Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 
Covid-19 is not the flu - It is much worse ! (Read 18359 times)

Re: Covid-19 is not the flu - It is much worse !
Reply #135 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:40am

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 12:03am:
Type 2 diabetic. Obese. Not unhealthy.

I would argue being obese and Type 2 DM is unhealthy.

Reply #136 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:43am

#### got that page turned. Roll Eyes

Reply #137 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:43am

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 12:21am:
mothra wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 10:33pm:
UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 10:22pm:
Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 9:29am:
UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 15th, 2020 at 10:25pm:
So, you are going to get a cough and a fever. Nothing really to worry about.

Then pass it onto someone who will get serious consequences. Thats the issue

Should not the weak immune and complications people be the ones to isolate? Not the healthy who are out there keeping society going? Missing out on some entertainment and socialising because of the "if I can't be happy, no one can" mob telling us what to do.

If things are so bad for the compromised immune people, they should not see the light of day, in case someone accidentally farts in front of them.

Aside from that being a gobsmackingly selfish attitude, it's also not a fool proof plan. There is no guarantee that just because you;re young and healthy, you may not have complications from this virus.

And if i may be indelicate, Rocky, some of the health concerns of yours you have told us of over the years may just see you in a higher risk category than you think.

I take xiduo tablets to keep my blood sugar in check. Though my metformin tablets did its job the last time I was using that medication, my doctor did not agree. The blood test from last year had told her that my blood sugars were still too high to be effectively controlled. I changed over to xiduo last year and felt even better. I got another blood test. The doctor said I was doing well. Now, I have gotten to a point where my I can't really take the 2 recommended tablets per day, because my blood sugar would get too low. Drinking black tea or green tea has done wonders for my health. However, I do have issues with mental health when my blood sugars get too normalised where I have my schizophrenic nightmares. I actually wake up feeling suicidal. But the thoughts wear off to normal when I become lucid.

And I agree that I am being a really self-centred arsehole with the idea of letting the elderly die off prematurely from a heavy cold. I was someone mildly critical of myself for not doing more to educate myself on bushfire mitigation strategies. I did feel that I was not pulling my weight for the issue surrounding my region. But perhaps I was just being cynical about the climate alarmists degrading the impact of arsonists lighting fires and the natural cycle of bushfires in Australia by claiming it was climate change related. Now we have the virus alarmists going about creating hysteria and mass panic buying.

I am not serious about seeing off elderly people to die earlier than they would from a cold virus. I am just getting irritable about the cancellation of 2020. Metaphorical hindsight really will be about this year. I figure that the people who can't handle the cold without needing treatment above home remedies or aspirins should be the ones to isolate. Not to shut down the rest of society because they are justifiably not able to handle the virus.

Mate I'm not worried about your attitude to the elderly. I'm worried about you. You are literally in a higher risk category for suffering severe consequences as a result of this

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lanres/article/PIIS2213-2600(20)30116-8/fullt...

Even seems to be a suggestion that elderly patients on anti-hypertensives are at greater risk

Reply #138 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:45am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:43am:

Should not the weak immune and complications people be the ones to isolate? Not the healthy who are out there keeping society going? Missing out on some entertainment and socialising because of the "if I can't be happy, no one can" mob telling us what to do.

If things are so bad for the compromised immune people, they should not see the light of day, in case someone accidentally farts in front of them.

Aside from that being a gobsmackingly selfish attitude, it's also not a fool proof plan. There is no guarantee that just because you;re young and healthy, you may not have complications from this virus.

And if i may be indelicate, Rocky, some of the health concerns of yours you have told us of over the years may just see you in a higher risk category than you think.

I take xiduo tablets to keep my blood sugar in check. Though my metformin tablets did its job the last time I was using that medication, my doctor did not agree. The blood test from last year had told her that my blood sugars were still too high to be effectively controlled. I changed over to xiduo last year and felt even better. I got another blood test. The doctor said I was doing well. Now, I have gotten to a point where my I can't really take the 2 recommended tablets per day, because my blood sugar would get too low. Drinking black tea or green tea has done wonders for my health. However, I do have issues with mental health when my blood sugars get too normalised where I have my schizophrenic nightmares. I actually wake up feeling suicidal. But the thoughts wear off to normal when I become lucid.

And I agree that I am being a really self-centred arsehole with the idea of letting the elderly die off prematurely from a heavy cold. I was someone mildly critical of myself for not doing more to educate myself on bushfire mitigation strategies. I did feel that I was not pulling my weight for the issue surrounding my region. But perhaps I was just being cynical about the climate alarmists degrading the impact of arsonists lighting fires and the natural cycle of bushfires in Australia by claiming it was climate change related. Now we have the virus alarmists going about creating hysteria and mass panic buying.

I am not serious about seeing off elderly people to die earlier than they would from a cold virus. I am just getting irritable about the cancellation of 2020. Metaphorical hindsight really will be about this year. I figure that the people who can't handle the cold without needing treatment above home remedies or aspirins should be the ones to isolate. Not to shut down the rest of society because they are justifiably not able to handle the virus.

Mate I'm not worried about your attitude to the elderly. I'm worried about you. You are literally in a higher risk category for suffering severe consequences as a result of this

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lanres/article/PIIS2213-2600(20)30116-8/fullt...

Even seems to be a suggestion that elderly patients on anti-hypertensives are at greater risk

Yep ... that's me & my wife.

Reply #139 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:47am

Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:45am:
Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:43am:

Yep ... that's me & my wife.

It does depend on the anti-hypertensive though .

Reply #140 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:51am

Having said that though, my reading is based on the available evidence, its far too early to say whether or not the ACE inhibitors make a difference, so I guess Gnadfs my best advice is don't stress too much about the drugs but very much so practice your handwashing, social distancing if you can

Reply #141 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:25am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:51am:
Having said that though, my reading is based on the available evidence, its far too early to say whether or not the ACE inhibitors make a difference, so I guess Gnadfs my best advice is don't stress too much about the drugs but very much so practice your handwashing, social distancing if you can

Until you mentioned it I hadn't given it a thought.

As for social distancing ... been doping that ... except for church(Pub) on Saturday arvo ....

Have yet to have any Corona whilst there .... I drink XXXX Gold.  Grin

Ey_Corona.jpg (32 KB | 22 )
Ey_Corona.jpg

Reply #142 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:26am

Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:25am:
Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:51am:

Until you mentioned it I hadn't given it a thought.

As for social distancing ... been doping that ... except for church(Pub) on Saturday arvo ....

Have yet to have any Corona whilst there .... I drink XXXX Gold.  Grin

THink I'd prefer COVID-19 to XXXX Gold

Reply #143 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:35am

There's no accounting for taste.  Tongue

Reply #144 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:37am

Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:35am:
There's no accounting for taste.  Tongue

Was weirdly thinking the same thing.  Now I want a Bentspoke Crankshaft

Captain Nemo

Reply #145 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 12:52pm

The 2025 election WAS a shocker.

Reply #146 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 10:27pm

Here is a 3 minute look inside ICU in Italy.

Seems whatever works for pneumonia isn’t working for this viral attack on lungs.

https://youtu.be/rfkbv_WQtn0

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

JC Denton

Reply #147 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 2:58am

wish i could tell the wanker who draws that dog on the moon comic to stop using so much text in his sh1t

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10