Auburn Council suspended (Read 3739 times)

Auburn Council suspended
Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:16pm

Great news, this mob are a mob of crooks at least three are under investigation .

Property developrs should be banned fron councils in my opinion

Auburn Council suspended as councillors face public inquiry

An administrator has been appointed to run the Auburn Council after Local Government Minister Paul Toole announced today the council has been officially suspended.

Interim administrator Viv May has been appointed to replace the councillors after allegations of misconduct led to a public inquiry.

“There are allegations made against individual councillors that need to be looked at further,” Mr Toole said today.

“Given the serious nature of the allegations the council is facing, it is clear that it is in the public interest to temporarily suspend the council during the course of the inquiry.

“Auburn ratepayers deserve a strong council that is acting in their best interests. The only way to achieve this is for me to temporarily suspend the councillors so the inquiry can be undertaken effectively.”

The council is facing a public inquiry into property deals that allegedly benefited some councillors, including controversial deputy mayor Salim Mehajer.

The allegations include a planning decision related to a carpark in Lidcombe which the council voted to sell to a Mehajer-owned company for allegedly millions below market value, a rezoning of Berala Town Centre to include the family home and investment property of Councillor Hicham Zraika and the rezoning of a large area in Lidcombe - where Councillor Ronnie Ouiek owns property.

Mr Mehajer is serving a four-month suspension from the council imposed by the NSW Civic and Administrative Tribunal two weeks ago, because he had not declared a pecuniary interest.

He hit back at the decision, saying it was made before an investigation was complete.

“The decision of the ‘suspension’ remains respected. I am however disappointed that the ‘indefinite suspension’ has taken place prior to the completion of the ongoing investigation,” he said in a statement to 9NEWS.

“I believe that this has raised more concerns from the public relating to the Ministers ‘abuse of power’, as we all can appreciate the understanding of ‘cause & effect’.”

Mr Mehajer said the suspension was now a matter for the law.

“I believe that it is now a matter for the Australian Legal System to play its roll [sic] in reference to the above to ensure justice is kept”.

Since the allegations came to light calls have been made for the government to ban developers and real estate agents from sitting on councils.

Auburn councillor George Campbell said he would support the move.

“Where you have developers or real estate agents on council you have high risk,” he told 9NEWS.

© ninemsn 2016

Read more at http://www.9news.com.au/national/2016/02/10/07/52/auburn-council-to-be-sacked-today-report#yiwMEb5PrZTdHDR9.99

Re: Auburn Council suspended
Reply #1 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:18pm

Reply #2 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:23pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:16pm:
Great news, this mob are a mob of crooks at least three are under investigation .

An administrator has been appointed to run the Auburn Council after Local Government Minister Paul Toole announced today the council has been officially suspended.

Interim administrator Viv May has been appointed to replace the councillors after allegations of misconduct led to a public inquiry.

“There are allegations made against individual councillors that need to be looked at further,” Mr Toole said today.

“Given the serious nature of the allegations the council is facing, it is clear that it is in the public interest to temporarily suspend the council during the course of the inquiry.

“Auburn ratepayers deserve a strong council that is acting in their best interests. The only way to achieve this is for me to temporarily suspend the councillors so the inquiry can be undertaken effectively.”

The council is facing a public inquiry into property deals that allegedly benefited some councillors, including controversial deputy mayor Salim Mehajer.

The allegations include a planning decision related to a carpark in Lidcombe which the council voted to sell to a Mehajer-owned company for allegedly millions below market value, a rezoning of Berala Town Centre to include the family home and investment property of Councillor Hicham Zraika and the rezoning of a large area in Lidcombe - where Councillor Ronnie Ouiek owns property.

Mr Mehajer is serving a four-month suspension from the council imposed by the NSW Civic and Administrative Tribunal two weeks ago, because he had not declared a pecuniary interest.

He hit back at the decision, saying it was made before an investigation was complete.

“The decision of the ‘suspension’ remains respected. I am however disappointed that the ‘indefinite suspension’ has taken place prior to the completion of the ongoing investigation,” he said in a statement to 9NEWS.

“I believe that this has raised more concerns from the public relating to the Ministers ‘abuse of power’, as we all can appreciate the understanding of ‘cause & effect’.”

“I believe that it is now a matter for the Australian Legal System to play its roll [sic] in reference to the above to ensure justice is kept”.

Since the allegations came to light calls have been made for the government to ban developers and real estate agents from sitting on councils.

“Where you have developers or real estate agents on council you have high risk,” he told 9NEWS.

© ninemsn 2016

Read more at http://www.9news.com.au/national/2016/02/10/07/52/auburn-council-to-be-sacked-today-report#yiwMEb5PrZTdHDR9.99

.............this mob are a mob of crooks at least three are under investigation .

Property developrs should be banned from councils in my opinion................

yes

GordyL

Hate Town
Reply #3 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:33pm

They should have just waited until council was in session then dropped a bomb on the joint.

Any one killed outside the council are probably terrorists anyway.

On the Ning Nang Nong
Where the Cows go Bong!
and the monkeys all say BOO!

Reply #4 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 6:08pm

and real estate agents

Reply #5 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 6:58pm

they should have been sacked..

how on earth has it taken this long to suspend them??

Reply #6 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 7:09pm

Unless you are a campaigner.. some kind of crusader.. what other reason is there to want to be elected to council other than to feather your own nest.

I have no doubt there are many other councils in a similar position...... in this case the absurd and childish antics of 'Slim' Mehajer were the key... what a clown.  No matter what happens - follow the trail carefully - his company floated a 'business plan' to a bank.. the bank loaned out millions on the basis of that plan... Slim side-tracked millions into his personal companies and accounts as fees for services to his development company... if that development company falls flat tomorrow leaving many hard-working tradies and buyers out of pocket massively .. he will still keep those millions... that's how it works in the Alan Bond mode that is still par for the course.

No vested interest should be permitted to stand for election to a decision making body.

Guess that puts paid to Mal of the Banker's Guild....

This country desperately needs a complete overhaul of the rules.... no more 'single shareholder' companies that permit that shareholder to escape responsibility for fiscal disasters.. and any such similar ventures....  you own the company - you pay its debts if you  fork it up.
« Last Edit: Feb 11th, 2016 at 7:15pm by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM »  

Reply #7 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:49pm

I agree that developers and agents should not be allowed to become councillors. And I also believe that they should not be allowed to name infrastructure like bridges and parks after councillors or other politicians.

Reply #8 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:51pm

issuevoter wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:49pm:
I agree that developers and agents should not be allowed to become councillors. And I also believe that they should not be allowed to name infrastructure like bridges and parks after councillors or other politicians.

agree ... we should name our infrastructure after soldiers who have died serving this country.

Reply #9 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 10:04pm

John Smith wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:51pm:

agree ... we should name our infrastructure after soldiers who have died serving this country.

Nice one, fully agree

Reply #10 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 10:11pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 3:23pm:

© ninemsn 2016

.............this mob are a mob of crooks at least three are under investigation .

Property developrs should be banned from councils in my opinion................

yes

ely
Cheers!

Reply #11 - Feb 11th, 2016 at 10:20pm

John Smith wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 9:51pm:

My old mate Shrapnel would be happy to have a bridge named after him..... drink, depression, PTSD and driving at full speed down a ramp the wrong way onto a freeway did him in..... his second attempt and he didn't call.... we'd have come running...

Pick up that phone, any of you out there.... we're all here for you. Cry

Damn - I just gotta finish that counselling, law degree and do the advocate thing......

Reply #12 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 9:58am

John Smith wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 6:08pm:
Property developers should be banned fron councils in my opinion

and real estate agents

Why?

Reply #13 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 10:18am

red they are....

but this crook didnt call himself a developer... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

hes another OBEID... he claims hes working for everyone else.... but by coincidence  he manages to come out with a fortune... funny that!

Reply #14 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 10:37am

Lisa Jones wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 9:58am:
John Smith wrote on Feb 11th, 2016 at 6:08pm:
Property developers should be banned fron councils in my opinion

and real estate agents