Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Merrylands Police Station (Read 3539 times)
Wolseley

Re: Merrylands Police Station
Reply #30 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:11pm

Gordon wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:40am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:36am:
Gordon wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:24am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:01am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am:
Gordon wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:55am:
Quantum wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:52am:
I'm amazed how little attention this is getting. Sure it is making the headlines and I'm not claiming that it's being ignored, but it's being treated almost like it's an every day event.

A bloke filled his car with gas bottles, set himself on fire, and drove into a police station.... In Australia!

When did police stations become forts?

Ever been to Merrylands? It's not exactly merry.

I've never been to Merrylands.

Why?

Because as far as I'm concerned, there's nothing out there except for factories and bogans.

Gordy, have you ever been there?

Sounds like you have lol. Tongue

I've been to nearly every corner of Sydney, I did go to Bardwell Valley for the first time a few weeks ago.

Merrylands is the shooting capital of Australia and probably the biggest sheethole in the country.

Shooting capital of Australia eh?

Yayess.

I don't think that Gordon has ever been to Merrylands, given the way that he is portraying it.

It might have its fair share of "bogans" but there are hardly any factories.

It also has a reasonably varied make-up when it comes to the ethnic groups that reside there.  Yes, there are a fair few Lebanese Australians, but quite a few of them are Lebanese Christians, not Muslims, although there are more Muslims than there used to be.

As for the shootings, they are mostly the result of a war between two families that are involved in the illegal drug trade who are, I believe, Lebanese Muslims, but it is a dispute between rivals, not a terrorist war against the community.  They tend to target each other and leave everyone else pretty much alone.

I would feel pretty safe walking around Merrylands after 10pm, although I wouldn't say the same of some other suburbs.

Reply #31 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:14pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:39am:
Apparently, the guy in the 2nd incident was known to police; he suffered from a mental illness and was recently issued with an AVO by the police.

Source: 7 Sunrise

Ah.

Reply #32 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:22pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 11:19am:
John Smith wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 10:31am:
I bet all the islamaphobes are so annoyed he's not a muslim

Good chance though he's muslim ...

The station had been recently fortified after receiving threats including letters threatening attacks on ‘non-Muslims’ and pictures of ISIS fighters holding severed heads.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3701126/Merrylands-police-station-car-park-targeted-suspected-terror-attack.html#ixzz4F617zoiv
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

unlikely ... he was Czech . He was due to appear in court this morning for an AVO order and flipped

Reply #33 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:41pm

John Smith wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:22pm:
unlikely ... he was Czech . He was due to appear in court this morning for an AVO order and flipped

You need to update yourself.

Being registered as a 'Czech' can mean anything - from being an immigrant Somali Negro, to a fundamentalist Iraqi Muslim, to a people-eating Pacific Islander - just as it is here in Australia.

Reply #34 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:56pm

Quantum wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:06am:
mothra wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:56am:
I'm amazed how little attention this is getting. Sure it is making the headlines and I'm not claiming that it's being ignored, but it's being treated almost like it's an every day event.

A bloke filled his car with gas bottles, set himself on fire, and drove into a police station.... In Australia!

When the hell did this kind of thing become a; "man tried to blow up cop shop, and in other news..." like it was just some house that accidentally burst down and the media are simply reporting it? Did you see the fence around that place? When did police stations become forts?

If it's any consolation, the incident made breaking news early this morning on Ch 7.

Why, on god's green earth, would you admit to watching Sunrise?

Seriously, just bugger off. Same snobbish BS from you every day.

Stop pretending that only news sources that you approve off can be referred to.

Sunrise ...  "news sources"   Grin

Reply #35 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:58pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 10:07am:
I went to Merrylands about 6 months ago and my mate (who was driving) got in a verbal with a car that pulled out in front of him Gordon. The female Arabic driver  said something to me and took off . My mate who   was from Granville  knows quite a bit of Arabic. Apparently she called me "an aussie pig". Merrylands and Guildford are 2 of the most dangerous places I know. Extremely dangerous!!!!

She knew you then?

"A GANG war over drug turf that has been simmering for two decades has erupted into a series of public shootings that has turned Fairfield in western Sydney into Australia’s most dangerous suburb." The 'burbs

Reply #36 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:05pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:58pm:
I went to Merrylands about 6 months ago and my mate (who was driving) got in a verbal with a car that pulled out in front of him Gordon. The female Arabic driver  said something to me and took off . My mate who   was from Granville  knows quite a bit of Arabic. Apparently she called me "an aussie pig". Merrylands and Guildford are 2 of the most dangerous places I know. Extremely dangerous!!!!

She knew you then?

"A GANG war over drug turf that has been simmering for two decades has erupted into a series of public shootings that has turned Fairfield in western Sydney into Australia’s most dangerous suburb." The 'burbs

So trying to blow up a whole police station with the people in it isn't a terrorist attack???? Stinking apologist.

Quantum

Reply #37 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:09pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:56pm:
Quantum wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:06am:
mothra wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:56am:

When the hell did this kind of thing become a; "man tried to blow up cop shop, and in other news..." like it was just some house that accidentally burst down and the media are simply reporting it? Did you see the fence around that place? When did police stations become forts?

If it's any consolation, the incident made breaking news early this morning on Ch 7.

Why, on god's green earth, would you admit to watching Sunrise?

Seriously, just bugger off. Same snobbish BS from you every day.

Stop pretending that only news sources that you approve off can be referred to.

Sunrise ...  "news sources"   Grin

Another news snob.

How retarded do you have to be to deny something is happening because it doesn't come from one of your own approved news sources? Just last week some idiot denied someone ran over dozens of people with a truck in France because it was reported by the daily mail first? Madness! Now we have you and mothra making a joke of sunrise for simply reporting that someone drove a car filed with gas cans into a police station. What kind of idiots thinks something hasn't happened until their own news source reports it?

Oh, and let's not forget that your the idiot that puts up quotes and videos from the project. What kind of hypocritical dipshit ignores news reports from one commercial channel while defending opinion pieces from another commercial channel? Idiots like you and mothra!

Reply #38 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:09pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:41pm:
John Smith wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 1:22pm:

You need to update yourself.

Being registered as a 'Czech' can mean anything - from being an immigrant Somali Negro, to a fundamentalist Iraqi Muslim, to a people-eating Pacific Islander - just as it is here in Australia.

no sh1t sherlock ... I said unlikely, I didn't say it was impossible

why aren't you on your Canadian crochet forum?

Reply #39 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:10pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:05pm:

She knew you then?

So trying to blow up a whole police station with the people in it isn't a terrorist attack???? Stinking apologist.

not necessarily, no

anything else you need to know?

Reply #40 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:11pm

John Smith wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:10pm:

She knew you then?

not necessarily, no

So if a couple of skinheads tried to blow up a police station with all in  it would that be a terrorist attack??

Reply #41 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:15pm

She knew you then?

So trying to blow up a whole police station with the people in it isn't a terrorist attack????

Depends on his motives.

We don't seem to know what they are yet.

"When asked if the man had any known links to terrorist organisations or radical views, Mr Clifford said there was "nothing to indicate that he is linked to anyone else, but that will form part of our inquiry".

"He said "there's still a lot of unknowns", and police continued to investigate the man's motivations."

terrorist attack: "a surprise attack involving the deliberate use of violence against civilians in the hope of attaining political or religious aims".

Surprise? Yes.

Violence? Yep.

Hope of attaining political or religious aims. No idea.

If that was his aim, then it would most certainly be a terrorist attack.

If he's just upset about a parking ticket or something, I don't think it could be classified as terrorism.

Let's wait and see, hey?

Reply #42 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:16pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:11pm:

She knew you then?

not necessarily, no

So if a couple of skinheads tried to blow up a police station with all in  it would that be a terrorist attack??

not necessarily, no

a 'terrorist act' is an act, or a threat to commit. an act, that is done with the intention to coerce. or influence the public or any government by. intimidation to advance a political, religious or.
https://www.google.com.au/#q=terrorist+act

he wasn't trying to coerce or influence the govt or public, he wanted to kill himself and take out a few cops while he was doing it. It's nothing but homicidal revenge.

Not every stupid act is an act of terrorism.

Reply #43 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:17pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:15pm:

She knew you then?

So trying to blow up a whole police station with the people in it isn't a terrorist attack????

Depends on his motives.

We don't seem to know what they are yet.

"When asked if the man had any known links to terrorist organisations or radical views, Mr Clifford said there was "nothing to indicate that he is linked to anyone else, but that will form part of our inquiry".

"He said "there's still a lot of unknowns", and police continued to investigate the man's motivations."

terrorist attack: "a surprise attack involving the deliberate use of violence against civilians in the hope of attaining political or religious aims".

Surprise? Yes.

Violence? Yep.

Hope of attaining political or religious aims. No idea.

If that was his aim, then it would most certainly be a terrorist attack.

If he's just upset about a parking ticket or something, I don't think it could be classified as terrorism.

Let's wait and see, hey?

Aren't you alarmed by this incident?????You seem to be downplaying it. It's fa rking unbelievable!!!

Reply #44 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:17pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 2:15pm:
Depends on his motives.

he was due to appear in court this morning to fight an AVO against his brother and mother

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6