Working Multiple Jobs And Being Paid Less (Read 1210 times)
whiteknight

Working Multiple Jobs And Being Paid Less
Nov 28th, 2018 at 6:14am

Workers holding multiple jobs being paid less: ABS   Sad
27 November 2018
ACTU

People in Australia working multiple jobs are paid even less than workers with a single job according to new stats released today by the ABS.

The figures show that the median wage for workers with a single job was $48,028 in 2015-16 compared to $39,813 in the same year for those who had to hold multiple jobs to survive.

This shows the combined effect of the insecure work and wage growth crises in Australia. People being forced into multiple jobs, none paying well enough to support them, let alone a family.

Over 1.9 million employees were multiple job holders in 2015-16, compared with 1.8 million in 2011-12

In addition to being paid less, workers with multiple jobs often have to contend with increased travel costs.

It is absurd that in Australia a worker could be holding multiple jobs and making barely more than the minimum wage.

Quotes attributable to ACTU Secretary Sally McManus:

“These figures show the depth of the insecure work crisis in Australia. Workers holding multiple insecure jobs and being paid barely more than minimum wage.

“Prime Minister Morrison talks about ‘a fair go for those who have a go’, but these people are working multiple jobs and earning less than 10% of his salary.

“We need more secure jobs, and more power for working people so they can win the pay rises they need.”

macman

australia
Re: Working Multiple Jobs And Being Paid Less
Reply #1 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 7:22am

Welcome to australia under this pack of incompetent clowns. Surely this has to be the worst government we have ever been forced to live under.

Reply #2 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 7:38am

As scat would say,  feel like you're making a valuable contribution to the superior man so he can enjoy a comfortable retirement

Reply #3 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 7:47am

macman wrote on Nov 28th, 2018 at 7:22am:
Welcome to australia under this pack of incompetent clowns. Surely this has to be the worst government we have ever been forced to live under.

While the current incompetent clowns are the very worst possible the other incompetent clowns are not really measurably better it has been like this for over 30 years and likely double that.

Reply #4 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 8:51am

Dnarever wrote on Nov 28th, 2018 at 7:47am:

While the current incompetent clowns are the very worst possible the other incompetent clowns are not really measurably better it has been like this for over 30 years and likely double that.

Exactly. I said something similar some time back. I cannot understand why the population gets so 'excited' around election time.

For several decades now we have had governments (both State and Federal) who the people eventually get fed up with then we have elections where the current incompetent clowns are replaced with the other incompetent clowns.

Then, the cycle repeats itself over and over.

While all this is happening, the average person is no better off (worse off usually) while the pollies and their mates get richer and richer.

And, if one group of incompetent clowns lose the election and some of them lose their jobs or retire from politics they have no worries with their huge taxpayer funded pensions to support them for the rest of their lives.

Reply #5 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 12:55pm

Carl D wrote on Nov 28th, 2018 at 8:51am:
Dnarever wrote on Nov 28th, 2018 at 7:47am:

Exactly. I said something similar some time back. I cannot understand why the population gets so 'excited' around election time.

For several decades now we have had governments (both State and Federal) who the people eventually get fed up with then we have elections where the current incompetent clowns are replaced with the other incompetent clowns.

Then, the cycle repeats itself over and over.

While all this is happening, the average person is no better off (worse off usually) while the pollies and their mates get richer and richer.

And, if one group of incompetent clowns lose the election and some of them lose their jobs or retire from politics they have no worries with their huge taxpayer funded pensions to support them for the rest of their lives.

And they wonder why their share of the primary vote is dwindling.

Reply #6 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 1:06pm

In all seriousness, that's not even a slight exaggeration.

Every day that I'm reminded that this pig is our Prime Minister ...

... I weep for my country.

Reply #7 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 2:07pm

If you extrapolate that to zero jobs you get an infinite wage.

stunspore

Reply #8 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 9:34pm

This is exactly what the working poor in America are doing.  Something the coalition supporters like Aqua, Swagman are encouraging.

Robot

Conspirator

Engadine Maccas
Reply #9 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 9:42pm

If they just worked a little bit harder they might inherit a farm. Isn't that how it works?

Reply #10 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 9:52pm

Aquascoot is generously offering to bequeath them each a steaming pile of horse manure when they die from overwork.

Aquascoot will claim that he was not bequeathed or gifted his piles of horse manure and he had to earn those piles himself.

Reply #11 - Nov 29th, 2018 at 9:23am

Its time wrote on Nov 28th, 2018 at 7:38am:
As scat would say,  feel like you're making a valuable contribution to the superior man so he can enjoy a comfortable retirement

The libbos have created one million sh.t jobs. They obviously believe in quantity rather than quality of employment Sad

Instead of creating secure jobs building electric cars as well as renewable energy projects and infrastructure we have sh.t jobs earning peanuts and the LNP are quite happy with that for our future prosperity Sad

"All of the arab states have said we will have peace with Israel when there is a state of Palestine as a UN member state and properly constituted." - Jeffrey Sachs.

Reply #12 - Nov 29th, 2018 at 10:14am

Sir lastnail wrote on Nov 29th, 2018 at 9:23am:

The libbos have created one million sh.t jobs. They obviously believe in quantity rather than quality of employment Sad

Instead of creating secure jobs building electric cars as well as renewable energy projects and infrastructure we have sh.t jobs earning peanuts and the LNP are quite happy with that for our future prosperity Sad

You would overlook the fact wage growth had gone negative if the cost of living was frozen and libtards didn't openly advocate for a pay cut

Reply #13 - Nov 29th, 2018 at 11:21am

Sir lastnail wrote on Nov 29th, 2018 at 9:23am:

How jobs are "created" under the Liberals:

1. Sack 10 full-time workers.
2. Replace them with 20 casual workers.
3. Claim that 10 new jobs have been created.

Reply #14 - Nov 29th, 2018 at 12:34pm

Why don't they all just pick up one of those 'good jobs' of Joe's that are lying around on every street corner?

Bloody peasants... won't get off their arse and grab hold of those golden opportunities right in front of them.... it's all their own fault they are poor....