about Sugar (Read 11468 times)

about Sugar
May 7th, 2017 at 5:55pm

so I was trying to work out how much sugar was in Muesli bars recently...

but grams of sugar per 100 grams didn't really mean a lot so I looked up how many grams in a TeaSpoon...

you have 4 grams in one teaspoon...

so all you have to do when working out how much sugar is in your food is divide the amount of sugar by 4...

so a muesli isn't that big right???

a lot of them have over 20 grams of sugar per 100 grams...

thats 5 (or more) teaspoons of sugar in one little Muesli bar...

Healthy??

I think not... yuk...

even the best muesli bar I can find has 11 grams..

miketrees

Re: about Sugar
Reply #1 - May 7th, 2017 at 6:10pm

I am happy to work with percentage.

BBQ sauce if just over 50% sugar, I found another product to do the job that was 14%.

Sugar is cheap, and addictive.

I feel sick if I eat too much sugar now.

I did drink four Ice Coffees a day when I was younger tho,,, I was addicted to them.

4 X 12% X 600
72X4 = 288 grams of sugar per day just in drinks.

I can not even look at one now.

I wish Masters and Browns made a grown up IC with no added sugar.
They sell that many of them,, no way they will change.

They did make lower sugar ones but they loaded them with artificial sweeteners, disgusting

Black Orchid

Reply #2 - May 8th, 2017 at 4:51pm

Artificial sweeteners are carcinogenic and I avoid them like the plague.

Unfortunately Yoghurt can be very high in sugar too which is a shame.

Reply #3 - May 8th, 2017 at 4:54pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 4:51pm:
Artificial sweeteners are carcinogenic and I avoid them like the plague.

Unfortunately Yoghurt can be very high in sugar too which is a shame.

I see women on diets eating that crappy fruit youghurt all the time, and they don't realise that many of those tubs are actually around 19% sugar.

That's more than a can of Coke.

Black Orchid

Reply #4 - May 8th, 2017 at 4:59pm

It's criminal that they load Yoghurt up with sugar.  If I wanted sugar in it I would load it with fruit myself.  Too many people have no idea what they are eating.

Reply #5 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:09pm

The low fat, turn a blind eye to sugar mantra of the last 30 years has truly fkkd up a lot of people.

Black Orchid

Reply #6 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:20pm

I try to base my diet on high protein and low carbs with good fats.   I avoid anything artificial and will eat sugar rather than sweeteners and real butter.  I wouldn't eat margarine in a fit.

Reply #7 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:31pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 4:59pm:
It's criminal that they load Yoghurt up with sugar.  If I wanted sugar in it I would load it with fruit myself.  Too many people have no idea what they are eating.

The sugar in fruit is alright no need to avoid fruit because of that, it's the added sugar people should avoid.

Black Orchid

Reply #8 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:34pm

Baronvonrort wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 5:31pm:

The sugar in fruit is alright no need to avoid fruit because of that, it's the added sugar people should avoid.

I know but I am not supposed to eat much fruit.  I do, but not all the time and mainly summer fruits.

Reply #9 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:36pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 5:20pm:
I try to base my diet on high protein and low carbs with good fats.   I avoid anything artificial and will eat sugar rather than sweeteners and real butter.  I wouldn't eat margarine in a fit.

I look at food a bit differently.

Protein breaks down into amino acids which help the body rebuild and repair.

Carbs break down into glucose which gives you energy.

Fats break down into fat, the only fats worth having would be olives or olive oil, avocado and nuts, the Omega 3 oils come from eating good servings of protein like Salmon that contain it.

Reply #10 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:37pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 5:34pm:

I know but I am not supposed to eat much fruit.  I do, but not all the time and mainly summer fruits.

Fruit is good for you it's madness saying you're not supposed to eat much.

A good rule is at least 3 pieces a day make sure they're all different colours.

Black Orchid

Reply #11 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:39pm

I get most of my fats from olive oil, olives, chia, cheese, eggs and nuts.

Black Orchid

Reply #12 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:41pm

Baronvonrort wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 5:37pm:

I eat low GI fruits.

Reply #13 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:48pm

I disagree fruit is a trap    its what happens to the fruitose once it hits your blood stream...it acts just the same as sugar in your coffee or cake....its sad but true

if you were a diabetic you would be restricted  its that simple...you cant go around telling people with health problems they can disregard fruitose   in fact ANYTHING WITH OSE on the end of it  must be treated with respect...and for some folks  its a big No No...

just think grapes cherries blueberries all full of it...all very moreish....you do know sugar tells the brain you want MORE dont you....

we can live without sugar...and today almost everything has sugar in it...

what annoys me is the LOW FAT idea.. they add more sugar to it to improve the taste  and so it goes on.

Reply #14 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:48pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 5:41pm:

I eat low GI fruits.

peaches and then sparingly....I cant if I have two I eat two.. Sad

miketrees

Reply #15 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:53pm

I check my blood sugar quite often, I never have a high blood sugar from fruit, and I eat heaps of it.

Flour products, bread, pasta, cakes, pastry blows my sugar up.
So obviously I avoid them.

Black Orchid

Reply #16 - May 8th, 2017 at 5:58pm

I eat summer fruits ie peaches, nectarines, plums, cranberries, blueberries etc and the very occasional banana in a smoothie and apples in apple pie but fructose does sky rocket my blood sugar and hence I can't eat too much fruit unless I have a craving for it.

We are all different and if you listen to your body it will tell you what is right for you.

Reply #17 - May 8th, 2017 at 6:00pm

cods wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 5:48pm:

I disagree fruit is a trap    its what happens to the fruitose once it hits your blood stream...it acts just the same as sugar in your coffee or cake....its sad but true

There is a big difference between sucrose and fructose starting with the chemistry of them so to say they act the same is not true.

Black Orchid

Reply #18 - May 8th, 2017 at 6:02pm

It's all dependent on how your body processes it.  Or not.

Reply #19 - May 8th, 2017 at 6:07pm

if you were a diabetic you would be restricted  its that simple...you cant go around telling people with health problems they can disregard fruitose   in fact ANYTHING WITH OSE on the end of it  must be treated with respect...and for some folks  its a big No No...

just think grapes cherries blueberries all full of it...all very moreish....you do know sugar tells the brain you want MORE dont you....

we can live without sugar...and today almost everything has sugar in it...

what annoys me is the LOW FAT idea.. they add more sugar to it to improve the taste  and so it goes on.

Not all fruit is equal tho. Luckily my fav fruit is also one of the best, pears.
The good thing about fruit is is takes some work to eat it, particularly an apple or a pear. You're not just injecting the sugar in.

Reply #20 - May 8th, 2017 at 6:12pm

« Last Edit: May 9th, 2017 at 7:57am by Neferti »  

Reply #21 - May 8th, 2017 at 6:46pm

A completely arbitrary number, which has no basis in science.

Reply #22 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:10pm

I'm kinda blessed in that I don't overly like sweet stuff. I much prefer spicy, salty or bitter types of flavour. Give me beef jerky or dried sardines over a piece of cake or a muesli bar any day.

Reply #23 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:17pm

Setanta wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:10pm:
I'm kinda blessed in that I don't overly like sweet stuff. I much prefer spicy, salty or bitter types of flavour. Give me beef jerky or dried sardines over a piece of cake or a muesli bar any day.

Ditto.

Never had a sweet tooth.

Sardines with chilli, though ... mmmmmmmm  Tongue

Reply #24 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:19pm

Pecca always has a few sweets in his pockets to give to the local kids.

Reply #25 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:28pm

Mr Hammer wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:19pm:

Don't go there Hammer, no need.

Reply #26 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:36pm

I prefer my sugar fermented.

Reply #27 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:41pm

I have a sweet tooth and I'd eat like a labrador if I didn't have a ton of self control.

Reply #28 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:45pm

Gordon wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:41pm:
I have a sweet tooth and I'd eat like a labrador if I didn't have a ton of self control.

Golden or black? Grin

Reply #29 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:50pm

Setanta wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:28pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Reply #30 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:53pm

Aussie wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:50pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

It was close, I must be in a good mood. Gavel has fallen.

Reply #31 - May 8th, 2017 at 8:58pm

Mood, rather than clear, clinical precedent?

Reply #32 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:00pm

Setanta wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:45pm:
Gordon wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:41pm:

Golden or black? Grin

I had a black lab that snuck into the house when food for a party food had just been left out, it ate 2 cooked chickens and about 500g of cheese.

I guess I'm a black lab.

Reply #33 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:02pm

Setanta wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:53pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Does that mean you'll look at what pecca writes?

Reply #34 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:03pm

Aussie wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 8:58pm:
Mood, rather than clear, clinical precedent?

The only time I saw pecca banned was when he directly used the P word. Ive seen him use strong implications several times and skate.

Precedence has been applied.

Now we were talking about sugar,  weren't we?

Reply #35 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:05pm

Mr Hammer wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:02pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

I look at what everyone writes. Don't go accusing other members of gross illegal activities. You were a millimetre from a suspension, take it on the chin and don't do it.

Reply #36 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:06pm

A friends of Mrs G dropped over today with a tin of her mums home made shortbread.

Nodoby else in the house eats it, I could demolish half of it in one go.....willpower.

Reply #37 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:07pm

Setanta wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:05pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

I look at what everyone writes. Don't go accusing other members of gross illegal activities. You were a millimetre from a suspension, take it on the chin and don't do it.
He's alluded to me being a pedo plenty of times. Plus calling me gay, a crook,  bludger, dumb, low income worker etc etc etc. Why is it somehow such a big thing now?

Reply #38 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:11pm

Mr Hammer wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:07pm:
Setanta wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:05pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

He's alluded to me being a pedo plenty of times. Plus calling me gay, a crook,  bludger, dumb, low income worker etc etc etc. Why is it somehow such a big thing now?

Ask him what happens when he does. I know I have given him multiple suspensions for it, thankfully he is learning not to. I suggest you learn too. I'ts disgraceful that you would accuse another man of that. If you have the evidence, take it to the cops.

Reply #39 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:11pm

Because he's not long out of a ban for making the allusion.  You just did the same.....and you did not suffer the same consequence.

Reply #40 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:14pm

Nah.  Be consistent.

I only write the truth, Homo.

Truth number one: you support Donald Trump.

Am I right?

Reply #41 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:14pm

Aussie wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:11pm:

Because he's not long out of a ban for making the allusion.  You just did the same.....and you did not suffer the same consequence.
Why not a permanent ban?? If I had alluded to posters being pedos as many times  pecca has you'd have rung the cops on me. But he's still here abusing people day in day out. The asshole seems to do anything he wants.

Reply #42 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:15pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:14pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Am I right?

http://thelibertarianrepublic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/trumpvid-750x400.jp...
What's the difference between Pecca calling me a homo and me saying he gives lollies out to children?

Reply #43 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:16pm

Mr Hammer wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:14pm:
Aussie wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:11pm:

Why not a permanent ban?? If I had alluded to posters being pedos as many times  pecca has you'd have rung the cops on me. But he's still here abusing people day in day out. The asshole seems to do anything he wants.

Do you support Mr Trump, Homo?

I'm curious.

Reply #44 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:17pm

I've got poo to do tomorrow so I'm going to bed. Mjölnir will be waiting for anyone that want's to continue. Grow TF up.

Reply #45 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:17pm

Mr Hammer wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:15pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Am I right?

http://thelibertarianrepublic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/trumpvid-750x400.jp...
What's the difference between Pecca calling me a homo and me saying he gives lollies out to children?

I've never called you a homo, Homo.

And, even if I did, how is that a bad thing?

Are you a homophobe?

Reply #46 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:19pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:17pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Am I right?

Are you a homophobe?

Obviously you are not concerned if some gay kid being offended with your insult you insensitive monster.

Reply #47 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:21pm

Mr Hammer wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:19pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Am I right?

Are you a homophobe?

Obviously you are not concerned if some gay kid being offended with your insult you insensitive monster.

What insult, Homo?

Reply #48 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:26pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:21pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Am I right?

Are you a homophobe?

What insult, Homo?

Oh nothing Mr Bubbles.

Reply #49 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:29pm

Mr Hammer wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:26pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:21pm:

Nah.  Be consistent.

Am I right?

Are you a homophobe?

What insult, Homo?

Oh nothing Mr Bubbles.

I didn't think so.

Reply #50 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:41pm

if you tell a dietitian that they will laugh in your face.

Reply #51 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:42pm

rhino wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:41pm:

if you tell a dietitian that they will laugh in your face.

I agree with Rhino.

Embarrassed

Reply #52 - May 8th, 2017 at 9:58pm

Are you a homophobe?

the slang "homo" is considered a slur by LGBT people.
DEFAMATORY LANGUAGE

"fag," "faggot," "dyke," "homo," "sodomite," and similar epithets
The criteria for using these derogatory terms should be the same as those applied to vulgar epithets used to target other groups: they should not be used except in a direct quote that reveals the bias of the person quoted. So that such words are not given credibility in the media, it is preferred that reporters say, "The person used a derogatory word for a lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender person."
http://www.glaad.org/reference/offensive

Obviously Sultana wasnt aware of this but he is now. Forum rules prohibit the use of these derogatory terms towards another poster.

Reply #53 - May 8th, 2017 at 10:00pm

rhino wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 9:58pm:

Are you a homophobe?

DEFAMATORY LANGUAGE

The criteria for using these derogatory terms should be the same as those applied to vulgar epithets used to target other groups: they should not be used except in a direct quote that reveals the bias of the person quoted. So that such words are not given credibility in the media, it is preferred that reporters say, "The person used a derogatory word for a lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender person."

Obviously Sultana wasnt aware of this but he is now. Forum rules prohibit the use of these derogatory terms towards another poster.

I've never called Homo a homo, though.

Reply #54 - May 8th, 2017 at 10:11pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 10:00pm:

Are you a homophobe?

DEFAMATORY LANGUAGE

Im not interested in your childish pedantic arguements, Sentanta called Hammer out on using inferences rather than direct slurs, he or someone needs to apply consistency here. Thats my last word on this in this thread.

Reply #55 - May 8th, 2017 at 10:12pm

rhino wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 10:11pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 10:00pm:

Are you a homophobe?

DEFAMATORY LANGUAGE

Im not interested in your childish pedantic arguements, Sentanta called Hammer out on using inferences rather than direct slurs, he or someone needs to apply consistency here. Thats my last word on this in this thread.

I agree.

Still, I've never called Homo a homo.

Reply #56 - May 9th, 2017 at 8:25am

Baronvonrort wrote on May 8th, 2017 at 6:00pm:

There is a big difference between sucrose and fructose starting with the chemistry of them so to say they act the same is not true.

thats why they have diffferent names

but its what your body does with it that counts...and unfortunately our bodies deal with it all the same...ose is the part you need to look at and call it sugar which is what the body thinks.....sugar never was part of our diet.. and obesity was unheard of in those days..

we do not need sugar....check your labels   you will find it in almost everything...

there are 39 gms of sugar in a can of coke....9 teaspoonfuls  .. when was the last time anyone checked the sugar content on a can of drink??...

Reply #57 - May 10th, 2017 at 12:24am

I must have had the least sugar for the day in a long while. I could probably name the apple, the sugar from the milk in my two large coffees, and the pine apple as being the only source of sugar in my diet. So, I think I have done well to have so little sugar today. Compared to yesterday, where I drank a whole bottle of Coke, and had a medium sized chocolate bar. Must have had ten times the amount of sugar yesterday compared to that I had today.

Nom de Plume

Reply #58 - May 10th, 2017 at 9:40am

OMG love sugar!! My breakfast this morning is a prime example. Two mango fruit cups, a strawberry yogurt and an oats bar. I most often have a mixed green salad before my main meal and eat fish more than meat. I don't have sugar in my tea or coffee and I don't drink milk or fizz, except the occasional V. My weight is perfect and my fitness above average. Just had my bloods done and show good health.

However, I do have a blood disorder which require meds.

Point being, every body is different and so should respond to the needs of their own body.

Reply #59 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:12am

If you have a blood disorder which requires meds then you arent in good health.

Reply #60 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:31am

UnSubRocky wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 12:24am:
I must have had the least sugar for the day in a long while. I could probably name the apple, the sugar from the milk in my two large coffees, and the pine apple as being the only source of sugar in my diet. So, I think I have done well to have so little sugar today. Compared to yesterday, where I drank a whole bottle of Coke, and had a medium sized chocolate bar. Must have had ten times the amount of sugar yesterday compared to that I had today.

have you had blood tests for diabetes unsub>>,,

I am sure you have   you should have them if not every 3 months every 6...you can get gadgets for testing your blood sugar levels.......seems to me you could do yourself a favor if you got one of those...

drinking coke and eating choc bars is not a good look..

you cant talk eating healthy one day  and do that the next   it doesnt work like that

Reply #61 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:32am

rhino wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:12am:

exactly.... something isnt functioning properly..and needs help

Nom de Plume

Reply #62 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:33am

It is hereditary. The meds keep me alive and a good diet keeps me healthy, most of the time.

Fuzzball

Reply #63 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:39am

cods wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:31am:

I am sure you have   you should have them if not every 3 months every 6...you can get gadgets for testing your blood sugar levels.......seems to me you could do yourself a favor if you got one of those...

you cant talk eating healthy one day  and do that the next   it doesnt work like that

You can actually get a blood glucose meter and lancing device free. You pay for the testing strips and lancets, which is where they make their money. I am pre-diabetic so check my sugar levels regularly.

Go to the Accu-Chek website.

Life's Journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting,
"Holy Sh!t ... What a Ride!"

Reply #64 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:40am

Nom de Plume wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:33am:

It is hereditary. The meds keep me alive and a good diet keeps me healthy, most of the time.

thats good to know.. however   if your blood is the problem...then it is a biggy health wise..but its good they can help you..

Reply #65 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:40am

a good diet consists of foods found naturally in nature, many disorders are linked to modern dietary factors, I wouldnt be surprised if your "hereditary" illness couldnt be kept in check by changing to a more healthier diet. Diabetes type 2 is an example, this has shown to be cured in a majority of cases by switching to a more natural diet and yet most Doctors will ridicule the idea despite the vast amount of evdience showing otherwise.

Reply #66 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:43am

^^ That's because doctors don't know poo about diet.  It's just not part of their curriculum, there's a gaping hole in the knowledge of the drug-driven medical system.

Reply #67 - May 10th, 2017 at 12:01pm

The biggest money spinners for big Pharma are all conditions caused by poor diet and lifestyle and fairly easily cured by changing diet and lifestyle. The high cholesterol myth makes me laugh.

Reply #68 - May 10th, 2017 at 2:27pm

... wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:43am:
^^ That's because doctors don't know poo about diet.  It's just not part of their curriculum, there's a gaping hole in the knowledge of the drug-driven medical system.

thats not true   anyone I know goes to a doctor  gets nagged to death about their diet.....and no smoking...its top of their list..

maybe you go to the wrong doctor..lolol

Reply #69 - May 10th, 2017 at 2:30pm

cods wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 2:27pm:
... wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:43am:

thats not true   anyone I know goes to a doctor  gets nagged to death about their diet.....and no smoking...its top of their list..

maybe you go to the wrong doctor..lolol

Nah, it's just his wife.

She's a Dietitian, and she continually heaps poo on doctors.

Honky's just parroting what he's been told.

Reply #70 - May 10th, 2017 at 2:36pm

You idiot. I was the friggin dietician and that was before i even met her.

Most thankless job ever. 

Reply #71 - May 10th, 2017 at 2:42pm

... wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 2:36pm:

Most thankless job ever. 

How did I score, Mr Preston?

Nom de Plume

Reply #72 - May 10th, 2017 at 3:11pm

rhino wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:40am:

a good diet consists of foods found naturally in nature, many disorders are linked to modern dietary factors, I wouldnt be surprised if your "hereditary" illness couldnt be kept in check by changing to a more healthier diet. Diabetes type 2 is an example, this has shown to be cured in a majority of cases by switching to a more natural diet and yet most Doctors will ridicule the idea despite the vast amount of evdience showing otherwise.

Yeah., I know. My diet is very healthy, high in carbs, fruit, veg, fibre and fish. Low in fat and red meat.

Reply #73 - May 10th, 2017 at 3:19pm

carbs arent naturally found in nature, not refined carbs anyway and they are the biggest contributor to diabetes.

Nom de Plume

Reply #74 - May 10th, 2017 at 3:40pm

rhino wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 3:19pm:
carbs arent naturally found in nature, not refined carbs anyway and they are the biggest contributor to diabetes.

Potato's, peas, bananas... All yum. All high carb.

Reply #75 - May 10th, 2017 at 4:18pm

Most thankless job ever. 

I went to one once didnt understand a word she said...

I like my spuds and did you know if you cook spuds twice the carb count goes down...nothing like a fry up...

bread and potatoes have always been a staple in our diet...along with butter and salt....people were not fat a 100 years ago.. until they started messing with our food  and diets became all the rage...since then the world has gone barking mad.

Reply #76 - May 10th, 2017 at 4:19pm

Most thankless job ever. 

Being a husband?

Tell me about it!

Reply #77 - May 10th, 2017 at 8:51pm

Nom de Plume wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 3:40pm:

At the most people have been eating those foods for 10,000 years, they are also not refined carbs which are the major cause of type 2 diabetes. We have had an evolutionary history of millions of years of hunter gathering which included only occasional access to high carbohydrate foods.

Reply #78 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:47pm

cods wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:31am:

I have had blood tests for diabetes. My first doctor told me that I don't have diabetes, and he seemed quite sure of himself. My second doctor told me that I have hyperglycemia. That I was borderline diabetic, or pre-diabetic. I took his advice on cutting down on sugar. He gave me a script to get some Metformin to control my blood sugar. I was taking about 120 tablets over a 4 month period. I dropped a heap of weight, going from 128kg to just over 100kg (105kg, I think) in that 4 months.

Then over the next 2 years, my weight balloon back to 120kg. I go to give blood this week. So, I can find out how much weight I have lost. However, I am back on a similar medication to Metformin, and I am doing okay. I think April, I was drinking a lot of Coca Colas, and had gained the weight that I had lost.

I think I might have had my last chocolate bar for a long time. I seem to have lost the taste for them. I can't say the same about colas and such. But I should be able to stop drinking very sugary drinks.

You know, I don't think I have a sugar addiction as such. Perhaps more like a caffeine addiction. Drinking colas because I feel hungry from the caffeine crash. Then eating later to ward off the hunger. Perhaps because I drink a lot more coffee that it is the caffeine that I want and not the sugar.

I might be getting better with my diet. But I think I am a long way off my early 20s diet and exercise. Eating when I am hungry and exercising to tire myself to get a good sleep later.

Reply #79 - May 10th, 2017 at 10:55pm

rhino wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 8:51pm:

At the most people have been eating those foods for 10,000 years, they are also not refined carbs which are the major cause of type 2 diabetes. We have had an evolutionary history of millions of years of hunter gathering which included only occasional access to high carbohydrate foods.

Anyone who thinks that eating fruits, vegetables, and meats (which we have been doing for the last up to a million years) as causing our obesity and diabetes problems is fooling themselves. If I ate the same diet during my teens that I do today, I would be an unhealthy teen. I readopted the healthy eating practices my parents showed me, and I lost a large amount of weight. That was my late teenaged years when I was buying fast food for snacks after work. I had to change. 20 years later, I have to readopt that attitude.

Reply #80 - May 10th, 2017 at 11:05pm

UnSubRocky wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:55pm:

Anyone who thinks that eating fruits, vegetables, and meats (which we have been doing for the last up to a million years) as causing our obesity and diabetes problems is fooling themselves.  .

I didnt say that at all. Keep doing what you are doing, how much weight have you lost in the last 12 months?

Nom de Plume

Reply #81 - May 11th, 2017 at 6:14am

As I understand it, it is the combination of a high fat, high carb diet, which happens to typify the 'feed me quick' frozen section in supermarkets and take away stores, which has given a rise to obesity and diabetes.

Reply #82 - May 11th, 2017 at 9:40pm

rhino wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 11:05pm:
UnSubRocky wrote on May 10th, 2017 at 10:55pm:

Anyone who thinks that eating fruits, vegetables, and meats (which we have been doing for the last up to a million years) as causing our obesity and diabetes problems is fooling themselves.  .

I didnt say that at all. Keep doing what you are doing, how much weight have you lost in the last 12 months?

"Anyone who thinks that eating fruits, vegetables, and meats.... as causing out obestiy problems..." which excludes you from the criticism, seeing that you did not say that at all.

Weight was 119kg. Down a kilo from a month ago. Still have not started going for walks.

Reply #83 - May 11th, 2017 at 9:43pm

I lose a kilo when i have a cr@p and piss in the morning, thats not even worth recording as weight loss.

Reply #84 - May 11th, 2017 at 9:46pm

Nom de Plume wrote on May 11th, 2017 at 6:14am:
As I understand it, it is the combination of a high fat, high carb diet, which happens to typify the 'feed me quick' frozen section in supermarkets and take away stores, which has given a rise to obesity and diabetes.
refined carbs. Bread, pastries, anything with sugar in it.  You can eat high fat all day long and stay thin, do that with carbs and you will get fat. No brainer.

Reply #85 - May 12th, 2017 at 4:35am

rhino wrote on May 11th, 2017 at 9:43pm:
I lose a kilo when i have a cr@p and piss in the morning, thats not even worth recording as weight loss.

I had a huge steak meal about half an hour before I weighed myself. I could have been 118kg.

Nom de Plume

Reply #86 - May 12th, 2017 at 6:17am

rhino wrote on May 11th, 2017 at 9:46pm:
refined carbs. Bread, pastries, anything with sugar in it.  You can eat high fat all day long and stay thin, do that with carbs and you will get fat. No brainer.

Equally true is that a high carb, low fat diet will not make you fat. I avoid pastries as they are high fat. Carbs are easier and cheaper to source than 'good fats'.

Carbs give the body a greater sense of fullness than a high fat diet. Carbs convert to energy more quickly, which is important when seeking to 'break the fast' from the previous night's meal ensuring an alert and responsive body.

Reply #87 - May 12th, 2017 at 7:44am

Nom de Plume wrote on May 12th, 2017 at 6:17am:

Equally true is that a high carb, low fat diet will not make you fat. I avoid pastries as they are high fat. Carbs are easier and cheaper to source than 'good fats'.

no. wrong.

Reply #88 - May 12th, 2017 at 7:59am

The "low fat" con always makes me laugh.

People buy low fat foods thinking they're okay, yet when you look at the ingredients they're usually very high in sugar (which is the killer).

This little deception is one of my favourites:

99% fat free?!  Wow, they must be good for you!

Let's just forget the fact that they're 99% sugar.

Nom de Plume

Reply #89 - May 12th, 2017 at 8:24am

Carbs give the body a greater sense of fullness than a high fat diet. Carbs convert to energy more quickly, which is important when seeking to 'break the fast' from the previous night's meal ensuring an alert and responsive body.

Why is that wrong?

Reply #90 - May 12th, 2017 at 2:33pm

Nom de Plume wrote on May 12th, 2017 at 8:24am:

Why is that wrong?

High carbs can lead to diabetes if you are not able to handle them, fat does not.

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/2016/jan/19/high-carb-...

Reply #91 - May 12th, 2017 at 2:36pm

fat just clogs all your other organs like your liver and heart... and whats left over sits on your hips for ever more. Tongue Tongue

Reply #92 - May 12th, 2017 at 2:46pm

cods wrote on May 12th, 2017 at 2:36pm:
fat just clogs all your other organs like your liver and heart... and whats left over sits on your hips for ever more. Tongue Tongue

Get off your bum and work it off.  Wink

Nom de Plume

Reply #93 - May 12th, 2017 at 3:51pm

Setanta wrote on May 12th, 2017 at 2:33pm:

Why is that wrong?

High carbs can lead to diabetes if you are not able to handle them, fat does not.

Reply #94 - May 12th, 2017 at 5:17pm

I grew a fat face a few years ago. With a mild weight loss over these last 2 years, my face has stretch marks that are mildly visible. There are stretch marks around my waist and on my torso.

Doing a fast one day of the week does help in removing the fat from those fat cells. But you leave yourself with those empty fat cells that you can't refill with a poor diet, if you want to keep the weight off.

Many years ago, I did a major weight loss of 20kg over 2 months. It was sore to sit down. I was carrying around loose skin. I had stretch marks all over my body. But my liver and heart were as healthy as anything. Took a few weeks for my body to adjust, but I was really good when I managed.

Reply #95 - May 12th, 2017 at 6:16pm

Nom de Plume wrote on May 12th, 2017 at 3:51pm:
Setanta wrote on May 12th, 2017 at 2:33pm:

Why is that wrong?

Insulin is the problem, high carbs cause you to produce more insulin, just like sugar because carbs are quickly turned to sugars. Fat does not use insulin to break down. Fat takes more energy to break down.

From that article I posted:
Noakes had reached the state where the body secretes such high levels of the hormone insulin in order to try to process all the sugars in the carbohydrate being consumed that it becomes resistant to it. Prolonged insulin resistance leads to an overload of the pancreatic cells which produce insulin, resulting in drastic cell death and diabetes.

Now if you eat high carb/sugar and high fat, which junk food is, bad. I eat a lot of fat, meat, greens, the carbs I eat are mostly wholemeal, I  eat very little sugar. I am not fat.
« Last Edit: May 12th, 2017 at 6:30pm by Setanta »  

Reply #96 - May 13th, 2017 at 7:37am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 7th, 2017 at 5:55pm:

but grams of sugar per 100 grams didn't really mean a lot so I looked up how many grams in a TeaSpoon...

so all you have to do when working out how much sugar is in your food is divide the amount of sugar by 4...

Healthy??

I think not... yuk...

So anyways....

As I was saying ...

Why doesn't the government change regulations to make companies put how many teaspoons of sugar are in their products????

Its all about being informed so that the consumer can make an informed decision....

Like if you drink heaps of coke and become obese being a drain on our health system....

Then deny them any financial medical support from the public health system because of their own stupidity and gluttony

Reply #97 - May 13th, 2017 at 8:58am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 13th, 2017 at 7:37am:

Healthy??

I think not... yuk...

So anyways....

As I was saying ...

Why doesn't the government change regulations to make companies put how many teaspoons of sugar are in their products????

Its all about being informed so that the consumer can make an informed decision....

Like if you drink heaps of coke and become obese being a drain on our health system....

Then deny them any financial medical support from the public health system because of their own stupidity and gluttony

we have a lot of people who depend on our sugar industry...

and I am sorry but I dont think the govt is responsible in any way for the obesity problems...we have gone mad thinking the govt can fix everything..

we have to take responsibility for our own actions  like how we spend our money and what we put into our very olwn bodies..

after all what we are when we are older is never taken into consideration..... we see what smoking will do to our lungs.. but not what bad eating habits will do to our bodies as we age.......thats  when it comes home to roost...

everything working at a terrific rate to clean our systems  when we are young......... then they are worn out by the time you really depend on them....your poor old heart is a wreck...along with a few other things... all jaded and slow as hell.

Reply #98 - May 13th, 2017 at 2:13pm

Where do I get powdered ranch dressing and powdered au jus (whatever that is.)

Reply #99 - May 13th, 2017 at 3:34pm

Healthy??

I think not... yuk...

So anyways....

As I was saying ...

Have you ever visited a public hospital, and seen the smokers out the front?

Patients in their dressing gowns, sitting in wheelchairs, hooked up to a drip, sucking on a fag.

If I were in charge, those patients would not be allowed back inside the hospital.

Their belongings would be packed up and delivered to them on the footpath, and a taxi would be called to escort them off the premises.

If you don't want to help yourself while you're in hospital, don't expect low-paid doctors and nurses, funded by tax payers' money, to help you either.

Reply #100 - May 13th, 2017 at 4:47pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 13th, 2017 at 3:34pm:

Healthy??

I think not... yuk...

So anyways....

As I was saying ...

Patients in their dressing gowns, sitting in wheelchairs, hooked up to a drip, sucking on a fag.

If I were in charge, those patients would not be allowed back inside the hospital.

Their belongings would be packed up and delivered to them on the footpath, and a taxi would be called to escort them off the premises.

If you don't want to help yourself while you're in hospital, don't expect low-paid doctors and nurses, funded by tax payers' money, to help you either.

100% agree on that case..

I saw a woman the other day that couldn't afford a $1 touch on fee for a ride into town on a bus.. ,

mind you,,,

she just threw away half a cigarette onto the ground that she hadn't finished...

got money for smokes but none for riding on public transport??

then today.. I saw another woman pay $170 for a 6 pack of cigarettes ... say what... ??  Shocked

smokers should pay for their own healthcare

and cafes should be fined for putting out ashtrays and providing "enclosed" smoking areas on the footpath..

Reply #101 - May 13th, 2017 at 5:51pm

Healthy??

I think not... yuk...

So anyways....

As I was saying ...

I was in hospital many moons ago and a doctor came storming out of a room saying I refuse to operate on her until she stops smoking he was red in the face...

a nurse told me he was a heart doctor  and this was her 3rd warning...smoking was killing her..a bit of a thankless job saving someone who doesnt value their life.

Reply #102 - May 13th, 2017 at 6:09pm

Not really. A diet high in saturated fat may do that but other fats may actually help keep your organs healthy.

Reply #103 - May 13th, 2017 at 7:02pm

rhino wrote on May 13th, 2017 at 6:09pm:
Not really. A diet high in saturated fat may do that but other fats may actually help keep your organs healthy.

well bad fats are sadly the ones we all crave  like the chips and takeaway...and even good fat does need to be watched..... we changed after the WAR years.. where just about everything was restricted.. and it didnt do us any harm. at all.. then came pasteurization  of everything...no more things going off after 5 days....we could now keep it for 12 months....and longer.. and then of course came speed everything had to cook faster..or come out of a packet...little did we know.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

I remember cheese coming with a huge piece of rind on it made out of cloth..it was delicious you could smell it..... now its a plastic lump in a plastic bag...with a 6 month useby date on it.

Reply #104 - May 13th, 2017 at 7:41pm

cods wrote on May 13th, 2017 at 5:51pm:

Healthy??

I think not... yuk...

So anyways....

As I was saying ...

I was in hospital many moons ago and a doctor came storming out of a room saying I refuse to operate on her until she stops smoking he was red in the face...

a nurse told me he was a heart doctor  and this was her 3rd warning...smoking was killing her..a bit of a thankless job saving someone who doesnt value their life.

I totally support that doctor.

Reply #105 - May 14th, 2017 at 1:26am

I smoke and I can tell you I'm not the one you should be worrying about. I can outrun, out fitness, take up less seats on a plane and will last a hell of a lot longer than the lard arses that don't eat properly or exercise. You have your priorities wrong. Could Greg really be a bigot after all?
« Last Edit: May 14th, 2017 at 1:34am by Setanta »