Masters has gone bankrupt (Read 2926 times)

Masters has gone bankrupt
Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:05pm

Just heard on the TV -
Masters has caused Woolworth's to lose $1 billion.

I've always wanted one of those fancy Dremel kits.
They cost $199 at both Masters & Bunnings.

https://www.masters.com.au/product/900046360/dremel-4000-high-performance-rotary...

Maybe I can get one for $50 at a closing down sale?

Re: Masters has gone bankrupt
Reply #1 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:07pm

A rotary tool?

Sounds about right.

Reply #2 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:10pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:07pm:
A rotary tool?

Sounds about right.

All real men need a Dremel - it's an essential workshop tool.

Reply #3 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:13pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:10pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:07pm:
A rotary tool?

Sounds about right.

All real men need a Dremel - it's an essential workshop tool.

https://www.masters.com.au/media/MASTERS/Product/1000x1000/x900046360_0_9999_v1_...

You're a workshop tool, Booby.

Reply #4 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:15pm

Greggy - withdraw that or I'll report you as a troll.

Reply #5 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:16pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:15pm:
Greggy - withdraw that or I'll report you as a troll.

You want me to withdraw my rotary tool?

Reply #6 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:21pm

Gweggy should be banned for continually sexual  harassing male board members all day long...

Get a job ya dopey bum

Reply #7 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:33pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:21pm:
Gweggy should be banned for continually sexual  harassing male board members all day long...

Get a job ya dopey bum

where's the sexual harassment?

Reply #8 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:35pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:33pm:

Get a job ya dopey bum

He sees what he wants to see.

Reply #9 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:43pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:33pm:

Get a job ya dopey bum

He shows a picture of Dr Smith - a homosexual character from a sci fi series.

Reply #10 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:52pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:43pm:

so showing a picture of an actor who happens to have been gay s now classed as 'sexual harassment'?

geez you people are idiots.

Reply #11 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:53pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:52pm:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 3:43pm:

so showing a picture of an actor who happens to have been gay s now classed as 'sexual harassment'?

geez you people are idiots.

As I said: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1472101545/3#3

Reply #12 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 6:43pm

I just wanted to tell the members of Ozpolitic that there could be
some bargains at Masters soon.

Reply #13 - Aug 25th, 2016 at 6:51pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 25th, 2016 at 6:43pm:
I just wanted to tell the members of Ozpolitic that there could be
some bargains at Masters soon.

Not that the thousands of Masters employees who are about to become unemployed will be able to afford them, hey Booby?

Reply #14 - Aug 26th, 2016 at 7:20pm

I'm gunna get me one of them Dremels.

Reply #15 - Aug 27th, 2016 at 7:19am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 26th, 2016 at 7:20pm:

nice one bobby..

hope you get a good deal..

I might go out to our "Rays" outdoor shop as its closing down as well...

lots of goodies out there at the right price Smiley

Reply #16 - Aug 27th, 2016 at 10:46am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 27th, 2016 at 7:19am:

nice one bobby..

When was that announced Mr M?   I need to stuff for the van.  I always found them a bit exy, might go and have a second look

Reply #17 - Aug 27th, 2016 at 11:14am

nice one bobby..

Yes - it's worth a look around &
to take a notepad with you to write down what you'd like & the price now.  Wink

Reply #18 - Aug 27th, 2016 at 2:41pm

is this all of them? or is it just your local one?

Reply #19 - Aug 27th, 2016 at 6:20pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 27th, 2016 at 2:41pm:

is this all of them? or is it just your local one?

our local one plus two or three others..

Frankston rings a bell.. check it out..

there was this huge tent for like 50 bucks... 3x3 meter shelter for $60 bucks...

car fridges sold out..

still heaps of stuff at least 40% off... I might wait another week to see how desperate they are to get rid of some stuff that I only "SORTTA" would like..

eskies... cheap as chips..

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/258199
« Last Edit: Aug 27th, 2016 at 6:27pm by President Elect, The Mechanic »  

Reply #20 - Sep 7th, 2016 at 11:32pm

The 15 minutes I was there before closing time, I could not find anything to buy that was worthwhile. That with a 10% discount on ticketed prices. I did not even feel like buying the large lawn seeds that I really needed for the front yard. Geez, if that's what they have, it is no wonder that they could not make a sale to break even.

Reply #21 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 6:43am

I will go & see Masters this weekend & check out any bargains.

At the very least -  I'll write down the prices now.

Reply #22 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 6:44am

Get a job ya dopey bum

Who would employ a queer like Greggy?

Reply #23 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:07am

Bobby. wrote on Sep 8th, 2016 at 6:43am:

Still early ... at this point in time it's only 10% off

as it gets closer to closing the discount will get bigger. The trick is not to get to greedy or what you want will be gone

Reply #24 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 6:36pm

I got a $100+ dollar esky with wheels..

inside it, it also had another smaller esky and also an insulated 2lt drink bottle...

all for $35 Smiley

Reply #25 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:22pm

John Smith wrote on Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:07am:
Bobby. wrote on Sep 8th, 2016 at 6:43am:

Still early ... at this point in time it's only 10% off

as it gets closer to closing the discount will get bigger. The trick is not to get to greedy or what you want will be gone

I'm gunna get me one of them $199 Dremels for under $50.

Reply #26 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:39pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:22pm:

I think they'll sell out long before they get to $50 .

Reply #27 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:41pm

John Smith wrote on Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:39pm:

I hope not - I want a bargain.

already reduced:
https://www.masters.com.au/product/900046360/dremel-4000-high-performance-rotary...

Dremel 4000 High Performance Rotary Tool Kit F0134000NJ Black
$179-10

Reply #28 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:43pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:41pm:

and I want to join a threesome with Angelina Jollie, Charlize Theron and Megan Fox .

I guess we're all in for some disappointment

Reply #29 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:45pm

John Smith wrote on Sep 8th, 2016 at 8:43pm:

and I want to join a threesome with Angelina Jollie, Charlize Theron and Megan Fox .

I guess we're all in for some disappointment

It's already reduced!

Reply #30 - Sep 23rd, 2016 at 8:42pm

already reduced:

Dremel 4000 High Performance Rotary Tool Kit F0134000NJ Black
$179-10

Going down:

$169-15
You Save $29.85

I went to Masters tonight.

There are no bargains that you would call a steal yet.
It's more say 15% off ticketed price.

Reply #31 - Sep 30th, 2016 at 6:17pm

Went to Masters again today -

that Dremel was still $169-15 & there was only one left .   Cry

The place was packed but there was only a small discount on everything I looked at.

Reply #32 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:14pm

Alas - there is nothing left at Masters now.
The shelves have been emptied by all the vultures.
I didn't end up getting a Dremel for a low price.

There were many other items that I needed & I ended up going to Bunnings
& paying full price for them.

So much for a sale!

Belgarion

Reply #33 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:18pm

I went to Masters for the first and only time a couple of weeks ago.  It seemed to me that their stuff was no cheaper, and in some cases more expensive than Bunnings or Mitre 10. No wonder they went broke.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #34 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:19pm

Belgarion wrote on Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:18pm:
I went to Masters for the first and only time a couple of weeks ago.  It seemed to me that their stuff was no cheaper, and in some cases more expensive than Bunnings or Mitre 10. No wonder they went broke.

I found that their prices were the same down to the last cent as Bunnings - they copied each others prices.

Reply #35 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:21pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:14pm:

So much for a sale!

I got a 62L Icebox for $125 ($449 at BCF ) and a pop up gazebo for $97 (normally $190 )

I'm stoked.

Reply #36 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:23pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:21pm:

So much for a sale!

I got a 62L Icebox for $125 ($449 at BCF ) and a pop up gazebo for $97 (normally $190 )

I'm stoked.

Yay - someone got a bargain.

Reply #37 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:37pm

So much for a sale!

Good to see you're so concerned about the thousands of workers losing their jobs, Booby.

Reply #38 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 5:34pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 5th, 2016 at 4:37pm:

So much for a sale!

Good to see you're so concerned about the thousands of workers losing their jobs, sir Bobby.

see my concerns here:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1478293455/0#13

Reply #39 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 5:37pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 5th, 2016 at 5:34pm:

So much for a sale!

Good to see you're so concerned about the thousands of workers losing their jobs, sir Bobby.

see my concerns here:

Nothing about the thousands of Masters' employees losing their jobs in that link, Booby.

It seems you're more interested in getting a cheap Weber, than you are in people losing their jobs ... cars ... homes ... families.

Reply #40 - Nov 5th, 2016 at 5:52pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 5th, 2016 at 5:37pm:
Bobby. wrote on Nov 5th, 2016 at 5:34pm:

So much for a sale!

see my concerns here:

Nothing about the thousands of Masters' employees losing their jobs in that link, sir Bobby.

It seems you're more interested in getting a cheap Weber, than you are in people losing their jobs ... cars ... homes ... families.

There is now  poof:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1478293455/0#14

jobs lost:

Woolworths shuts Masters, sells the property, and now 7700 jobs are on the line

Woolworths will gain about $1.5 billion from exiting its home improvement division, including selling the property of the troubled Masters chain.

The company says it will work hard to find Masters employees jobs within the group or will pay full redundancy. There are 7,700 staff in the home improvement businesses

The retailers says Masters will cease trading by December 11.

http://www.businessinsider.com.au/woolworths-is-about-to-announce-a-deal-on-its-...

Reply #41 - Nov 6th, 2016 at 9:12am

Good to see you're so concerned about the thousands of workers losing their jobs, Booby.

As I understand it, all employees are being offered other position within the Woolworths group of companies.

Sure, it'll mean they'll stop hiring 'new' employees at Big W or Wollies for a while, but at least those at Masters will have something to go to .

Reply #42 - Nov 6th, 2016 at 9:30am

John Smith wrote on Nov 6th, 2016 at 9:12am:

As I understand it, all employees are being offered other position within the Woolworths group of companies.

They're offering jobs as checkout chicks etc. (which means a reduction in pay), or redundancies.

Booby doesn't care, though, as long as he gets his cheap Weber.

Reply #43 - Nov 6th, 2016 at 9:37am

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 6th, 2016 at 9:30am:
John Smith wrote on Nov 6th, 2016 at 9:12am:

They're offering jobs as checkout chicks etc. (which means a reduction in pay), or redundancies.

Booby doesn't care, though, as long as he gets his cheap Weber.

I believe (although not sure how accurate the information is) that the reduction in pay stems from the fact that working in Masters is classified as 'warehouse' work, whilst working in a supermarket is 'retail' ... retail pay rates are lower than warehouse.