WA Grower Forced To Dump 30 Tonnes Of Fruit (Read 3109 times)
Sir Crook

WA Grower Forced To Dump 30 Tonnes Of Fruit
Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:30am

WA nectarine grower forced to dump 30 tonnes of fruit as Coles snubs locals
April 11 2016
WA Today

Roleystone fruit grower Peter Casotti has been forced to dump 30,000 kilograms of nectarines as retail giant Coles stocks supermarket shelves with imported eastern states-grown stone fruit rather than local produce.   Sad

Hills Orchard Improvement Group spokesman Brett DelSimone said tonnes of fruit was being dumped while WA company Wesfarmers, the owner of Coles, turned its back on local growers.

Roleystone grower Peter Casotti has had to dump 30 tonnes of nectarines amid claims Coles looks to the eastern states for product.   Sad

"It is a shame that a WA-based retail giant ignores a fresh product that can be placed on shelves within 24 hours," he said.

"Instead, they choose to stock an imported product that has been harvested up to a week or two before, is transported to WA on trucks for days and then transported again through distribution centres."

Tonnes of fruit goes to waste as growers claim Coles favours product trucked across the Nullabor.

Coles refuted the claim with a spokesman saying 85 per cent of stone fruit sold by Coles in WA this year was locally grown.

"We are working with our suppliers to increase the proportion even further," he said.

"Seasonal timing and quality were the main drivers behind the importation of fruit from the eastern states.

"We were finding quality issues at our distribution centre and received a number of complaints from customers about fruit from some WA suppliers," he said.

"Currently there are gaps in our WA supply due to crop timings, and while these gaps are being filled by new varieties, the trees require a few years to grow before they can produce a full crop."

The Coles spokesman said the company was also working to establish a new facility in WA with modern technology to manage the packing of fruit for many local growers.

"The new facility will mean growers are able to expend their energies in their orchards rather than on packing, refrigeration and freight," he said.

Other specialists were also working with growers on variety selection and growing techniques to ensure the success of WA orchards into the future.

Mr DelSimone said consumers were being duped and urged WA shoppers to get behind local producers by asking for locally-grown fruit when they shop.

"Stone fruit prices paid to growers in Western Australia have been falling steadily over the past few seasons, coinciding with an increasing volume of imported produce," he said

"Wholesale stone fruit prices this season are down 30 per cent to levels not seen since 2011."

Mr DelSimone said imported fruit lost its freshness every day it took to cross the Nullarbor.   

"Shoppers can't tell between a fresh local product and one that has been sitting around in an interstate coolroom until they take it home and taste it," he said.

Due to the current labelling laws fruit and vegetable retailers are not required to display the state of origin of fresh produce on retail shelves.

Re: WA Grower Forced To Dump 30 Tonnes Of Fruit
Reply #1 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:39am

why not give it away... why dump it??>.

Reply #2 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:48am

Why should they give it away?

Reply #3 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:56am

Gnads wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:48am:

true.... but dumping it shows how arrogant this country is.........

GordyL

Hate Town
Reply #4 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 8:07am

My mum used to tell me not to waste food because there are starving people in India.

On the Ning Nang Nong
Where the Cows go Bong!
and the monkeys all say BOO!

Reply #5 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 8:18am

cods wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:39am:
why not give it away... why dump it??>.

because unlike coles he can't afford to refrigerate it for the next 12 months and then pass it off as fresh to gullible shoppers like yourself !!

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #6 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 8:20am

cods wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:56am:

The arrogance or stupidity in this case is in Coles /Westfarmers court.

If the farmer could have at least covered his costs by selling it somehow then that should have been an option. But 3,000 tonne is a shyte load of nectarines and not easy to supply to small outlets.

Tell me what Coles/Westfarmers give away for nothing?

Always the big two supermarkets screwing the farmers/suppliers.

Reply #7 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 8:59am

GordyL wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 8:07am:
My mum used to tell me not to waste food because there are starving people in India.

.. and now they're all working in call centres but are still starving, since this has created inflation and escalation of costs of living to suit 'higher' incomes, leaving the majority even more hard-pressed to buy a loaf of pappadums...... and the same situation as China is in development, with rising costs to suit higher incomes leaving the primary producer out  in the cold, thus creating pressure for him to raise prices, thus escalating the whole thing as the 'service workers' etc get more and more pay rises to keep up....

One day soon the wages in China - rising at 17% a year.. will match those here and China will be abandoned for more peasant climes by the middle men who are profiting majestically from the 'global economy'..... and the same process will go on and on until the world economy collapses due to starving itself out of markets by chopping away the legs of those here who might once have been able to buy...... but now live on $250 a week and pay rent to landlords of $800 a week....

Brilliant management right there, and right from the top....

The secret of the global economy is to get in fast in the middle man market, grab as much as you can, consolidate...... and get out fast..... let someone else handle the collapse.... 

It's called Robber Barony.... and used to be around in the Nineteenth Century and even into the Twentieth..... now it's something different and all cosy and some myth that 'trickle-down' from some offshored company will benefit us all.....

Reply #8 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 9:01am

He should have dumped it in the Coles and Woolies car park..where they import so much fruit from overseas its sickening!!!

Reply #9 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 9:05am

red baron wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 9:01am:
He should have dumped it in the Coles and Woolies car park..where they import so much fruit from overseas its sickening!!!

Now you're talking... I recall French farmers doing that once and getting their way..... socialist bastards...

The way to run a global economy is to have a disparity in real income levels, so that by producing a cheaper product somewhere, you can then sell it on somewhere else at a higher price and make a profit.

The evidence to date is that those companies that have offshored, such as BHP (Billiton) etc, have only profited for a short time before falling down again in a heap.... for the simple reason that they have firstly entered some mythical 'level playing field' (of their own and their government mate's creation as their chosen means to reduce wages.. ho-ho) which is decidedly unlevel, and secondly they have, by abandoning their home base, destroyed their own market at home, which once was a market that had a prosperous working class, who could afford homes and cars and such, but now cannot, and so the demand for steel products here has fallen, and BHP products have been replaced by cheaper imports TO THE WHOLESALERS, while the price to the end user, the consumer, has remained high and is rising constantly.

Look at timber products - we now import most finished timber and structural timber from Asia and New Zealand and South America.... all such products are at an all-time price high.. and at the same time our timber industries have fallen in a heap, leaving many here without the wherewithal to buy timber products....

La-La Land.....

Why am I the only one who sees this looming worldwide economic disaster clearly?
« Last Edit: Apr 12th, 2016 at 9:16am by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM »  

Reply #10 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 9:21am

For the unknowing... when your real level of income can buy you a tin shack and a bag of rice in Farkasia.. and your real level of income in Oz can buy you a spot under the bridge and Macca's and a pack of noodles ......

You get my picture...... Who in this picture is going to be buying a $1200 fridge?  Ten people in Fiji? 

The comparison here with this issue is that Coles and Woolies are operating on both a global and national economy basis, without consideration for the effects on their own customers at the end of the day....

Might check out the Greek down the road for some nectarines..... he's usually cheaper anyway....
« Last Edit: Apr 12th, 2016 at 9:29am by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM »  

Reply #11 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 10:17am

That's the sort of thing farmers in France do when they get ticked off.

I was going to suggest a similar action. My location of choice for dumping 30 tonnes of fruit would be just outside the despatch gate at the main distribution centres.

Reply #12 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 10:22am

Bam wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 10:17am:

That's the sort of thing farmers in France do when they get ticked off.

I was going to suggest a similar action. My location of choice for dumping 30 tonnes of fruit would be just outside the despatch gate at the main distribution centres.

the farmer would have been fined and maybe end up with a conviction.......wouldnt be worth it and Coles and WOollies would get heaps of free advertising...

no I wouldnt encourage him to break the law....

Marla

A joint a day keeps the
MAGA away

Colorado
Reply #13 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 10:22am

Capitalist.

I like takin' Tuinal. It keeps me edgy and mean. I'm a teenage schizoid I'm a teenage dope fiend

Reply #14 - Apr 12th, 2016 at 12:05pm

Gnads wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 8:20am:
cods wrote on Apr 12th, 2016 at 7:56am:

The arrogance or stupidity in this case is in Coles /Westfarmers court.

If the farmer could have at least covered his costs by selling it somehow then that should have been an option. But 3,000 tonne is a shyte load of nectarines and not easy to supply to small outlets.

Tell me what Coles/Westfarmers give away for nothing?

Always the big two supermarkets screwing the farmers/suppliers.

Anytime I used to buy apples from coles they were rotten inside but looked good on the outside which is an indication that they had been refrigerated for sometime. Sad Coles would prefer to sell rotten crap at ridiculous prices than the genuine item Sad

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995