Wasteful And Ineffective Apprentice Scheam (Read 1689 times)
whiteknight

Wasteful And Ineffective Apprentice Scheam
Nov 3rd, 2018 at 7:10am

Morrison announces wasteful and ineffective apprentice scheme   Sad
2 November 2018
ACTU

The peak body for working people condemns the Morrison Government’s so called ‘bush wage’ – a hugely wasteful and ineffective band aid over the massive funding cuts made by the Abbott/Turnbull/Morrison government to apprenticeships and vocational education and training.

If rolled out nationally the new program is projected to cost $11 billion over four years with the aim of placing just 1630 apprentices.

Between Sep 2013 and Sept 2017 apprentice and trainee numbers dropped by a staggering 150,000. A 37% drop over the life of the Abbott/Turnbull/Morrison government.

The TAFE sector lost one-sixth of its financing in 2016, with operating revenues falling 16.8 per cent to $8.14 billion.

Quotes attributable to ACTU Secretary Sally McManus:

“The Abbott/Turnbull/Morrison Government refuses to invest in apprenticeship programs that we know work and instead continue to give handouts to big business.

“We have seen through the PaTH program, through CDP, and now this thought bubble, that this Prime Minister and his Government do not care about working people or developing skills, they simply want to funnel public money into private business.

“This program provides a perverse incentive to employers to stop and restart apprentices in order to get the subsidy. This program, like all other employment and skills programs created by the Abbott/Turnbull/Morrison government, treats workers as disposable.

“We need to change the rules to make sure young people get proper skills training which will set them up for a good steady job, not sell them out to big business to be churned through meaningless programs.

“The Morrison Government is demonstrating yet again that it will always side with business over ordinary working Australians.”   Sad

Term Dog

Re: Wasteful And Ineffective Apprentice Scheam
Reply #1 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 7:47am

The apprentice scheme is incredible wasteful and inefficient  if you have had any actual involvement in it. TAFE  is a model of wasteful inefficiency.

Orgs like Sarina Russo are proven to be more effective.

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #2 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 8:21am

I don't care about lab/lib but what's happened to TAFE just shows that neither side really cares about the local youth, instead choosing to import.

We need another party.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

Reply #3 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 11:09am

a lot of apprenticeship jobs will eventually be done by robots.....its that simple...maybe already happening.. no good training kids to do some trade that will be limited...crook needs to take a good look at the jobs that have already gone  and WHY... and whats around the corner..

heaven forbid our pollies would ever look at the future. Angry Angry

Reply #4 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 11:32am

cods wrote on Nov 3rd, 2018 at 11:09am:
a lot of apprenticeship jobs will eventually be done by robots.....its that simple...maybe already happening.. no good training kids to do some trade that will be limited...crook needs to take a good look at the jobs that have already gone  and WHY... and whats around the corner..

What jobs do you think will be redundant in future? 

Reply #5 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 11:47am

Its time wrote on Nov 3rd, 2018 at 11:32am:

just have a look at the medical dept ltard... it isnt rocket science...robots are doing operations with a man standing in the rear it wont be long before they dont need that man.....this is how far techo has gone..airplane all but fly themselves...just need a gut to land and tack off...   for how long?....

a machine digs a hole NOW.. in the future a computer will dig that hole put a program in and let it go....how many jobs gone there ltard... I am not saying it will happen tomorrow   but in 20 years.... what man does today will be a thing of the past....

did we have ipods and smart phones and smart TVs 20 years ago???......these things do our thinking for us....did we have driverless cars... dont you see driverless trains ahead of us?...

strewth   I am lucky to be able to use the most basic mobile phone    do not understand a word of computer speak.,.. but even I can figure out where we are going...

Term Dog

Reply #6 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 11:54am

cods wrote on Nov 3rd, 2018 at 11:47am:

just have a look at the medical dept ltard... it isnt rocket science...robots are doing operations with a man standing in the rear it wont be long before they dont need that man.....this is how far techo has gone..airplane all but fly themselves...just need a gut to land and tack off...   for how long?....

a machine digs a hole NOW.. in the future a computer will dig that hole put a program in and let it go....how many jobs gone there ltard... I am not saying it will happen tomorrow   but in 20 years.... what man does today will be a thing of the past....

did we have ipods and smart phones and smart TVs 20 years ago???......these things do our thinking for us....did we have driverless cars... dont you see driverless trains ahead of us?...

strewth   I am lucky to be able to use the most basic mobile phone    do not understand a word of computer speak.,.. but even I can figure out where we are going...

Technology has always created more jobs not less and so called experts continue to say the opposite and consistently be wrong.

Reply #7 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 12:03pm

Least you think out of the box,  not a conservative at all are you

Reply #8 - Nov 3rd, 2018 at 12:11pm

The current systems for unemployed workers put in place by this government are a massive waste of money. Throwing more money at the problem they created isn't going to work.

It's so profoundly dysfunctional that it cannot be salvaged. Scrap the lot and rebuild the systems from the ground up around a reinstated Commonwealth Employment Service.
« Last Edit: Nov 3rd, 2018 at 12:18pm by Bam »  

Reply #9 - Nov 5th, 2018 at 8:28am

Geez the inarticulate poorly educated union propaganda parrot BlackDay can't even smell scheme.

Reply #10 - Nov 6th, 2018 at 10:22pm

Its time wrote on Nov 3rd, 2018 at 12:03pm:

Least you think out of the box,  not a conservative at all are you

absolutely.... never ever thought otherwise....I think I can see the future sometimes..

can you not see all those driverless trains.....even buses   its just a matter of time....

the giants of the ocean  think QE11   float themselves.....the captain is basically  decoration..

we have come a long way since they invented the computer...

now it is full blast ahead......we are in for a huge shake up....

my vision of the future is a whole house being built in the factory...its brought to the site in 4 parts and BINGO...fully working house all mod cons..

cars more or less the same......

one thing I hope is not that far away is maybe creating human limbs that people have lost..regenerating eyesight and hearing.....its just a matter of time..

open the windows of your mind lefty..

a lot will mean jobs as we know them will vanish  but hasnt that always been the case......you just havent noticed.. Roll Eyes..

we have to accept these changes and not fight against them     find a way for almost all job to go on 24/7....3 men can work the one job   in 3 shifts....

it might not be what they like doing.... but thats what change is all about.....its called moving with the times...

and these are very fast moving times ...

Reply #11 - Nov 7th, 2018 at 6:32pm

Since the Coalition came to power the cuts to health and education have been going along at a break neck pace....Not to mention the complete cluster f@#k they have made of the NBN and NDIS....This rabble must go!!!

https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2018/may/07/coalitions-uniersity-cuts...

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/apr/17/nbn-complaints-surged-by-more...