Time to stock up (Read 4043 times)

Time to stock up
Mar 10th, 2020 at 5:59pm

Every Govt, state and federal in Australia is now guilty of not warning everyone to prepare for some serious disruptions.

Everyone should be well on their way to having 2-3 weeks per person in non-perishable food items because there will be mass closures and isolation orders coming.

If you think you can get by on Uber eats or get a supermarket delivery when it really gets going, good luck with that.

Better to have some mass buying and hording now before people start getting sick.

Also, by doing all the shopping now then keeping away from the shops later, that will slow down transmission, less people will be sick at once, more ICU beds available, less people dead.

Marla

Run for me, MAGA bunny.

Colorado
Re: Time to stock up
Reply #1 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 6:01pm

Dude please shut up. You're part of the problem.

All of us get lost in the darkness dreamers learn to steer by the stars

Reply #2 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 6:07pm

Marla wrote on Mar 10th, 2020 at 6:01pm:
Dude please shut up. You're part of the problem.

dear Marla,
I hope you've stocked up?

Reply #3 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 6:08pm

Well Gordon. They've projected this for the past 3 weeks but only 'now' are the Political leaders and Media letting the mainstream public know (always the last to know).

Stock up on everything you can get. It's going to be like a Great Depression. Forget the Toilet paper! Go for long-life foods and more. Soon every Super Market will have shelves looking like the Soviet Union USSR or North Korea currently.

Everything is shutting down... anyone would think the world was sick and laid low with a Virus or something?

People with poor health are going to be like the sick and injured deer falling back in the pack, about to be taken by the Wolves.

Reply #4 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 6:13pm

JaS, I stocked up 3 weeks ago and now I'm just replacing what I use. Toilet paper, meh. If I rum out I'll ask Aussie to upload a tutorial how he gets the job done.

Reply #5 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 6:19pm

Public Toilets are going through 'India' like use.
Councils having to replenish Public Toilets from once per day to 4 times a day now.
Some have been vandalised just to get those big rolls.

Shelves in my local area are looking barer by the day.

Reply #6 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 7:50pm

Good article.

Here’s my stash. It’s not massive in comparison to what I’ve seen and heard but it’s mine and I can rely on it if I need to. It’s not only toilet paper (36 rolls by the way). I have two kilos of rice, several packets of lentils and chickpeas. Paracetamol. Any member of my immediate family who uses prescription drugs has two repeats. There are a few other things too, maybe too embarrassing to share. OK, weirdly I have enough floss to last me three months. So much soap.

My thoughtful self says I’m being ridiculous. My friends and family concur.

But in my household, there are four adults and one tiny baby (who has sent my desire to both defend and protect into complete sooky overdrive). I’ve stored enough to ensure that if we have to self-isolate, we can look after ourselves. It’s not prepper madness in its entirety. I don’t fear that our society will dissolve and decay, not this month anyhow. But I don’t trust the systems to protect my family and me.

https://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/health-and-wellness/confessions-of-a-toilet-pap...

Reply #7 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 8:04pm

Two essentials that a human can survive on for a long period of time are beer and rice, I am reasonably well stocked up.

Reply #8 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 8:09pm

One week for Coles delivery.

When everyone's sick you won't get a delivery at all.

Reply #9 - Mar 10th, 2020 at 10:35pm

Fridge is full - got a 48 pack and a 36 of toilie paper - stuck for a beer though - only a dozen or so... curses... cupboards will be filled as well before week's end.  Got plenty of coffee to see me through...

(no beer, you say?)

Gonna order from Coles Wednesday and pick up Thursday...

Reply #10 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 4:38am

Due to all this rain we have 46 thousand liters of fresh water.
Still have a freezer full of coral trout, bluebone, red throat, 2 decent fillets of red emperor, shyte loads of Spanish mackerel and e few whole hussar...which are normally bait but if we need them they're good on the fork as well....oh and cant forget zooper doopers.   

Garden has fresh lettuce, tomato, capsicum, corn and cucumber. The way the cucumber grows I don't think we will have to worry for a while. Bloody delicious when it's home grown too.

Cupboards have tinned tuna, cruskits, cerial for the kids, variety of tinned, pasta, rice, and uht milk.

And this is before we have stocked up.... Grin

Reply #11 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 4:52am

so thats why aldi had nothing and coles had next to nothing yesterday. greedy b** dont leave anything for other ppl

Reply #12 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 5:13am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 4:52am:
so thats why aldi had nothing and coles had next to nothing yesterday. greedy b** dont leave anything for other ppl

What do you expect?
I agree that a lot of people are selfish today....but that shouldn't have snuck up on you.
The media has sent the world into a spin with this virus.
If you didn't realise throughout your life that the majority of Aussies are scared weak individuals then egg on your face I guess. Just look at the nutcases hoarding toilet paper.

Way to boost the spending for budget time though. No wonder our traitorous politicians are doing fkkk all on both sides. Spending is up.....GST revenue in the last 4 weeks is at an all time high. Lovely.
Watch for them to vote themselves a pay rise for all the hard work....or should I say, lack there of.

Reply #13 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 2:39pm

I'm pretty happy with supplies now. I bought 2 frozen chooks today.

No lining up at the supermarket for me.

Reply #14 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 3:14pm

plenty of supplies

DSC00044.JPG (114 KB | 35 )
DSC00044.JPG

Reply #15 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 3:51pm

aquascoot wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 3:14pm:
plenty of supplies

you going to eat your horses?

Reply #16 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:00pm

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Mar 10th, 2020 at 10:35pm:
Fridge is full - got a 48 pack and a 36 of toilie paper - stuck for a beer though - only a dozen or so... curses... cupboards will be filled as well before week's end.  Got plenty of coffee to see me through...

(no beer, you say?)

I overheard my local publican saying takeaway beer sales have increased by 30% over the last two weeks.

Just quietly I would be stocking up if I were you, it could get ugly out there.

Reply #17 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:11pm

Johnnie wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:00pm:

(no beer, you say?)

I overheard my local publican saying takeaway beer sales have increased by 30% over the last two weeks.

Scotty's stimulus package should help there... sneaking in - doing an online order tonight for groceries and that way you get the toilet roll off the truck... only want one, godammit.

Guinness on special  - yummmm...

Reply #18 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:14pm

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:11pm:

(no beer, you say?)

Scotty's stimulus package should help there... sneaking in - doing an online order tonight for groceries and that way you get the toilet roll off the truck... only want one, godammit.

Guinness is a good choice, you can live on that stuff.

Reply #19 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 10:32pm

Whichever way it goes - any stimulus cash to the lowest paid in the land will be spent into the economy and thus will help local and big business, even if it is via bottle shops - they all benefit from extra cash around and employ people.

Scotty seems to be realising that there is indeed a symbiotic relationship between the ability of the ordinary person to spend and an economy that works....

I doubt anyone will regret the loss of a 'surplus budget' that never really was in fact - but they might remember a handout to help them and the economy when things were looking bad....

As I said - Scotty's Swann Dive..... into the pool of cash to the hoi poloi.

Reply #20 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 11:31pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 2:39pm:
I'm pretty happy with supplies now. I bought 2 frozen chooks today.

No lining up at the supermarket for me.

I have a freezer full of free range Venison.

Reply #21 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 11:39pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2020 at 6:13pm:
Toilet paper, meh. If I rum out I'll ask Aussie to upload a tutorial how he gets the job done.

I don't think Indian cabbies use toilet paper.

In todays PC world perhaps we should say the smell from Indian cabbies is an exotic form of Aromatherapy

Reply #22 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 6:45am

Captain Caveman wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 5:13am:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 4:52am:

What do you expect?
I agree that a lot of people are selfish today....but that shouldn't have snuck up on you.
The media has sent the world into a spin with this virus.
If you didn't realise throughout your life that the majority of Aussies are scared weak individuals then egg on your face I guess. Just look at the nutcases hoarding toilet paper.

Way to boost the spending for budget time though. No wonder our traitorous politicians are doing fkkk all on both sides. Spending is up.....GST revenue in the last 4 weeks is at an all time high. Lovely.
Watch for them to vote themselves a pay rise for all the hard work....or should I say, lack there of.

Capt Caveman is right Spot-of-Borg.
There are the crazy nutters - but with the Media stupidity and their blind followers... it has come to this, because of them and the Virus.
More people die from Crime and other things than this Virus - but look what has happened due to blatant STUPIDITY by the Media and Governments = PANIC!!!

So now you're caught in the RIP like everyone else and are forced to go out and ransack everything you can get or you'll be paying an absolute fortune for it off everyone else down the track!

The only thing that there is plenty of is Oil, hence why Petrol prices 'can' drop to just 50c a litre come 5 months time unless Russia and Saudi-Arabia shut their production down big time and lay-off the majority of their workers.

You can forget about Australian Mining jobs too - shutdown, shutdown, shutdown.

This is where every nation learns to become 'self sufficient' or get 'exploited'.

Spoiled Lazy Australians been crying "No Jobs!" - well, they're gonna be forced to 'make your own work!'.

Reply #23 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 7:20am

(no beer, you say?)

The proposed amount is $500 ..... don't know who qualifies for it but it's $400 short of Kevins GFC stimulus package.

Tight arse LNP ...... used all the money on Sports Rorts grants.  Grin

The Heartless Felon

Reply #24 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 7:45am

I was told this morning that people are trying to return TP to Woolies but Woolies aren't giving refunds...

Reply #25 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 8:18am

Gnads wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 7:20am:

(no beer, you say?)

The proposed amount is $500 ..... don't know who qualifies for it but it's $400 short of Kevins GFC stimulus package.

Tight arse LNP ...... used all the money on Sports Rorts grants.  Grin

He has just announced this morning that its a Stimulus Package that caters to Business only.
Considering that 1/2 of Australian Business is 'dependent' on China/Japan/Korea - gotta be the dumbest thing out.  Roll Eyes

Reply #26 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 8:22am

The Heartless Felon wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 7:45am:
I was told this morning that people are trying to return TP to Woolies but Woolies aren't giving refunds...

You mean you read the story in news.com.au?

Reply #27 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 9:57am

Buggar - after all those rumours of a nice little handout for the poverty stricken - what can a small business do with $500? If they're going bad - they'll go bad, and $500 won't save them.  If the pensioner and the peasant got $500 they'd spend it in small businesses... DUH.

Totally stupid idea and another nail in the LNP coffin.  What a sad choice we have though.

These people never once held a real job, did they?

Reply #28 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 10:11am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 9:57am:
Buggar - after all those rumours of a nice little handout for the poverty stricken - what can a small business do with $500? If they're going bad - they'll go bad, and $500 won't save them.  If the pensioner and the peasant got $500 they'd spend it in small businesses... DUH.

Totally stupid idea and another nail in the LNP coffin.  What a sad choice we have though.

welfare recipients will receive $500  grap not small business     it could be $750.  now..

gees dont look a gift horse in the mouth. Sad

Reply #29 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 10:15am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 9:57am:

Scotty from Marketing had a job in tourism.

He got sacked for fraud & theft though.

Fuzzball

Reply #30 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 10:25am

If anybody is a 'fraud' pissary it's you.

Life's Journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting,
"Holy Sh!t ... What a Ride!"