Greens Urge Sharp Increase In Luxury Car Tax (Read 1334 times)
Sir Crook

Greens Urge Sharp Increase In Luxury Car Tax
May 18th, 2016 at 4:54pm

Greens urge sharp increase in luxury car tax to drive transition to electric   Smiley

The Guardian
Wednesday 18 May 2016

Five years of free registration for new electric cars, $151m for charging stations and $50m for fleet transitions are needed to drive the transition from petrol to electric vehicles, the Greens have said.

A sharp increase in the luxury car tax on petrol-driven vehicles would pay for the plans, the party said in an announcement on Wednesday.   Smiley

The transport sector accounts for more than 17% of Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions and the Greens believe that the increased use of electric vehicles could help reduce that figure.
AGL boss: regardless of climate science, it's time to drop the 'emissions business'

Launching the policy in Strathfield in Sydney, the Greens leader, senator Richard Di Natale, said: “Electric vehicles are rapidly coming down in price. With solar panels on our roof, charging our batteries for our home and car, free daily transport is at our fingertips.”

A centrepiece of the Greens’ policy was that the federal government cover the costs of state vehicle registration fees for new fully electric cars for the first five years. The Greens said that would help make electric vehicles more competitive.

They also proposed establishing a $151m fund to provide grants to local and state governments, as well as private car park operators, to install electric car chargers. The program would subsidise the cost of a roadside charging station up to a cap of $45,000, which they say would drive the installation of about 3,500 stations across the country.

In addition, they would establish a $50m fund to cover the gap between the cost of petrol cars and electric vehicles for government and NGO fleets. With a gap of about $15,000, they said that would cover the gap for nearly 3,500 new electric cars.

“You would be able to literally plug in your car to the power station at your local train station, sporting oval, swimming pool, library or while you are doing the groceries,” Di Natale said.

To cover the cost of the policies, the Greens would lift the luxury car tax from 33% to 50% for fossil-fuel powered cars worth over $100,000. They say that would both raise $280m over the forward estimates to help cover the rest of the policy, as well as increase the price-competitiveness of electric luxury cars.   Smiley

“The old dirty power sources like diesel and coal are on their way out and we need to support industries like electric vehicles to move toward a more innovative future,” Di Natale said.

The Greens also called on the Council of Australian Governments to develop a plan to assist the adoption of electric vehicles, and for the government to set a near-term target for their uptake across the country.

Re: Greens Urge Sharp Increase In Luxury Car Tax
Reply #1 - May 18th, 2016 at 4:55pm

I would consider a Tesla as a luxury car ...  Cheesy

Reply #2 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:50pm

Greens urge sharp increase in luxury car tax to drive transition to electric   Smiley

The Guardian
Wednesday 18 May 2016

To cover the cost of the policies, the Greens would lift the luxury car tax from 33% to 50% for fossil-fuel powered cars worth over $100,000.

Just another tax grab from the greens to pay for their increase to dole bludgers, these assclowns will inflict financial buggery on hard working Australians to pay for their socialist agenda.

Reply #3 - May 18th, 2016 at 6:00pm

hilarious....there they go again..

driving the luxury car industry away......

can anyone see a Porsche running on electricity.... Roll Eyes

well maybe.. I think they would rather sell them in Dubai... Grin Grin Grin..

of course its only Australia that is affecting climate change I keep forgetting.. Sad Sad Sad

I am sure they are going to make electric only luxury cars just for the Australian market... Wink Wink

Reply #4 - May 18th, 2016 at 6:01pm

Wonder how the grossly technically ignorant Greenies expect people in units to charge their electric liability overnite ?

Units don't have individual power outlets in each parking bay.

Wonder how the dumb Greenies reckon every item of food etc will get delivered if there are no trucks running on diesel ?

What the Greenies are really up to is REDISTRIBUTION of WEALTH which is part of their beloved Agenda 21 and everyone knows that the Greenies Dumb Doc Dick is a puppet of the United Nations.

The Greenies work for the United Nations and that is why they don't give a hoot about successfully running the Australian economy.

Reply #5 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:09pm

I'm shocked.
I really am.

____

Reply #6 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:15pm

Another great Greens' step, towards a sustainable society.

Reply #7 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:19pm

And they wonder why 9 out of 10 people don't vote for them.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #8 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:24pm

A well thought out policy.

What a shame the Greens have decided to infiltrate it with their poisonous tentacles and the policy will now never become a reality.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Melanias purse

Reply #9 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:27pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 9:19pm:
And they wonder why 9 out of 10 people don't vote for them.

Strange. Only last week you were saying Australians are suckers for not "demanding" cheaper goods and services from the multinationals.

As soon as a party suggests the only thing Australia can do - tax them, you go all weak at the knees.

You changed your tune. What happened, son? Another tax-minimizing presentation at the Sandiego Conference Centre, was it?

Drop a quarter in the Vietnam vet’s Dr Pepper can for me, will you?

Melanias purse

Reply #10 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:30pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 9:09pm:
I'm shocked.
I really am.

Oh, I know.

Reply #11 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:32pm

“The old dirty power sources like diesel and coal are on their way out and we need to support industries like electric vehicles to move toward a more innovative future,” Di Natale said.

Absolutely.  All those coal-powered cars are really stinking up the joint. 

Unless the power they charge electric cars from comes from a renewable source, it's not gonna do much.  Still, if government and a few large coporate fleets get on board with electric cars, it's a good start.

Melanias purse

Reply #12 - May 18th, 2016 at 9:33pm

cods wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 6:00pm:

Yes, dear - all the way to Germany and Italy where they are.

SHAME LABOR SHAME

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #13 - May 18th, 2016 at 10:08pm

... wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 9:32pm:

Absolutely.  All those coal-powered cars are really stinking up the joint. 

Unless the power they charge electric cars from comes from a renewable source, it's not gonna do much.  Still, if government and a few large coporate fleets get on board with electric cars, it's a good start.

And that's the plan long term. The more demand for renewables, the cheaper it'll become. The cheaper it becomes, the more it'll take over from old generators.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #14 - May 18th, 2016 at 10:11pm

cods wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 6:00pm:

can anyone see a Porsche running on electricity.... Roll Eyes

well maybe.. I think they would rather sell them in Dubai... Grin Grin Grin..

of course its only Australia that is affecting climate change I keep forgetting.. Sad Sad Sad

I am sure they are going to make electric only luxury cars just for the Australian market... Wink Wink

Can you please stop talking.

If you don't know what you're talking about then please stop trying to contribute.

http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/car-news/motor-shows-events/frankfurt/2015/porsche-...