Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 
The greatest book ever (Read 11377 times)

Re: The greatest book ever
Reply #60 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 6:53pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 6th, 2024 at 6:38pm:
I read the Epic of Gilgamesh, OK?

The story of Noah and the Ark is arrant nonsense—the whole world was flooded and ALL the animals came on the Ark? Bullshit—none of the New World animals like kangaroos or koala bears etc were on it, let alone spiders, ticks, mites and insects, earthworms yadda yadda. As water vapor arose from the oceans the moisture got returned to the oceans by rivers etc etc. Crap.

A story for credulous children, like TVI™ and Frank.

Being a literalist, myopic mole is your affliction, pal.
And no, you haven't read it. You haven't understood it.

Are Aesop's Fables true, scientifically speaking? Are any parables, myths, legends point to something worth noticing and recognising?

Or did the world start with Darwin and instruments of scientific measurements? We're ALL your ancestors complete morons before the age of Darwin and Einstein?

Reply #61 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 9:23pm

I read it. I understood it. I am someone who reads books, Franco! You should try it sometime.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #62 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 9:33pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 6th, 2024 at 9:23pm:
I read it. I understood it. I am someone who reads books, Franco! You should try it sometime.
of course you haven't. You wouldnt talk like an idiot if you had.

In any case, you come across as a mud-bound literalist clodhopper with no creative imagination.

Sad for someone with a rich but uncomprehended Dutch inheritance.

Reply #63 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 9:37pm

Frank wrote on Aug 6th, 2024 at 9:33pm:
Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 6th, 2024 at 9:23pm:

Well, you come across as a mud-bound literalist clodhopper with no creative imagination.

Sad for someone with a rich but uncomprehended Dutch inheritance.

Monk doesn't realise that much of the Bible is poetic and metaphorical in nature.   Roll Eyes

Reply #64 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 10:34pm

Bible is a mish mash of garbage.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #65 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 10:40pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 6th, 2024 at 10:34pm:
Bible is a mish mash of garbage.

You are ungodly:

Psalm 1  KJV

1 Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.

2 But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

3 And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

4 The ungodly are not so: but are like the chaff which the wind driveth away.

5 Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous.

6 For the Lord knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.

Reply #66 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 11:15pm

I call garbage garbage.

YOU are garbage!

The Bible is evil and is garbage!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #67 - Aug 6th, 2024 at 11:24pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 6th, 2024 at 11:15pm:
I call garbage garbage.

YOU are garbage!

The Bible is evil and is garbage!

Monk,
you're lucky the Spanish Inquisition is not in charge -

"some souls have turned so far from God that pain is the only way to call them back"   -

Reply #68 - Aug 13th, 2024 at 5:40am

Frank wrote on Aug 3rd, 2024 at 11:33am:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 3rd, 2024 at 11:24am:
i disagree. greatest collection of books ever were larry nivens ringworld series

Very niche. Never heard of it  until now.

Greatest 19th century novel - War and Peace.
20th century - Remembrances of thing past.

If it has to be an old book then dantes inferno (larry niven did a really good version of that too)

Reply #69 - Aug 13th, 2024 at 9:08am

I have read both versions of Inferno!

I also read Dante’s second volume, Purgatory. Paradise was just too boring, didn’t get beyond a few pages.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #70 - Aug 15th, 2024 at 5:05am

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 13th, 2024 at 9:08am:
I have read both versions of Inferno!

I also read Dante’s second volume, Purgatory. Paradise was just too boring, didn’t get beyond a few pages.

Yup. Did you read nivens sequel "escape from hell"? Bit more readable than paradise.

Reply #71 - Aug 15th, 2024 at 9:52am

Ah, no, didn’t even know he wrote a sequel!

Copy on its way to me. Thanks Spot!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #72 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 2:44pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 13th, 2024 at 5:40am:
Frank wrote on Aug 3rd, 2024 at 11:33am:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 3rd, 2024 at 11:24am:
i disagree. greatest collection of books ever were larry nivens ringworld series

Very niche. Never heard of it  until now.

Greatest 19th century novel - War and Peace.
20th century - Remembrances of thing past.

If it has to be an old book then dantes inferno (larry niven did a really good version of that too)

"Just then, Prince Andrei rocked up to Anna's joint. He was the pregnant sheila's hubby. Like his missus, he was pretty good looking himself."

Those lines are straight from a new translation of Leo Tolstoy's epic novel War & Peace, set in the world of Russian high society in the early 19th century.  0Except this is a "bogan" version translated by Ander Louis, the pen name of a Melbourne IT worker who moonlights as a writer.

He's poured a metaphorical can of Australian beer over the novel by converting Tolstoy's prose into a lingo that wouldn't sound out of place in the popular Aussie sitcom Kath & Kim.   "It's how you'd tell it down the pub," Louis, whose real name is Andrew Tesoriero, told the BBC..

Characters in his bogan version say "g'day", friends are "mates" and those with questionable ethics are deemed "shonky".

Beautiful ladies are "chicky babes", with one so beguiling she's "hot as a tin roof in Alice" – a nod to the extreme heat of Alice Springs' desert landscape.

One prince is an "absolute true-blue legend" whose vibrant eyes "blazed like a bushfire" while another is a "bit of a yobbo" who thinks others are "carrying on like a pack of galahs".

While his version is peppered with plenty of profanity – which the BBC can't publish – part of the appeal is to make the book more accessible.

"The best feedback I've found is people saying how much easier it is to understand what's going on," he says.

Louis likens himself to Pierre, the main protagonist in War & Peace, who represents the "everyman" as the illegitimate son of a rich aristocrat who inherits a huge fortune, catapulting him into Russian high society.

He says he feels like he's the "bumbling buffoon" in the "walled garden that is traditional publishing" and that he's committed a kind of "literary heist".

"I've leaned over the fence… and just pinched the crown jewel - their most revered book - and taken it down the pub."

And what would Tolstoy – who, though born a noble, later in life renounced his privileged upbringing and wealth – think of the bogan version?  "I actually think he would get a kick out it," Louis says.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cx2lkjd2kmdo.amp

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5