Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15
Wealth inequality: NEVER judge a man by his wealth (Read 16027 times)

Re: Wealth inequality: NEVER judge a man by his wealth
Reply #90 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 10:53am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 10:34am:
aquascoot wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 9:17am:
instead of this insane jealousy of the rich , has it ever occurred to you to try to join them.

as a rich person, I still get most enjoyment from just having a quiet day, cutting lantana with my dog and my horse. I spend nothing. I suppose that's why i'm rich  Wink Wink Wink

I am not rich, but quite ok thanks.
My satisfactions are a bit more expensive.
Riding to the coffee shop with my wife on our bicycles. Having a coffee and reading the horoscopes to each other.
We lash out and have a coffee each !

Playing bridge ($5 a night unless I am directing or running classes, then it is free).

I often find people who are right winged politically are more self reliant. More go-getters, forthright, achievers, capable and happy.

sprint, money is grossly over rated.
I know rich dudes with 6 investment properties who spend every weekend sorting out tenants problems, fixing drippy taps, chasing bad debts, stressed, probably going to an early grave.
once you have a bit, you realise, you don't need it to have fun,
cycling sounds great.
I think rich people have a good sense of self and good self esteem.
personally, it gives me the freedom to drive around in old utes and wear clothes from lowes and not feel like a loser because they all know I own many acres of prime grazing land. its liberating in that sense,
it lets you say to the world  Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink

Winston Smith

Ministry of Truth

Oceania
Reply #91 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 10:59am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 10:53am:
Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink

Which translates to: I know everything I just typed is a lie, but I can't help myself.

Big Brother is watching you

ian

Reply #92 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:17am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 10:00am:
Oh winnie, don't be a numptie,

Lets say lang hancock hadn't developed the pilbarra and made gina a billionaire.

how does that benefit the poor?
it doesn't, not one iota.
Gina recently sold her gallilie coal project to the Indians for 3 billion.
That's 3 billion coming into Australia from india.
Now treat gina nicely and she'll spend every cent of it here. maybe she'll buy a footy team like Nathan tinkler, maybe she'll build casinos like Kerry packer (and get rich Asians to unload even more money for all those helpless numpties).
It doesn't matter, she aint going to be buried with it , so one way or another, its going to recycle.
the only bad outcome is if the asinine brainless numpties keep hating on the rich and the rich say
f**k you, i'm off to the caymans with my loot.
And who would blame them.

leftards are such short sighted losers in this regard.
its just money, go get some. it aint rocket science.
theres so much of it around in OZ , if you aint getting any, you need to change your strategy.
its like sex, theres plenty around, an unlimited amount. if your getting none, you are using the wrong strategy. stop whinging, give yourself a makeover and get out there. what wont work is whinging about it.
$$$$ can spot a whiney a mile off and the $$$$ is repelled by negativity
I have nothing against people with money in general, I have a bit myself but you are wrong about the super wealthy like Rhinehart. They dont spend money, they accumulate it, often in complicated offshore schemes that do not benefit australia in any way shape or form. There are of course exceptions to his rule, Ziggy Forest being one who springs to  mind but in general the type of personality who is driven to constantly accumulate assets without stopping to smell the roses does not spread the wealth around. we have even had one the richest people in the world (warren buffet) state categorically the super rich are not taxed enough. That 3 bill coming from India? I can guarantee no australian will see any benefit from even 1 dollar of it.

Reply #93 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:24am

ian wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:17am:

Lets say lang hancock hadn't developed the pilbarra and made gina a billionaire.

Now treat gina nicely and she'll spend every cent of it here. maybe she'll buy a footy team like Nathan tinkler, maybe she'll build casinos like Kerry packer (and get rich Asians to unload even more money for all those helpless numpties).
It doesn't matter, she aint going to be buried with it , so one way or another, its going to recycle.
the only bad outcome is if the asinine brainless numpties keep hating on the rich and the rich say

theres so much of it around in OZ , if you aint getting any, you need to change your strategy.
its like sex, theres plenty around, an unlimited amount. if your getting none, you are using the wrong strategy. stop whinging, give yourself a makeover and get out there. what wont work is whinging about it.
I have nothing against people with money in general, I have a bit myself but you are wrong about the super wealthy like Rhinehart. They dont spend money, they accumulate it, often in complicated offshore schemes that do not benefit australia in any way shape or form. There are of course exceptions to his rule, Ziggy Forest being one who springs to  mind but in general the type of personality who is driven to constantly accumulate assets without stopping to smell the roses does not spread the wealth around. we have even had one the richest people in the world (warren buffet) state categorically the super rich are not taxed enough. That 3 bill coming from India? I can guarantee no australian will see any benefit from even 1 dollar of it.

yes ian you may be right, there loss if they don't spread it around. their kids might Wink Wink.
bill gates certainly does.

be that as it may. hating on them cannot be helpful.
you hate on people with that sort of dough and they will have access to more sneaky accountants and sneaky lawyers than you can shake a stick at.
and then you'll DEFINITELY not see one cent of that money.
if they live in oz, they build a mansion (jobs) , maintain their mansion (jobs), must spend some of it (jobs), pass it on to their kids.
if they go to the Bahamas or the canary islands with their 3 billion, you get nothing

Winston Smith

Ministry of Truth

Oceania
Reply #94 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:30am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:24am:
ian wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:17am:

yes ian you may be right, there loss if they don't spread it around. their kids might Wink Wink.

you hate on people with that sort of dough and they will have access to more sneaky accountants and sneaky lawyers than you can shake a stick at.
if they live in oz, they build a mansion (jobs) , maintain their mansion (jobs), must spend some of it (jobs), pass it on to their kids.
if they go to the Bahamas or the canary islands with their 3 billion, you get nothing

There you go wilfully confusing the issue again.

Nobody is HATING on the wealthy because they are wealthy.

People hate the system that allows a minority to become wealthy through being granted exclusive access to the resources of the commons, especially when they continually erode and attempt to break the social contract which theoretically affords them that access.

One would be entirely justified in their hatred of such people.

vikaryan

Reply #95 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:33am

So corporations are now not only "people" they are "people with a religion". Someone needs to explain to me how you baptize a corporation.

As the majority points out, the shareholders of major publicly traded corporations are unlikely to agree to follow highly restrictive religious constraints on their business dealings, especially (I would add) ones that are highly unpopular, such as rejection of contraception. But I actually agree with Justice Ginsburg that the logic of the majority’s argument ultimately applies to corporations of all types, even if some are far more likely to actually claim RFRA exemptions than others. The same point applies to constitutional rights, as well. For example, publicly traded corporations are surely entitled to Fourth Amendment rights against “unreasonable” searches and seizures and Takings Clause protections against the condemnation of their property without compensation.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/volokh-conspiracy/wp/2014/06/30/hobby-lobby-and-the-legal-rights-of-people-organized-as-corporations/

img_06051.jpg (249 KB | 47 )
img_06051.jpg

We fight a holy war against the fat and the corrupt and the sinful and the unbelieving!

ian

Reply #96 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:36am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:24am:
[

But heres what I think, I pay my share of tax and always have and i think they should do the same and no amount of sneaky lawyers or dodgy accountants should be able to leverage them out of that responsibility, at the moment there are more tax loopholes for the super rich than you can shake a stick at and it is entirely possible for any government with the gumption to close these loopholes but it wont happen while any government is in bed with these people and our current government is not precluded from this.

vikaryan

Reply #97 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 11:54am

The differences between the rich and everyone else are about health and opportunity

With the popularity of Thomas Piketty’s book, Capital in the 21st Century, inequality has become central to the public debate over economic policy. Piketty, and much of this discussion, focuses on the sharp increases in the share of income and wealth going to the top 1 per cent, 0.1 per cent and 0.01 per cent of the population. This is indeed a critical issue. Whatever the resolution of arguments over particular numbers, it is almost certain that the share of personal income going to the top 1 per cent of the population has risen by 10 percentage points over the past generation, and that the share of the bottom 90 per cent has fallen by a comparable amount.

The only groups that have seen faster income growth than the top 1 per cent are the top 0.1 per cent and top 0.01 per cent.

It is vital to remember, however, that important aspects of inequality are unlikely to be transformed just by limited income redistribution. Consider two fundamental components of life – health and the ability to provide opportunity for children.

Barry Bosworth and his colleagues at the Brookings Institution have examined changes in life expectancy starting at age 55 for the cohort of people born in 1920 and the cohort born in 1940. They found that the richest men gained roughly six years in life expectancy, middle-income earners gained roughly four years, and those in the lowest part of the distribution gained two years. To put this in perspective, the elimination or doubling of cancer mortality would mean less than a four-year change in life expectancy.

Why these differences? They more likely have to do with lifestyle and variations in diet and stress than the ability to afford medical care – especially since the figures refer to relatively aged people, all of whom, once they reach 65, fall under Medicare.

Over the past two generations, the gap in educational achievement between the children of the rich and the children of the poor has doubled. While the college enrolment rate for children from the lowest quarter of the income distribution has increased from 6 per cent to 8 per cent, the rate for children from the highest quarter has risen from 40 per cent to 73 per cent.

What has driven these trends? No doubt there are many factors. But a crucial one has to be that the average affluent child now receives 6,000 hours of extracurricular education, in the form of being read to, taken to a museum, coached in a sport, or any other kind of stimulus provided by an adult, more than the average poor child – and this gap has greatly increased since the 1970s.

A famous literary spat between 1920s novelists F Scott Fitzgerald and Ernest Hemingway has been boiled down over time to a succinct, if apocryphal, exchange. Fitzgerald: “The rich are different from you and me.” Hemingway’s retort: “Yes, they have more money.”

These observations on health and the ability to provide opportunity for children suggest that the differences between the rich and everyone else are not only about money but about things that are even more fundamental: health and opportunity.

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/36d0831a-eca2-11e3-8963-00144feabdc0.html#axzz36AYtP0CG
« Last Edit: Jul 1st, 2014 at 12:23pm by vikaryan »  

We fight a holy war against the fat and the corrupt and the sinful and the unbelieving!

Reply #98 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 12:36pm

instead of this insane jealousy of the rich , has it ever occurred to you to try to join them.

as a rich person, I still get most enjoyment from just having a quiet day, cutting lantana with my dog and my horse. I spend nothing. I suppose that's why i'm rich  Wink Wink Wink

Riding to the coffee shop with my wife on our bicycles. Having a coffee and reading the horoscopes to each other.

Playing bridge ($5 a night unless I am directing or running classes, then it is free).

I often find people who are right winged politically are more self reliant. More go-getters, forthright, achievers, capable and happy.

I know rich dudes with 6 investment properties who spend every weekend sorting out tenants problems, fixing drippy taps, chasing bad debts, stressed, probably going to an early grave.
cycling sounds great.
personally, it gives me the freedom to drive around in old utes and wear clothes from lowes and not feel like a loser because they all know I own many acres of prime grazing land. its liberating in that sense,

I hear you ther, I used to have 3 rentals. What a headache.
Shares are SO much 'cleaner'. Probably harder work
though.

My wife and I often laugh at our peasant ways. We often have poached eggs for dinner.
The cyclings amazing. I have cycled for 40 odd years. By the time we are at the end of our road I have a big smile on my face, wind in my hear, hearing the birds ....... It's a short road too.
Last weekend it was REALLY cold, we took off. After 15 minutes it was colder, a breeze whipped around, I exclaimed "Did you feel that !". Then considered, then louder "Did you feel how COLD it is ??"

You have an old ute ? I have a camry with 270,000 kms on the clock and LOTS of dents. It runs perfectly.
Many weeks I win more on the market than it is worth.
When I have a good winner I invite friends out to a restaurant. My shout.
Some years I turnover a few million there.

I have found money comes and goes.
My wife, cycling and bridge stay.

Winston Smith

Ministry of Truth

Oceania
Reply #99 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 12:55pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 12:36pm:

cycling sounds great.

I hear you ther, I used to have 3 rentals. What a headache.
Shares are SO much 'cleaner'. Probably harder work
though.

My wife and I often laugh at our peasant ways. We often have poached eggs for dinner.
The cyclings amazing. I have cycled for 40 odd years. By the time we are at the end of our road I have a big smile on my face, wind in my hear, hearing the birds ....... It's a short road too.
Last weekend it was REALLY cold, we took off. After 15 minutes it was colder, a breeze whipped around, I exclaimed "Did you feel that !". Then considered, then louder "Did you feel how COLD it is ??"

You have an old ute ? I have a camry with 270,000 kms on the clock and LOTS of dents. It runs perfectly.
Many weeks I win more on the market than it is worth.
When I have a good winner I invite friends out to a restaurant. My shout.
Some years I turnover a few million there.

I have found money comes and goes.
My wife, cycling and bridge stay.

The wealthy athlete daily forum poster, that one went out of fashion in the 90's.

Get with the times, your age is showing you Centrelink warrior.

ian

Reply #100 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 1:16pm

now now winston, dont be envious.

Winston Smith

Ministry of Truth

Oceania
Reply #101 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 1:32pm

ian wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 1:16pm:
now now winston, dont be envious.

My assertion is speculation based on observation. Don't be fallacious, because we all know what happens next. I will invite you to substantiate, you won't be able to and will look disingenuous by instead attempting to deflect.

I think we just just assume that template for any future interaction. Wink
« Last Edit: Jul 1st, 2014 at 1:41pm by Winston Smith »  

Reply #102 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 2:12pm

Thanks Winston,

You reminded me.

Aqua - Did you notice how Howard was very fit. His daily walk were exactly that is recommended by a doctor.
Abbott .......... well, Ironman triathlete competitor, cyclist, boxer.

Rudd ..............

Reply #103 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 2:34pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 1st, 2014 at 2:12pm:
Thanks Winston,

You reminded me.

Aqua - Did you notice how Howard was very fit. His daily walk were exactly that is recommended by a doctor.
Abbott .......... well, Ironman triathlete competitor, cyclist, boxer.

Rudd ..............

oh absolutely, goes to character.
palmer Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
SHY Wink Wink Wink Wink
beezley Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink

one of our good premiers was wayne goss, voted out for being too much of a rightard and trying to build a toll road to the gold coast.
ran over 200 km a week.
used to live near me....a labor man i could respect.

beattie Wink Wink Wink Wink knifed him of course.

vikaryan

Reply #104 - Jul 1st, 2014 at 4:15pm

The ideas of British author George Orwell, (1903 - 1950), warning on the political issues of socialism and the totalitarian police state, using the Soviet Union as he did in his books 1984 and Animal Farm, among others, continues to influence our political culture today because most of us who read his stuff, can see the rise of the odious authoritarian society he described actually unfolding before our very eyes, right now. We are long past Orwell’s fictional 1984 but what is happening to our country today, politically and economically, is as frightening and apparently inevitable, as the soul deadening endings of George Orwell’s tales.

We still use terms that Orwell introduced into common usage like the “cold war”, “newspeak” (political correctness), “thoughtcrime” (hate crimes), “Big Brother” (Obama), “doublethink” (Hillary Clinton interviews) and “Room 101” (White House briefing room), which was the torture chamber of the Ministry of Love in Orwell’s 1984. Is the reality of our status actually to be found in the pages of sixty year old novella’s? I’ve read them, my son’s have read them and they scared the bejesus out of us. Basically however, we knew that that was fiction except, was it? America was the shining land of freedom and plenty, “waving fields of grain” and all that. It couldn’t happen here. But, nevertheless we really saw it happening in Russia and China. And, while the old Soviet Union has collapsed and China opened Pandora’s box to Capitalism, 1984 is alive and well in today’s Cuba and now in Venezuela too. 

The Progressives are moving our America in the direction so suitably revealed to us by Orwell. And we have, by our inattention or inaction, permitted them to do so. We are being subjected to a slow motion hijacking of America. Wendell Phillips said it best when he told us that “eternal vigilance is the price of liberty.” Apparently we weren’t listening because even after his disastrous first term, Obama was re-elected by the numbers by a sub-culture of self-righteous moochers and leeches, indignant people with whom no argument, reasoned or otherwise, can make a dent. To these free loaders, tax payer supplied government largess, in the form of food stamps, welfare, free cell phones, free health care, etc. is now their conventional truth. Woe be unto the politician who attacks those beliefs frontally. That’s the new third rail of politics.

In Orwell’s Animal Farm, the pigs stage a revolution over the humans, call it Animalism, (progressivism), win, then declare “all animals are equal”, a metaphor for our moochers and takers who vote for their ‘pigs’ to tax our earnings to give to them. Orwell’s story progresses from all animal meetings to a committee of Pigs who have become the elites and run things. All this is accompanied by lies, deceit and treachery. Of course a motto change was required: “All animals are equal but some animals (pigs, i.e.:career politicians) are more equal than others”. Orwell was describing the rise of the Soviet Union not forecasting the collapse of America or Britain and his animal characters were allegories to real Soviet people and events.

The arguments for equality are seductive and alluring and Orwell’s depiction of equality ends up just like we see coming to us now. Fairness is to become common misery for all, except the head pigs (the elites). Obama, is pushing inequality of wages as sinful hence his demands for higher minimum wages. Obama wants affordable housing for all and is trying to do what Dodd-Frank did just a few short years ago, require banks to make home loans to folks without proof of equity. This again will create a housing bubble sure to further cripple our economy. Orwell warned us about these events and we can see them coming. It’s not too late. Remember freedom is the goal, the Constitution is the way. Now, go get ‘em! (9 June 2014)

http://pickens.fetchyournews.com/archives/4351-Thoughts-on-the-Future-From-the-Past.html

Animal Farm – George Orwell. Singapore.

Buzzfeed: 28 Brilliant Works Of Literary Graffiti

http://www.buzzfeed.com/danieldalton/literary-graffiti

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15