time for Brandis to go (Read 5861 times)

Re: time for Brandis to go
Reply #15 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:26am

And now even MORE LABOR CORRUPTION!!!!!!

Labor and the unions are really just one vast cesspool of corruption and ineligible to be on the Tribunal investigating CORRUPTION.

Queensland minister Leanne Donaldson resigns over unpaid bills
SARAH VOGLER Journalist Brisbane SARAH ELKS Queensland political reporter Brisbane The Australian12:00AM November 4, 2016

Leanne Donaldson

Queensland’s minority Labor government was in disarray last night after the shock resignation of agriculture minister Leanne Donaldson in the face of an evolving scandal over unpaid bills and unregistered driving.

The first-term MP, who has been in the cabinet for only 11 months, quit the ministry after being confronted with revelations that she had been driving her car while unregistered.

The move came a day after the ALP paid her outstanding $8000 rates bill — uncovered after an ­investigation by The Australian — before Bundaberg Regional Council moved to sell her Burnett Heads home to recoup the debt.

“This morning I met the Premier and Deputy Premier to discuss the issue of my unpaid property rates, and was asked to advise if there were any other issues of which they should be aware,” Ms Donaldson told parliament yesterday. “Following question time I became aware that my vehicle registration had not been paid by the due date last week, and I took immediate steps to rectify this issue. However, last week I had driven the vehicle on the day after the registration had expired. Clearly this does not meet the high standards set by the Premier for all members of the government. I therefore informed the Premier tonight of my decision to resign as a minister.”

Ms Donaldson will remain as the MP for Bundaberg, ensuring the minority Labor government can maintain its slim grip on power in the state’s hung parliament, with the support of Speaker Peter Wellington.

Just hours before her resignation Ms Donaldson had dodged an opposition question over whether she had any other unpaid debts. The Liberal National Party then asked Ms Palaszczuk, who said she could not guarantee that there were no other debts.

“The Deputy Premier and I have made it very clear to the minister this morning that there will be no more chances,” Ms Palaszczuk told parliament.

“I am not advised of any other outstanding debts. If there are any and you have them, please let us know.”

Ms Donaldson then discovered the unpaid car registration bill.

Ms Donaldson, who had commanded a taxpayer-funded salary of more than $321,000 a year as agriculture minister, revealed yesterday the ALP had stepped in to pay her outstanding $7893.78 council rates bill.

“Due to personal circumstances, I was unable to immediately pay the bill myself,” Ms Donaldson said of the ALP’s ­intervention.

“The Queensland branch of the ALP settled the account with council yesterday and I will repay the ALP next week.”

The rates payment was made by Labor without the knowledge of Ms Palaszczuk, who told parliament the first-term MP had covered the bill herself and insisted that Ms Donaldson was on her last warning over the debt. The Premier’s office said Ms Palaszczuk was made aware Labor paid the debt only during question time and clarified her comments. She did not mention Labor’s intervention in her clarification, however.

Ms Donaldson did not offer any explanation as to why her rates were not paid for at least three years, simply telling parliament it was not deliberate.

The Australian obtained court documents revealing Ms Donaldson had briefly been the subject of court action over outstanding mortgage repayments. She yesterday said that occurred in 2014 when she fell on hard times.

“In 2014, as a single mother and at the time looking for work and eventually only working part-time, I fell behind in some of my mortgage payments,” she told parliament. “The non-payment was for a relatively small amount and it was settled quickly. This was a very difficult time for me and my family. I know what it is like to do it tough.”

District Court documents allege that Ms Donaldson failed to make monthly repayments on her Wide Bay Australia bank mortgage and by April 22, 2014, was in arrears by $1419.03.

That money was meant to be paid 12 days earlier.

She was sent a default notice demanding payment within 35 days or warning that Wide Bay would take possession of the home and sue for the cash owed.

The Wide Bay lawsuit was discontinued in September 2014.

As her rates bill was accruing, Ms Donaldson appeared in her local paper, the Bundaberg News Mail, proudly showing off the 1973 Torana she had just restored. “I’ve tried to restore it in the original condition with the factory GMH paint,” she told the newspaper in May. “I picked the paint, I bought the wheels and I bought nearly all the new parts that are on the car.”

She was also forced to correct her pecuniary interest register after The Australian discovered that she had not declared her mortgage.

While her pecuniary interest register declared her Burnett Heads home, four bank accounts, two motor vehicles, and gifted memberships of the Qantas Chairman’s Lounge and Virgin’s “The Club” it made no mention of the mortgage.

Continues overleaf as Paywall involved
« Last Edit: Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:35am by juliar »  

Reply #16 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:27am

Continuation as Paywall involved

Under parliament’s rules, MPs must declare any liability over $18,370.

A senior Labor source said Ms Donaldson, a member of the Left faction, was promoted to the ministry in a junior role last year in a bid to ensure ­adequate CFMEU representation around the cabinet table following the resignation of former police minister Jo-Ann Miller. She is a member of the CFMEU’s construction arm while Ms Miller is a member of the mining arm. The revelations have caused more friction ­between the Left and Right within Labor’s parliamentary wing.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/state-politics/queensland-minis...

Some of the 97 COMMENTS exposing blatant Labor corruption

Bruce 6 MINUTES AGO
The question is: If a person is parachuted into a seat and gets 340k salary and then can't pay her normal bills, (which appear at the low end of the scale) claiming personal difficulties, then who in fact is receiving this money. Is the salary going to the people/organisation that put her where she is to repay for the position and what other favours was she expected to perform. The whole current government sit there at the whim of the union. Like John Howard, Campbell newman looks pretty good in the honesty and integrity stakes!

Anne 9 MINUTES AGO
She is first term politician and got Agriculture Minister....talk about job for the unions...and what an utter insult to us in rural and regional Queensland having a total wallette like her....good bye. Anne

anthony 4 MINUTES AGO
@Anne I was thinking that as well . What an absolute insult . Surely to God the position of Agriculture minister in any Australian government must be an important one. It is extraordinary to think that it should be given to a first term politician and union stooge, let alone someone who can't be bothered paying their bills.

Ian 14 MINUTES AGO
It speaks volumes about what Qld Labor thinks about the states agriculture sector when they put such an incompetent shambles of an individual in charge. 

Bruce 14 MINUTES AGO
She was only there because of her union support. Agriculture, what's that?

Peter 5 MINUTES AGO
@Bruce That's a culture which agris with everything the CFMEU wants.

Jeffery 16 MINUTES AGO
From memory there were only 8 Labor Party members in Parliament prior to the election that bought this lot to power, Queensland had a functioning Government with a Premier who was unpopular, the Government was dealing with the State debt problem and things were going relatively well on the economic front (given the mining downturn).  But that was not enough for the people of Queensland; they had to chuck out a functioning Government, bring in a bunch of untested people with little to any qualification to run a Government effectively (let's not think about the basis of their selection by the Party), and they somehow thought that all would be O.K.

As a Queenslander born and bred, I just shake my head in disbelief.

Jeremy 17 MINUTES AGO
Is it any surprise that Palaszczuk wants to sink our state through a 50% renewables target when duds like this were made ministers of the crown?
Talent pool or Talent puddle?

Rod 8 MINUTES AGO   Talent fool

Christopher 18 MINUTES AGO
This is not about her being a woman. Its about her ability to manage - which she clearly cannot do.
$321k per annum and she can't pay her council rates or car insurance? And Labor think she is fit to be a minister?

BruceGunn 21 MINUTES AGO
Getting women into parliament is an appropriate objective and increasing the number of women in Cabinet is also a step in the right direction. But lowering the bar to have women like Leanne Donaldson endorsed, elected and then promoted to Cabinet does irreparable damage to a noble concept.

On merit it seems clear that Donaldson does not have the financial management skills to run a chook raffle. Queensland voters must surely be in despair of a government that would not qualify as a decent kindergarten.

Peter 12 MINUTES AGO
@BruceGunn And she's not the only one.  Shannon Fentiman hasn't a clue either, but at least she has the strategy off pat of complaining about misogyny when challenged about her incompetence. Palaszczuk's vacant eyes and meaningless pronouncements say it all.  However, I must admit the biggest dud is a male; Curtis Pitt wouldn't know if his buttocks were on fire.

Daniel 28 MINUTES AGO
More  proof  the Labor governments  are the puppets of the CFMEU . A bogan who can't pay her rate , mortgage or car  rego on  340 grand a year and these people are running the state !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Geoffrey 30 MINUTES AGO
It says a lot when Labor in Queensland considers agriculture a junior ministry and puts someone of Donaldson's caliber in charge.

Merv 8 MINUTES AGO
@Geoffrey It's all a joke to them, and highlights the utter contempt they have for the Queensland voters. An absolute disgrace !!!!

Ian 2 MINUTES AGO @Merv @Geoffrey the elitist left at work!

Lester 34 MINUTES AGO
Cant pay her rates so the ALP pay's it for her, Sam Dastyari doesn't want to pay 'his' bills so get's the Chinese to pay them for him ........ hmmmmmm, can anyone see a problem with the ALP by any chance ....????

« Last Edit: Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:34am by juliar »  

Reply #17 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:55am

juliar wrote on Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:26am:

Posting offtopic deflections shows your fear of scrutiny of the Liberals. You're either not very bright, or you're doing it on purpose.

Reply #18 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:56am

juliar wrote on Nov 3rd, 2016 at 5:42pm:
They all look pretty fair dinkum. Not much Lefty corruption to be seen.

It is an anti-corruption tribunal so you can't have corrupt Lefties on it.

So why is it filled with corrupt members of the Liberal party?

And here's the clincher - some of these people are also paying kickbacks to the Liberal party by way of political donations. That is corruption.

Reply #19 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 7:16am

Heavens!!! Politically correct Bammy is annoyed by all this exposure of Lefty corruption which totally justifies Senator Brandis's selection of pure as the driven snow unsullied by corruption candidates.

Belgarion

Reply #20 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 7:26am

I despise them all. Liberal, Labor, Green, left, right, centre, they are all either outright corrupt or cynically self interested.  The lib/lab duopoly needs to be destroyed. A parliament made up of independents is what we need.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #21 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 7:31am

Bam wrote on Nov 4th, 2016 at 6:55am:

Posting offtopic deflections shows your fear of scrutiny of the Liberals. You're not very bright

Correct

Reply #22 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 7:39am

you don't even know what corruption is you ijut

Reply #23 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 8:57am

But Mr Smith I can learn just by observing your beloved Labor's vast cesspool of corruption as revealed by the TURC.

Just think how Gillard protected Thommo and Slipper just to stay in "govt" and continue stuffing up Australia.

Just think of the chaos there would be right now if Socialist Shorty and the grotty Greenies had got back in!!!!!!!

ISIS ISLAMICS pouring in across Australia's wide open borders. The Carbon Tax back. Horrific foreign govt debt soaring to $1 trillion. Loss of AAA Credit rating. And general desecration of the Australian economy.

It must have been an ACT of GOD to protect Australia from more destruction by the evil Socialists.

Reply #24 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 9:01am

juliar wrote on Nov 4th, 2016 at 8:57am:
But Mr Smith I can learn just by observing your beloved Labor's vast cesspool of corruption as revealed by the TURC.

Just think how Gillard protected Thommo and Slipper just to stay in "govt" and continue stuffing up Australia.

Just think of the chaos there would be right now if Socialist Shorty and the grotty Greenies had got back in!!!!!!!

ISIS ISLAMICS pouring in across Australia's wide open borders. The Carbon Tax back. Horrific foreign govt debt soaring to $1 trillion. Loss of AAA Credit rating. And general desecration of the Australian economy.

It must have been an ACT of GOD to protect Australia from more destruction by the evil Socialists.

Again you post deflections. Your fear is very obvious. You know that Brandis is in a lot of trouble so you deflect.

Brandis is corrupt. Brandis has misled Parliament. Brandis has got to go.

Reply #25 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 9:13am

juliar wrote on Nov 4th, 2016 at 8:57am:
But Mr Smith I can learn

there's your first lie

you're a rightard ... as a result you are incapable of learning

Reply #26 - Nov 4th, 2016 at 9:19am

Belgarion wrote on Nov 4th, 2016 at 7:26am:
I despise them all. Liberal, Labor, Green, left, right, centre, they are all either outright corrupt or cynically self interested.  The lib/lab duopoly needs to be destroyed. A parliament made up of independents is what we need.

Nope!

SA tried that, was an absolute disaster so the Indies formed Parties and govt could go on.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #27 - Nov 10th, 2016 at 2:13pm

Brandis forced to back down on direction

Attorney-General George Brandis has been forced to withdraw his controversial change to how ministers seek legal advice.

A Labor-dominated Senate inquiry this week found Senator Brandis did not consult Solicitor-General Justin Gleeson, who resigned over the debacle, before banning ministers from seeking his advice without notifying him first.

Labor had planned to disallow the amendment on Thursday, with the support of the Greens and Nick Xenophon Team but Senator Brandis has withdrawn it before the Senate forced him to.

[url]
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/33167073/brandis-forced-to-back-down-on-direction/#p
age1[/url]

Reply #28 - Nov 10th, 2016 at 2:43pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 10th, 2016 at 2:13pm:
Brandis forced to back down on direction

Attorney-General George Brandis has been forced to withdraw his controversial change to how ministers seek legal advice.

A Labor-dominated Senate inquiry this week found Senator Brandis did not consult Solicitor-General Justin Gleeson, who resigned over the debacle, before banning ministers from seeking his advice without notifying him first.

Labor had planned to disallow the amendment on Thursday, with the support of the Greens and Nick Xenophon Team but Senator Brandis has withdrawn it before the Senate forced him to.

[url]
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/33167073/brandis-forced-to-back-down-on-direction/#p
age1[/url]

This link will work:

This bloke ought be sacked, but he won't be.  His present position (explaining the withdrawal of the direction) is that the incoming Solicitor- General might have views on it.

If that direction was relevant to the proper function of the SG and the relationship the SG ought have with the AG, the applicants would have been told that the direction stands and only those willing to work within its terms need apply for the job.

This was all about getting rid of Gleeson.

Brandis ought resign (no chance, or he ought be sacked...also no chance.  Integrity no longer exists, and not only in the Australian Parliament.)