Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? (Read 7531 times)

Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ?
Reply #15 - Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:05pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:18am:
Things have been very quiet since the banks got a serve and no longer throw money at fools to buy old houses and junk apartments. Foreign investment into property deals has dropped by 58% I hear. The spill on effect is starting to bite with not much disposable income to throw around and that will effect the rest of the economy. It's a problem when your whole economy is based on a deck of cards and a ponzi scheme.

I am sure you are thrilled  and cant wait for it all to turn into reality....dont forget along with a down turn in investing  goes jobs...a LOT OF JOBS...maybe you know someone who will lose their job.....because no one is buying.

Reply #16 - Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:08pm

Bam wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:53am:
The economic downturn is inevitable, and the warning signs have been there for a few years. The key indicator is household savings. Rising costs and stagnant wages have forced households to run down their savings, and when these run out they have to cut back spending. When this happens, the economy must falter.

Other economic measures have pointed to a weakening economy such as declining house prices.

The Coalition can be rightfully blamed for causing this. They have been actively driving down wages by flooding the economy with foreign workers, restricting the ability of unions to negotiate better wages for workers, ignoring rampant wage theft, and persecuting the unemployed in various ways so as to make workers fear unemployment more. They have been putting out forecasts in every Budget that claim wages will rise, but all of these Budget predictions have been optimistic projections made up out of nothing.

Exactly!

Reply #17 - Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:52pm

I thought it is already a recession. I feel a great depression coming on (or a big war)

Reply #18 - Feb 21st, 2019 at 1:27pm

cods wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:05pm:
Things have been very quiet since the banks got a serve and no longer throw money at fools to buy old houses and junk apartments. Foreign investment into property deals has dropped by 58% I hear. The spill on effect is starting to bite with not much disposable income to throw around and that will effect the rest of the economy. It's a problem when your whole economy is based on a deck of cards and a ponzi scheme.

I am sure you are thrilled  and cant wait for it all to turn into reality....dont forget along with a down turn in investing  goes jobs...a LOT OF JOBS...maybe you know someone who will lose their job.....because no one is buying.

Most of those jobs lost will be dumbarse tradies, realestate scumbags and property developers who have had it good for too long chiseling borrowed money out of them Sad Many other sectors of the economy did not benefit from this government sponsored housing and immigration ponzi scheme. I will be glad to see it dismantled and Australia take a good dose of reality !

It wasn't so long ago that you were gloating about the prospect of selling your house to the highest foreign bidder whilst you expected the young locals who were priced out of the market to keep going to work so their taxes could pay for your pension. Looks like you might have missed the boat Wink

And less money to spend means more will be shopping at Aldis. Wink
« Last Edit: Feb 21st, 2019 at 1:46pm by Sir lastnail »  

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #19 - Feb 21st, 2019 at 1:28pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:52pm:
I thought it is already a recession. I feel a great depression coming on (or a big war)

YOU'RE SPOT ON THERE MATE!

Reply #20 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:56am

With china blocking our coal exports a recession is inevitable. We are no better than a country like Brazil Sad

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #21 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 1:33pm

We are way better than Brazil

There was a time I remember as a kid when Australia rode home on the 'sheeps back"

Don't get hung up on our  need for China

This Country is bountiful

We will never run out of food nor the essentials

How do you think early settlers got by?

But......China sure as hell will run out of coal

Reply #22 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:22pm

In all honesty

It seems a little strange

Both parties are trying everything, not to be elected, while pretending they want to be elected.

The last time a party went to this much trouble to avoid being elected, we had the GFC.

I reckon something is coming
And it's going to be nasty
And neither party wants to be in power when it hits.

Mark my words.

BigP

West Auckland
Reply #23 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:51pm

I have been through a couple of meltdowns and a recession or two , And to be honest i cant say I've really noticed any of them ,,

Reply #24 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:54pm

Yeah, if Labor gets in, it will happen.  Otherwise - nah.

BigP

West Auckland
Reply #25 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:57pm

Frank wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:54pm:

You are on the money there Frankie . Those pink f@rks will kill the economy

Grappler Racist Filth

Reply #26 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 6:03pm

A certainty if we keep either....... we've been there for years already.

Reply #27 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:33pm

red baron wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 1:33pm:
We are way better than Brazil

There was a time I remember as a kid when Australia rode home on the 'sheeps back"

Don't get hung up on our  need for China

This Country is bountiful

We will never run out of food nor the essentials

How do you think early settlers got by?

But......China sure as hell will run out of coal

Now we are riding the back of the mineral boom. Like sheep it won't last forever and then what is the next rabbit they will pull out of their hat ? The problem with aussies is they tend to run the country as a casino and rely on luck for good fortune rather than plan a proper future.

Reply #28 - Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:34pm

It won't matter if it's Labor or liberal. They are just two sides of the same coin. We have no powder left in the gun and are just relying on luck to get us by. The luck is fast running out.

Reply #29 - Feb 23rd, 2019 at 1:45pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:56am:
With china blocking our coal exports a recession is inevitable. We are no better than a country like Brazil Sad

Maybe it's a conspiracy?

The Chinese want to wreck our economy  so
they can buy everything cheaply  -
houses
businesses?