Pages: 1 2 3 ... 6
Merrylands Police Station (Read 3546 times)

Merrylands Police Station
Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:37am

To put this in context,

Homes in Sydney's west linked to two families known to police have been raided after threats were allegedly made to shoot up a police station.

It is understood the threats were directed at Merrylands police station.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/house-raided-in-police-operation-in-merrylands-2015120...

And yesterday

A man has been arrested after a "very deliberate" attack in which he allegedly set himself on fire and attempted to drive into a western Sydney police station.

In an incident which began about 7pm on Thursday, police noticed a man aged in his 60s parked in the driveway of Merrylands police station, Assistant Commissioner Denis Clifford said.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/'very-deliberate-attack-at-merrylands-police-station-i...

Re: Merrylands Police Station
Reply #1 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:39am

Apparently, the guy in the 2nd incident was known to police; he suffered from a mental illness and was recently issued with an AVO by the police.

Source: 7 Sunrise

Reply #2 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:48am

Gordon wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:37am:
To put this in context,

Homes in Sydney's west linked to two families known to police have been raided after threats were allegedly made to shoot up a police station.

It is understood the threats were directed at Merrylands police station.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/house-raided-in-police-operation-in-merrylands-2015120...

And yesterday

A man has been arrested after a "very deliberate" attack in which he allegedly set himself on fire and attempted to drive into a western Sydney police station.

In an incident which began about 7pm on Thursday, police noticed a man aged in his 60s parked in the driveway of Merrylands police station, Assistant Commissioner Denis Clifford said.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/'very-deliberate-attack-at-merrylands-police-station-i...

Is that anywhere near Hurstville?    There's any old, fat, greek sheila who lives there in a council owned, two bedder with her elderly Mother.   A lot of us on here would be concerned for her welfare - she is a chronic poster on here and we haven't seen here lately.  Oh wait........

Quantum

Reply #3 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:52am

I'm amazed how little attention this is getting. Sure it is making the headlines and I'm not claiming that it's being ignored, but it's being treated almost like it's an every day event.

A bloke filled his car with gas bottles, set himself on fire, and drove into a police station.... In Australia!

When the hell did this kind of thing become a; "man tried to blow up cop shop, and in other news..." like it was just some house that accidentally burt down and the media are simply reporting it? Did you see the fence around that place? When did police stations become forts?

Reply #4 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:55am

Quantum wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:52am:
I'm amazed how little attention this is getting. Sure it is making the headlines and I'm not claiming that it's being ignored, but it's being treated almost like it's an every day event.

A bloke filled his car with gas bottles, set himself on fire, and drove into a police station.... In Australia!

When did police stations become forts?

Ever been to Merrylands? It's not exactly merry.

Reply #5 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:56am

When the hell did this kind of thing become a; "man tried to blow up cop shop, and in other news..." like it was just some house that accidentally burst down and the media are simply reporting it? Did you see the fence around that place? When did police stations become forts?

If it's any consolation, the incident made breaking news early this morning on Ch 7.

____

Reply #6 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:57am

George Christensen walks back claim 'radical Islam' to blame for Merrylands attack

Coalition MP George Christensen has been forced to walk back an angry statement blaming "radical Islam" for the attack on Merrylands Police Station on Thursday night, but appeared to defend his comments by saying it was "surprising" it wasn't a terror attack given it took place in the western Sydney suburb.

Sydney police ruled out terrorism as a motive for the attack involving a man in his 60s, who is understood to have a history of mental health issues, who set himself on fire and rammed into the roller door of the Merrylands police station. Early reporting on a range of news media websites, including the ABC, Fairfax and News Corp reported the attack may have been a possible terrorism incident. Officers from the Police Rescue and Bomb Disposal unit attended the scene.

http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/george-christensen-forced-...

Reply #7 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am

Gordon wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:55am:

I've never been to Merrylands.

Why?

Because as far as I'm concerned, there's nothing out there except for factories and bogans.

Reply #8 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am

Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:56am:

When the hell did this kind of thing become a; "man tried to blow up cop shop, and in other news..." like it was just some house that accidentally burst down and the media are simply reporting it? Did you see the fence around that place? When did police stations become forts?

If it's any consolation, the incident made breaking news early this morning on Ch 7.

Why, on god's green earth, would you admit to watching Sunrise?

Reply #9 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:01am

Burp.

Reply #10 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:01am

Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am:

I've never been to Merrylands.

Why?

Because as far as I'm concerned, there's nothing out there except for factories and bogans.

Gordy, have you ever been there?

Sounds like you have lol. Tongue

Quantum

Reply #11 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:06am

mothra wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am:

Seriously, just bugger off. Same snobbish BS from you every day.

Stop pretending that only news sources that you approve off can be referred to.

Reply #12 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:08am

When the hell did this kind of thing become a; "man tried to blow up cop shop, and in other news..." like it was just some house that accidentally burt down and the media are simply reporting it? Did you see the fence around that place? When did police stations become forts?

hes a nutter mate well known to the police.. calm down....he may have got a parking ticket who knows..

if you look at some of the road rage today.. nothiong should surprise you..

no it wasnt a wannabee terrorist... although who knows about this..

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/suspected-teen-jihadis-brother-poses-i...

THE younger brother of a Sydney teen terror suspect has posed for a shocking picture in front of a war memorial with a friend, making threatening gestures including the notorious one-finger jihadi symbol.

The boy, a student at Granville Boys High School, is one of hundreds of schoolchildren who are at risk of being radicalised by terror recruiters from Islamic State.

Reply #13 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:10am

Quantum wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:06am:
mothra wrote on Jul 22nd, 2016 at 8:59am:

Seriously, just bugger off. Same snobbish BS from you every day.

Stop pretending that only news sources that you approve off can be referred to.

Do you watch Sunrise too Quantum?

Figures.

Quantum

Reply #14 - Jul 22nd, 2016 at 9:13am

Heaps, but admittedly not for about 15 years. It was a crappy area then, but it has obviously nosedived when the police station needs a prison like fence not to keep detained people in, but to keep the criminals out.

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 6