Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 
Fruit And Vegies - Why Do They Cost So Much? (Read 5948 times)

Re: Fruit And Vegies - Why Do They Cost So Much?
Reply #105 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 12:18am

Wolseley wrote on Jan 24th, 2016 at 11:57pm:
ian wrote on Jan 24th, 2016 at 11:27pm:
I wouldnt be caught dead in an op shop.

I was in the local Vinnie's earlier this week.  I was dropping off a couple of bags of clothing rather than buying anything though.

Ah yes!   Right you are, Guv!  I'm giving away heaps of furniture etc and heading into retirement.... better than dead men's stuff....

ian

Reply #106 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 12:22am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Jan 25th, 2016 at 12:16am:
ian wrote on Jan 24th, 2016 at 11:27pm:
Emma wrote on Jan 24th, 2016 at 10:59pm:
Wolseley wrote on Jan 24th, 2016 at 10:49pm:
ian wrote on Jan 24th, 2016 at 9:34pm:
Strange isnt it. Quote:
In Jakarta you cannot buy a local banana  in the supermarkets. They are all imported from Australia and expensive to boot.
  regardless, when in Australia i make sure to buy whatever fruit and vegetables from local small sellers. Asian food suppliers mainly, they source locally so you know you are supporting the small business owner. These places seem to be thriving.

Don't forget to check the labels though - A lot of the mushrooms sold in Asian stores in Sydney come from China.

A comment for both of you.
Bananas are becoming harder and harder to grow due to a virus(?) or something, which is rapidly invading banana crops world-wide. We  remain relatively unaffected, but don't expect that to last. Enjoy'm while you can.

Always check the labels, and do your best to buy Australian product.  I know it is hard these days, when virtually everything comes from China.

Also, buying from op shops for clothes etc, is an excellent idea.

I wouldnt be caught dead in an op shop.

Good for finding work clothes for the garden etc...
i just use my old clothes. Im all for recycling but i do not like to wear 2nd hand clothes.

Emma

OZ
Reply #107 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 12:41am

well I wouldn't buy undies or socks, butop shops are an excellent source of good quality items,   or dog blankets, or whatever.

You would be surprised what you see,  and gawd,  I'd feel pretty fos if I couldn't wear secondhand clothes. Ever heard of hand me downs.. No?  Too entitled are we?
Recycling, re-using..?
Besides things were made better in the past, and you find more Australian made clothes there than you'd think. Why spend money on chinese imports, when far superior goods are available for next to nothing.!!
You know clothes CAN be washed and re-used don't you.?  Roll Eyes

live every day

Emma

OZ
Reply #108 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 1:37am

so  fruit and veg only cost heaps if you buy from Woolies, or other big supermarkets. That is so obvious it need not be repeated.
yOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

live every day

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #109 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:16am

You know if the quality from coles & woollies was great I wouldn't complain.

But nobody has mentioned that their fruits ripen in their fridges or you have to leave them ripen on your kitchen table.

For example even the best and most expensive tomatoes from these places taste pretty average.

A tomato from my garden can be eaten like an apple, just pick it wash it and I sprinkle some salt not much on it when I cut it into wedges.

You cannot do that with a tomato from the supermarkets.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

Reply #110 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:05pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 24th, 2016 at 11:07pm:
In the long run the return to the least efficient farmers will approach zero while the most efficient will have a satisfactory return. The problem as described above is some people are prepared to work for nothing and pervert the business by causing prices to be lower than they would be if the uneconomic producers got out of the business.

Rubbish.  The Coles/Wollies buyers from producers are out there, controlling the market.....like this.

Coles:  "I'll give you ten cents."..............and sell at 100 cents.

Woolies:  "I'll give you ten cents."..............and sell at 100 cents.

IGA:  "I'll give you twelve cents" ................ and sell at 100 cents.

Who is screwing who?

You realise that Bunnings, David Jones, MacDonalds and just about every other retailer works on the same principle? It is like you are only just discovering how business works. If you think it is so unfair, why don't you open a shop, buy at 20c, sell at 40c, and put everyone else out of business while making yourself a millionaire?

Reply #111 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:08pm

You realise that Bunnings, David Jones, MacDonalds and just about every other retailer works on the same principle?

I'm sure every large corporate in any open retail market screws their suppliers into making a pittance while they take all the cream.

Reply #112 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:10pm

Now's your chance to become a billionaire while supporting the hard working farmer Aussie. If only every problem we have could be solved simply by taking advantage of it for your own benefit.

Reply #113 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:13pm

why don't you open a shop, buy at 20c, sell at 40c, and put everyone else out of business while making yourself a millionaire?

Because the large corporates will put me out of business as soon as I open, assuming I can find a supplier whose product is not already betrothed to the large corporates.

Reply #114 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:53pm

Would they burn your shop down?

Wolseley

Reply #115 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:57pm

Emma wrote on Jan 25th, 2016 at 1:37am:
so  fruit and veg only cost heaps if you buy from Woolies, or other big supermarkets. That is so obvious it need not be repeated.

We went to Rouse Hill today and bought some fruit from the fruit shop there (not from Woolworths or Coles).  Quite a lot of what was there was around $1 or $2 more than it was at Woolworths when I was there yesterday morning - as far as I could tell, nothing was cheaper.  I suppose that the fruit shop prices must be higher because Woolworths and Coles have such huge mark-ups on what they sell.

Reply #116 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:58pm

freediver wrote on Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:53pm:
Would they burn your shop down?

Very droll freediver, and equally as relevant.

Reply #117 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 8:02pm

Rubbish.  The Coles/Wollies buyers from producers are out there, controlling the market.....like this.

Coles:  "I'll give you ten cents."..............and sell at 100 cents.

Woolies:  "I'll give you ten cents."..............and sell at 100 cents.

IGA:  "I'll give you twelve cents" ................ and sell at 100 cents.

Who is screwing who?

Surely there is a few billion to be made in that 10:1 ratio Aussie. How could they possibly stop you? Remember, all the other supermarkets (including the new ones whose core business model is to squeeze the old ones out of the market by charging less and paying more), have agreed with each other to overcharge customers and underpay suppliers by the same amount. Any rational person would see that as an opportunity, if they honestly believed what they were saying.

Reply #118 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 8:13pm

Remember, all the other supermarkets (including the new ones whose core business model is to squeeze the old ones out of the market by charging less and paying more), have agreed with each other .........

Ah.....I'll bet you cannot support that with even a scintilla of evidence.

Emma

OZ
Reply #119 - Jan 25th, 2016 at 8:39pm

Wolseley wrote on Jan 25th, 2016 at 7:57pm:
Emma wrote on Jan 25th, 2016 at 1:37am:

We went to Rouse Hill today and bought some fruit from the fruit shop there (not from Woolworths or Coles).  Quite a lot of what was there was around $1 or $2 more than it was at Woolworths when I was there yesterday morning - as far as I could tell, nothing was cheaper.  I suppose that the fruit shop prices must be higher because Woolworths and Coles have such huge mark-ups on what they sell.

I find, on the hand, that going to my local discount fruit barn , is much cheaper.

Silverbeet ,anywhere from 3.98 a bunch at Woolies compared to 1.99 for much fresher bunches at the local,
Potatoes 2.98 up to 4.98 kg at Woolies
1.89 at the local 

Red grapefruit 3.98 kg at Woolies.. a whole bag of six or more for  2.99 etc

Of course, this is in Logan City, where the produce is varied and fresh, and not expensive.
Petrol and fruit and veg are always cheaper in lower socio-economic areas.
So go ask why?

Whatever the market will bear.

I don\t know where Rouse Hill is ,  but If you go to fruit shops at high end centres in well-to-do suburbs you'll pay just as much as at the big supermarkets.

live every day

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9