Pages: 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 ... 18
In Many Cases, Its Welfare For The Wealthy (Read 17583 times)

Re: In Many Cases, Its Welfare For The Wealthy
Reply #165 - Feb 10th, 2019 at 9:58pm

crocodile wrote on Feb 10th, 2019 at 9:43pm:
lee wrote on Feb 10th, 2019 at 9:02pm:
Bam wrote on Feb 10th, 2019 at 8:21pm:
This case study illustrates why the difference is important. $160,000 per year, paying no tax, and getting a tax subsidy of $12,000 a year.

Where is the tax subsidy? Perhaps you should include the case study and not the pretty graphics.

A case study should include the underlying assumptions.

Bam has his fist wrapped hard around his ol' fella. There is no subsidy. Super for retirees over 60 has no tax applicable in pension phase. The non pension earnings are under the tax free threshold. The tax payer is fully entitled to have the overpaid tax refunded. It doesn't get any simpler.

You've got your head firmly up your arse. Always bleating ... but but ... that's their legal entitlement. Get this. Laws can be changed, and excessively generous largesse should be first on the chopping block. Very low taxes on contributions, no tax in pension phase, and earning thousands of dollars a week while paying no tax. The country can't afford this. How much will it cost in 20 years? $20 billion a year? $40 billion?

Didn't you hear Hockey? The age of entitlement is OVER!

Except for the rich, apparently.
« Last Edit: Feb 10th, 2019 at 10:04pm by Bam »  

Reply #166 - Feb 10th, 2019 at 10:01pm

Page flip

crocodile

Reply #167 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 7:23am

Bam wrote on Feb 10th, 2019 at 9:58pm:
This case study illustrates why the difference is important. $160,000 per year, paying no tax, and getting a tax subsidy of $12,000 a year.

Where is the tax subsidy? Perhaps you should include the case study and not the pretty graphics.

Bam has his fist wrapped hard around his ol' fella. There is no subsidy. Super for retirees over 60 has no tax applicable in pension phase. The non pension earnings are under the tax free threshold. The tax payer is fully entitled to have the overpaid tax refunded. It doesn't get any simpler.

You've got your head firmly up your arse. Always bleating ... but but ... that's their legal entitlement. Get this. Laws can be changed, and excessively generous largesse should be first on the chopping block. Very low taxes on contributions, no tax in pension phase, and earning thousands of dollars a week while paying no tax. The country can't afford this. How much will it cost in 20 years? $20 billion a year? $40 billion?

You're the one with your head up your arse. You can't seem to get it through your thick, stupid skull that they're taking their own money. It's not a government handout. Money that they've earned and saved.

Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes.

Reply #168 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 8:12am

crocodile wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 7:23am:

You're the one with your head up your arse. You can't seem to get it through your thick, stupid skull that they're taking their own money. It's not a government handout. Money that they've earned and saved.

It is a dividend and should be taxed as income like any other investment....Since when should money you have earned and saved not be taxed on any profit derived from these savings....A rort that no other country allows because it is stripping money from vital services and providing a tax haven for lazy investments....It is no wonder these parasites want to maintain there tax free money!!!

Huh Huh Huh

Reply #169 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 8:36am

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 8:12am:
It is a dividend and should be taxed as income like any other investment....

Income derived from share dividends is taxed, the problem with this idiocy from labor is those who don't meet the income tax thresholds will be taxed at a much hgher rate than any other income.

For some reason leftards think any income from franked dividends should be taxed at a much higher rate even if people don't meet the thresholds for that tax rate.

This idiocy from labor will have no effect on the wealthy it will only impact those in the lowest tax brackets.

Reply #170 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 8:47am

Baronvonrort wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 8:36am:

Income derived from share dividends is taxed, the problem with this idiocy from labor is those who don't meet the income tax thresholds will be taxed at a much hgher rate than any other income.

For some reason leftards think any income from franked dividends should be taxed at a much higher rate even if people don't meet the thresholds for that tax rate.

This idiocy from labor will have no effect on the wealthy it will only impact those in the lowest tax brackets.

Then people will have to find other investments and stop being lazy....Claiming this will only affect those on low tax brackets is bullshit!!!

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-01-30/fact-check-labors-dividend-imputation-pol...

Reply #171 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 9:38am

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 8:47am:
Baronvonrort wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 8:36am:

Then people will have to find other investments and stop being lazy....Claiming this will only affect those on low tax brackets is bullshit!!!

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-01-30/fact-check-labors-dividend-imputation-pol...

From your link-
As can be seen, according to Treasury's analysis, 86 per cent of the individuals who received refunds had taxable incomes of $37,000 or less.

It is to some extent self-evident that the policy will mostly affect individuals on incomes below $37,000, because $37,000 is the threshold for the 32.5 per cent tax rate, higher than the corporate tax rate of 30 per cent that determines the franking credit.

As Treasury put it: "Providing refundability of franking credits allows taxpayers with a marginal tax rate below the company tax rate to receive a refund of tax paid by the company."

What about those who haven't retired should they pay more tax than required because they invested in shares?

Super is a separate issue many low income workers who own shares will be affected by this grubby tax grab from labor.

Reply #172 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 10:02am

First, taxable income does not include the largest source of income for many retirees: superannuation.

Superannuation income (for fund balances of up to $1.6 million) is generally not subject to tax in the retirement phase, and is therefore excluded from taxable income.

Second, in a related sense, taxable income often has little to do with wealth.

For example, the Grattan Institute has estimated that, when superannuation withdrawals are pared out of income data for retirees, almost half of the "wealthiest" 10 per cent of people over 65 report incomes of less than the $18,200 tax-free threshold.

Third, Labor's policy applies to both individuals and superannuation funds. By focusing on individuals, Mr Robert is ignoring the impact that would flow through to members of superannuation funds, particularly self-managed superannuation funds, which account for almost half the refunds claimed.

Figures from the Parliamentary Budget Office show that almost a quarter of all refunds claimed in 2014-15 went to 33,761 self-managed superannuation funds with balances of over $2.4 million.

Something has to be done to stop this rort....It is no wonder almost no other country allows this graft???

crocodile

Reply #173 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 11:38am

crocodile wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 7:23am:

It is a dividend and should be taxed as income like any other investment....Since when should money you have earned and saved not be taxed on any profit derived from these savings....A rort that no other country allows because it is stripping money from vital services and providing a tax haven for lazy investments....It is no wonder these parasites want to maintain there tax free money!!!

Huh Huh Huh

Fukk me dead there are some imbeciles on this board. Tax on investment earnings are always payable as long as the person's income is above the tax free threshold. What Shorty wants to do is keep their tax that has already been paid while under the TFF. But, it's all good if they are above the TFF.

crocodile

Reply #174 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 11:42am

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 10:02am:
First, taxable income does not include the largest source of income for many retirees: superannuation.

Superannuation income (for fund balances of up to $1.6 million) is generally not subject to tax in the retirement phase, and is therefore excluded from taxable income.

For example, the Grattan Institute has estimated that, when superannuation withdrawals are pared out of income data for retirees, almost half of the "wealthiest" 10 per cent of people over 65 report incomes of less than the $18,200 tax-free threshold.

Third, Labor's policy applies to both individuals and superannuation funds. By focusing on individuals, Mr Robert is ignoring the impact that would flow through to members of superannuation funds, particularly self-managed superannuation funds, which account for almost half the refunds claimed.

Figures from the Parliamentary Budget Office show that almost a quarter of all refunds claimed in 2014-15 went to 33,761 self-managed superannuation funds with balances of over $2.4 million.

Something has to be done to stop this rort....It is no wonder almost no other country allows this graft???

Another fukking clown.

Somehow, superannuation withdrawals are income. Can somebody tell this drongo that they are only withdrawing their own money that has already been earned. Some people should be lobotomised at birth.

lee

Reply #175 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 12:04pm

Oh dear. You want to pay tax on your super when you retire. You know the super that has paid tax on the contributions, the money earned in the super fund (income) and tax it again on retirement?

So that would be 15% going in, 15% on the superfund earnings and what; taxed at the marginal rate on retirement?

Reply #176 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 1:22pm

crocodile wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 11:42am:

Another fukking clown.

Somehow, superannuation withdrawals are income. Can somebody tell this drongo that they are only withdrawing their own money that has already been earned. Some people should be lobotomised at birth.

Loosing the plot hey dickhead....It is a rort almost no other country allows....Throwing insults does not make your argument any more valid....You can shove your tax rort up your ass once Bill Shorten is PM....Sook!!!

Cry Cry Cry

crocodile

Reply #177 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 1:41pm

philperth2010 wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 1:22pm:
crocodile wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 11:42am:

Another fukking clown.

Loosing the plot hey dickhead....It is a rort almost no other country allows....Throwing insults does not make your argument any more valid....You can shove your tax rort up your ass once Bill Shorten is PM....Sook!!!

Cry Cry Cry

Other countries behead poofters. Should we too.

Bill's tax grab will have zero effect on me. My poor ol' 87 year old Mum who has never received an aged pension but has a very modest return on her share potfolio will be affected. You can bet your sorry arse that I'll be reorganising he interests quick smart. Silly Billy will actually end up losing money since she will qualify for a part pension. The idiocy of it all.

stunspore

Reply #178 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 5:13pm

lee wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 12:04pm:

Oh dear. You want to pay tax on your super when you retire. You know the super that has paid tax on the contributions, the money earned in the super fund (income) and tax it again on retirement?

So that would be 15% going in, 15% on the superfund earnings and what; taxed at the marginal rate on retirement?

Still be cheaper than doing it with after taxed income/savings.

Reply #179 - Feb 11th, 2019 at 5:18pm

crocodile wrote on Feb 11th, 2019 at 1:41pm:
You can bet your sorry arse that I'll be reorganising he interests quick smart. Silly Billy will actually end up losing money since she will qualify for a part pension. The idiocy of it all.

then what are you whinging for?  Cheesy Cheesy

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 ... 18