Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 
Tony to make a comeback? (Read 7118 times)
Melanias purse

Re: Tony to make a comeback?
Reply #105 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 12:39am

ian wrote on Dec 31st, 2015 at 12:29am:
matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:09pm:
The more tax you pay, the more right you have to a say about this country is run.

Just a point, as a percentage the poor pay more tax than just about anyone, the "middle class" pay the most but also get a considerable amount back in welfare, the rich pay hardly anything.

Yes, but what Matty meant is that the rich should still have the most say no matter how much tax they pay.

They do buy things from poor people, you know. Mr Abbott recently bought a bar fridge on Gumtree.

That’s what the trickle-down theory of economics is all about. If you people don’t like it, you can suck it up.

We get the most say, you know.

Melanias purse

Reply #106 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 12:48am

John Smith wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:05pm:
matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:03pm:
John Smith wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:01pm:
matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 7:58pm:
John Smith wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 7:50pm:
matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 7:46pm:
how would someone point in a protest vote if they hated Labor, Liberal, the Greens and other parties standing?

by voting for the opposite of what the person they are protesting about wants ... if that means you vote for someone you don't like, then so be it.

If people who didn't like turnbull simply didn't turn up, turnbull would romp it in. Not voting has a neutral outcome on the end result. You didn't vote for him, but you didn't vote against him. As far as he or anyone else is concerned, you're irrelevant.

However, if someone can't stand all of the parties and is opposed to them, then for whom does such person vote?

Nobody who pays more than their fair share of taxes is irrelevant. I am sick of that argument.

sick of it or not, you are irrelevant, as soon as you don't vote. The ONLY importance you have to any politician is your vote. You throw that away and you mean no more to them then your neighbors cat.

I am not talking about politicians, I am talking about the wider community. Those who pay more tax matter than those who pay less. They're the ones who have to give the most, and get back the least in return.

wider community my arse ... you were talking about protesting against Turncoat

I was talking about Turnbull, correct. However I then went on to talk about how anyone who pays taxes has the right to have a say about how the country is run. Forfeiting your vote does not mean forfeiting your say. The more tax you pay, the more right you have to a say about this country is run.

Exactly. You went to.Dunedin and Rhode Island to avoid the carbon tax, so you deserve a greater say than the miserable retards who stayed, Matty.

Imagine hanging around to pay tax. What a bunch of losers.

Reply #107 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 1:42am

ian wrote on Dec 31st, 2015 at 12:29am:
The more tax you pay, the more right you have to a say about this country is run.

Just a point, as a percentage the poor pay more tax than just about anyone, the "middle class" pay the most but also get a considerable amount back in welfare, the rich pay hardly anything.

So....  Jo and Joe Bloggs pay income tax far higher than.... (Kerry Packer) pays..... and pay proportionately more of their income via 'sales tax/GST'... and there are MILLIONS of Joe and Jo Bloggs out there.......... but they pay less tax?

Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin

Reply #108 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 1:46am

Must be an ochlocracy in which those with the least enforce payment from those with the most....

Get a job and start paying some taxes, you loafer.... you can't become a psychistrist (sic) unless you are a Doctor of Medicine..... and what 'doctor of medicine' would spend time on a politics forum discussing drivel?

ian

Reply #109 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 1:52am

Im not a loafer, i pay plenty of tax.

Reply #110 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 6:41am

matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 9:49pm:
Kat wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 9:26pm:
John Smith wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:05pm:
matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:03pm:
John Smith wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:01pm:
matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 7:58pm:
John Smith wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 7:50pm:
matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 7:46pm:
how would someone point in a protest vote if they hated Labor, Liberal, the Greens and other parties standing?

by voting for the opposite of what the person they are protesting about wants ... if that means you vote for someone you don't like, then so be it.

If people who didn't like turnbull simply didn't turn up, turnbull would romp it in. Not voting has a neutral outcome on the end result. You didn't vote for him, but you didn't vote against him. As far as he or anyone else is concerned, you're irrelevant.

However, if someone can't stand all of the parties and is opposed to them, then for whom does such person vote?

Nobody who pays more than their fair share of taxes is irrelevant. I am sick of that argument.

sick of it or not, you are irrelevant, as soon as you don't vote. The ONLY importance you have to any politician is your vote. You throw that away and you mean no more to them then your neighbors cat.

I am not talking about politicians, I am talking about the wider community. Those who pay more tax matter than those who pay less. They're the ones who have to give the most, and get back the least in return.

wider community my arse ... you were talking about protesting against Turncoat

I was talking about Turnbull, correct. However I then went on to talk about how anyone who pays taxes has the right to have a say about how the country is run. Forfeiting your vote does not mean forfeiting your say.

No, that's just bullsh1t.

In your opinion and in John's opinion. You can't handle people having opinions opposed to yours.

Rich and middle class people arr unfairly forced to pay more tax, and hence they contribute more to the services and infrastructure in society, eg roads, hospitals and educational facilities. They also pay the benefits of dole bludgers like you and therefore, based on this contribution, I believe their say is worth more.

You really are a pathetic little worm, aren't you?

An elitist worm, at that.

Reply #111 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 6:45am

Kat wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 9:26pm:

No, that's just bullsh1t.

It's a silly opinion, but not without its benefits.

NEWS AUSTRALIA HOLDINGS PTY LIMITED
Total income ($) = $2,847,566,418
Taxable income ($) = $0
Tax payable ($) = $0

Reply #112 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 9:20am

matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 9:45pm:
Aussie wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:22pm:
I know that he did charity work before he entered Parliament. People outside of politics have talked about what a good man he is. Even your beloved Hawke said recently that he is a decent man.

You know he did charity work before he entered Parliament?  Great.  Produce a link which confirms that.  As far as I am concerned the only charity work the arsehole ever did was 'at home,' where 'charity begins.'  His whole life has been......"It is all about me."

I disagree with the decrepit mind of Bob Hawke who has lost the perception he had, along with his marbles.  I reckon Bob is looking for support from the Libs so that when he drops off the perch, they will all say great things about him at his State Funeral.

Abbott is a lousy human being.  He is a thug, woman basher, a flake, Mummy's Boy, liar, philanderer, bully boy, misogynist, likely illegal as a politician, candidate for The Hague (Operation Sovereign Borders....'by hook or by crook,') and a failure as  a Prime Minister.....and that is just off the top of my head.

Here we go again with the abuse and allegations without substance. Where is the evidence that he is any of those things, particularly a woman basher?

Here ya go.

By the way.....in that list, I left out ~ thief.

Reply #113 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 9:56am

I was talking about Turnbull, correct. However I then went on to talk about how anyone who pays taxes has the right to have a say about how the country is run. Forfeiting your vote does not mean forfeiting your say. The more tax you pay, the more right you have to a say about this country is run.

You know that some people were saving their tax money and using it to donate and have a one on one meeting with a Liberal front bencher ? I would think way better value.

You would also understand that the people and groups that pay the least tax probably have the greatest say in government decision making ?

Reply #114 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 9:57am

Dnarever wrote on Dec 31st, 2015 at 9:56am:

You know that some people were saving their tax money and using it to donate and have a one on one meeting with a Liberal front bencher ? I would think way better value.

You would also understand that the people and groups that pay the least tax probably have the greatest say in government decision making ?

Correct.

NEWS AUSTRALIA HOLDINGS PTY LIMITED
Total income ($) = $2,847,566,418
Taxable income ($) = $0
Tax payable ($) = $0

Reply #115 - Dec 31st, 2015 at 10:50am

matty wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 9:44pm:
John Smith wrote on Dec 30th, 2015 at 8:12pm:
Forfeiting your vote does not mean forfeiting your say.

yes it does .... your ONLY say that really counts is at election time. Everything else is just blowing hot air to make you feel good.

I am talking in the context of situations such as these. For example, political conversations that are had on this forum.

conversations on these forums might make you feel better, but I doubt there is a single politician who pays attention to anything you say on here. The system is designed to make you think your opinion is valued, all the whilst the powers that be are ignoring you. They don't give a crap what you think. As long as you make your donations and don't churn up the waters too much, they're happy to let you have your say all the  whilst ignoring it. The only voices they listen to are their donors, and those that can advance their own causes.

matty

East Sydney
Reply #116 - Jan 1st, 2016 at 6:57pm

What piffle. My parents would be considered "rich" and they pay a lot of tax. Of course when they retire they get no pension, whilst people who pay much less tax do. What a fair society in which we live.

BILL SHORTEN WILL NEVER BE PM!!!!

Reply #117 - Jan 1st, 2016 at 6:59pm

matty wrote on Jan 1st, 2016 at 6:57pm:
What piffle. My parents would be considered "rich" and they pay a lot of tax. Of course when they retire they get no pension, whilst people who pay much less tax do. What a fair society in which we live.

ohh, your poor parents ... how can they live with themselves knowing they are being so mistreated?  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

matty

East Sydney
Reply #118 - Jan 1st, 2016 at 7:03pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 1st, 2016 at 6:59pm:

ohh, your poor parents ... how can they live with themselves knowing they are being so mistreated?  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Laugh all you want, but give me one reason why someone who saves their money pays taxes gets nothing whilst people who blow their money and pay less tax get money? Also they have to pay money because they made money on investment homes. Socialist society - punish those who are self sufficient and earn more.

BILL SHORTEN WILL NEVER BE PM!!!!

Reply #119 - Jan 1st, 2016 at 7:07pm

matty wrote on Jan 1st, 2016 at 7:03pm:
John Smith wrote on Jan 1st, 2016 at 6:59pm:

Laugh all you want, but give me one reason why someone who saves their money pays taxes gets nothing whilst people who blow their money and pay less tax get money? Also they have to pay money because they made money on investment homes. Socialist society - punish those who are self sufficient and earn more.

the govt. isn't there to be fair and to make your parents feel happy. If you want fair go to North Korea.

It's there to provide a safety net.

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10