One Third Of Australian Pensioners Live In Poverty (Read 4447 times)

Re: One Third Of Australian Pensioners Live In Poverty
Reply #30 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 7:27am

poverty means a young child walking 10 miles to a dirty waterhole, barefoot , having no schooling, no health care, sleeping on the ground in a mud hut and having malnutrition .

poverty does not mean that

you cannot afford to upgrade your iphone
that you have to consider getting the foxtel disconnected
that you can only go to the pokies once a fortnight instead of every second nite
that the car you drive doesnt have climate control and leather seats.
that you only have 20 pairs of shoes and imelda markos has 2000.

give me a break  Sad

Reply #31 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 10:37am

aquascoot wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 7:27am:
poverty means a young child walking 10 miles to a dirty waterhole, barefoot , having no schooling, no health care, sleeping on the ground in a mud hut and having malnutrition .

that you can only go to the pokies once a fortnight instead of every second nite

give me a break  Sad

We are talking about here and now and not some worldwide comparison... I guess the issue is how well we, as a society, look after our own least advantaged before we go out into the big wide world and try to raise the life chances of billions of others.....

Here in Oz we have the perfect opportunity - small population, which used to be reasonably homogeneous but has been destroyed by importation of miscellaneous groups and by feminism, relatively easy government control - why have we failed?

One simple word - GREED.  The head stallions and mares ate all the good grass and drank up all the water and left none for the herd, and so are all singletons now instead of herd leaders... is no herd is no problem...

Damn - this country would run so much more efficiently without all those whining workers and pensioners who spend their total income straight back into the economy......

I reckon you all get my point.....

Politician - heal thine own country!

Reply #32 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 12:23pm

give me a break  Sad

Marla is a feisty young filly for sure! Tail always up in the air as she trots around the boundary line like she won the Melbourne Cup two years in a row.

It's time we introduced Marla to 'Animal Farm' by George Orwell.

The reason a true Socialist State will never eventuate is because the most educated, and the most intelligent, and most Alpha-people who dwell at the top of the social totem pole will never voluntarily relinquish their privileges and their powers to the mediocre masses.

hawil

Reply #33 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 12:51pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:13pm:
[quote author=bobbythebat1 link=1452153018/16#16 date=1452161158]

Hi sir Crook,
it's a scandal that pensioners are facing poverty after
a lifetime of building our country.

Thank you for posting the truth regardless of how awful it is.

I was doing 'casual' with a German in his 60's, and he surprised me by saying that Australia's aged pension rate is a disgrace for how poorly it compares with that of Germany and other European countries.

[/quote
I don't live in poverty, but after working for 48 years,  I wouldn't say that I,am that well off, particularly due to high medical cost in old age, and the meanest means test of the age pension.
No politician would try to disprove what I write below: I wonder if anyone here will do it.
Any comment, positive or negative is welcomed.

In 2007 the then Prime Minister John Howard introduced the tax-free super for the over sixties, if the super income comes from a so-called taxed fund.
As a result :

This is how the retirees are treated in Australia.
Retiree: 1)
Worked for 45 years and paid taxes, but did not accumulate enough assets to be completely independent of the age-pension. For every dollar of extra income for him and his wife above $6,500, the couple loses $0.50 of age pension, and if their income exceeds $45,000 per annum, the couple will pay tax of $0.315 in the dollar including medicare levy, leaving them with an income of $0.185 from every dollar extra income. For the defined benefit income a 10% tax-offset applies if paid from an Australian super fund, but not if the income comes from an overseas fund.
Retiree 2)
Has accumulated assets of $1.5million,mostly with huge tax concessions, and the assets are in a so-called taxed Self Managed Super Fund. To be very conservative, the assets are in a term deposit earning 7.0% income of $122,500 per annum and even if the retiree is single, he/she will not pay a cent of tax.
Now if the assets are in fully franked shares, like banks, and return $100,000 worth of franked dividends, he/she will again pay no tax on the dividend, and the government will send him/her a cheque of $30,000 for the franking credits.
Should the assets of these retirees fall below a certain level, they will be entitled to the age pension as anyone else, therefore why does the government provides the rich retirees with such huge tax concessions, while punishing the retirees at the lower income scale with the punitive means-test of the age pension?
Retiree 3)
Is an ex-politician or highly paid public servant, in receipt of a defined benefit pension of $100,000, on which he/she will have to pay tax, but he/she gets a 10% tax offset, which equals $10,000 after reaching retirement age, but before retiring, the public servant can establish a SMSF and contribute into it extra with tax concessions if the $25,000 total for under fifty and $50,000, if over fifty is not exceeded and in addition he/she can contribute $150,000 from after tax income, and the earnings from the SMSF will only attract 15% tax, and when the person reaches the age of 60 even the income will be completely tax-free for the SMSF.
Retiree’s 2) are well represented by the media and the super industry, as well as the Unions, and retiree’s 3) are represented by the government, and ironically by the leadership of various retiree Associations, like ACPSRO and its affiliated Associations,Acoss,COTA, but who represents retiree’s 1) the part- pensioners who are being robbed of a decent standard of living in retirement by the means-test of the age pension.
What is the fairest solution; scrap the mean test of the age pension and scrap all tax concessions for super.
Will the government change anything, as long as the above mentioned Associations support the government; never.
Is there any other country which treats its citizens in such a discriminatory manner?

Marla

A joint a day keeps the
MAGA away

Colorado
Reply #34 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:07pm

Whatever, capitalist.

I like takin' Tuinal. It keeps me edgy and mean. I'm a teenage schizoid I'm a teenage dope fiend

Reply #35 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:14pm

give me a break  Sad

You may be surprised by how few pensioners have new iphones or can afford to play the pokies at all.

Reply #36 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:54pm

funny how you don't use that as your measuring stick when talking about increasing taxes for the rich  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #37 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:58pm

give me a break  Sad

Your first scenario describes extreme poverty.

Your second scenario describes how very out of touch you are.

Reply #38 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:01pm

Dnarever wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 2:14pm:
You may be surprised by how few pensioners have new iphones or can afford to play the pokies at all.

I don't own a car or even a mobile phone. I chipped a tooth today eating a biscuit - *BANG!* - there goes $1000 for a dental repair job.

I might do it myself with something from Bunnings. Epoxy glues, and a chip of bone china from a smashed cup bought at the Salvation Army's.

Reply #39 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:05pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:01pm:

I don't own a car or even a mobile phone. I chipped a tooth today eating a biscuit - *BANG!* - there goes $1000 for a dental repair job.

I might do it myself with something from Bunnings. Epoxy glues, and a chip of bone china from a smashed cup bought at the Salvation Army's.

go to Vietnam or the Philippines and fix it ... for $1000 you'll get your tooth fixed, airfare and accommodation for the week ... maybe even a young nurse to take care of you Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #40 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:20pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:05pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:01pm:

go to Vietnam or the Philippines and fix it ... for $1000 you'll get your tooth fixed, airfare and accommodation for the week ... maybe even a young nurse to take care of you Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Not half a bad idea.

But I don't dare ... and that's because someone will slip some heroin in my sports bag when I'm not looking, and I'll get caught at the Singapore airport ... and end up swinging from a Singapore Neck-tie ...

Marla

A joint a day keeps the
MAGA away

Colorado
Reply #41 - Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:24pm

Lame and shameful how your collective myopia reduces poverty to a iPhone upgrade.

I like takin' Tuinal. It keeps me edgy and mean. I'm a teenage schizoid I'm a teenage dope fiend

Reply #42 - Jan 11th, 2016 at 2:18pm

Marla wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:24pm:
Lame and shameful how your collective myopia reduces poverty to a iPhone upgrade.

Please tell me that's not a bottle of water you're carrying around with you.

That is just SO passé.

Or is that an empty plastic water bottle with a short piece of garden hose stuck into the side of it ... ?

And what's with the black wig?

stunspore

Reply #43 - Jan 11th, 2016 at 2:44pm

hawil wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 12:51pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:13pm:
[quote author=bobbythebat1 link=1452153018/16#16 date=1452161158]

Hi sir Crook,
it's a scandal that pensioners are facing poverty after
a lifetime of building our country.

Thank you for posting the truth regardless of how awful it is.

I was doing 'casual' with a German in his 60's, and he surprised me by saying that Australia's aged pension rate is a disgrace for how poorly it compares with that of Germany and other European countries.

[/quote
I don't live in poverty, but after working for 48 years,  I wouldn't say that I,am that well off, particularly due to high medical cost in old age, and the meanest means test of the age pension.
No politician would try to disprove what I write below: I wonder if anyone here will do it.
Any comment, positive or negative is welcomed.

In 2007 the then Prime Minister John Howard introduced the tax-free super for the over sixties, if the super income comes from a so-called taxed fund.
As a result :

This is how the retirees are treated in Australia.
Retiree: 1)
Worked for 45 years and paid taxes, but did not accumulate enough assets to be completely independent of the age-pension. For every dollar of extra income for him and his wife above $6,500, the couple loses $0.50 of age pension, and if their income exceeds $45,000 per annum, the couple will pay tax of $0.315 in the dollar including medicare levy, leaving them with an income of $0.185 from every dollar extra income. For the defined benefit income a 10% tax-offset applies if paid from an Australian super fund, but not if the income comes from an overseas fund.
Retiree 2)
Has accumulated assets of $1.5million,mostly with huge tax concessions, and the assets are in a so-called taxed Self Managed Super Fund. To be very conservative, the assets are in a term deposit earning 7.0% income of $122,500 per annum and even if the retiree is single, he/she will not pay a cent of tax.
Now if the assets are in fully franked shares, like banks, and return $100,000 worth of franked dividends, he/she will again pay no tax on the dividend, and the government will send him/her a cheque of $30,000 for the franking credits.
Should the assets of these retirees fall below a certain level, they will be entitled to the age pension as anyone else, therefore why does the government provides the rich retirees with such huge tax concessions, while punishing the retirees at the lower income scale with the punitive means-test of the age pension?
Retiree 3)
Is an ex-politician or highly paid public servant, in receipt of a defined benefit pension of $100,000, on which he/she will have to pay tax, but he/she gets a 10% tax offset, which equals $10,000 after reaching retirement age, but before retiring, the public servant can establish a SMSF and contribute into it extra with tax concessions if the $25,000 total for under fifty and $50,000, if over fifty is not exceeded and in addition he/she can contribute $150,000 from after tax income, and the earnings from the SMSF will only attract 15% tax, and when the person reaches the age of 60 even the income will be completely tax-free for the SMSF.
Retiree’s 2) are well represented by the media and the super industry, as well as the Unions, and retiree’s 3) are represented by the government, and ironically by the leadership of various retiree Associations, like ACPSRO and its affiliated Associations,Acoss,COTA, but who represents retiree’s 1) the part- pensioners who are being robbed of a decent standard of living in retirement by the means-test of the age pension.
What is the fairest solution; scrap the mean test of the age pension and scrap all tax concessions for super.
Will the government change anything, as long as the above mentioned Associations support the government; never.
Is there any other country which treats its citizens in such a discriminatory manner?

Seems bleak - and heartily supported by the lib supporters.  Except they prob insist on more cuts. :<

Marla

A joint a day keeps the
MAGA away

Colorado
Reply #44 - Jan 12th, 2016 at 1:09pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 11th, 2016 at 2:18pm:
Marla wrote on Jan 10th, 2016 at 3:24pm:

Please tell me that's not a bottle of water you're carrying around with you.

That is just SO passé.

Or is that an empty plastic water bottle with a short piece of garden hose stuck into the side of it ... ?

http://i473.photobucket.com/albums/rr96/Herbert_04/marla.png

And what's with the black wig?

Yeah Herbie, definitely a wig.