Poll Poll
Question: Which is the more acceptable option.

Option 1.    
  4 (50.0%)
Option 2.    
  4 (50.0%)

Total votes: 8
« Created by: Pantheon on: Oct 18th, 2013 at 12:21am »

ADF risks becoming second-rate says Lowy Institute (Read 2009 times)
Pantheon

Woke

ADF risks becoming second-rate says Lowy Institute
Oct 18th, 2013 at 12:21am

Australian Defence Force risks becoming second-rate says Lowy Institute paper

Australia has been warned it is at grave risk of becoming a second-rate military power in the Asia-Pacific, and undermining the crucial United States alliance, unless the Abbott Government immediately increases defence funding.
A sobering new analysis of the nation's military capability by the Lowy Institute for International Policy paints a gloomy picture of a defence force in serious decline after years of funding neglect.

http://www.news.com.au/national-news/australian-defence-force-risks-becoming-secondrate-says-lowy-institute-paper/story-fncynjr2-1226735669544

Our current force's cant continue the way it operates today and struggles to meet our current needs let a alone tomorrow needs with current funding levels, so with this in mind,  Which is the more acceptable option.

Option 1.

- Cut Army's planned armoured vehicle fleet by 25 per cent to save $3 billion

- Reduce fighter aircraft numbers and flying hours to save $4 billion

- Shrink the Defence Materiel Organisation by 50 per cent to save $4 billion

- Build eight instead of 12 submarines to save $9 billion

Or Option 2.

- Decide urgently what it wants the ADF to do

- Fund "Force 2030" (increase defence funding to 2%)

- Review the US alliance and America's Asian pivot

[b][center]Socialism had been tried on every continent on earth. In light of its results, it's time to question the motives of its advocates.

Re: ADF risks becoming second-rate says Lowy Institute
Reply #1 - Oct 28th, 2013 at 8:27pm

Option Numbah Ten:-  Create more jobs for a viable economy and thus have the cash flowing in to pay for the high cost modern military.

Option Eleven:-  Chop all politician's retirement packages and re-fund Defence.

These things always come up after an election.  I recall the Navy wanted five aircraft carriers - fine - but the planes cost heaps....

Trouble is the need to have a broad scope response capability - which has the tendency to water down the focus and abilities of given parts of Defence.

If only - once in the world - a clear cut situation was available in advance.

|dev|null

Reply #2 - Oct 29th, 2013 at 4:04pm

I say, get rid of the ADF!  Why do we need it?  It wastes money and kills people!

"Pens and books are the weapons that defeat terrorism." - Malala Yousefzai, 2013.

"we will never ever solve violence while we grasp for overly simplistic solutions."
Freediver, 2007.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #3 - Oct 29th, 2013 at 4:23pm

|dev|null wrote on Oct 29th, 2013 at 4:04pm:
I say, get rid of the ADF!  Why do we need it?  It wastes money and kills people!

Of course you do, because you are a troll and you are seeking the attention mummy and daddy didn't want to give you.

viewpoint

A joke is a very serious
thing. [Winston]

Reply #4 - Oct 29th, 2013 at 4:31pm

I say, get rid of you, you are a waste of oxygen!

Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery.
- Sir Winston Churchill

|dev|null

Reply #5 - Oct 30th, 2013 at 10:51am

viewpoint wrote on Oct 29th, 2013 at 4:31pm:

I say, get rid of you, you are a waste of oxygen!

I don't think you are.  I think you consume your fair share!   Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy

"Pens and books are the weapons that defeat terrorism." - Malala Yousefzai, 2013.

"we will never ever solve violence while we grasp for overly simplistic solutions."
Freediver, 2007.

imcrookonit

Reply #6 - Nov 3rd, 2013 at 9:23am

Wheres the $ money coming from?.      Sad 

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #7 - Nov 3rd, 2013 at 11:34am

Wheres the $ money coming from?.      Sad 

Don't worry crook, no-one will take your dole away to pay for our new fighters.  Grin

imcrookonit

Reply #8 - Nov 3rd, 2013 at 11:57am

That's not the point.  The unemployed people need a fair and just increase of $50 a week, just to make ends meet.  So once again, where is the money coming from?.      Sad

Pantheon

Woke

Reply #9 - Nov 3rd, 2013 at 12:23pm

That's not the point.  The unemployed people need a fair and just increase of $50 a week, just to make ends meet.  So once again, where is the money coming from?.      Sad   

How about fixing the rising cost of living instead of throwing money to maintain the helpless while ignoring the cause the problem.

[b][center]Socialism had been tried on every continent on earth. In light of its results, it's time to question the motives of its advocates.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #10 - Nov 3rd, 2013 at 3:45pm

Welfare sucks up a heap more of taxpayer dollars that defence would ever see, so, don't get all sooky just because defence needs a few extra bucks.

Welfare is the drain that knows no end, defence should never be touched to give some dole bludger an easier life. If they want an easier life, do what the rest of us have to do. Get a job and pay taxes.

imcrookonit

Reply #11 - Nov 4th, 2013 at 5:48am

Unemployment can happen to anyone at anytime, young or old.  Those that are working today, could be the ones that are unemployed tomorrow.      Sad

|dev|null

Reply #12 - Nov 5th, 2013 at 9:54am

Unemployment can happen to anyone at anytime, young or old.  Those that are working today, could be the ones that are unemployed tomorrow.      Sad 

"But for the Grace of God, goes I...."

Some people are very short sighted and of course choose always to blame the victims.

Capitalism by it's very nature breeds indifference and uncaring, it destroys empathy, teaching every person is an island unto themselves!   Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin
« Last Edit: Nov 5th, 2013 at 10:37am by |dev|null »  

Freediver, 2007.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #13 - Nov 5th, 2013 at 10:51am

|dev|null wrote on Nov 5th, 2013 at 9:54am:

"But for the Grace of God, goes I...."

Some people are very short sighted and of course choose always to blame the victims.

Capitalism by it's very nature breeds indifference and uncaring, it destroys empathy, teaching every person is an island unto themselves!   Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin

I see you are reinforceing your own empathy and care for others by putting crazy and laughing emoticons in your post about the unemployed.

This is for you and your intellectual deficiencies.  Grin  Grin

|dev|null

Reply #14 - Nov 5th, 2013 at 1:05pm

Oooh!  Two can play that game!   Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy

Not willing to answer the points I made?  So, what protects you from the dole queue except your pension?  Don't worry, I'm sure the Mad Monk will soon fix that!   Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy

Freediver, 2007.