reactors should be part of Australia’s energy mix and could connect to the national grid, power regions or independently supply mines, according to the Minerals Council.

Backers say nuclear is a clean energy source that does not produce greenhouse gases and can operate day and night in any weather – unlike solar and wind.

Small-scale nuclear plants could power hydrogen production, steel smelters, refineries and food processing.

But critics say mining, processing and transporting uranium is highly polluting, as is reactor construction and waste management over thousands of years.

Re: Nuclear Power Is Not The Way To Go For Australia
Reply #1 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 5:26am

Hi Sir Crook,
I was hoping we'd have large scale Thorium molten salt reactors by now
which would be: safe, cheap and give us unlimited power forever.

https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1519823686/150#150

There are obviously a lot of technical problems otherwise
we'd have massive Thorium power stations already.
At least India and China are working on it.
I can't wait till they solve all the problems.

Belgarion

Reply #2 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 7:52am

Yet more of the increasingly hysterical anti nuclear propaganda being peddled by the usual suspects. Of you want safe reliable power then nuclear is the only way to go.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #3 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 8:06am

Belgarion wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 7:52am:
Yet more of the increasingly hysterical anti nuclear propaganda being peddled by the usual suspects.
Of you want safe reliable power then nuclear is the only way to go.

Current nuclear reactors are not safe.
Were any designed for war time conditions?

Watch the Ukraine saga.

Marla

A joint a day keeps the
MAGA away

Colorado
Reply #4 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 8:13am

Yet more of the increasingly hysterical anti nuclear propaganda being peddled by the usual suspects. Of you want safe reliable power then nuclear is the only way to go.

Only if the Kangaroo rooting government can bury the waste in your back yard, hippie

I like takin' Tuinal. It keeps me edgy and mean. I'm a teenage schizoid I'm a teenage dope fiend

Reply #5 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 8:30am

Marla wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 8:13am:

Only if the Kangaroo rooting government can bury the waste in your back yard, hippie

https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2022/oct/02/kakadu-uranium-site-clean...

Kakadu uranium site clean-up in limbo amid calls to revive mine

Rio Tinto wants to fund rehabilitation but Ranger mine owner’s minority shareholders are pushing for further development

Estimates on this rehabilitation work range from $1.6bn to $2.2bn.

The land was supposed to be restored to a similar state to the surrounding national park and handed back to the commonwealth by 2026.

But this month the Albanese government introduced legislation to parliament abolishing the deadline, which all involved agree was not going to be met.

This week the Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation, which represents the Mirrar people, said generations of traditional owners were, and would continue to be, opposed to mining.

“We don’t just say ‘no’, we are saying ‘never’,” Corben Madjandi, a younger traditional owner, said.

“This report tells me the mining industry is not listening – it’s like we’re talking to ourselves. Are they deaf to us?”

Rio’s chief executive for Australia, Kellie Parker, says her company has learned from the Juukan Gorge debacle in 2020, where it blew up rock shelters that were tens of thousands of years old, and has received the message from the Mirrar people loud and clear.

Parker said she accepted that a valuation could take into account a change of attitudes over generations, but the idea that mining could start within 10 years was “fundamentally disrespectful to the Mirrar, to start with, and then it’s just inconsistent to what they have been saying for decades”.

Belgarion

Reply #6 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 9:34am

Here is a very basic starter information article explaining the advantages of nuclear power and dispelling some of the myths around it. https://www.livewiremarkets.com/wires/debunking-the-myths-around-nuclear-energy?...

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #7 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 12:51pm

Belgarion wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 9:34am:
Here is a very basic starter information article explaining the advantages of nuclear power and dispelling some of the myths around it. https://www.livewiremarkets.com/wires/debunking-the-myths-around-nuclear-energy?...

But they don't mention the elephant in the room - high pressures.

https://world-nuclear.org/information-library/nuclear-fuel-cycle/nuclear-power-r...

A PWR has fuel assemblies of 200-300 rods each, arranged vertically in the core, and a large reactor would have about 150-250 fuel assemblies with 80-100 tonnes of uranium.

Water in the reactor core reaches about 325°C,
hence it must be kept under about
150 times atmospheric pressure to prevent it boiling.

Pressure is maintained by steam in a pressuriser (see diagram). In the primary cooling circuit the water is also the moderator, and if any of it turned to steam the fission reaction would slow down. This negative feedback effect is one of the safety features of the type. The secondary shutdown system involves adding boron to the primary circuit.

lee

Reply #8 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 1:26pm

Not all coolants are water. Helium, CO2 etc are also used.

Reply #9 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 1:54pm

whiteknight wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 3:19am:
Small modular reactors (SMRs) could not be introduced to Australia without huge taxpayer subsidies, and would result in higher electricity prices, the report said.

So as expensive and subsidy-dependant as solar and wind but much more reliable and constant?

Belgarion

Reply #10 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 3:11pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 12:51pm:
Belgarion wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 9:34am:

But they don't mention the elephant in the room - high pressures.

https://world-nuclear.org/information-library/nuclear-fuel-cycle/nuclear-power-r...

A PWR has fuel assemblies of 200-300 rods each, arranged vertically in the core, and a large reactor would have about 150-250 fuel assemblies with 80-100 tonnes of uranium.

Water in the reactor core reaches about 325°C,
hence it must be kept under about
150 times atmospheric pressure to prevent it boiling.

Pressure is maintained by steam in a pressuriser (see diagram). In the primary cooling circuit the water is also the moderator, and if any of it turned to steam the fission reaction would slow down. This negative feedback effect is one of the safety features of the type. The secondary shutdown system involves adding boron to the primary circuit.

Yes, and?

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #11 - Oct 5th, 2022 at 7:40pm

Belgarion wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 3:11pm:
Yes, and?

Tons of Uranium that is at high temperature inside a chamber
pressurised to 150 Bar which is 2176 pounds per square inch.
What could go wrong?
Have you heard of a meltdown?

Belgarion

Reply #12 - Oct 11th, 2022 at 12:18pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 7:40pm:
Yes, and?

What could go wrong?

On regular occasions I used to wear an air tank on my back pressurised to much greater than 150 bar and never had a problem with it. This sort of pressure is well within the capabilities of modern industrial applications and is no cause for concern. 

Nuclear power plants have been in operation for over 60 years. There are currently some 438 nuclear power stations operating in 32 countries. It is the safest and most reliable form of electricity production by far.

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #13 - Oct 11th, 2022 at 1:31pm

Belgarion wrote on Oct 11th, 2022 at 12:18pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 5th, 2022 at 7:40pm:
Yes, and?

What could go wrong?

On regular occasions I used to wear an air tank on my back pressurised to much greater than 150 bar and never had a problem with it. This sort of pressure is well within the capabilities of modern industrial applications and is no cause for concern. 

Nuclear power plants have been in operation for over 60 years. There are currently some 438 nuclear power stations operating in 32 countries.
It is the safest and most reliable form of electricity production by far.

You reckon?

What about 3 mile Island?

What if there's a similar problem as happened at Chernobyl?

What if there's a Tsunami such as Fukushima?

How about a war where a rocket or shell could land on the reactor
such as could happen any second right now
at the Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Station in Ukraine ?

Reply #14 - Oct 11th, 2022 at 3:08pm

What if we had an ice age, say in 2500AD.

We can site plants on cratonised rock away from tsunamis.

Major problem with nuclear—expensive, long time to build a reactor. Not opposed to having it in the mix but cost and time to build are problems.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!