car advice (Read 8237 times)

Re: car advice
Reply #30 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:44pm

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:36pm:
Test drove an Outlander today. Great car for only $30k. I'm going to test out a Skoda Octavia and a Haval H2 before deciding.

What did you think about the CVT?
With the H2, make sure you factor in the depreciation because you'll get killed when you eventually sell it.

Reply #31 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:51pm

The one I tested was an auto, but I am looking at getting a manual. I wasn't really thinking about the CVT, but it went from 0 to 100 without any clunks, so I guess that was it.

Reply #32 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:57pm

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 5:51pm:
The one I tested was an auto, but I am looking at getting a manual. I wasn't really thinking about the CVT, but it went from 0 to 100 without any clunks, so I guess that was it.

I drove CVTs in the Outlander, 2WD Rav and Forester.
The Rav was poxy, the Mitsu felt ok but just kind of soulless. The Subaru CVT simulates the gear change points, kind of weird.

Reply #33 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 6:00pm

What about

Check out this 2008 Porsche Cayenne 9PA Auto 4x4 MY09.

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/2008-porsche-cayenne-9pa-auto-4x4-my09/SSE-AD-6084430

Reply #34 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:46pm

porche ceyenne.
the water pump is  run off the timing belt inside the engine.

you have to pull out the radiator and pull out the engine to change the water pump.

cost, maybe 2 grand .

you own a falcon ute and you can buy a water pump at a wreckers for 40 bucks and do it yourself in 30 minutes.

open the bonnett and chuck it at the engine and it will probably fall into place.

and DONT buy a cvt transmission

Reply #35 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:57pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:46pm:
porche ceyenne.
the water pump is  run off the timing belt inside the engine.

you have to pull out the radiator and pull out the engine to change the water pump.

cost, maybe 2 grand .

you own a falcon ute and you can buy a water pump at a wreckers for 40 bucks and do it yourself in 30 minutes.

open the bonnett and chuck it at the engine and it will probably fall into place.

and DONT buy a cvt transmission

A Mitsu with a 10 year warranty is fine. Hey I know a tradie who uses a Cayenne as his work car  Grin

Reply #36 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:24pm

Gordon wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:57pm:
..............   A Mitsu with a 10 year warranty is fine.
Hey I know a tradie who uses a Cayenne as his work car  Grin

To me, a 10 year warranty speaks volumes.
It speaks of the confidence Mitsi has in the whole car.

hah - uses a cayenne as a work car !!
Well done.

Reply #37 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:35pm

Apparently the Sangyong Musso is not too bad.
If you want a 4 X 4 that is

Reply #38 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:37pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:24pm:
Gordon wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 7:57pm:
..............   A Mitsu with a 10 year warranty is fine.
Hey I know a tradie who uses a Cayenne as his work car  Grin

To me, a 10 year warranty speaks volumes.
It speaks of the confidence Mitsi has in the whole car.

hah - uses a cayenne as a work car !!
Well done.

An old one...

Reply #39 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:48pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 8:35pm:
Apparently the Sangyong Musso is not too bad.
If you want a 4 X 4 that is

the problem with those exotic brands , including freedivers skoda is that if you break down at alice springs, good luck getting a mechanic who knows what to do with the thing.

as for the mitsi's 10 year warranty

its really only on drivetrain and its only for 100,000 miles (160,000 kms).

i have never had a vehicle require anything to be done to the drivetrain in 160,000 km.

Reply #40 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 10:27pm

If you want a station wagon, Skoda is the only one left.  It's much better than holden and ford station wagons. Once it's out of warranty  or even before that - generic VW/Audi/Skoda parts are available.  Roadside assistance is nationwide.

I asked a dealer, 'who buys Skodas?'
She said, ' Educated, done their research, want value'.

Reply #41 - Jun 26th, 2021 at 11:37pm

Frank wrote on Jun 26th, 2021 at 10:27pm:
If you want a station wagon, Skoda is the only one left.  It's much better than holden and ford station wagons. Once it's out of warranty  or even before that - generic VW/Audi/Skoda parts are available.  Roadside assistance is nationwide.

I asked a dealer, 'who buys Skodas?'
She said, ' Educated, done their research, want value'.

No wonder Aqua doesnt like them.

Reply #42 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 5:55am

Skoda Octavia 110TSI manual sedan
Three-year resale value: 43 percent.
Original RRP: $25,890.
Three-year estimate: $11,132.

Toyota Corolla: There is a high demand in Australia for new and used Corollas. The steady demand and the vehicle's reliability contribute to its minimal depreciation of 27% – 36% after three years.

so the skoda drops 57 % and the corolla drops 30 %.

rhino, i simply cannot accept anymore white flags.

your previous claim that used BMW's are a good investment  Grin Grin

BMW 520i

Three-year resale value: 36 percent
Original RRP: $90,990
Three-year estimate: $32,756
Few other cars are as wince-inducing to watch come down in price than luxury cars, and the BMW 520i is a perfect example of that. Starting at a lofty near-$100k price, after a mere three years of ownership you can expect a BMW 520i to only be worth 36 percent of what it was new.

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

https://www.whichcar.com.au/car-advice/which-cars-depreciate-the-most

Reply #43 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 10:02am

I have given up on all cars except Toyota.

Reply #44 - Jun 27th, 2021 at 10:17am

Is the Mitsubishi 10 year diamond advantage thing worth it? I have a fairly cheap local mechanic who tells me how to save money - eg replaced a gearbox for a total cost of only a few hundred dollars by sending me to the wreckers. The new OEM deal would have cost $2000. The Mitsubishi dealership where they would service it is only about 10 minutes drive away.

Also, is it worth trying to salary sacrifice a vehicle? This example given by the ATO here suggests you would end up worse off:

https://www.ato.gov.au/general/fringe-benefits-tax-(fbt)/in-detail/employees/salary-sacrifice-arrangements-for-employees/

The advice I can find online is mostly novated lease companies spruiking it but not giving a clear answer on the financials. Moneymag has an article saying it is not really with it, with a lot of people trashing the article in the comments.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8