car advice (Read 8560 times)

car advice
Jun 20th, 2021 at 9:40am

I'm in the market for a near-new car. Preferably a wagon with roof racks and some towing capacity - 500kg would do, but preferably a bit more. I don't tow very often. I'm also after good fuel efficiency. The Skodas seem to have good specs for a great price, but there is not a lot of them around second hand.

Re: car advice
Reply #1 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 9:47am

Wrangler?

Reply #2 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 9:54am

I meant a stationwagon. Something you can fit a surfboard or fridge in the back off.

Reply #3 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:07am

Age, $, max km?

Reply #4 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:18am

Near new. I'll pay whatever it costs, but I'll be looking at the cheaper end.

Reply #5 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:27am

I have a few in mind but one you may not have thought of is a Ford Mondeo wagon diesel. They're very uncool so a bit under valued. If you can find a 2018/19 with low kms it's a lot of car for the money.

Reply #6 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:36am

That one is on my radar. Haven't checked the towing specs yet.

Reply #7 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:44am

freediver wrote on Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:36am:
That one is on my radar. Haven't checked the towing specs yet.

750kg unbraked.

What about mid sized SUVs, a lot more stock around?
Even a 3 year old Kia Sorrenro or Hyundai Santa?

Reply #8 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:56am

I'm considering those, but am still leaning towards a conventional stationwagon. Cheaper to run I think.

Reply #9 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 11:11am

freediver wrote on Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:56am:
I'm considering those, but am still leaning towards a conventional stationwagon. Cheaper to run I think.

Very minimal, but I'd say that would be offset by being able to get a better example of an SUV due to better availability.

Skoda are expensive because you're paying cool tax. A Passat wagon would also be nice but you're taking a gamble with the DSG (same for Skoda)

The best value SUV is of course a 2WD Outlander. Boring as batschit but very cheap to own and run, even factoring a CVT rebuild in 10 years.

Reply #10 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 1:57pm

Thanks. I hadn't come across that one yet. 750kg unbraked towing capacity.

I thought Skodas were 'cheap'.

due to better availability

I only need one of them.

Reply #11 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 2:22pm

Gordon wrote on Jun 20th, 2021 at 10:27am:
I have a few in mind but one you may not have thought of is a Ford Mondeo wagon diesel. They're very uncool so a bit under valued. If you can find a 2018/19 with low kms it's a lot of car for the money.

Apparently they are very good

Reply #12 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 3:28pm

FD also needs to be a bit more specific. Are we talking 5'5 shortboard and a bar fridge or a 10'0 mal and a French door with ice maker?

Reply #13 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 3:45pm

My requirements are not that specific. You can usually sneak a mal in with the nose down the left side of the passenger seat. It will go on the roof if it does not fit in the cabin.

Reply #14 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 3:47pm

I like stationwagons,  suv is a wagon raised a bit ?

https://autoexpert.com.au/videoblog/lemon-list-the-top-20-worst-cars-to-buy-in-2...

Reply #15 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 3:50pm

Gordon wrote on Jun 20th, 2021 at 3:28pm:
FD also needs to be a bit more specific. Are we talking 5'5 shortboard and a bar fridge or a 10'0 mal and a French door with ice maker?

A couple of German back-packers and a roll of gaff.

Reply #16 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 4:17pm

A guy called John Cadogan advises on cars.
He has some good info and is a qualified engineer.

One thing he said that appealed to me was along the lines of ' ........... no car is perfect at every task. If it can tow 2500 kgs safely it won't be so good around the shopping mall car parks. 
Work out what you will be doing for 90% of the use of your car, buy one that does that perfectly.'

Reply #17 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 4:19pm

Cheaper to run I think.

highly doubtful

Reply #18 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 5:05pm

Just tested a Skoda Fabia wagon. I think that is their bottom of the market model. Bit too small.

Reply #19 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 6:06pm

freediver wrote on Jun 20th, 2021 at 5:05pm:
Just tested a Skoda Fabia wagon. I think that is their bottom of the market model. Bit too small.

I think Skodas do not have a good reputation.

Mitsubishs, Kias or Hyundais seem to be John Cadogans favorites

Reply #20 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 7:54pm

Too much depends on your preferences.

Do you need new or newish?
Would an older second hand do?
How often, how much do you tow?
What sort of driving do you do?
Do you have a big family?

And these are just a few

My wife has a Suzuki Ignis,  a small 4 cylinder 1200cc motor
Will sit comfortably on a freeway at 120 all day and get 5 l/ 100k.
But for more than two people, not so good.
I have an Isuzu MUX,   a 4 cylinder 3000cc turbo charged diesel.
Great for up to 7 people, eats miles and can tow 3ton.
But it's big and heavy and gets around 8l/100 k
Need it for towing things, boats, caravans etc, but a a commute car, not all that great.

I also have my run around, a 1999 Toyota echo.
1.5 litre, 4 cylinder, bit of a bomb, but mechanically great, I make sure of that.
Body work is a mess, paint peeling ( as all Toyotas do) and a few pre purchase dents.
But for 2000 bucks, it's a great run around and about 6l/ 100k.
Can tow up to 750kg and does so reasonably regularly.

All three cars have different roles
All three cars are great at those roles.

Think carefully
Do you need the latest model, it will depreciate very quickly.
Or is an older model better suited for your purpose.

Reply #21 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 8:03pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 20th, 2021 at 6:06pm:

I think Skodas do not have a good reputation.

Mitsubishs, Kias or Hyundais seem to be John Cadogans favorites

Skodas as most know are part of the VAG group, but the Australian customer service is meant to be very good. That said, their wagons are a bit on the small size.

Yes Cadogan is OK, but a bit of a Hy/Kia fanbio (or he gets good $ for them on his car broker business)

Reply #22 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 8:49pm

station wagons have sort of been yaken over by SUVs

depends how long you want to keep it.

if you want a car for a long time that has boot space and you can chuck a mal on the roof,  a D max , a honda HRV , a mazda cx7 , a pajero sports all good vehicles.

i'd go a hyundai over a kia.

you want something where there a re a lot of units on the road as then parts are cheap and mechanics know how to work on them

so, for that reason, i would not touch a skoda

Reply #23 - Jun 20th, 2021 at 8:57pm

Skoda is VW/Audi.  It's the principlal sponsor of the Tour de Force since it started as a bicycle manufacturer a century and a bit ago.

Skoda is very popular in England because of its reliability. It's used as a taxi in several countries because of that. A demonstrator octavia station wagon is essentially a VW Passat or Audi A3 for 20% less. Once its out of warranty there are plenty of generic parts.

https://www.briskoda.net/
« Last Edit: Jun 20th, 2021 at 9:03pm by Frank »  

Reply #24 - Jun 22nd, 2021 at 7:17pm

saw an Hyundai i40 station wagon today ... I didn't realise they made them as station wagons. Looked nice. Might be worth a look for FD.

Reply #25 - Jun 22nd, 2021 at 8:22pm

The Fairmont wagon is a good all round vehicle with plenty of pulling power.

1971_Fairmont3.jpg (73 KB | 10 )
1971_Fairmont3.jpg

Reply #26 - Jun 22nd, 2021 at 8:46pm

Johnnie wrote on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 8:22pm:
The Fairmont wagon is a good all round vehicle with plenty of pulling power.

Lurveley.

You can sleep in the back of a falcon wagon

Reply #27 - Jun 25th, 2021 at 1:07pm

Reply #28 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:36pm

Test drove an Outlander today. Great car for only $30k. I'm going to test out a Skoda Octavia and a Haval H2 before deciding.

Reply #29 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:43pm

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:36pm:
Test drove an Outlander today. Great car for only $30k. I'm going to test out a Skoda Octavia and a Haval H2 before deciding.

Gee, all nice cars.

Reply #30 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:44pm

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:36pm:

What did you think about the CVT?
With the H2, make sure you factor in the depreciation because you'll get killed when you eventually sell it.

Reply #31 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:51pm

The one I tested was an auto, but I am looking at getting a manual. I wasn't really thinking about the CVT, but it went from 0 to 100 without any clunks, so I guess that was it.

Reply #32 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:57pm

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:51pm:
The one I tested was an auto, but I am looking at getting a manual. I wasn't really thinking about the CVT, but it went from 0 to 100 without any clunks, so I guess that was it.

I drove CVTs in the Outlander, 2WD Rav and Forester.
The Rav was poxy, the Mitsu felt ok but just kind of soulless. The Subaru CVT simulates the gear change points, kind of weird.

Reply #33 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 6:00pm

What about

Check out this 2008 Porsche Cayenne 9PA Auto 4x4 MY09.

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/2008-porsche-cayenne-9pa-auto-4x4-my09/SSE-AD-6084430

Reply #34 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:46pm

porche ceyenne.
the water pump is  run off the timing belt inside the engine.

you have to pull out the radiator and pull out the engine to change the water pump.

cost, maybe 2 grand .

you own a falcon ute and you can buy a water pump at a wreckers for 40 bucks and do it yourself in 30 minutes.

open the bonnett and chuck it at the engine and it will probably fall into place.

and DONT buy a cvt transmission

Reply #35 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:57pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:46pm:
porche ceyenne.
the water pump is  run off the timing belt inside the engine.

you have to pull out the radiator and pull out the engine to change the water pump.

cost, maybe 2 grand .

you own a falcon ute and you can buy a water pump at a wreckers for 40 bucks and do it yourself in 30 minutes.

open the bonnett and chuck it at the engine and it will probably fall into place.

and DONT buy a cvt transmission

A Mitsu with a 10 year warranty is fine. Hey I know a tradie who uses a Cayenne as his work car  Grin

Reply #36 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:24pm

Gordon wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:57pm:
..............   A Mitsu with a 10 year warranty is fine.
Hey I know a tradie who uses a Cayenne as his work car  Grin

To me, a 10 year warranty speaks volumes.
It speaks of the confidence Mitsi has in the whole car.

hah - uses a cayenne as a work car !!
Well done.

Reply #37 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:35pm

Apparently the Sangyong Musso is not too bad.
If you want a 4 X 4 that is

Reply #38 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:37pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:24pm:
Gordon wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:57pm:
..............   A Mitsu with a 10 year warranty is fine.
Hey I know a tradie who uses a Cayenne as his work car  Grin

To me, a 10 year warranty speaks volumes.
It speaks of the confidence Mitsi has in the whole car.

hah - uses a cayenne as a work car !!
Well done.

An old one...

Reply #39 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:48pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:35pm:
Apparently the Sangyong Musso is not too bad.
If you want a 4 X 4 that is

the problem with those exotic brands , including freedivers skoda is that if you break down at alice springs, good luck getting a mechanic who knows what to do with the thing.

as for the mitsi's 10 year warranty

its really only on drivetrain and its only for 100,000 miles (160,000 kms).

i have never had a vehicle require anything to be done to the drivetrain in 160,000 km.

Reply #40 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 10:27pm

If you want a station wagon, Skoda is the only one left.  It's much better than holden and ford station wagons. Once it's out of warranty  or even before that - generic VW/Audi/Skoda parts are available.  Roadside assistance is nationwide.

I asked a dealer, 'who buys Skodas?'
She said, ' Educated, done their research, want value'.

Reply #41 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 11:37pm

Frank wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 10:27pm:
If you want a station wagon, Skoda is the only one left.  It's much better than holden and ford station wagons. Once it's out of warranty  or even before that - generic VW/Audi/Skoda parts are available.  Roadside assistance is nationwide.

I asked a dealer, 'who buys Skodas?'
She said, ' Educated, done their research, want value'.

No wonder Aqua doesnt like them.

Reply #42 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 5:55am

Skoda Octavia 110TSI manual sedan
Three-year resale value: 43 percent.
Original RRP: $25,890.
Three-year estimate: $11,132.

Toyota Corolla: There is a high demand in Australia for new and used Corollas. The steady demand and the vehicle's reliability contribute to its minimal depreciation of 27% – 36% after three years.

so the skoda drops 57 % and the corolla drops 30 %.

rhino, i simply cannot accept anymore white flags.

your previous claim that used BMW's are a good investment  Grin Grin

BMW 520i

Three-year resale value: 36 percent
Original RRP: $90,990
Three-year estimate: $32,756
Few other cars are as wince-inducing to watch come down in price than luxury cars, and the BMW 520i is a perfect example of that. Starting at a lofty near-$100k price, after a mere three years of ownership you can expect a BMW 520i to only be worth 36 percent of what it was new.

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

https://www.whichcar.com.au/car-advice/which-cars-depreciate-the-most

Reply #43 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 10:02am

I have given up on all cars except Toyota.

Reply #44 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 10:17am

Is the Mitsubishi 10 year diamond advantage thing worth it? I have a fairly cheap local mechanic who tells me how to save money - eg replaced a gearbox for a total cost of only a few hundred dollars by sending me to the wreckers. The new OEM deal would have cost $2000. The Mitsubishi dealership where they would service it is only about 10 minutes drive away.

Also, is it worth trying to salary sacrifice a vehicle? This example given by the ATO here suggests you would end up worse off:

https://www.ato.gov.au/general/fringe-benefits-tax-(fbt)/in-detail/employees/salary-sacrifice-arrangements-for-employees/

The advice I can find online is mostly novated lease companies spruiking it but not giving a clear answer on the financials. Moneymag has an article saying it is not really with it, with a lot of people trashing the article in the comments.

Reply #45 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 11:10am

AiA wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 10:02am:
I have given up on all cars except Toyota.

I am happy to look at other brands.
Hard to see many better than a toyota.

Reply #46 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:06pm

www.carsguide.com.au - pricing and specs                                                            
https://www.carsguide.com.au/simple-search                                                            
https://www.autotrader.com.au/mazda/cx-3/towing-capacity/2019                                                            

$k lowest      engine size L      fuel      L/100km            dim HLW      Braked towing capacity kg – in complete guide, also under dimensions      Unbraked – google it
2007      Holden Viva      stationwagon      2      1.8      ULP regular      7.4      Manual 5 speed      1.4X4.6X1.7      1200      610
2021      skoda fabia 70 TSI      stationwagon      19      1      PULP      4.5      Manual 5 speed      1.5X4.3X1.7      1000      550
2021      skoda Octavia 110 TSI ambition      stationwagon      32      1.4      PULP      5.9      Auto 8 speed      1.5X4.7X1.8      1500      670
2021      volkswagon golf 110 TSI trendline      stationwagon      29      1.4      PULP      5.6      Auto 7 speed      1.5X4.6X1.8      1500      640
2021      volkwagon passat 140TSI business      stationwagon      49      2      PULP      6.6      Auto 7 speed      1.5X4.8X1.8      1800      750
2021      Peugot 308 Alluire Touring      stationwagon      32      1.2      ULP regular      5      Manual 6 speed      1.5X4.6X1.9      1200      690
2021      Mazda 6 GT      stationwagon      47      2.5      ULP regular      7.6      Auto 6 speed      1.5X4.8X1.8      1500      550
2021      Mazda CX-3 Akari      stationwagon fwd      34      2      ULP regular      6.6      Manual 6 speed      1.5X4.3X1.8      1200      640
2020      Subaru levorg GT awd      stationwagon      37      1.6      PULP      7.4      CVT Auto      1.5X4.7X1.8      800      750
2020      Subaru levorg GT awd      stationwagon      50      2                              1500      750
2021      Ford Mondeo      stationwagon      39      2      Diesel      5.3      Auto 6 speed      1.5X4.9X1.8      1600      750
2021      Renault Captur Life      stationwagon      29      1.3      PULP      6.6      Auto 7 speed      1.6X4.2X1.8      1200      625 for 2020
2021      Kia Stonic S      stationwagon      21      1.4      ULP regular      6      Manual 6 speed      1.5X4.1X1.8      1000      450?
2021      Ford Focus ST-Line      stationwagon      31      1.5      ULP regular      6.4      Auto 8 speed      1.5X4.7X1.8      1200      750
2020      Holden Commodore LT      stationwagon      23      2      PULP      7.7      Auto 9 speed      1.5X5.0X1.9      1800      750
2019      Hyundai i40 Active Tourer      stationwagon      19      2      ULP regular      7.5      Auto 6 speed      1.5X4.8X1.8      1500      750
2021      Toyota Prius V Hybrid      stationwagon      35      2      ULP regular      4.4      Auto CVT      1.6X4.6X1.8      725      725

2021      Mitsubishi Outlander ES      SUV 2WD      30      2      ULP regular      7      Manual 5 speed      1.7X4.7X1.8      1600      735
2021      Mitsubishi Outlander      SUV AWD      35      2.4      ULP regular      7.2      Auto CVT      1.7X4.7X1.8      1600      750
2021      Mitsubishi ASX ES      SUV 2wd      24      2      ULP regular      7.7      Manual 5 speed      1.6X4.4X1.8      1300      750
2021      Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross ES      SUV 2wd      30      1.5      ULP regular      7.3      Auto CVT      1.7X4.5X1.8      1600      750
2021      Hyundai Kona Active      SUV fwd      26      2      ULP regular      7.2      Auto 6 speed      1.6X4.2X1.8      1300      600
2021      Hyundai Tucson Active      SUV 2WD      30      2      ULP regular      7.8      Manual 6 speed      1.7X4.5X1.9      1600      750
2021      Honda HR-V Vti      SUV ?      27      1.8      ULP regular      6.6      Auto CVT      1.6X4.3X1.8      800      500
2021      Honda CR-V VI      SUV 2WD      31      2      ULP regular      7.6      Auto CVT      1.7X4.6X1.9      1500      600
2021      Mazda CX-3 Akari      SUV FWD      34      2      ULP regular      6.6      Manual 6 speed      1.5X4.3X1.8      1200      640
2021      Mazda CX30 G20 Pure      SUV fwd      30      2      ULP regular      6.5      Auto 6 speed      1.5X4.4X1.8      1200      600
2021      Nissan Juke JT      SUV ?      28      1      PULP      5.8      Auto 7 speed      1.6X4.2X1.8      1250      639-732
2016      Nissan Murano ST      SUV ?      17      3.5      ULP regular      10.9      Auto CVT      1.7X4.9X1.9      1500      750
2021      Nissan Qashqai ST      SUV ?      29      2      ULP regular      7.7      Manual 6 speed      1.6X4.4X1.8      1200      720
2021      Nissan Xtrail ST      SUV      31      2      ULP regular      8.2      Manual 6 speed      1.7X4.7X1.8      1500      750
2021      Peugot 2008 Allure      SUV ?      35      1.2      PULP      6.1      Auto 6 speed      1.6X4.3X1.8      1200      690?
2021      Haval H2 Premium      SUV 2WD      20      1.5      PULP      8.2      Manual 6 speed      1.7X4.3X1.8      1200      750
2021      Haval H6 Premium      SUV      28      2      PULP      9.8      Auto 6 speed      1.7X4.5X1.8      2000      750
2018      Haval H8 Premium      SUV 4X2      22      2      PULP      12.7      Auto 6 speed      1.8X4.8X2.0      0?      
2021      Haval Jolion Lux LE      SUV      28                                    1500      710
2020      Holden Trax      SUV ?      23      1.4      ULP regular      6.7      Auto 6 speed      1.7X4.2X1.8      1200      500
2019      Holden Captiva 5 LS      SUV fwd            2.2      Diesel      8.2      Auto 6 speed      1.7X4.7X1.8      1500      750
2020      Holden Equinox LT      SUV fwd      20      1.5      ULP regular      6.9      Auto 6 speed      1.7X4.7X1.8      1500      750
2021      Fiat 500X Pop      SUV      25      1.4      PULP      6      Manual 6 speed      1.6X4.2X1.8      1200      600
2020      Ford Ecosport      SUV ?      ?                                    900      750
2021      Ford Escape      SUV fwd      36      2      PULP      8.6      Auto 8 speed      1.7X4.6X1.9      1800      750
2021      MG ZS Excite      SUV?      21      1.5      ULP regular      7.1      Auto 4 speed      1.6X4.3X?      500      500
2020      MG GS Core      SUV      21      1.5      PULP      7.4      Auto 7 speed      1.7X4.5X1.9      ?      
2021      MG HS Core      SUV ?      29      1.5      ULP regular      7.3      Auto 7 speed      1.7X4.6X?      1750      750
2021      Suzuki Vitara      SUV?      25      1.6      ULP regular      5.8      Manual 5 speed      1.6X4.2X1.8      1200      400
2019      Suzuki Grand Vitara      SUV?      16      2.4      ULP regular      8.8      Manual 5 speed      1.7X4.1X1.8      1600      550
                                                     1850      750
2021      Suzuki Ignis      SUV?      19      1.2      PULP      4.7      Manual 5 speed      1.6X3.7X1.7      800      350
2021      Suzuki Jimmy GLX QLD      SUV ?      28      1.5      ULP regular      6.9      Manual 5 speed      1.7X3.5X1.6      1300      350
2021      Suzuki S-Cross Turbo GL+ QLD      SUV ?      30      1.4      PULP      5.9      Auto 6 speed      1.6X4.3X1.8      1200      400
2021      Skoda Kamiq 85 TSI      SUV ?      27      1      PULP      5.1      Manual 6 speed      1.5X4.2X1.8      1200      620
2021      Skoda Karoq 110TSI      SUV ?      35      1.4      ULP regular      6.6      Auto 8 speed      1.6X4.4X1.8      1500      690?
2021      VW T-Cross      SUV ?      28      1      PULP      5.4      Auto 7 speed      1.6X4.1X1.8      1100      620
2021      VW Golf Alltrack      SUV      37      1.8      PULP      6.8      Manual 6 speed      1.5X4.6X1.8      1500      750
2021      VW Tiguan 110 TSI trendline      SUV ?      35      1.4      PULP      7.1      Auto 6 speed      1.7X4.5X1.8      1800      750
2021      Kia Seltos S      SUV fwd      27      2      ULP regular      6.8      Auto CVT      1.6X4.4X1.8      1100      600
2021      Kia Sportage S      SUV fwd      31      2      ULP regular      7.9      Auto 6 speed      1.6X4.5X1.9      1600      750
2021      Subaru Forester      SUV awd      35      2.5      ULP regular      7.4      Auto CVT      1.7X4.6X1.8      1800      750
2021      Subaru Outback 2.5I Vision      SUV ?      39      2.5      ULP regular      7.3      Auto CVT      1.7X4.8X1.8      1500      750
2021      Subaru XV      SUV awd      30      2      PULP      7      Auto CVT      1.6X4.5X1.8      1400      650
2021      Honda CR-V      SUV ?      31      2      ULP regular      7.6      Auto CVT      1.7X4.6X1.9      1500      600
2021      Jeep Cherokee Sport      SUV 4X2      38      2.4      ULP regular      8.5      Auto 9 speed      1.7X4.7X1.9      1500      750

Reply #47 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:19pm

For a fuel cost of $1.50 per litre, a 1 L per 100 km improvement in fuel efficiency saves you $3000 over 200,000 km in fuel costs. I expect there would also be savings in maintenance costs.

Reply #48 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:36pm

There isn't a single Kia product I would purchase. Nissan has gone to ʇᴉɥs. Honda isn't what it used to be.  I like Subaru but they are a bit overpriced.

Something one has to take into consideration these days but many don't until it is too late is the tire size - sizes have gotten so damn big in the USA on pickups and SUVs so the replacement tires are very, very pricey.

Reply #49 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:47pm

AiA wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:36pm:
There isn't a single Kia product I would purchase. Nissan has gone to ʇᴉɥs. Honda isn't what it used to be.  I like Subaru but they are a bit overpriced.

Something one has to take into consideration these days but many don't until it is too late is the tire size - sizes have gotten so damn big in the USA on pickups and SUVs so the replacement tires are very, very pricey.

I've had a few brand new Kia rentals, not horrible, kind of nothing really. The worst rental I've had recently was a Mitsu ASX, driving that thing gave me hives.

Nicest cheap rental, Corolla hybrid.

Reply #50 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:53pm

Oh - mazdas are very good

Reply #51 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 1:41pm

freediver wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 10:17am:
Is the Mitsubishi 10 year diamond advantage thing worth it? I have a fairly cheap local mechanic who tells me how to save money - eg replaced a gearbox for a total cost of only a few hundred dollars by sending me to the wreckers. The new OEM deal would have cost $2000. The Mitsubishi dealership where they would service it is only about 10 minutes drive away.

Also, is it worth trying to salary sacrifice a vehicle? This example given by the ATO here suggests you would end up worse off:

https://www.ato.gov.au/general/fringe-benefits-tax-(fbt)/in-detail/employees/salary-sacrifice-arrangements-for-employees/

The advice I can find online is mostly novated lease companies spruiking it but not giving a clear answer on the financials. Moneymag has an article saying it is not really with it, with a lot of people trashing the article in the comments.

if you own a business, buy a ute.

no FBT on utes

Reply #52 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 7:44pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 1:41pm:

if you own a business, buy a ute.

no FBT on utes

I looked into a novated lease a few years ago.
It did not appeal to me.

Reply #53 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 7:45pm

YES, especially those silly low diameter ones, that handle really harshly.

Reply #54 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 8:15pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 7:45pm:

Tyres, they are a trap for the unwary,

I purchased a beautiful Valkyrie motorcycle quite a few years ago.
Magnificent machine
1500cc 6 cylinders 0 to 60 in a smidgen over 3 seconds.

But the tyres.....ouch.
I had a choice of two when I bought the beast.
And just before I sold it I had a choice of 4.

All at over $500.00 a tyre

But the bike was the greatest.

Reply #55 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 8:52pm

Valkie wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 8:15pm:

Magnificent machine

But the tyres.....ouch.

I bet that ran beautifully.

Reply #56 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 8:53pm

The salary sacrifice on a vehicle is a trap, stay away from it. I know quite a number of people who have done it and all regret it, the only time leasing a car makes sense in my opinion  is if you are using it as a 100 percent business deduction.

Reply #57 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 9:17pm

Gordon wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:47pm:

I've had a few brand new Kia rentals, not horrible, kind of nothing really. The worst rental I've had recently was a Mitsu ASX, driving that thing gave me hives.

I just came across the ASX going through all the specs. They look good on paper. Have you driven an outlander?

Reply #58 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 9:34pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 5:55am:

Toyota Corolla: There is a high demand in Australia for new and used Corollas. The steady demand and the vehicle's reliability contribute to its minimal depreciation of 27% – 36% after three years.

your previous claim that used BMW's are a good investment 
Grin Grin

BMW 520i

Few other cars are as wince-inducing to watch come down in price than luxury cars, and the BMW 520i is a perfect example of that. Starting at a lofty near-$100k price, after a mere three years of ownership you can expect a BMW 520i to only be worth 36 percent of what it was new.

I never claimed a BMW was a good investment, get yourself checked, I keep telling you. Catch it now and theres treatment.

Reply #59 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 11:22pm

I buy cars to last, not to sell after 4 years.
I like to have a car, like a barber, butcher, baker, for years and years and years.

I don't want a new car every 3-4 years just as I dont want a new barber, butcher, taylor, etc. There are so many absolutely amazing things to discover in life but consumer goods are not among them. They are boring, just fccn'  tedious!

Reply #60 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 12:23am

Happy wife, happy life.

Reply #61 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 1:38am

Low-profile tires are awful, especially the wider ones. Not only are they pricey, they simply don't last and as you said, they give a harsh ride.

Reply #62 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 6:19am

rhino wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 9:34pm:

Grin Grin

BMW 520i

I never claimed a BMW was a good investment, get yourself checked, I keep telling you. Catch it now and theres treatment.

Like when you claimed many BMWs will do 500000 km Grin Grin

Belgarion

Reply #63 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 8:10am

I have 2017 Outback and am very happy with it. A smooth ride compared to many SUVs and the CVT works fine. The only issues are the service interval of 6 months seems too frequent and the Bridgestone Dueller tyres it comes with are crap. 

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #64 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:20am

freediver wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 9:17pm:
Gordon wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 12:47pm:

I just came across the ASX going through all the specs. They look good on paper. Have you driven an outlander?

I liked it on paper, not really keen on the look but that wasn't a deal breaker. I just didn't like the CVT. This was for wife's car which she hardly drives because she strolls to the ferry to get to work. 

Each to their own, a mate of mine has a Pajero Evo and bought his wife an Outlander and he doesn't mind it

Reply #65 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:25am

Belgarion wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 8:10am:

I have 2017 Outback and am very happy with it. A smooth ride compared to many SUVs and the CVT works fine. The only issues are the service interval of 6 months seems too frequent and the Bridgestone Dueller tyres it comes with are crap. 

Subaru probably had the best all wheel drive system
Just be aware with all-wheel drives it is fairly important to keep the tyres at identical pressures or you will put a lot of strain on the system and lead to it's premature breakdown

Reply #66 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:27am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 8:52pm:

Magnificent machine

But the tyres.....ouch.

It truly was a beautiful machine.
I had it for 11 years and it looked as new the whole time.
Was not cheap on petrol though, it ate up fuel at 32 MPG 40 if you took it easy (but that's not what a bike is for)
With 6 carburetors, one for each cylinder, I guess that's to be expected
Id probably still have it had I not developed Vertigo (which comes and goes)
Id hate to throw that beast down the road because I lost my balance one day.

The motor was a 6 cylinder horizontally opposed boxster engine, so smooth you could barely know it running.
And no vibration at all while riding.

Reply #67 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:34am

aquascoot wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 6:19am:

Grin Grin

BMW 520i

Any car will do the miles if looked after.

I have had many cars in my life, Holden, Ford, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Suzuki, Isuzu and a little Morris Minor.

Some I have finally gotten rid of with over 400,000 k on the clock.
My current play car is a 1999 Toyota Echo, with nearly 300,000 on the clock, but everything still works perfectly, even the air-conditioner. A bit rattly, but perfect for just bashing the traffic around the coast.

My daughter has a Toyota Yarris, 320,000 on the clock.
Apart for the paint peeling everywhere, its still runs great (starting to use a bit of oil between changes though)

The key is regular maintenance, thats all.

Reply #68 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:39am

Of course anything can be kept going for ever but eventually the curve of cost and practicality starts to bite.

Some cars will go longer with less major intervention and others may be described as the Ship of Theseus

Reply #69 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:54am

I don't think the current crop of European cars will do those sort of miles

Europe simply has very stringent environmental and fuel consumption laws
And this has necessitated a lot of reengineering

Many of the components inside BMWs and Mercedes for example
Are either completely made of plastic or have plastic joints
This reduces weight and increases fuel economy

But you cannot heat and cool plastic repeatedly
Without it eventually cracking

Now if it's easy to work on the engine transmission etc
And parts are cheap
You can get around that problem

But for example all the fuel injectors and fuel injector couplings on BMWs
Are now made of plastic
They are very expensive to replace
And they are brittle after several years to the point where you can't really work on them without high probability of damage

It's just built-in redundancy

The other thing about the Europeans is that they are more interested in getting government subsidies for changing to electric vehicles
Then they are in producing good vehicles with petrol motors
Volvo are moving completely to electric vehicles within the next few years

And again there is a lot of built-in redundancy
The batteries on most new electric vehicles
Form part of the structural integrity of the car
Have an accident
Even a simple nose to tail
And it might be by by battery
It might be a $10,000 repair job just on that

Built-in redundancy Andover engineering is going to be the way of the future unfortunately

Reply #70 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:59am

Gordon wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:39am:
Of course anything can be kept going for ever but eventually the curve of cost and practicality starts to bite.

Some cars will go longer with less major intervention and others may be described as the Ship of Theseus

Yes I guess, but is it really worth forking out $40,000.00 for a new car when a $2,000.00 car will do the same job?
Even if you have to spend maybe $5,000.00 in repairs over its lifetime?

I have a near new Isuzu MUX (new when I bought it two years ago)
My wife has a near new Ignis (bought new 3 years ago)

Together these two cars cost us nearly $63,000.00.

My Echo cost me $2,000.00 and in the 12 months Ive had it has cost me the grand sum of $230.00 for oil changes, new sway bar bushes  and new brakes I fitted.

Yet we use the Echo quite a bit, we dont worry about people banging doors into the paintwork or scratching it.
Its just a bomb and thats how we use it.

The MUX is for towing and long trips, the Ignis for cheap reliable short trips.

But the echo does all we need for a fraction of the cost.

Reply #71 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 10:07am

Valkie wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:59am:

Yes I guess, but is it really worth forking out $40,000.00 for a new car when a $2,000.00 car will do the same job?

My Echo cost me $2,000.00 and in the 12 months Ive had it has cost me the grand sum of $230.00 for oil changes, new sway bar bushes  and new brakes I fitted.

Yet we use the Echo quite a bit, we dont worry about people banging doors into the paintwork or scratching it.

Sure, but some people have money to spend on cars with cost being secondary, and we all do it to some extent.  You did it with the motorcycle you posted above.

Reply #72 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 3:56pm

Gordon wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 10:07am:
Valkie wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:59am:

Sure, but some people have money to spend on cars with cost being secondary, and we all do it to some extent.  You did it with the motorcycle you posted above.

Yes, but the bike was an absolute MUST HAVE.

I saw it, I loved it, I bought it.

My wife called it my midlife crisis bike.
But I loved that bike.

It went to a good home though.

Reply #73 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 4:02pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 6:19am:

Grin Grin

BMW 520i

And? I was right, as usual. You got your fingers burned now you want to create a false argument to deflect from your lack of knowledge, your standard MO.  Wink

Reply #74 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 4:49pm

Valkie wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 3:56pm:
...........   the bike was an absolute MUST HAVE.

But I loved that bike.

Beautiful.
That is living

Reply #75 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 6:47pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 4:49pm:
Valkie wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 3:56pm:
...........   the bike was an absolute MUST HAVE.

But I loved that bike.

Beautiful.
That is living

The old Kwakka Z900 with extractors would do that thing for dinner.

Reply #76 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 8:30pm

Valkie wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:27am:
Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 27th, 2021 at 8:52pm:

Magnificent machine

But the tyres.....ouch.

It truly was a beautiful machine.
I had it for 11 years and it looked as new the whole time.
Was not cheap on petrol though, it ate up fuel at 32 MPG 40 if you took it easy (but that's not what a bike is for)
With 6 carburetors, one for each cylinder, I guess that's to be expected
Id probably still have it had I not developed Vertigo (which comes and goes)
Id hate to throw that beast down the road because I lost my balance one day.

The motor was a 6 cylinder horizontally opposed boxster engine, so smooth you could barely know it running.
And no vibration at all while riding.

Was it like flying ?

I love good engineering and smooth running machines

Reply #77 - Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:52pm

All the specs you find online give the average fuel consumption, but none of them seem to have the breakdown between urban and open road. Anyone know where to find that, other than going and looking at the sticker?

Also, I would like to know what the fuel consumption I sitting at 100km/h on a flat road. I'm guessing that would punish the SUV's compared to the wagons.

Reply #78 - Jun 29th, 2021 at 4:46pm

Reply #79 - Jun 29th, 2021 at 7:33pm

Tested an ASX manual today. Drives well, bit less power, but in terms of boot space it is closer to a hatch than a wagon. Apparently it is on the old Lancer frame.

Also tried out a Haval Jolian. It has just replaced the H2. The price has jumped up to $26k, so I think I'll stick with the Outlander. Though I still have not found a manual to test drive.

Reply #80 - Jun 29th, 2021 at 7:45pm

freediver wrote on Jun 28th, 2021 at 9:52pm:
All the specs you find online give the average fuel consumption, but none of them seem to have the breakdown between urban and open road. Anyone know where to find that, other than going and looking at the sticker?

Also, I would like to know what the fuel consumption I sitting at 100km/h on a flat road. I'm guessing that would punish the SUV's compared to the wagons.

Yes, I would think so too

Reply #81 - Jun 29th, 2021 at 7:45pm

freediver wrote on Jun 29th, 2021 at 7:33pm:
Tested an ASX manual today. Drives well, bit less power, but in terms of boot space it is closer to a hatch than a wagon. Apparently it is on the old Lancer frame.

Also tried out a Haval Jolian. It has just replaced the H2. The price has jumped up to $26k, so I think I'll stick with the Outlander. Though I still have not found a manual to test drive.

Tried a Mazda?

Reply #82 - Jun 29th, 2021 at 8:52pm

The Mazdas are a bit more expensive, and smaller, with less towing capacity.

Reply #83 - Jun 29th, 2021 at 9:15pm

fuel consumption figures are based on an international standard test (adr something o other)
it involves measuring fuel consumption in urban traffic and quite a lot of it is with the vehicle stopped (at lights?).

its one of the reasons some makers use that stop start technology.

it gives them good consumptioon figures for the regulators (probably wears out heads and starters more quixckly).

with regards consumption (i note sprint asked about big land cruisers in a new thread).

a big unit like a cruiser probably burns about 1/3 of its fuel overcoming wind resistance at speed.

and the consumption goes up at about the sqaure of the speed.

so going from 80 to 120, you are going from 640 to 1440 and you will be less efficient at 120.

better to drive at 80.

pump the tyres up
dont have rediculous luggage on the roof
empty the car of excess rubbish
check and mainstain and clean your air filter and fuel filter
check there is no vaccum leak after your MAFS sensor.
bullbars affect radiator cooling and aerodynamics
dont turn off the air con and wind down the windows to save fuel (doesnt work)

Reply #84 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 5:34pm

I just got told the manual Outlander and Xtrail might be discontinued. I won't even know what I can order until late in the year. So that's the two main things I wanted - a stationwagon and a manual - off the market. Everything is getting replaced by automatic SUVs.

Reply #85 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 5:53pm

valkie has a 'slightly damaged' car he needs to sell. Sounds like it's perfect for you

Reply #86 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 5:57pm

freediver wrote on Jul 3rd, 2021 at 5:34pm:
I just got told the manual Outlander and Xtrail might be discontinued. I won't even know what I can order until late in the year. So that's the two main things I wanted - a stationwagon and a manual - off the market. Everything is getting replaced by automatic SUVs.

oooooooohhhhhh, manuals are rare.
That is a toughie.

Reply #87 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 5:58pm

manual trannies last a lot longer.
the failure of an auto trannie is now one of the commoner reasons for a car to be junked.
auto trannies are sold as sealed units so they are hard to service.

manufacturers , wanting to sell new cars more regularly, have a finaincial incentive not to provide manuals.

Reply #88 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 6:02pm

aquascoot wrote on Jul 3rd, 2021 at 5:58pm:

You talking about Bobby?

Reply #89 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 6:07pm

the failure of an auto trannie is now one of the commoner reasons for a car to be junked.

manufacturers , wanting to sell new cars more regularly, have a finaincial incentive not to provide manuals.

I partially agree.

Manual trannies are much more robust. Might be harder to sell later.

Most common causes to scrap a car is
1/ A crash.
2/ Overheating, usually due to a coolant failure.
3/ Auto transmission failure.

Auto's are 'sealed for life'. They should be serviced though.
They are harder to service yourself. Auto specialists will do it.

Overheating is the end of an engine, usually uneconomic to replace. happens VERY quickly

Reply #90 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 6:10pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 3rd, 2021 at 6:07pm:

I partially agree.

How much would we get for Bobby?

Reply #91 - Jul 3rd, 2021 at 7:08pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 3rd, 2021 at 6:10pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 3rd, 2021 at 6:07pm:

I partially agree.

How much would we get for Bobby?

Reply #92 - Jul 6th, 2021 at 8:30pm

Here ya go FD, may blow the budget after you import and convert to RHD, but it has night vision.

Reply #93 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 5:04pm

My car has recently been giving off a smell of mouldy odours. A friend of mine suggested that I use an mould eliminating fume in the car to kill off the mould in the venting system. I am going to make that the first thing I do after I give the inside of the car a clean, just in case there is some other cause making the smell. But, do other people have an idea of how else I can eliminate the smell? The car cologne has done well for me. But that is only a temporary measure.

Reply #94 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 5:40pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 10th, 2021 at 5:04pm:
My car has recently been giving off a smell of mouldy odours. A friend of mine suggested that I use an mould eliminating fume in the car to kill off the mould in the venting system. I am going to make that the first thing I do after I give the inside of the car a clean, just in case there is some other cause making the smell. But, do other people have an idea of how else I can eliminate the smell? The car cologne has done well for me. But that is only a temporary measure.

A better question would be to ask why it smells like that in the first place. Without resolving that, any remedial action is pointless.

Reply #95 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 5:44pm

Could it in fact be your feet turning gangrenous and you're smelling yourself?

Reply #96 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 6:29pm

Can you smell the mouldy odours when you are out of the car too?  Grin Grin Grin

Reply #97 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 7:08pm

Wonder if it could be frm the A/C ?
They have an outlet that water drips from. If that is blocked water may be in the outlet pipe. Sometime little insects get in there .

When I can I leave my windows open in the car to let it all dry out.  I just crack all the windows  open  5 mm when it is in the garage

Reply #98 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 7:34pm

If your car has a cabin air filter you need to replace it.

Modern cars have cabin air filters the one in my Lancer was really good when we had all that bushfire smoke it filtered it out.

Reply #99 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 8:08pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Jul 10th, 2021 at 7:34pm:

Modern cars have cabin air filters the one in my Lancer was really good when we had all that bushfire smoke it filtered it out.

Ah, great thought

Reply #100 - Jul 10th, 2021 at 8:11pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 10th, 2021 at 8:08pm:
Baronvonrort wrote on Jul 10th, 2021 at 7:34pm:

Ah, great thought

A 5 minute job to replace in the Lancer have to take glove box out.

Buy the filter from Supercheap or Repco much cheaper than from a dealer. Mitsubishi wanted $65 Repco had them for $24

Reply #101 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:38am

I am going to buy a can of mould eliminator fumigator today and give it a go tonight to see if that kills off any mould build up. I won't be using the car for a few days, so this should be quite good for Wednesday night after work.

I had been using car cologne a few times, and that has helped. But, it does seem like the car's air conditioner filter needs replacing. I ran the heater for 20 minutes last night after work and that seemed to make some difference this morning. But, as had been suggested, I might have spread the spores to elsewhere in the car.

Reply #102 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:09pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:38am:
I am going to buy a can of mould eliminator fumigator today and give it a go tonight to see if that kills off any mould build up. I won't be using the car for a few days, so this should be quite good for Wednesday night after work.

I had been using car cologne a few times, and that has helped. But, it does seem like the car's air conditioner filter needs replacing. I ran the heater for 20 minutes last night after work and that seemed to make some difference this morning. But, as had been suggested, I might have spread the spores to elsewhere in the car.

Might just be from an extended wet period with it being closed up .

Houses get like that.

Reply #103 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:21pm

The humidity was quite high recently, with some rain and cool weather. I suppose that was what caused the mould to smell. Because it has been dry for a few days now, the smell might just reduce for a while, until the rain comes back. But, I do not recall the rainy season causing the smell to exist.

I did consider that the milk bottle leaking the other week might have caused some kind of off smell that the mould fed from. I will still clean out the car with a more detailed cleaning this week.

Reply #104 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:44pm

It was the milk. You might have some nice carpet cheese by now.

Reply #105 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:48pm

freediver wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:44pm:
It was the milk. You might have some nice carpet cheese by now.

I can only hope that the milk was what caused it. I spilt a thick shake on the flooring of the car some year ago. That was the reason why I bought the car cologne the other year. I will give the floor a scrub over on Monday or Tuesday.

Reply #106 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:53pm

Gordon wrote on Jul 10th, 2021 at 5:44pm:
Could it in fact be your feet turning gangrenous and you're smelling yourself?

No. That would be my father with that problem. I have a habit of putting Vicks Vaporub on my feet every week, to make sure that my feet avoid having a fungal issue.

Reply #107 - Jul 14th, 2021 at 11:49pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:21pm:
The humidity was quite high recently, with some rain and cool weather. I suppose that was what caused the mould to smell. Because it has been dry for a few days now, the smell might just reduce for a while, until the rain comes back. But, I do not recall the rainy season causing the smell to exist.

I did consider that the milk bottle leaking the other week might have caused some kind of off smell that the mould fed from. I will still clean out the car with a more detailed cleaning this week.

Sounds likely. Good deduction

Reply #108 - Jul 15th, 2021 at 9:00am

Mice like getting into vehicles as well

John Dillermand

Reply #109 - Jul 15th, 2021 at 9:11am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 15th, 2021 at 9:00am:
Mice like getting into vehicles as well

So thats how you pick up women/

Reply #110 - Jul 15th, 2021 at 1:16pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 14th, 2021 at 11:49pm:
UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:21pm:

Sounds likely. Good deduction

I bought some Meguair Car Refresher. I used that on Sunday night spraying that through the car and running the recycled air conditioning for 15 minutes. I got the car stopped and shut it up for the night and the next day -- even though the can instruction say to air out the car overnight. I used the car for the first time on Tuesday and the car smelled like Glen 20. Wednesday night, I drove around for an hour before the game. The smell was still relatively strong, but not overwhelming. It will take a week before I can get an idea if the smell was from the airconditioning, or from something else in the car.