LNP NBN - what a lemon (Read 1432 times)
Fit of Absent Mindeness

We need more fits of absent
mindedness

Brisbane
LNP NBN - what a lemon
Dec 14th, 2018 at 2:46pm

The LNP NBN (no broadband network) is a lemon.

https://www.itnews.com.au/news/nbn-co-reveals-fttn-premises-that-never-hit-25mbps-peak-speeds-516849?utm_source=feed&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=editors_picks

1.5 % of fttn premises wont hit 25mbs (15k+), 58% of the hfc network is unsuable and some premises which don't have copper lead ins (my own) cannot be serviced by fttn/fttdp at all.

The ALP needs to hold a royal commission into this and then sort out the mess.....

Putting the n in cuts

Armchair_Politician

Re: LNP NBN - what a lemon
Reply #1 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 6:30am

Correction: it's not the Liberals' NBN. It was a thought bubble concocted by Stephen Conroy (ALP) on the back of a napkin, and it certainly shows it. It was stuffed up from the moment of conception and is beyond saving due to Labor's incompetence. It should've been built by the private sector, not by the Federal government at the time, which was Labor. Sorry, but try as you might, you cannot blame the current government for the monumental stuff-ups of your beloved ALP.

Reply #2 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 10:59am

"All of the arab states have said we will have peace with Israel when there is a state of Palestine as a UN member state and properly constituted." - Jeffrey Sachs.

Reply #3 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 11:07am

Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Dec 14th, 2018 at 2:46pm:

https://www.itnews.com.au/news/nbn-co-reveals-fttn-premises-that-never-hit-25mbps-peak-speeds-516849?utm_source=feed&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=editors_picks

1.5 % of fttn premises wont hit 25mbs (15k+), 58% of the hfc network is unsuable and some premises which don't have copper lead ins (my own) cannot be serviced by fttn/fttdp at all.

The ALP needs to hold a royal commission into this and then sort out the mess.....

dont worry drah..

SUPER BILL is coming he knows exactly what to do...

hes going to start all over again   

you watch  FIXED>

Reply #4 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 12:13pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 15th, 2018 at 10:59am:

You would think Malcolm would've done it properly considering he invented the internet

Reply #5 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 12:24pm

Its time wrote on Dec 15th, 2018 at 12:13pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 15th, 2018 at 10:59am:

You would think Malcolm would've done it properly considering he invented the internet

thats the trouble lefties dont think...

Malcolm didnt get anything right ... Grin Grin Grin

he even tried to join the ALP... Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

I think they are about to make him an honorary member Grin Grin Grin.. watch out Bill  Smiley

just sayin!

Reply #6 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 2:15pm

cods wrote on Dec 15th, 2018 at 11:07am:
Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Dec 14th, 2018 at 2:46pm:

dont worry drah..

SUPER BILL is coming he knows exactly what to do...

hes going to start all over again   

you watch  FIXED>

You keep saying that when you lot did nothing except make things infinitely worse. I hope your 2nd generation dial-up internet can handle the bandwidth from your own keystrokes of posting here. If we all posted at once I reckon it would just bomb out  Cheesy LOL

"All of the arab states have said we will have peace with Israel when there is a state of Palestine as a UN member state and properly constituted." - Jeffrey Sachs.

Reply #7 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 7:39pm

Bloody thing crashed for a day and a bit with a little bitty storm.... what use is that?

Communication is a national security issue ...

macman

australia
Reply #8 - Dec 15th, 2018 at 8:51pm

Yep, same here Grap. A whole day out and only come back tonight. Poor old Codsy spends all her time trying to defend this pack of incompetent a---holes and is like the government, whatever happens blame Bill.  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #9 - Dec 16th, 2018 at 12:54pm

The Liberal Party can take full responsibility for the network they created....Who would have thought copper would be vastly inferior and unreliable than fibre optic....Who would have thought building stand alone cabinets (Nodes) that are prone to overheating, require maintenance, a power supply and add to the complexity of the network would create problems and ongoing costs....Who would have thought the LNP would put political self interest before the benefit of the Australian people....This incompetent rabble must go???

Cu Chulainn

Reply #10 - Dec 16th, 2018 at 12:56pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Dec 15th, 2018 at 6:30am:
Correction: it's not the Liberals' NBN. It was a thought bubble concocted by Stephen Conroy (ALP) on the back of a napkin, and it certainly shows it. It was stuffed up from the moment of conception and is beyond saving due to Labor's incompetence. It should've been built by the private sector, not by the Federal government at the time, which was Labor. Sorry, but try as you might, you cannot blame the current government for the monumental stuff-ups of your beloved ALP.

Nonsense AP, what we are getting now is not what labour decided on after consulting with experts and what is being built elsewhere in the world while retiring the tech the Libs are still rolling out, we still don't have NBN here. It was an all fibre network that was to be built with wireless for remote locations. Along came the libs and their bullshit of cheaper, sooner, finished by 2016, to destroy what should have been.

Who built Telecom? Private enterprise?

Anyway, I'm still waiting for 2016 to roll around here in Lismore almost 3 years late. To be honest I hope they don't get here until after this govt is shown the door, perhaps fibre will be rolled out instead. If they roll out FTTN here I won't be able to use the net during the next flood like I was in the last, the node will need replacing.

Reply #11 - Dec 16th, 2018 at 1:19pm

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 16th, 2018 at 12:54pm:
The Liberal Party can take full responsibility for the network they created....Who would have thought copper would be vastly inferior and unreliable than fibre optic....Who would have thought building stand alone cabinets (Nodes) that are prone to overheating, require maintenance, a power supply and add to the complexity of the network would create problems and ongoing costs....Who would have thought the LNP would put political self interest before the benefit of the Australian people....This incompetent rabble must go???

If it had been right to the house, fibre optic or wireless, there'd be no drop-outs that I still suffer and it would be a hell of a lot faster...

Stupid nodes also go down with a storm... happened while we were on Tasmania's West Coast last month - I thought it was Backwardland down there so no worries - then the exact same thing here at home...

Useful as an air conditioner on a motor bike......

Reply #12 - Dec 16th, 2018 at 2:13pm

With GST (grab, snatch and take) tax, Australia pays some of the highest taxes in the world.
75% of our petrol is tax
There are a plethora of sneaky fees and charges introduced by grubberment agencies in every single transaction.
Like ghouls they steal from the dead with new taxes on already taxed super when the person dies and tries to pass it on to their children.

And for all this we have......
Third world or worse public transport systems
              But our politicians are the highest paid in the world
Pathetic and inadequate heath care and hospitals
             But our politicians and senior public servants retire on the most generous
              super scheme in the world
Pathetic and worse than third world internet
             But we have more politicians per capita than virtually any other country.
Tens possibly hundreds of thousands of homeless people and children
             But our politicians and senior public servants rort the system and steal
             from the taxpayers without punishment every day
Laws that take away basic rights such as privacy, the presumption of innocence until proven guilty and the right to silence.
             But our politicians and judges want to censor the corrupt dealings of
             themselves and their criminal mates

IT'S TIME FOR A REVOLUTION

IT'S TIME FOR A REVOLUTION NOW

oh dear

Reply #13 - Dec 16th, 2018 at 8:16pm

Its mind boggling that Abbott played political games to hobble an important infrastructure . You are a piece of poo Tony hopefully you lose your seat at the election.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #14 - Dec 17th, 2018 at 6:04pm

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 16th, 2018 at 12:54pm:

Sorry - Labor created the NBN network, and fooked it up from day one. Should've followed the NZ model, where government had no role in building it.