Best meat and sausages. (Read 3196 times)
Black Orchid

Best meat and sausages.
May 21st, 2016 at 7:14pm

Meat is getting more expensive and much of what we have on offer is lower in quality. 

For good old style sausages we have suggestions for  ...

In QLD

http://www.micksmeatbarn.com.au/

In Sydney

https://www.facebook.com/Parisis-Food-Hall-Rose-Bay-654931527850349/

Any other suggestions?

Black Orchid

Re: Best meat and sausages.
Reply #1 - May 21st, 2016 at 7:15pm

Trevor Conn used to sell the best meat in all of Sydney years ago.  Apparently he is back in both Glenorie and Kenthurst and his meat is still primo.   His ham was delicious.

« Last Edit: May 21st, 2016 at 7:58pm by Black Orchid »  

Reply #2 - May 21st, 2016 at 7:47pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 7:14pm:

In QLD

going by that photo on their homepage, i'd say their sausages are crap. They look like they're full of fat.

Wolseley

Reply #3 - May 22nd, 2016 at 12:19am

Any other suggestions?

Victor Churchill at 132 Queen Street Woollahra would have to be one of the best butchers in Australia, if not the best.  If you can afford it, that is.  The most attractively laid out and cleanest butchery I can recall seeing, with service to match.  Aside from being the best quality meat I have ever encountered, it is also, by far, the most expensive.  I go there only once or twice a year.  To do otherwise might be hazardous for my bank balance.

http://www.victorchurchill.com/

Reply #4 - May 23rd, 2016 at 2:57pm

John Smith wrote on May 21st, 2016 at 7:47pm:

In QLD

going by that photo on their homepage, i'd say their sausages are crap. They look like they're full of fat.

I prefer snags with some fat in them.. we have gone overboard with no fat no salt.. no taste....cook /fry a sausage now and there is no fat in the pan at all...

they are just solid...with tough skins....I dont think they should be allowed to put whatever in them.. but surely if they sell well they must be doing something right...

dunno about you but I dont go back if I dont like..

Reply #5 - May 23rd, 2016 at 3:43pm

If you want first grade meat then I recommend Halal. They don't dare risk a suicide bombing and so they sell only the best cuts to their customers.

'Country Style' sausages at Coles used to be the only snags I would buy, but they've disappeared over the past few months.

Meanwhile, it's only Hungarian salami for me, thank you (medium hot).

Some Polish kranskys are good, but you've got to pick the right ones.

« Last Edit: May 24th, 2016 at 7:27am by Lord Herbert »  

Black Orchid

Reply #6 - May 23rd, 2016 at 4:29pm

It is the fat that gives sausages their flavour and, yes Cods, the skins are way too thick and chewy especially if you bake them.

Reply #7 - May 23rd, 2016 at 4:30pm

I don't eat sausages, they put all sorts of crap in them

Black Orchid

Reply #8 - May 23rd, 2016 at 4:37pm

I only eat sausages 2-3 times a year but, when I do, I want them to be decent and it is because most of them are utter rubbish that I have been obsessing over it.

I bought one at Bunnings the other week when I had a zillion things to do before I could go home and when I drove into the carpark the bbq cooking smells were too tempting to refuse.   The sausage sandwich, however, was disgusting and was tossed after 1 bite.

My grandfather used to call them 'little bags of mystery'.

Reply #9 - May 23rd, 2016 at 4:44pm

I quite like a nice fat pork sausage, but the problem is most of the ones one buys  are crap.

I am even tempted  at Woolies by such names as gourmet pork sausages, cumberland sausages, this means nothing they all taste crap

As far as the ones with added flavours/ingredients forget them all are tasteless imo

Reply #10 - May 23rd, 2016 at 6:20pm

Black Orchid wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 4:37pm:
I only eat sausages 2-3 times a year but, when I do, I want them to be decent and it is because most of them are utter rubbish that I have been obsessing over it.

I bought one at Bunnings the other week when I had a zillion things to do before I could go home and when I drove into the carpark the bbq cooking smells were too tempting to refuse.   The sausage sandwich, however, was disgusting and was tossed after 1 bite.

My grandfather used to call them 'little bags of mystery'.

I think you must live near my place. The delicious smell of sausages and onions on the hot-plate outside the Bunnings entrance carries for miles. I love those sausages with heaps of onion. Mind you, they only taste delicious if you haven't eaten them for awhile.

My second ever paid job was as a kid making sausages in a butcher's on Saturday mornings - turning the handle and twisting these condoms as they filled with mince to the right size.

By FAR the best sausages I ever ate was at Boarding School for breakfast. Skinny things that were usually burnt on one side where they hadn't been turned over quickly enough. 
« Last Edit: May 23rd, 2016 at 6:26pm by Lord Herbert »  

Reply #11 - May 23rd, 2016 at 8:53pm

cods wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 2:57pm:
I prefer snags with some fat in them..

some yes, but we've gone overboard

The sausages you grew up with cods had about 25% fat in them ... more than enough fat for flavor and moisture.

Todays sausages are at least 50% fat

it's cheaper than using meat Cheesy

Reply #12 - May 23rd, 2016 at 8:56pm

cods wrote on May 23rd, 2016 at 2:57pm:
dunno about you but I dont go back if I dont like..

people buy them because they're
1. Cheap
2. Quick and easy to cook
3. Great on a BBQ

but mostly cheap

1kg of sausages goes a lot further than 1kg of scotch fillet, especially with kids

and at 1/5th of the price

Reply #13 - May 31st, 2016 at 8:27am

ok cods is having another whinge..

this time its about the mince we are basically forced to buy..

again its another cheapo feed... but its also popular...however the latest way of mincing I DONT LIKE...its like little worms...it all looks very nice in the packaging...yes basically talking supermarket..but when its cooked its still in the same shape.. little worms..short of smashing it with a potato masher...nothing I do changes it... I always brown it off first and drain off whatever comes out of it.. I hate that fat.....but it still ends up being little worms...

does anyone else notice this???...I dont think it is like it once was...

Wolseley

Reply #14 - May 31st, 2016 at 9:13am

cods wrote on May 31st, 2016 at 8:27am:
the latest way of mincing I DONT LIKE...its like little worms...it all looks very nice in the packaging...yes basically talking supermarket..but when its cooked its still in the same shape.. little worms..short of smashing it with a potato masher...nothing I do changes it... I always brown it off first and drain off whatever comes out of it.. I hate that fat.....but it still ends up being little worms...

does anyone else notice this???...I dont think it is like it once was...

Maybe it's added preservatives that are doing it - after all, mince goes off quicker than a whole piece of meat.

Which is why I prefer to go to the butcher and get them to select a cut of meat and mince it on the spot for me.  It's more expensive, but it's worth it - and you know it's pure meat, with no additives.