I'm having a pine tree removed for $1,400 ... (Read 3278 times)

Re: I'm having a pine tree removed for $1,400 ...
Reply #45 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:44pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:41pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:36pm:
once again gweggy trashes a decent thread with his obsessed homosexual BS...

when will admins ever remove this piece of trash from these forums??

Stop it.  That is 'drama queening.'

only if I start a new thread about it on its own Wink

Reply #46 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 6:19pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:41pm:
Stop it.  That is 'drama queening.'

You have ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA what Drama Queening is, do you, arsie?

Reply #47 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 6:56pm

Neferti wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:11pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:01pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:56pm:
Gum trees should NEVER be planted in suburbia. They are shallow rooted, unstable, and grow to enormous heights and give absolutely NO real shade.  All they do is distribute bark/branches all over the neighbourhood when it gets windy and sometimes uproot and kill people in their own home/car. 
Gum trees belong in The Bush. I love them but not in my back yard.

Totally with you there Nef.
They drop branches that weigh 100's kgs for no reason and kill people.

Ban them.

Easy for you to say but the local Government thinks that "native plants" are great!

In NEW suburban areas The Government hands out various FREE shrubs and trees ............ or they already plant this "native" stuff on new block/landscapes. Cheap as chips and if anyone buys a NEW house and finds these trees/bushes already there .... pull them out and throw them away. There are many more useful "shade" trees and shrubs that don't need attention (the selling point for Aussie natives).

The fact is, that Aussie Natives do very well in the Native Bushland but they are dead or plain unattractive in Suburbia.

I loath conifers as well.

Agreed

Reply #48 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 7:01pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:20pm:
If you don't plant natives then, in essence, you deserve what ever hassle's you get.

Gum trees for example are native... They can work really well as yard trees, get the right gum for your region.

Wrong.

They are highly dangerous in a backyard location. Their branches fill with water, and then under the right conditions, direct sunlight causes the branch fibres to expand rapidly so that it explodes and drops to the ground with some times fatal results.

Experienced bushies will never sleep under a gum tree.

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 3:20pm:
Herb, once you have the tree down, do yourself a favour and check out the range of natives that might be suitable to fill the gap - they will survive better, take replanting better and, in short, be much easier to look after. Just a thought.

Well, seeing as you've asked so nicely ... I might consider it. However, you name an Australian bush-type plant and I'll bet I've planted it in years gone by - and the damned thing up and died within a few months or a couple of years.  All of them. There's definitely something wrong with the soil here. Wrong pH.

Reply #49 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 7:14pm

Neferti wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:22pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 4:14pm:
Nuke them.

Most people do but, remember, this is a Herbert thread.  Wink

Damn right it is.

Copyright ©

So far I've agreed with everything you've said here ... but I've got my eye on you. Don't disappoint me.   Cool

And to be brutally honest, having lived in the northern temperate climates where there's lashings of rain and rich soil - Australian woodlands are incredibly dull in colour and general appearance. Dull, brittle, dead-looking, and sparsely leaved.

Mind you, there ARE some magnificent stands of trees in this country, and how I know this is through your art galleries where such scenes have been painted by the likes of Arthur Streeton and many others.

link

« Last Edit: Jan 7th, 2016 at 7:23pm by Lord Herbert »  

Reply #50 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:12pm

aquascoot wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 5:24pm:
here you go herb

Does it sing too?

Reply #51 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:19pm

Wow - that's definitely the New-and-Improved model, Setanta.

Reply #52 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:23pm

I didn't mention anything about homosexuals.

The lady doth protest too much, methinks.

Reply #53 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:24pm

Greggy wrecks every thread with impunity

with his homosexual garbage.

Reply #54 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:27pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:24pm:

I haven't mentioned homosexuals.

The ladies doth protest too much, methinks.

Reply #55 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:45pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:27pm:

No - you just posted a picture of a giant butt plug.

Reply #56 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:47pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:45pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:27pm:

No - you just posted a picture of a giant butt plug.

Nope.

That's a pine tree.

It seems that you only see what you want to see, Booby.

Reply #57 - Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:00pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:19pm:

Certainly is Herb, any Arab can use a machine but what darkie can be a real white lumberjack!

Reply #58 - Jan 8th, 2016 at 5:14am

Setanta wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 9:00pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 7th, 2016 at 8:19pm:

Certainly is Herb, any Arab can use a machine but what darkie can be a real white lumberjack!

I withdraw the remark about these tree removalists being a bunch of Arabs - and therefore needing a careful eye lest they cheat me in some way.

And that's because the Single Mother who lives across the road from me got cheated by a dinki di Aussie only a couple of weeks ago. She paid $300 for this bogan with a beat-up ute to come around and teach her newly-acquired dog how to behave passively while being taken for walks by its owner.

The agreed deal was that he would give her two x two hour sessions with the dog.

He did the first 2-hour session all right, but come the second session he scarpered after giving her only one hour ...  in other words he stole $75 from her handbag.

Reply #59 - Jan 9th, 2016 at 1:09pm

How did it get stuck there?