Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 19
Rudd smacked down on Bible verse (Read 22705 times)
RightSadFred

Re: Rudd smacked down on Bible verse
Reply #15 - Sep 3rd, 2013 at 10:15pm

Maqqa

Marriage is a religious construct that I see no value in the state recognising any more.

Rudd being a politician that lies about being Religious just showing up at a church means jackshit to me, then he is also pretending to be for Gay marriage.

Not sure how an Abbott Abbott Abbott infected left wing twit bag can support this guys obvious phoney campaign.

I am back in the gig and guess what ??? Gay marriage is suddenly cool .... FFS this is by far his worse piece of lying work.

rabbitoh07

Reply #16 - Sep 3rd, 2013 at 10:58pm

Maqqa wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 8:48pm:
I have gone to various online Bible sites and did a search on "slavery natural condition"

Couldn't find it

So I wonder those who clapped and applaud Rudd's come back last night was as idiotic as he is??!!

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-09-03/grant-how-could-a-christian-pm-call-the-bi...

I am appalled at how this national leader, publicly claiming "an informed conscience and a Christian conscience", misrepresented the Holy Book of the faith he confesses, on its teaching on one matter (slavery) to avoid its teaching on another matter (of marriage), in order to justify his abandonment of that biblical teaching.

Let's be clear. Even a cursory reading of the Bible would tell you it never says slavery is a "natural condition". Never. Not once.

However, you may purchase male or female slaves from among the foreigners who live among you.  You may also purchase the children of such resident foreigners, including those who have been born in your land.  You may treat them as your property, passing them on to your children as a permanent inheritance.  You may treat your slaves like this, but the people of Israel, your relatives, must never be treated this way. (Leviticus 25:44-46 NLT)

If you buy a Hebrew slave, he is to serve for only six years.  Set him free in the seventh year, and he will owe you nothing for his freedom.    (Exodus 21:2-6 NLT)

When a man sells his daughter as a slave, she will not be freed at the end of six years as the men are.  If she does not please the man who bought her, he may allow her to be bought back again. (Exodus 21:7-11 NLT)

Slaves, obey your earthly masters with deep respect and fear.  Serve them sincerely as you would serve Christ. [(Ephesians 6:5 NLT)

Let's be clear. Even a cursory reading of the Bible would tell you that slavery is a "natural condition". Several times. More than once. [/quote] [/quote]

Maybe you were searching the Koran by mistake Maqqa.

Reply #17 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 12:32am

This Rudd twit tried to make the claim that the Bible doesn't condemn homosexuality.  Well Kev-the-backslider, you are wrong - as always.  Romans 1 makes the Bibles opposition very clear and unequivocal.

It was a typically ghastly effort by Rudd, the latter-day gay convert who is only so because he sees votes in it.

Reply #18 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 1:18am

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 12:32am:
This Rudd twit tried to make the claim that the Bible doesn't condemn homosexuality. Well Kev-the-backslider, you are wrong - as always.  Romans 1 makes the Bibles opposition very clear and unequivocal.

It was a typically ghastly effort by Rudd, the latter-day gay convert who is only so because he sees votes in it.

Did he.....When???

Reply #19 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 1:22am

philperth2010 wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 1:18am:
This Rudd twit tried to make the claim that the Bible doesn't condemn homosexuality. Well Kev-the-backslider, you are wrong - as always.  Romans 1 makes the Bibles opposition very clear and unequivocal.

Did he.....When???

that was his implication when he talked about the Bible 'moving on from slavery etc'

Look, where church is concerned, Rudd is an embarrassment. His knowledge of the Bible I poor and his grandstanding on church doorstops offensive.  He is a clown on almost every topic other than himself. and even then he gets the facts wrong.

Reply #20 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 1:42am

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 1:22am:

Did he.....When???

that was his implication when he talked about the Bible 'moving on from slavery etc'

Look, where church is concerned, Rudd is an embarrassment. His knowledge of the Bible I poor and his grandstanding on church doorstops offensive.  He is a clown on almost every topic other than himself. and even then he gets the facts wrong.

So he never actually made the claim you credit him for.....The bible has nothing to do with politics and is irrelevant to most Australian's.....Neither Abbott or Rudd are worth voting for IMO???

Those who seek consolation in existing churches often pay for their peace of mind with a tacit agreement to ignore a great deal of what is known about the way the world works.
Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience, 1990

Reply #21 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 1:44am

philperth2010 wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 1:42am:

Did he.....When???

So he never actually made the claim you credit him for.....The bible has nothing to do with politics and is irrelevant to most Australian's.....Neither Abbott or Rudd are worth voting for IMO???

Those who seek consolation in existing churches often pay for their peace of mind with a tacit agreement to ignore a great deal of what is known about the way the world works.
Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience, 1990

yeah you don't like church...blah blah blah.  Heard it all before. amd your predictable quote is nothing more than a subjective opinion a well as being dead wrong.

Reply #22 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 5:19am

True Blue... wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 9:24pm:
John Smith wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 9:06pm:
True Blue... wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 9:04pm:
rudd still didn't answer the question...

two face lying bastard...

and of course he came up with something smart to try and belittle that guy.. .what a pig..

bugger off idiot .... anyone who debates marriage equality with the line 'but the bible says' is asking to be belittled.

bullshit you Turd...

it just goes to show that Rudd is so low that he'll use the church to try and get votes because its obvious he doesn't believe in the Bibles word...

Let’s be clear. Even a cursory reading of the Bible would tell you it never says slavery is a “natural condition”. Never. Not once…

yet again... another lie by Rudd defended by the moronic Stooge Labor supporters... along with his bullying of a priest ffs...

lower than a snakes belly that pig..  Angry

Okay then. Why is slavery mentioned so often in the xtian book? It even tells you how to be a slave doesnt it? Isnt that an assumption that its a natural condition?

« Last Edit: Sep 4th, 2013 at 5:34am by Sir Spot of Borg »  

True Blue...

Reply #23 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:44am

Kat wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 10:11pm:
John Smith wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 9:26pm:

and of course he came up with something smart to try and belittle that guy.. .what a pig..

bugger off idiot .... anyone who debates marriage equality with the line 'but the bible says' is asking to be belittled.

bullshit you Turd...

it just goes to show that Rudd is so low that he'll use the church to try and get votes because its obvious he doesn't believe in the Bibles word...

Let’s be clear. Even a cursory reading of the Bible would tell you it never says slavery is a “natural condition”. Never. Not once…

yet again... another lie by Rudd defended by the moronic Stooge Labor supporters... along with his bullying of a priest ffs...

you didn't even see the show did you?  Grin Grin Grin Grin

You've no idea what you are on about ...

Nothing new or remotely surprising about that.

He seldom does.

and funnily I've proved you wrong time and again... then you disappear out of the thread....

like the one where those welfare cheats getting $900 a week of tax payers money and then forcing their kids to live in a car...

ole Kat and his disappearing acts as soon as he realises once again he's 100% wrong... good one kat...  Grin

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"

Benjamin Franklin

Reply #24 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:51am

typical rudd BS, trying to walk both sides of the fence.
the bloke has NO personal conviction or moral fibre.
bring back gillard and swan Wink Wink

rabbitoh07

Reply #25 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:58am

Did he.....When???

No - that wasn't his implication at all.  You have very, very poor comprehension skills

It is clear that the Bible considers homosexual unnatural
Just as it is clear that the Bible considers slavery a natural human condition.

That is the point.

Some issues of morality have changed in the 2000 odd years since that particular document was written, so it should not be taken blindly at face value.

RightSadFred

Reply #26 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 7:05am

This is a big problem that would discount me from politics, you have to be either a real Christian or at least pretend you are one like Rudd does, but Rudd's political Mr Hyde says there are possible votes in thinking gay marriage is ok.

Some focus group must of told him he could get some votes out of this ?

The guy is a complete phoney grub.

This is also a big misjudgement, any votes he might of got would be at least cancelled out by the real religious that would be offended by his comments.

In 2007 he got elected because he looked like Liberal Lite, not because he was supporting fringe issues.

Reply #27 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 7:06am

True Blue... wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:44am:
Kat wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 10:11pm:
John Smith wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 9:26pm:

bullshit you Turd...

you didn't even see the show did you?  Grin Grin Grin Grin

You've no idea what you are on about ...

Nothing new or remotely surprising about that.

He seldom does.

and funnily I've proved you wrong time and again... then you disappear out of the thread....

like the one where those welfare cheats getting $900 a week of tax payers money and then forcing their kids to live in a car...

ole Kat and his disappearing acts as soon as he realises once again he's 100% wrong... good one kat...  Grin

Ya bugger, I have to get up and go to work in the mornings.

Unlike you, I can't sit up all night posting groundless abuse on internet fora.

And you've yet to prove me wrong on anything.

BlOoDy RiPpEr

aussie-patriot.com

Reply #28 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 7:22am

Slavery was permitted in the Bible because of sin in the world. It existed before the Jews were formed as a nation and it existed after Israel was conquered. God allows many things to happen in the world such as storms, famine, murder, etc. Slavery, like divorce, is not preferred by God. Instead, it is allowed. Where many nations treated their slaves very badly, the Bible gave many rights and privileges to slaves. So, even though it isn't the best way to deal with people, because God has allowed man freedom, slavery then exists

host of the aussie-patriot.com site

Reply #29 - Sep 4th, 2013 at 8:28am

RightSadFred wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 7:05am:

This is a big problem that would discount me from politics, you have to be either a real Christian or at least pretend you are one like Rudd does, but Rudd's political Mr Hyde says there are possible votes in thinking gay marriage is ok.

Some focus group must of told him he could get some votes out of this ?

The guy is a complete phoney grub.

This is also a big misjudgement, any votes he might of got would be at least cancelled out by the real religious that would be offended by his comments.

In 2007 he got elected because he looked like Liberal Lite, not because he was supporting fringe issues.

Quite right, thats kevs problem in a nutshell. he has just become a populist.

fair dinkum.
now he's concerned about foreign ownership of agricultural land and now he wants to break the monopoly of coles and woolies on the farm gate. Wink Wink

his government has had 6 years to produce a policy and we get a few one liners 3 days before an election.

cold comfort for the farmers who have suicided after his government banned live cattle exports and let the big 2 ride rough shot over the dairy and fruit and vege industry.

better to say nothing than to be seen as a total fraud on these issues.

maybe he could start farm-watch, milk-watch, fruit-watch Wink Wink

as for going to church, i dont see kevvie getting down on the river banks of the brisbane river to help the drunks and homeless. not unless they have a nice chardonay on ice.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 19