Pages: 1 2 3 ... 54
Reducing the road toll? (Read 94951 times)

Reducing the road toll?
Dec 10th, 2020 at 9:48pm

Extremism can go both ways. This is on the lenient or soft side of extremism

The other day a young multicultural guy (coloured and maybe in his twenties) was sentenced to 18 months home detention

This is what he did …

In a Sydney tunnel he failed to slow down and slammed his car into a car in front of him resulting in the car in front being lifted up onto his bonnet, rolling and came to a sliding stop on it's side.

A young lady was driving the car in front and she sustained minor injuries which included a broken hand (according to the Channel 9 news report)

A third car pulled up and the driver offered assistance

The coloured guy responsible for the horrendous smash, who was seen clutching a bottle of beer, then proceeded to carjack the third car, with the help of his passengers, threatened the driver of the third car who offered assistance, at knife point

The offender and his passengers drove away in the hijacked car

18 months living with Mum and Dad getting washing done, meals cooked, bed made, TV, computer, floors cleaned, windows washed and his mess tidied up after him

Some sentence! What sort of message does this really send? No one is fair dinkum

What's the penalty for carjacking using a knife to threaten?

Here's an indication of what the penalty should be for the carjacking alone ….

A person guilty of ‘taking a motor vehicle with assault or with occupant on board’ will face a penalty of up to 10 years imprisonment under section 154C(1) of the Crimes Act 1900 (NSW).
The offence also carries a ‘standard non-parole period’ of 3 years. This means that Parliament has indicated to Courts that a standard 3 years minimum full-time custody should be considered as a guidepost for this offence if it’s considered to fall in the middle level of objective seriousness by the Judge.

Re: Reducing the road toll?
Reply #1 - Jan 6th, 2021 at 3:00pm

Reducing the road toll

Man facing 14 charges after allegedly fleeing crash that killed two children

By Freya Noble • Senior Producer
2:43pm Jan 6, 2021

He has been charged with dangerous driving occasioning death-drive manner dangerous, negligent driving (occasioning death), negligent driving (occasions grievous bodily harm), dangerous driving occasioning grievous bodily harm-drive manner dangerous, cause bodily harm by misconduct, in charge of motor vehicle (x2), never licensed person drive vehicle on road, fail to stop and assist after impact causing injury (x2), fail to stop and assist after vehicle impact causing death (x2), fail to stop and assist after vehicle impact causing grievous bodily harm, and possess prohibited drug.

https://www.9news.com.au/national/wellington-crash-man-charged-after-two-childre...

What will he get, 4years in jail with a non-parole period of 3years, and a $4,000 fine?

Reply #2 - Jan 7th, 2021 at 6:54pm

Reducing the Road Toll

Driver heads for grass off Hume Highway and critically injures pedestrian who now has serious head, lower leg and pelvis injuries. Driver was arrested at the scene

https://www.9news.com.au/national/man-hit-by-car-casula-in-high-speed-crash-on-h...

Reply #3 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 7:29am

imo  all our sentencing needs a thorough overhaul....

I agree  the violence on the roads is getting worse....I know we have cameras now recording a lot of it   but its now whole groups getting out o f cars and assaulting anyone .. it almost looks as if its planned in some cases......this needs nipping NOW  before someone dies in the middle of the road...we need to get serious ..anyone going to jail  needs to attend courses   that are meant to help them become a responsible part of society    if they refuse   then most certainly no  early parole and when released a very long time on parole.......we have to be in charge   not these thugs....

Reply #4 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 4:10pm

Only way to reduce the road toll—more marked police cars on the road!

Not popular with State Govts who have to pay for more police. Too bad, lives are more important!

Who does not have a SatNav device in their car? (How is that old banger from the 70s going?) So fixed red light/speed cameras are getting more and more useless.

As an old fart, I remember police cars on the road, and, my, wasn’t everyone polite while that car was near? More police cars, especially, more marked police cars, on the road!

Mind you, riding the mighty Suzuki 50cc bike to Uni I used to see the motorcycle cop do 40mph (speed limit 35mph) going home in the morning—not a good example!

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #5 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 4:19pm

I have a great idea to help police bad driving.

People who are of good character with no criminal convictions and a clean driving record can apply to have a police issued dashcam in their car. They could be deputised like a JP in some way perhaps and some kind of rego discount or remuneration could be given to the driver.

When the driver witness a piece of atrocious driving, they upload the footage and fill in a stat dec then it's reviewed by police who can act upon it.

Now I'm not talking about someone doing 3/4s of a bees fart over the speed limit, I want dangerous drivers booked.

Knowing that any car on the road may have a police issued camera would have a nice calming effect on the road.

Reply #6 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 4:21pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2021 at 4:10pm:
Only way to reduce the road toll—more marked police cars on the road!

Not popular with State Govts who have to pay for more police. Too bad, lives are more important!

Who does not have a SatNav device in their car? (How is that old banger from the 70s going?) So fixed red light/speed cameras are getting more and more useless.

As an old fart, I remember police cars on the road, and, my, wasn’t everyone polite while that car was near? More police cars, especially, more marked police cars, on the road!

Mind you, riding the mighty Suzuki 50cc bike to Uni I used to see the motorcycle cop do 40mph (speed limit 35mph) going home in the morning—not a good example!

Actually, the best way to reduce the road toll is to build better roads. Undivided roads where there's a speed limit over 60 will eventually be a thing of the past.

Reply #7 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 5:15pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 8th, 2021 at 4:19pm:
I have a great idea to help police bad driving.

People who are of good character with no criminal convictions and a clean driving record can apply to have a police issued dashcam in their car. They could be deputised like a JP in some way perhaps and some kind of rego discount or remuneration could be given to the driver.

When the driver witness a piece of atrocious driving, they upload the footage and fill in a stat dec then it's reviewed by police who can act upon it.

Now I'm not talking about someone doing 3/4s of a bees fart over the speed limit, I want dangerous drivers booked.

Knowing that any car on the road may have a police issued camera would have a nice calming effect on the road.

Good idea - there's problems with it but the basic idea has merit

Reply #8 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 5:50pm

we already have a lot of dobbing in this country   it doesnt actually prevent anything..

and thats what we need PREVENTION....after the accident or death   its too late.....

I think every car should have a  breath interlock device   for alcohol and drugs.... yes I mean every car that is built now.....they should not start ... and also a device that stops you answering a phone.....make it automatic....you want to talk on a phone pull over switch off the engine...simple...I am not saying stop it ringing  because today people are used to getting in contact straight away.....but pull over...

cars are pretty clever today they even park themselves with no help.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll EyesI think safety  is far more import than reverse parking..

Reply #9 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 6:13pm

cods wrote on Jan 8th, 2021 at 5:50pm:
we already have a lot of dobbing in this country   it doesnt actually prevent anything..

and thats what we need PREVENTION....after the accident or death   its too late.....

I think every car should have a  breath interlock device   for alcohol and drugs.... yes I mean every car that is built now.....they should not start ... and also a device that stops you answering a phone.....make it automatic....you want to talk on a phone pull over switch off the engine...simple...I am not saying stop it ringing  because today people are used to getting in contact straight away.....but pull over...

cars are pretty clever today they even park themselves with no help.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll EyesI think safety  is far more important than reverse parking..

When you see a heavy vehicle swerving all over the road because the drivers amphetamines have worn off and he's nearly falling asleep, is getting the police to investigate him dobbing?

Reply #10 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 7:12pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 8th, 2021 at 6:13pm:
cods wrote on Jan 8th, 2021 at 5:50pm:

cars are pretty clever today they even park themselves with no help.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll EyesI think safety  is far more important than reverse parking..

When you see a heavy vehicle swerving all over the road because the drivers amphetamines have worn off and he's nearly falling asleep, is getting the police to investigate him dobbing?

true   and that I would call PREVENTION  wouldnt you??....my daughter lives next door to a couple no children heaps of money  they drive everywhere he even has a motorbike he uses frequently.....they are both roaring drunks....I have suggested my daughter dob on them    because so far they havent even been pulled over.....thats how scary it is.....but she cant bring herself to do it.....they drive to the coast a lot on quite a dangerous road....yet still nothing happens to them... not that I want it too  but I believe a lot fo people are in that situation    to dob someone in is against their nature.......yet if a car was made the same for everyone.......not sure about a truck...we should be looking at preventing as much a s possible  well thats what I think...

Belgarion

Reply #11 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 8:59pm

Who among us has never been guilty of speeding? But we should really know better. Get rid of the hidden speed cameras, fit vehicles with interlocks and above all get more police on the roads.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #12 - Jan 8th, 2021 at 10:03pm

Uh oh ....

Opposition leader Anthony Albanese involved in car crash in Sydney

By Stuart Marsh • Senior Producer
6:23pm Jan 8, 2021

Don't know any more than that, that's it so far

https://www.9news.com.au/national/anthony-albanese-car-crash-marrickville-sydney...

Reply #13 - Jan 9th, 2021 at 7:29am

Belgarion wrote on Jan 8th, 2021 at 8:59pm:
Who among us has never been guilty of speeding? But we should really know better. Get rid of the hidden speed cameras, fit vehicles with interlocks and above all get more police on the roads.

maybe its time to give the LAWS of the ROAD  to another group....the police are trained to do more than watch someones driving....

.what about a full time road patrol ?

... what about every car/truck  being fitted with a camera......it would also show the drivers bad habits..

a camera with the speed also..

come on car manufacturers you can do it?

Belgarion

Reply #14 - Jan 9th, 2021 at 8:06am

cods wrote on Jan 9th, 2021 at 7:29am:
Belgarion wrote on Jan 8th, 2021 at 8:59pm:

maybe its time to give the LAWS of the ROAD  to another group....the police are trained to do more than watch someones driving....

.what about a full time road patrol ?

... what about every car/truck  being fitted with a camera......it would also show the drivers bad habits..

a camera with the speed also..

come on car manufacturers you can do it?

I think you are talking about a specialised 'Highway patrol' ? A good idea however I think it would just create another government department with a bloated bureaucracy competing for funding with the Police.   I would like to see more resources put into the current police highway patrols than create an entirely new one.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 54