Your most worrysome holiday or travel experience? (Read 6715 times)

Re: Your most worrysome holiday or travel experience?
Reply #45 - Jul 3rd, 2020 at 11:05am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jul 3rd, 2020 at 10:58am:
Sophia wrote on Jul 3rd, 2020 at 10:35am:
This black ice, we have never encountered it thank goodness, but does it depend on type of vehicle and tyres to control situation better?
Also, is it more a problem to occur in winter during early morning after a cold night???

It does, but also technique is important I found. You need to be smooth with your inputs.

One would have to be cool to do so, most people would be startled and panic.
I recall once in our younger travels, we stopped in the Sunshine Coast, they had them, these buggies you are strapped into, and ride and slide around on slippery wet surfaces. I have a old film photo of it somewhere.
That would be good practice for defence driving in black ice 🤗

Reply #46 - Jul 19th, 2020 at 7:23pm

Aussie wrote on Jul 1st, 2020 at 12:10pm:
Aussie wrote on Jun 30th, 2020 at 6:38pm:
So.....the tale of the Citizen's Hotel...again.

So, off we go, TIB and two young kids off to India by air, and arrive at (what then was) Bombay.

Pissing down rain.  Absolutely hosing down.

I had paid large (thank goodness) for good quality solid and genuine leather suitcases in which we had all our stuff.

First impact.  Fuqqing Indian blokes in uniforms hanging onto submachine guns.  Yay!  Good start, ignoring the fuqqing pissing down monsoonal rain.

So, we get to the Govt Controlled Cab booking mob.  'Citizen's Hotel, please.'  No problem, the Cabbie will do it on the meter.

Cabbie turns up.

Now...here is our first exposure to the pissing down monsoonal rain.  The prick grabs our bags and bungs them on top of the Cab!  If they were not weather proof leather, we would have been screwed.

To be continued.....Citizen's Hotel.

So, he gets the bags on top of the Cab and in we get, me in the front seat with TIB and the girls in the back.

He obviously did not know that TIB could speak Hindi.  I tell him 'Citizen's Hotel please,' he nods and off we go.

We do not know the way obviously.

So, the prick stops after about a mile and seems to be asking some other Cabbies where the Hotel was.  Nah, as I later learned.  That happened every couple of miles, and again, not until later, did I learn.

After what seemed like an eternity and it is the pissing down monsoonal rain, we get to the Citizen's Hotel.  Out we get and he starts to unload the bags.

TIB tells me what the arsehole was saying on all of those stops which was that he was just taking us for a ride, ha ha ha ha.

He puts his hand out for payment.  I give him a tenth of what he wanted.  He bitches, and then TIB speaks to him in Hindi.  Did I mention that I am a tad bigger than most Indian blokes?  I could see his bottom jaw drop, but he still carried on like the prick he was.

I did not budge, told the girls to get over to Reception while I stood my ground with him.  Eventually, one of the Hotel employees hustle him out the front door, and that ended that.  Time is about 1.00 am.

Farcars at Reception tell us they have our booking but our Room is not yet ready.  FMD!!!!!

2.00 am and everyone is pissed off.  The kids are being cranky kids and the Receptionist comes over and says that the Room is ready. Thank fuq for that.  We get to the Rooms.  Look great and we all start to relax and get ready for bed.

Wanted a piss so head to dunny.  Very clean looking, happy Aussie.  Have the slash, push the flush and....nada.  The bloody dunnies had not yet been plumbed in!

So, no sleep for anyone.

At first light, we pack bags, go down to Reception.  I have a blue with the Receptionist insisting I am not paying anything, get a Cab, and off we go to the Taj, and damn the far king expense!!

Bastards!!!

To be continued.........

So....the Taj is magnificent in its opulence.  Absolutely fantastic.  We settle in....and TIB announces that we shall go walkies around Bombay.  Okay.  Out we go.

All you parents out there must know about projectile vomiting, yes?  Out comes this massive forceful stream of vomit, rocket like.  Lovely stuff.

So there we were, meandering around streets with cows aplenty, as I expected to see.  No worries.

A cow crosses my path. No worries. 

The scrawney beast is about two yards passed me, and lets go with this massive projectile wet liquid crap with visible bits of straw among it......straight at me.  I manage to dance around it, but the bastard got one shoe.

That's it.  Fuq that.  Fuq India.

I went straight back to the Taj where I stayed and made friends with the Barman for the rest of our stay in Bombay.  TIB and the kids still ventured out.

I was India'd out, large.

Did not stop me from going back over the years and having much better experiences well away from Bombay.

Reply #47 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 1:45am

Aussie wrote on Jul 19th, 2020 at 7:23pm:

So, off we go, TIB and two young kids off to India by air, and arrive at (what then was) Bombay.

I had paid large (thank goodness) for good quality solid and genuine leather suitcases in which we had all our stuff.

First impact.  Fuqqing Indian blokes in uniforms hanging onto submachine guns.  Yay!  Good start, ignoring the fuqqing pissing down monsoonal rain.

So, we get to the Govt Controlled Cab booking mob.  'Citizen's Hotel, please.'  No problem, the Cabbie will do it on the meter.

Cabbie turns up.

Now...here is our first exposure to the pissing down monsoonal rain.  The prick grabs our bags and bungs them on top of the Cab!  If they were not weather proof leather, we would have been screwed.

So, he gets the bags on top of the Cab and in we get, me in the front seat with TIB and the girls in the back.

He obviously did not know that TIB could speak Hindi.  I tell him 'Citizen's Hotel please,' he nods and off we go.

So, the prick stops after about a mile and seems to be asking some other Cabbies where the Hotel was.  Nah, as I later learned.  That happened every couple of miles, and again, not until later, did I learn.

After what seemed like an eternity and it is the pissing down monsoonal rain, we get to the Citizen's Hotel.  Out we get and he starts to unload the bags.

TIB tells me what the arsehole was saying on all of those stops which was that he was just taking us for a ride, ha ha ha ha.

He puts his hand out for payment.  I give him a tenth of what he wanted.  He bitches, and then TIB speaks to him in Hindi.  Did I mention that I am a tad bigger than most Indian blokes?  I could see his bottom jaw drop, but he still carried on like the prick he was.

I did not budge, told the girls to get over to Reception while I stood my ground with him.  Eventually, one of the Hotel employees hustle him out the front door, and that ended that.  Time is about 1.00 am.

Farcars at Reception tell us they have our booking but our Room is not yet ready.  FMD!!!!!

2.00 am and everyone is pissed off.  The kids are being cranky kids and the Receptionist comes over and says that the Room is ready. Thank fuq for that.  We get to the Rooms.  Look great and we all start to relax and get ready for bed.

Wanted a piss so head to dunny.  Very clean looking, happy Aussie.  Have the slash, push the flush and....nada.  The bloody dunnies had not yet been plumbed in!

So, no sleep for anyone.

At first light, we pack bags, go down to Reception.  I have a blue with the Receptionist insisting I am not paying anything, get a Cab, and off we go to the Taj, and damn the far king expense!!

Bastards!!!

To be continued.........

So....the Taj is magnificent in its opulence.  Absolutely fantastic.  We settle in....and TIB announces that we shall go walkies around Bombay.  Okay.  Out we go.

All you parents out there must know about projectile vomiting, yes?  Out comes this massive forceful stream of vomit, rocket like.  Lovely stuff.

So there we were, meandering around streets with cows aplenty, as I expected to see.  No worries.

The scrawney beast is about two yards passed me, and lets go with this massive projectile wet liquid crap with visible bits of straw among it......straight at me.  I manage to dance around it, but the bastard got one shoe.

I went straight back to the Taj where I stayed and made friends with the Barman for the rest of our stay in Bombay.  TIB and the kids still ventured out.

Did not stop me from going back over the years and having much better experiences well away from Bombay.

Was this the inspiration for your own Sunshine Coast taxi service?

Reply #48 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 8:56am

Keep your crap out of my Posts, AiA.

Reply #49 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 9:03am

Only worrisome moments were when gypsy pickpockets were near. They got a small notebook but not my camera or money thankfully. This was in Rome near the Forum (which is not a bathhouse, LOL!)

Reply #50 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 9:18am

Aussie wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 8:56am:

I am asking a serious question, sir. Did this experience with the Indian cabbie inspire you to become one?

Reply #51 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 9:58am

...and I am giving you a serious response.  Fuq off.

Reply #52 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 10:06am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 9:03am:
Only worrisome moments were when gypsy pickpockets were near. They got a small notebook but not my camera or money thankfully. This was in Rome near the Forum (which is not a bathhouse, LOL!)

My main problem in Rome was with the flower sellers, and the women selling scarves (they distract you at al fresco restaurants).

Dirty little thieves.

The worst pickpockets I've encountered were in Sarajevo - small kids sent out in groups by their fathers (who hide in the shadows).

Reply #53 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 11:00am

AiA wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 9:18am:
Aussie wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 8:56am:

I am asking a serious question, sir. Did this experience with the Indian cabbie inspire you to become one?

Good morning AiA. Welcome to the Travel forum which I am proud to be moderator of.
As this is your very first trip in here, I ask if you can contribute and share your travel story as others have.
I would like this to be a safe travel forum where everyone can come in and not feel hassled....after all, isn’t that what going on travels or holidays are about  Wink since Covid 19 had severely restricted our travel options, this is one place we can reminisce of times when most did travel abroad with stories to re-tell.

I believe you are in the USA? Have you travelled much AiA either abroad to other countries or within the USA?
Looking forward to your own experiences 👍

Reply #54 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 11:09am

greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 10:06am:
Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 9:03am:

My main problem in Rome was with the flower sellers, and the women selling scarves (they distract you at al fresco restaurants).

Dirty little thieves.

The worst pickpockets I've encountered were in Sarajevo - small kids sent out in groups by their fathers (who hide in the shadows).

This is where the (child) pickpockets are bad:

Reply #55 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 11:32am

Such a pretty looking village with mountain views too.
It’s a lesson never to bring valuables with you or for men to have their wallet in their back pocket etc.
Handbags for women, the choice to buy are special travel bags, with rfid protection, locks on zips and straps that can’t be cut. And wear it cross body so it can’t be snatched as it could if just hanging on a shoulder.

So we have learnt and come a long way since.

Reply #56 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 11:42am

Sophia wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 11:32am:
Such a pretty looking village with mountain views too.
It’s a lesson never to bring valuables with you or for men to have their wallet in their back pocket etc.
Handbags for women, the choice to buy are special travel bags, with rfid protection, locks on zips and straps that can’t be cut. And wear it cross body so it can’t be snatched as it could if just hanging on a shoulder.

So we have learnt and come a long way since.

Sarajevo isn't the nicest place I've visited, but I'm still glad I went there.

Got to see where WWI started (the travel guide didn't want to take us to the bridge, by the way - "don't mention the war").

That pic above is in what they call 'Old Town'.

Lots of starving one-legged dogs running around, as well as very dirty children begging and/or picking your pockets.

I always have my phone and wallet in my front pockets, no matter where I am, but the kids in Sarajevo came right up to me and just put their hands in my pockets and rummaged around.

Their fathers watch them from the sidelines, and if they don't come back with something they get a wack behind the ear.

While the kids were going through my pockets a woman from America came over and started pushing them away and hitting them on the head with her guide book.

There was no way in the world I was gonna lay my hand on any of the kids - the last thing in the world I'd want to do is spend a night in a Sarajevo lock-up.

Anyway, don't let me put anyone off going there - it's worth a visit for the history.

Just keep an eye out for the pickpockets   Wink

This is where Princip stood when he fired the shot:

Reply #57 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 11:52am

Wow that’s interesting history there!
BTW Greggery, my son convinced his dad to get a man bag, so in our very last holiday/cruise (none since and then covid happened)
son bought his dad a man bag and instead of in pockets, a cross bag is quite good, with bulky car keys, wallet, some medicines one may need, hanky, mobile phone.... I mean there’s only so much men’s jeans pockets can take!

Reply #58 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 12:06pm

Aussie wrote on Jul 19th, 2020 at 7:23pm:

Cabbie turns up.

So, no sleep for anyone.

Bastards!!!

To be continued.........

India? One place I have no desire to go to for some reason. All I see on tv are overcrowded ness and dusty rickety transport.
A friend ( was my bridesmaid) and her husband are forever going to India and they love it. They worship some bagwah .... forgot his name, wears an orange kaftan and has a jimmy hendrix hair style.
Something about gold chains as he heals etc

Anyway.... your cow story reminded me of a cow story.... I don’t know if I already put this story up somewhere, but, back in 1980, we had a HQ kingswood Ute, with a typical colourful 1970s Millard glide on camper.

We travelled over towards SA along west part Victoria.
Stopping overnight on a quiet country road en route.
Well at the first light of morning, we couldn’t sleep in could we!
Waking up and peering out the window bleary eyed to see hundreds of cows by their property fence line, all mooing at the sight of our colourful travel rig!  Grin
It must have made their day to see something different in that quiet country lane!
Cows..... such funny curious creatures  Grin
What an early alarm clock eh! 100 mooing cows not in sync either!

Reply #59 - Jul 20th, 2020 at 12:09pm

Sophia wrote on Jul 20th, 2020 at 11:52am:
Wow that’s interesting history there!
BTW Greggery, my son convinced his dad to get a man bag, so in our very last holiday/cruise (none since and then covid happened)
son bought his dad a man bag and instead of in pockets, a cross bag is quite good, with bulky car keys, wallet, some medicines one may need, hanky, mobile phone.... I mean there’s only so much men’s jeans pockets can take!

I use a money belt/bum-bag and have it under my shirt, on my incredibly impressive six-pack.

I only keep a few dollars in loose cash in my front pockets.