WHY is Bunnings still open during lockdown ? (Read 1537 times)

WHY is Bunnings still open during lockdown ?
Aug 5th, 2021 at 6:34pm

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9858871/NSW-Premier-Gladys-Berejiklian-...

The moment Gladys Berejiklian refuses to answer questions about WHY Bunnings is still open during lockdown - as debate erupts over whether the hardware superstore is 'essential'

Premier Gladys Berejiklian has refused to answer questions about why Bunnings warehouses remain open despite the superstore repeatedly popping up on exposure site lists.

The NSW Premier was grilled by Sky News' Andrew Clennell at her daily press update on Wednesday after reporting 233 new cases of the virus overnight, including 47 infectious in the community. 

Clennell asked Ms Berejiklian why a range of shops including the Reject Shop and Bunnings keep popping up on the state's list of exposure sites when essential retail is meant to be closed.   

'Why aren't some of these businesses shut? Why are people still travelling to work?

'Can't you go harder with this lockdown because what you are doing at the moment haven't reducing the numbers?'

The Premier claimed NSW's lockdown rules were 'some of the harshest' the nation had seen, but admitted 'non-critical retail' such as the Reject Shop should be closed.

'Why is Bunnings open?' Clennell asked, before incorrectly stating the warehouses are shut in Queensland.

The Premier turned her gaze away from the reporter and said 'next question', ignoring his attempts at a follow-up.

Ms Berejiklian's dodge - to a journalist she regularly jousts with - sparked uproar on social media given the store often appears on exposure site lists.

Business journalist and commentator Janine Perrett tweeted: 'Poor form. Berejiklian is asked a very valid question as to why so many Bunnings are turning up on exposure sites and still open to public and she simply refuses to answer.'

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Re: WHY is Bunnings still open during lockdown ?
Reply #1 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 6:43pm

I suspect Bunnings gets listed as an exposure site because they actually strictly enforce check-ins. 3/4 of the time I go to the supermarket the security guard is not there or not paying attention and people just walk in.

Reply #2 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 6:47pm

I can see why they might be considered essential.

Emergency plumbing and roofing repairs come to mind, as well as replacing smoke alarms etc.

However, nobody should be there shopping for outdoor furniture or plants.

Reply #3 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 7:39pm

Bunnings, and any other 'essential retailer'  should be click and collect.

No one enters the store

Reply #4 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 7:43pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 7:39pm:
Bunnings, and any other 'essential retailer'  should be click and collect.

No one enters the store

Click & collect sausage    Smiley

Bobby will be happy.

Reply #5 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 7:45pm

Essential business. End of story.

Reply #6 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:06pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 7:45pm:
Essential business. End of story.

Why is it essential compared to other businesses ?

Bunnings stores and Trade Centres in Victoria remain open for the trade only. 

If you are visiting a store, please remember to bring your PowerPass card or other Trade credentials to gain entry.

In line with government advice please remember to wear a face mask, always keep 1.5 metres between yourself and others, use the hand sanitizer at the front of the store, and ensure you check in and register with the Services Victoria APP via QR codes available.

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #7 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:10pm

You don't own a house Nail, so you never need to go to Bunnings   Grin

Reply #8 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:10pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:06pm:
[quote author=WorldSacred link=1628152456/5#5 date=1628156741]Essential business. End of story.

If you are visiting a store, please remember to bring your PowerPass card or other Trade credentials to gain entry.

In line with government advice please remember to wear a face mask, always keep 1.5 metres between yourself and others, use the hand sanitizer at the front of the store, and ensure you check in and register with the Services Victoria APP via QR codes available.

you would  be the first to whinge if your hot water broke down and it couldnt be fixed because the tradie couldnt obtain the parts.

Reply #9 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:24pm

rhino wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:10pm:
[quote author=WorldSacred link=1628152456/5#5 date=1628156741]Essential business. End of story.

you would  be the first to whinge if your hot water broke down and it couldnt be fixed because the tradie couldnt obtain the parts.

so bunnings have all of the parts for these hot water systems in stock do they ? Not so long ago I went to bunnings to get parts (a float valave) for an older cistern and guess what they had nothing Sad Next dumb answer Cheesy LOL

Reply #10 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:26pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:10pm:

how about I buy a half inch drill to ream out your date hole ? Now that's a reason they should stay open Cheesy LOL

Reply #11 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:30pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:24pm:

so bunnings have all of the parts for these hot water systems in stock do they ? Not so long ago I went to bunnings to get parts (a float valave) for an older cistern and guess what they had nothing Sad Next dumb answer Cheesy LOL
BS right there, you dont own a house so you wouldnt be fixing it. The other thing is you fool, no one buys parts for a cistern any more, you just replace the cistern itself. Ive renovated a number of houses, all parts from Bunnings no issues. There is literally nowhere else which offers the broad range they do since masters folded, any tradie will tell you that whether they like Bunnings or not. Stick to things you know about, like selling Amway.

Reply #12 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:33pm

rhino wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:30pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:24pm:

BS right there, you dont own a house so you wouldnt be fixing it. The other thing is you fool, no one buys parts for a cistern any more, you just replace the cistern itself. Ive renovated a number of houses, all parts from Bunnings no issues. There is literally nowhere else which offers the broad range they do since masters folded, any tradie will tell you that whether they like Bunnings or not. Stick to things you know about, like selling Amway.

your an idiot because it makes no difference whether you own a house or not. It still has a dunny in it and I prefer to fix things myself instead of getting useless 7th grade educated tradies to rip me off for the privilege. And a leaky float valve or tap washer is not an essential repair so get the bugger out of here idiot.

Reply #13 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:35pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:26pm:

how about I buy a half inch drill to ream out your date hole ? Now that's a reason they should stay open Cheesy LOL

If you want to bumroot me, go with the 1/4 so your pencil dick will fit better. Wink

Reply #14 - Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:37pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:35pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 5th, 2021 at 8:26pm:

If you want to bumroot me, go with the 1/4 so your pencil dick will fit better. Wink

pissoff mate otherwise I'll tell Laughtillyoucry where you live and he can go around and shoot in your arse Cheesy LOL