Sharpening a chainsaw's chain has its mysteries .. (Read 6223 times)

Re: Sharpening a chainsaw's chain has its mysteries ..
Reply #15 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:10pm

bogarde73 wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:01pm:
I used to have a Stihl, in fact had a couple of them, but I've got a little Italian job now - Echo or something. Beautiful machine.
You can do your basic servicing but it pays, as Gatto says, to get the expert, if he's reliable, to do it occasionally to spot problems.

Got the echo .... great little machine .. Apart from cleaning the bar, chain and air filters after use, I leave all my servicing to the experts

Reply #16 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:11pm

I used to have a Stihl, in fact had a couple of them, but I've got a little Italian job now - Echo or something. Beautiful machine.
You can do your basic servicing but it pays, as Gatto says, to get the expert, if he's reliable, to do it occasionally to spot problems.

I'm not lazy, and it's an easy job that's quick to do. I have very little respect for so-called 'professionals'.

I'd rather become a skilled and conscientious amateur at sharpening the teeth than leave it to some employee who practices the infamous attitude of "She'll be 'right, mate ~ no worries!"

Reply #17 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:13pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:10pm:

Got the echo .... great little machine .. Apart from cleaning the bar, chain and air filters after use, I leave all my servicing to the experts

What 'experts'?

What a load of bullshit.

Bring your chains around here and I'll do it for half the price and be laughing all the way to the bank.

|dev|null

Reply #18 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:14pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:11pm:

I'm not lazy, and it's an easy job that's quick to do. I have very little respect for so-called 'professionals'.

I'd rather become a skilled and conscientious amateur at sharpening the teeth than leave it to some employee who practices the infamous attitude of "She'll be 'right, mate ~ no worries!"

Sensei, does that go for Medical doctors as well?

I am worried I'll next hear that you've been practising home brain surgery!   Grin Grin Grin Grin Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

"Pens and books are the weapons that defeat terrorism." - Malala Yousefzai, 2013.

"we will never ever solve violence while we grasp for overly simplistic solutions."
Freediver, 2007.

Reply #19 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:43pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:13pm:

What 'experts'?

What a load of bullshit.

Bring your chains around here and I'll do it for half the price and be laughing all the way to the bank.

they charged me less than $20 to sharpen the chain last time ... why would I bring it to you?

Reply #20 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:49pm

We were charging $5 a chain (sharpen and set the depth gauges) in the late 1970s, and
always had plenty of willing customers.

A lot of our trade were pro timber-cutters (cutting mine props and railway sleepers) and
it was neither time nor cost-effective for them to do their own chains.

They'd drop them off, 8 or 10 at a time, and drop another lot when they picked up the first.

Cost per chain wasn't high, but if you're doing enough of them...

Reply #21 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:52pm

Kat wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:49pm:
We were charging $5 a chain in the mid-late 1970s, and always had willing customers.

A lot of our trade were pro timber-cutters (cutting mine props and railway sleepers) and

They'd drop them off, 8 or 10 at a time, and drop another lot when they picked up the first.

I think my exact figure was $12, but I'm not sure as it was over a year ago ... it was definitely under $20 so I used $20

Reply #22 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 1:30pm

I had a chainsaw many years ago.

used to sharpen it by hand. Just with a little round file by hand.
It always cut better after. 
I'ld imagine others would do a much better job.
Better to sharpen things when they are still in good condition. So just hone it up.

have some lovely japanese knives now I do the same too.

George_Orhell

Reply #23 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 1:49pm

Apart from gaping the spark plug or changing it, and keeping the fuel fresh and chain oil topped up, I would take it to the Stihl shop for servicing and chain sharpening.

Life's Journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting,
"Holy Sh!t ... What a Ride!"

Reply #24 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 1:53pm

stilhl farm boss for me.
awesome machine. i just buy new chains on ebay.
i run the premium unleaded, runs better.
i have a pic of me standing on a horse trimming some branches.
you know youve got them trained well when you can do that. Wink

Reply #25 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 2:02pm

The conventional wisdom is never hold them above shoulder level but everybody does.
I never heard any advice about standing on horseback though.

ian

Reply #26 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 2:05pm

aquascoot wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 1:53pm:
stilhl farm boss for me.
awesome machine. i just buy new chains on ebay.
i run the premium unleaded, runs better.
i have a pic of me standing on a horse trimming some branches.
you know youve got them trained well when you can do that. Wink

We have a place over here called the Quadriplegic centre. Its full of middle aged men who thought it was clever to perform such tricks on ladders, horses etc.

Reply #27 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 5:53pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:43pm:

What 'experts'?

What a load of bullshit.

they charged me less than $20 to sharpen the chain last time ... why would I bring it to you?

Shocked Shocked Shocked

$20??

They're selling the sharpening machine for $49 at Bunnings right now ...

You do the maths ...

"There's a sucker born every minute ... " (Confucius 500bc)

Reply #28 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 5:59pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 5:53pm:
John Smith wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:43pm:

What 'experts'?

What a load of bullshit.

Shocked Shocked Shocked

$20??

They're selling the sharpening machine for $49 at Bunnings right now ...

You do the maths ...

"There's a sucker born every minute ... " (Confucius 500bc)

maths works well .... I've sharpened once in two years (I don't use it much), and have $37 more than you  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #29 - Aug 18th, 2014 at 6:04pm

Kat wrote on Aug 18th, 2014 at 12:49pm:
We were charging $5 a chain (sharpen and set the depth gauges) in the late 1970s, and
always had plenty of willing customers.

In this case I can see the reason for doing this.

Mine props and railway sleepers were made out of Jarrah, Ironbark, and Blackbutt timbers that soon wore the teeth down.