The unsolvable conundrum (Read 1037 times)

The unsolvable conundrum
May 19th, 2018 at 3:52pm

The unsolvable conundrum facing Australians next year, is a Government led by an ex Merchant Banker who MUST have known about the grand theft Banks were carrying out on an unsuspecting Public and an Opposition led by a man who has an unsavoury past

So Australians are faced with a Bleak House choice of a leader who is in bed with the banks and in fact will give them a multi Billion Dollar Free Kick on the back  of the dirty deeds inflicted by those self same banks over who knows how years. And a Leader who is likely to throw the doors wide open to Country Shoppers thereby inflicting on the Australian Public a mirror of the European Disaster of human  tide of misery stuffing their countries

Dead Man's Choice

Re: The unsolvable conundrum
Reply #1 - May 19th, 2018 at 4:06pm

red baron wrote on May 19th, 2018 at 3:52pm:
The unsolvable conundrum facing Australians next year, is a Government led by an ex Merchant Banker who MUST have known about the grand theft Banks were carrying out on an unsuspecting Public and an Opposition led by a man who has an unsavoury past

So Australians are faced with a Bleak House choice of a leader who is in bed with the banks and in fact will give them a multi Billion Dollar Free Kick on the back  of the dirty deeds inflicted by those self same banks over who knows how years. And a Leader who is likely to throw the doors wide open to Country Shoppers thereby inflicting on the Australian Public a mirror of the European Disaster of human  tide of misery stuffing their countries

Dead Man's Choice

Throttled with cliches as usual but it's nice to see you know that Turnbull wants to give those same Banks a share in an $B80 windfall.

Reply #2 - May 19th, 2018 at 5:08pm

100% voting Labor

Reply #3 - May 19th, 2018 at 5:17pm

Malcolm has allowed the same policies in our Banks  that caused the 2008  GFC from which we still suffer to this day:

https://www.investopedia.com/articles/economics/08/fannie-mae-freddie-mac-credit...

Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac And The Credit Crisis Of 2008 By Barry Nielsen | Updated March 19, 2018 — 6:00 AM EDT

When the housing bubble of 2001-2007 burst, it caused a mortgage security meltdown. This contributed to a general credit crisis, which evolved into a worldwide financial crisis. Many critics have held the United States Congress - and its unwillingness to rein in Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac - responsible for the credit crisis. In this article, we'll examine the extent to which Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and their allies in Congress contributed to the largest financial and economic crisis since the Great Depression. (For background reading, see What Caused The Great Depression?)

Reply #4 - May 20th, 2018 at 9:39am

The thing that angers me is that the Banking Royal Commission will come and go and after revealing a dog's breakfast culture in the banking industry, I'm very much afraid it will be business as usual

This corporate fraud on a grand scale cannot go unpunished

We cannot allow our Prime Minister to give his million dollar smile and say, "don't worry about it. Oh and by the way we are going to give the banks a giant free kick in the budget and help them along with billions in tax cuts and you guys who go out and work can have ten bucks a week."

This attitude doesn't cut it Mr. Turnbull and unless there is a radical reform of the banking system voters will be so angered that aside from any other issue this one is the game breaker

There is hardly a citizen out there who has not been affected in some way in their lives by the Banks' criminal activities..and they ARE Criminal

Goodbye Liberals you have shot yourselves in the foot

Reply #5 - May 20th, 2018 at 12:14pm

Of course Turnbull knew. He was involved. Remember the Royal Commission into the collapse of HIH? Turnbull was forced to appear at that Royal Commission and confess to his dubious conduct.

As for an "unsavoury past", that's pretty common among politicians. Turnbull's misconduct that contributed to the collapse of HIH. Bishop's unsavoury career as a lawyer litigating asbestos victims to death. A few have been jailed. It's hardly compelling when so many have a dubious past.

We know the government is tainted by association with corporations. The damning findings of the Banking Royal Commission isn't all. They are fighting tooth and nail against the introduction of an anti-corruption commission, which Shorten has pledged to introduce as a National Integrity Commission. What does the government know and are trying to hide?

Asserting that a Shorten government "is likely to throw the doors wide open to Country Shoppers" is baseless speculation.

On corporate misconduct and corruption, which would you prefer: a government that gets tough on it, or a government that tacitly allows it with a business-as-usual approach?

Reply #6 - May 20th, 2018 at 12:22pm

There is no conundrum , not big business so you know not to vote Libs

mozzaok

Reply #7 - May 20th, 2018 at 12:56pm

Its time wrote on May 19th, 2018 at 5:08pm:
100% voting Labor

What if you find out that the Labor member you are choosing to vote for was a contemporary of Eddie Obeid, and offered both moral and physical support to that slimy crook?

Still good with it?

I used to be mates with a guy who was very high up in the Victorian Liberal Party, and he was a good bloke. He used to have numerous meetings with Mathew (not really a nice) Guy, where he was incessantly lied to, to maintain his support.
My second hand experience makes me believe him to be absolutely disingenuous, self absorbed, and basically a bit of an arse.

Another Liberal I know is a decent, honest, well intentioned man, serving with honour, and personal integrity intact, in Canberra.

I could happily vote for the latter, but not for either of the former options.

I would suggest finding out about your candidate before committing
to them 100%.

Surely if we want to see better results from our pollies, we need to make sure that we only support decent ones, wherever they may arise.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Reply #8 - May 20th, 2018 at 3:54pm

What the Lefties forget is the banks were playing up when Labor was there.

lee

Reply #9 - May 20th, 2018 at 3:58pm

Bam wrote on May 20th, 2018 at 12:14pm:
Turnbull was forced to appear at that Royal Commission and confess to his dubious conduct.

So if being forced to appear at a Royal Commission was a cause for debarments from politics; Labor would be leading?

Reply #10 - May 21st, 2018 at 9:28am

juliar wrote on May 20th, 2018 at 3:54pm:
What the Lefties forget is the banks were playing up when Labor was there.

And Labor called for a Royal Commission which the Coalition opposed....Malcolm and Scott were dragged kicking and screaming into an RC they vehemently opposed and considered unnecessary....The Coalition can blame no one but themselves for looking foolish in their attempts to run a protection racket for the banks and big business!!!

Reply #11 - May 21st, 2018 at 9:29am

lee wrote on May 20th, 2018 at 3:58pm:
Turnbull was forced to appear at that Royal Commission and confess to his dubious conduct.

So if being forced to appear at a Royal Commission was a cause for debarments from politics; Labor would be leading?

But it isn't is it mate....How about you comment on the Coalition opposing what has become an embarrassment for the banks and the Coalition???

Huh Huh Huh

Reply #12 - May 21st, 2018 at 10:38am

lee wrote on May 20th, 2018 at 3:58pm:

Wow. That you would even think of supporting persecution of political opponents is a bad sign.