Grow some balls Adam (Read 14439 times)
Amadd

Mo

Grow some balls Adam
May 24th, 2013 at 10:54pm

Yes the abos have the Islamic victimhood method of control as well.
To the bottom of the pile with you Goodes.

The big black nice person is trying to ruin that poor young girl's life that asshole.
She was just talking crap like everybody else should have the right to do at the footy.

And yes we need to understand that we have brought about the idea that all women are bulletproof in the eyes of society.

I'm glad that this event has taken place, which in reality is nothing more than a storm in a teacup, but it displays the authority that the ones who side with each other would like to wield.

What a poo of a country we live in.  Grin

Will the public say what they really think? That Goodes is a big black stupid sooky asshole..

That was really terrible to see that poor girl taken away by security bawling her eyes out for what she would know will be extensive media attention. Goodes you are really pathetic.

I won't be watchng any more of the shitful obligious round.
« Last Edit: May 25th, 2013 at 9:50am by Amadd »  

Re: Grow some balls Adam
Reply #1 - May 24th, 2013 at 11:52pm

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/suspected-slur-against-adam-goodes-mars-indigen...

Goodes pointed out the fan - allegedly a teenage girl - to security staff in the dying minutes of the game. The fan was escorted from the ground by police.

Goodes left the field immediately after the siren and was in the rooms for several minutes while teammates celebrated on the field.

Channel Seven commentator Matthew Richardson said Goodes seemed close to tears. McGuire said he was disgusted by the incident.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #2 - May 25th, 2013 at 12:00am

Abos should know all about sticks and stones.
In fact, that's all they know about.

It wasn't allegedly a teenage girl. It was a teenage girl who was bawling her eyes out.

He's a grown man with all the fortunate success in the world. She is just a kid supporter, a feral pie supporter who got a bit emotional at the loss.

What goodes did to that young girl is terrible.
« Last Edit: May 25th, 2013 at 12:03pm by Amadd »  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #3 - May 25th, 2013 at 3:10am

More than likely,  that young girl will be in a very distressed state today.

He should be protecting the youths regardless of colour.
« Last Edit: May 25th, 2013 at 12:14pm by Amadd »  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #4 - May 25th, 2013 at 4:03am

The average aussie male would say to Adam, "No mate, you do not put a young girl in that situation.

Just the other week, Milne was copping heaps from a woman over the fence and it was laughed at.
« Last Edit: May 25th, 2013 at 12:13pm by Amadd »  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #5 - May 25th, 2013 at 4:36am

Since the beginning of the game players have been heckled. 99.9% of them turn a deaf ear.

As Goodes has requested the young girl to apologise, I think she should phone him and tell to stop being a prissy princess and to get over himself.

So now every person who has the slightest shade of colour must be greatly offended whether they really are or not.
« Last Edit: May 25th, 2013 at 2:28pm by Amadd »  

Reply #6 - May 25th, 2013 at 4:05pm

The media where looking for some controversy for the Indigenous round and now they have it.....I have little sympathy for the girl in this case.....I am sympathetic to the 13 year old teenager however!!!

Wink Wink Wink

Reply #7 - May 25th, 2013 at 5:14pm

Amadd wrote on May 24th, 2013 at 10:54pm:
Will the public say what they really think? That Goodes is a big black stupid sooky asshole..

They would, if they were the ones being interviewed.  The media just cross to footy identity afetr footy identity, who read the script - they have to - their livelihood as a public figure depends on it. 

"yeah I'm abaoslutely shocked.  Adam handled it like a true champion"

meanwhile, everyone listening is thinking "dam really?  Having a gigantic sook about what a 13 year old girl says is "handling it like a true champion?  Did we expect him to jump into the crowd and smash her, Eric Cantona style?

All in all, a crappy time for her to say anything at all against an aboriginal player, but let's not pretend worse is said at every game to any player within earshot, or that he doesn't actually resemble an ape.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #8 - May 26th, 2013 at 8:35am

Being a cynical bastard (or as I like to think, a realist), I can't help but to look at who has the most to gain from a situation.

Goodes was never going to be anything other than a hero of his community and indeed the nation by throwing that young girl to the wolves.
I don't know where people get this idea that it's only so-called minority groups that cop taunting (well I do actually, it's called brainwashing), but maybe the media should follow this young girl around and record her week ahead at school. "The face of racism" is what she'll be known as, and she may never get rid of that tag.

If being called an ape is so insulting to Goodes, then as the old saying goes, he oughta get out more. That girl is going to cop an absolute barrage in the weeks and years ahead because she's now infamous.

I sometimes wonder if society has moved on much from burning at the stake or sacrificing to the Gods.
In this case, it's the God of bs IMO.

Reply #9 - May 26th, 2013 at 10:00am

If I was a cynic I would say Goodes was after a Nicky Winmar moment.....Nah surely not???

Huh Huh Huh

Amadd

Mo

Reply #10 - May 26th, 2013 at 10:07am

philperth2010 wrote on May 26th, 2013 at 10:00am:
If I was a cynic I would say Goodes was after a Nicky Winmar moment.....Nah surely not???

Huh Huh Huh

Grin Lucky you're not a cynic.

darkhall67

Reply #11 - May 26th, 2013 at 10:45am

"Goodes announced on Twitter about an hour and a half later that the girl had been in touch.

Just received a phone call from a young girl apologizing for her actions. Lets support her please

— Adam Goodes (@adamroy37)

The incident, which took place in the opening match of the AFL's Indigenous Round, soured the Swans' win against an often insipid Magpies outfit.

In a drought-breaking victory for the Swans it was their first win over the Magpies at the MCG since 2000.

The two-time premiership winner was visibly shaken and left the field before the full-time siren in a win that saw him reach a milestone 400 goals in senior footy.

"I had to leave the arena. It just broke my heart," Goodes said.

'I don't put any blame on her'

The two-time Brownlow Medallist was adamant that he was sure the girl did not understand the implications of what she said.

The 16-season stalwart has received an outpouring of support on social media from players and fans alike, but said the girl at the centre of the storm deserves just as much support.

"I've had fantastic support over the past 24 hours," Goodes said.

"I just hope that people give the 13 year old girl the same sort of support because she needs it, her family needs it, and the people around them need it.

"It's not a witch-hunt, I don't want people to go after this young girl.

"We've just got to help educate society better so it doesn't happen again."

Goodes said that Victoria Police asked if he would like to press charges but he declined, reiterating that the girl needs to learn why her abuse was hurtful.

"It's not her fault, she's 13, she's still so innocent, I don't put any blame on her," he said.

"

http://au.sports.yahoo.com/afl/news/article/-/17323036/adam-goodes-gutted-by-rac...

Wow .

I bet you feel like a dick today amadd.

Looks like this Goodes character is showing a lot of character.

He's done everything you said he should do.

Protect the girl.

Support her.

Make sure she's not victimized.

Do you wanna review your initial reaction?

Merlin

Reply #12 - May 26th, 2013 at 11:07am

What a bleading joke!!!!

This "adult" footballer gets something yelled at him by a
13 year old girl

and he starts crying like a baby, and not only that but people from his club were saying things like "we will support adam', like he had just had a limb amputated.

Freaking HELL!!!! get a freaking BACKBONE!!!
What has this country come to ??????
Pray to God this guy never joins the military, the enemy may call him a name, then what???(dont think there is any danger of this one joining the military though)

What a joke the leftists in this country have created!!!

Merlin

Reply #13 - May 26th, 2013 at 11:11am

darkhall

It's not her fault, she's 13

B$%#sh^$t

He 100% put blame on her the moment he stood there looking at her, so he cant go back from there now.

He behaved like a little girl younger than the one who yelled out something he didnt like!

Amadd

Mo

Reply #14 - May 26th, 2013 at 11:34am

Wow .

I bet you feel like a dick today amadd.

Nah..but maybe you do cocksucker  Grin

Looks like this Goodes character is showing a lot of character.

He's done everything you said he should do.

Protect the girl.

Support her.

Make sure she's not victimized.

Do you wanna review your initial reaction?

I have no doubt that Goodes wanted his "Winmar moment" for free, but it will come at a high cost for the young girl.
Already I've seen a poster of Goodes pointing to her with the slogan "Say no to racism" or some poo.

If you've ever spent time at school, you would realise that she will be copping it from all directions, especially in a place like Moe.

Yes the teachers will be trying to calm the situation etc. etc., but she will be the focus of plenty of abusive attention for what was in reality a poofteenth of what goes on at her local footy club.

If the sooky la la asshole had any character at all, he'd come out and tell the truth, which is it was an overreaction and he was after media attention.

Reply #15 - May 26th, 2013 at 4:13pm

I regularly call one of my golfing mates a 'gorilla'.... and he is a big, fat white prick.

Reply #16 - May 26th, 2013 at 7:40pm

I've never heard of this guy before, but when I looked at his picture he looked a bit like an ape to me.

I didn't know he was aboriginal.

From what I've heard, the girl called him an "ape".

However, he says it was "Racial abuse".  "Racial"?  Really?

This goes out to you, you pathetic sook:

« Last Edit: May 26th, 2013 at 7:48pm by greggerypeccary »  

darkhall67

Reply #17 - May 26th, 2013 at 7:45pm

Id never heard of the guy also.

Aussie rules is something I have absolutely no interest in.

But I admire the way he's handled it.

No matter what you think, "ape" or monkey" said to a dark skinned person is racial abuse.

He was right to be offended.

He was right to immediately call attention to it.

He was magnanimous and noble in his response to the girl afterwards.

But that wont mean  a thing to you lot.

Reply #18 - May 26th, 2013 at 7:47pm

Calling the cops on a 13 year old girl?

Yeah. That's real macho.

Reply #19 - May 26th, 2013 at 7:54pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 26th, 2013 at 7:45pm:
No matter what you think, "ape" or monkey" said to a dark skinned person is racial abuse.

Crap.

1. He doesn't look that dark to me.

2. He looks like an ape.

What a pathetic loser that footballer is.

I suggest he find a new line of work if he can't handle jeers from the crowd.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #20 - May 26th, 2013 at 8:08pm

Aussie wrote on May 26th, 2013 at 4:13pm:
I regularly call one of my golfing mates a 'gorilla'.... and he is a big, fat white prick.

Careful what you say on the golf course. It won't be long before you will be tracked down and publicly ostracised.

Reply #21 - May 26th, 2013 at 8:11pm

Yes, he realised it was a fairly innocuous comment coming from a young girl and subsequently acted like a man, ignored it, and got on with the job he's paid to do.

Oh, hang on ...

Alinta

Reply #22 - May 26th, 2013 at 8:45pm

"From what I've heard, the girl called him an "ape".

However, he says it was "Racial abuse".  "Racial"?  Really?"

Yes, really......and the AFL has a zero tolerance policy on racial abuse.

That said, I have some sympathy for the girl as I saw the incident unfold. Her team was getting flogged by the Swans and she vented without realising that what she said was in fact racial abuse.....that to call an indigenous person an ape is about as deeply offensive as it gets.

Reply #23 - May 26th, 2013 at 8:52pm

Alinta wrote on May 26th, 2013 at 8:45pm:

That said, I have some sympathy for the girl as I saw the incident unfold. Her team was getting flogged by the Swans and she vented without realising that what she said was in fact racial abuse.....that to call an indigenous person an ape is about as deeply offensive as it gets. 

bugger off.  He hardly looks specifically aboriginal!  He looks like a big, hairy, last shaken out of the tree.....umm.......err.......ape, just like my white golf mate looks like, and hits the ball like, a gorilla, and I tell him so.  He reckons I am..............well........let's not go there.

darkhall67

Reply #24 - May 27th, 2013 at 11:28am

greggerypeccary wrote on May 26th, 2013 at 8:11pm:

Yes, he realised it was a fairly innocuous comment coming from a young girl and subsequently acted like a man, ignored it, and got on with the job he's paid to do.

Oh, hang on ...

It wasnt an innocuous comment but he has subsequently accepted that it was from a 13 year old girl , accepted her apology and called for her to be supported and not villified.

Very impressive mr goodes.

And the more I have read about him since this incident has only made me think of him as a very impressive bloke .

Reply #25 - May 27th, 2013 at 1:05pm

Alinta wrote on May 26th, 2013 at 8:45pm:

Really? Racial?

How so?

Race wasn't even mentioned.

Skin colour wasn't even mentioned.

Nationality wasn't mentioned.

He was called an 'ape', and guess what ... he looks like an ape.

Please explain how 'ape' is racial abuse.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #26 - May 27th, 2013 at 1:26pm

I cant believe some of you bogans have never heard of Adam Goodes.

What sort of bunker do you live in ?

How can an Australian be so ignorant to not know the top 20 sportsmen of this country, irrespective of sport.   John Howard would be turning in his grave.

The lucky country is fast tracking to the "stupid country".

I dont follow Netball, but I know who Liz Ellis is.

Reply #27 - May 27th, 2013 at 1:34pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 1:26pm:

I think you've got that back to front, actually.

It's the bogans who seem to know who this guy is.

Let's face it, the percentage of bogans in a football crowd is pretty high.

This guy is just another pathetic attention seeker looking for some sympathy from the fans.  AFL football is full of them.    Laying on the ground, writhing in pain.  Oh, please ... grow a set you "guys".  Pathetic sooks.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #28 - May 27th, 2013 at 2:33pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 1:34pm:

This guy is just another pathetic attention seeker looking for some sympathy from the fans.  AFL football is full of them.    Laying on the ground, writhing in pain.  Oh, please ... grow a set you "guys".  Pathetic sooks.

You posting history suggests ignorance. Not knowing who Adam Goodes is, proves it.

Reply #29 - May 27th, 2013 at 3:49pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 2:33pm:

You posting history suggests ignorance. Not knowing who Adam Goodes is, proves it.

In my world, knowing the names of second rate sports people in second rate sports is not important.

In fact, I can't think of anything less important.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #30 - May 27th, 2013 at 4:05pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 3:49pm:

In my world, knowing the names of second rate sports people in second rate sports is not important.

Even the extreme end of the non-sport loving spectrum: An inner-city lesbian with an arts degree would know who adam goodes is.

You can only be dumb as dog-poo to not know.  i mean, really, really out of touch.

Reply #31 - May 27th, 2013 at 4:17pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 4:05pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 3:49pm:

Even the extreme end of the non-sport loving spectrum: An inner-city lesbian with an arts degree would know who adam goodes is.

I seriously doubt that.

Half the people in my office had never heard of him before his little sook fest.

While I agree that AFL is an important part of some people's lives, it certainly isn't important to everyone.

I've heard of Barry Cable, Stan Nowotny, and that Ben Cousins fellow.  However, I'd never seen nor heard of this Goodes fellow before.

Some things in life are just more important.

And, as I've said, I can't really think of anything less important than knowing the names of second rate sports people in second rate sports.

« Last Edit: May 27th, 2013 at 4:36pm by greggerypeccary »  

Reply #32 - May 27th, 2013 at 4:41pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 4:05pm:
You can only be dumb as dog-poo to not know.  i mean, really, really out of touch.

Your comments bring to mind one of my favourite TISM songs: "Whatareya"

"So who is your favourite genius, James Hird or James Joyce?"

Alinta

Reply #33 - May 27th, 2013 at 4:54pm

"And, as I've said, I can't really think of anything less important than knowing the names of second rate sports people in second rate sports."

I'm curious Gregg........what sport/s rate highly in your  opinion?????

Reply #34 - May 27th, 2013 at 6:17pm

Alinta wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 4:54pm:
"And, as I've said, I can't really think of anything less important than knowing the names of second rate sports people in second rate sports."

Oh, I'm not much of a sports fan at all.

Grand Slam tennis is about the only thing I watch these days.

Reply #35 - May 27th, 2013 at 6:50pm

Adam Goodes is a great player who has handled himself with diplomacy and grace since outing the 13 year old girl.....racism is unacceptable not only in sport but in any forum.....I do however believe to much is being made of this!!!

Undecided Undecided Undecided

Everyone is a prisoner of his own experiences. No one can eliminate prejudices - just recognize them.
Edward R. Murrow (1908 - 1965), television broadcast, December 31, 1955

Reply #36 - May 27th, 2013 at 6:54pm

philperth2010 wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 6:50pm:
.....racism is unacceptable not only in sport but in any forum.....

Agreed.

However, neither race nor skin colour were mentioned by the girl.

Alinta

Reply #37 - May 27th, 2013 at 7:08pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 6:17pm:

Grand Slam tennis...yep, me too

........and AFL..... Smiley

Reply #38 - May 27th, 2013 at 7:35pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 6:54pm:

Agreed.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_IeHB8He7Obw/S22L67_pnbI/AAAAAAAAAFg/vtkMasEQETc/s400/s...

So you don't think the comment had racist overtones Mr Peck???

Huh Huh Huh

Reply #39 - May 27th, 2013 at 7:52pm

I don't think it's racist.  Everyone looks like some sort of animal, and Goodesys "totem animal" just happens to be some sort of ape.  Mine is a donkey - is that better or worse?

Amadd

Mo

Reply #40 - May 27th, 2013 at 8:24pm

Thank God I heard a little but of sanity on the radio today, even though the jock didn't seem very keen to hear opinions from callers who thought Goodes was being a pussy.

One caller told about his days as a black person playing with a predominantly white team who played against all aboriginal sides.
He said the banter of "white so and so's" was persistent and unrelenting.
..to which the jock replied that it's different situation because you can't vilify a white person...and then cut him off.

IMO, there's no surer way of creating friction between races.

Next ANZAC day match, I would suggest that Goodes bring himself along a nappy and dummy as mark of respect.

Reply #41 - May 27th, 2013 at 8:28pm

philperth2010 wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 7:35pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 6:54pm:

Agreed.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_IeHB8He7Obw/S22L67_pnbI/AAAAAAAAAFg/vtkMasEQETc/s400/s...

So you don't think the comment had racist overtones Mr Peck???

Huh Huh Huh

Nope. 

Do you?

If so, why?

« Last Edit: May 27th, 2013 at 8:46pm by greggerypeccary »  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #42 - May 27th, 2013 at 8:29pm

... wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 7:52pm:
I don't think it's racist.  Everyone looks like some sort of animal, and Goodesys "totem animal" just happens to be some sort of ape.  Mine is a donkey - is that better or worse?

..and Riewoldt's is a llama

http://www.google.com.au/search?q=nick+riewoldt+llama&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ...

Reply #43 - May 27th, 2013 at 8:35pm

Long pointy ears, or ... ?

« Last Edit: May 27th, 2013 at 8:44pm by greggerypeccary »  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #44 - May 27th, 2013 at 8:44pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 8:35pm:

Long point ears, or ... ?

..or 'cause he haw he haw he always calls me that?

Reply #45 - May 27th, 2013 at 9:29pm

Amadd wrote on May 27th, 2013 at 8:29pm:

..and Riewoldt's is a llama

http://www.google.com.au/search?q=nick+riewoldt+llama&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ...

Well spotted.  It's good to know I'm not the only one with the gift of seeing which animal people look like.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #46 - May 28th, 2013 at 10:20am

Are you, or are you not, a rampant lesbian ?

If not perhaps you should grow some balls, and pursue some more masculine pastimes.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #47 - May 28th, 2013 at 11:59am

I've never heard of this "Goodsy" guy. Then again, I don't watch AFL.

I thought he looked Greek.

FriYAY

Reply #48 - May 28th, 2013 at 12:29pm

LOL

I can’t believe all the dam loops on this thread saying it is now OK to call black people Apes.

We even have them saying “but Goodes looks like an Ape”

How’s that president Obama hey – looks like they just shaved him and dragged him down from the tree the dam Ape.

Calling a black person an Ape isn’t racist – OMFG.

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Doctor Jolly

Reply #49 - May 28th, 2013 at 12:43pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 11:59am:

Sometimes I'm staggered by the level of ignorance some people have.

You dont have to watch AFL to know the top half dozen influential players.  I could name the top half dozen of all mainstream sports in Australia ranging from AFL, NRL, to golf and tennis.

I can also recite Don bradmans test average.

Maybe I'm more Australian than others. John Howard would be proud of me, turning in his grave for you numpties.

Reply #50 - May 28th, 2013 at 12:46pm

That's exactly what I thought: Greek.

Reply #51 - May 28th, 2013 at 12:51pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 10:20am:

Are you, or are you not, a rampant lesbian ?

If not perhaps you should grow some balls, and pursue some more masculine pastimes.

No, not a lesbian but I certainly do love women.  I especially enjoy women's tennis: all that grunting and bouncing.  Mmmm   Smiley

However, if you think watching a few dozen sweaty men in tight footy shorts running around an oval is a "masculine pastime", good luck to you.

Sounds to me like you might be suppressing some homoerotic tendencies though.

Reply #52 - May 28th, 2013 at 12:55pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 12:43pm:

Such as, not knowing that John Howard is still alive.

John Howard would be proud of me, turning in his grave for you numpties.

Hmmm   Undecided

Amadd

Mo

Reply #53 - May 28th, 2013 at 1:05pm

FriYAY wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 12:29pm:
LOL

I can’t believe all the dam loops on this thread saying it is now OK to call black people Apes.

How’s that president Obama hey – looks like they just shaved him and dragged him down from the tree the dam Ape.

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

You're a dam loop  Grin

darkhall67

Reply #54 - May 28th, 2013 at 1:09pm

LOL

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Probably the first time I've ever agreed with you Friyay.

I cant believe the astounding (and willful) ignorance either.

Reply #55 - May 28th, 2013 at 2:39pm

Calling a black person an Ape isn’t racist ...

Correct.

It's a term used to insult people of all nationalities and skin colours.

One can insult a black person without being racist.

Calling a black person an 'idiot' is certainly not racist, just as calling them an 'ape' is not racist.

Some people, however, seem to think that any criticism of a black person is racism.

Absolute fools.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #56 - May 28th, 2013 at 2:44pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 12:55pm:

Such as, not knowing that John Howard is still alive.

John Howard would be proud of me, turning in his grave for you numpties.

Hmmm   Undecided

His "political grave".   I'm surprised you know who John Howard is.  Actor isnt he ?

Doctor Jolly

Reply #57 - May 28th, 2013 at 2:44pm

LOL

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Good call.

FriYAY

Reply #58 - May 28th, 2013 at 2:48pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 2:39pm:

Correct.

Calling a black person an 'idiot' is certainly not racist, just as calling them an 'ape' is not racist.

Some people, however, seem to think that any criticism of a black person is racism.

Absolute fools.

Did you watch that blind Ape Gurrumul on the voice last night? Huh

Alinta

Reply #59 - May 28th, 2013 at 2:49pm

This should help in explaining why "ape" is racial abuse.........and why Adam Goodes and the AFL community acted in the way they have. Some disagree with the course of action and I'm not expecting your change of opinion. It is simply to inform............as Adam did when he talked with the young girl who didn't know. 

"Darwin and his contention that certain blacks had characteristics of apes.
The argument about what he meant goes back and forth over whether he was a racist or not, but there was a longstanding contention that some blacks, being in the same geographical area as apes, and having strikingly different features from whites, may have evolved from apes. Just the blacks. It was scientific theory that was furthered by the general ignorance and convenience to proponents of the theory of the lowly condition of blacks in America in Darwin's time.

Over the years it has been convenient for some to associate the imagery of the primitive ape with blacks in their put-downs and attacks. I've experienced this in the workplace and it got pretty heavy for a time. Ape images were left in my workspace, ape dolls. I was called 'king #$%$ in grade-school for over a year by my classmates (2 non-whites in the entire school).

But, those who've never been on the receiving end seem to have a hard time seeing the insult in the association. The implication to me is that I'm less than human than them. It's meant to divide and hurt."

darkhall67

Reply #60 - May 28th, 2013 at 2:50pm

Correct.

Absolute fools.

Here's a good explanation for you;

There are apes, and there are apes. From one white man to another, ''ape'' mostly is a moderate, if unimaginative insult. Between friends, it might also be a rough endearment.

From a white person to a black person, ''ape'' is more pejorative by far. It is freighted with centuries of treatment as a sub-species, of oppression and subjugation, and in this country, of a history that began with near genocide, withheld constitutional recognition until 1967 and that leaves indigenous Australians still among the most disadvantaged in the nation.

It is not the word itself that cuts to the quick, but the attitude it entrenches.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/goodes-critics-way-off-mark-20130527-2n7kr.html#ixzz2UYlI6dmy

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/goodes-critics-way-off-mark-20130527-2n7kr...

Reply #61 - May 28th, 2013 at 2:54pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 2:50pm:

Correct.

Absolute fools.

Here's a good explanation for you ...

It's an explanation: I'll give you that.

Not a good one though.

If people continue to play the racist card like this, it's only going to make things worse for the aboriginal people.

FriYAY

Reply #62 - May 28th, 2013 at 3:01pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 2:54pm:

Correct.

Absolute fools.

Here's a good explanation for you ...

It's an explanation: I'll give you that.

Not a good one though.

If people continue to play the racist card like this, it's only going to make things worse for the aboriginal people.

They're only apes....

Alinta

Reply #63 - May 28th, 2013 at 3:04pm

Damn...timed my explanation a minute or so early and the page changed....

Amadd

Mo

Reply #64 - May 28th, 2013 at 3:56pm

Correct.

Absolute fools.

Here's a good explanation for you;

There are apes, and there are apes. From one white man to another, ''ape'' mostly is a moderate, if unimaginative insult. Between friends, it might also be a rough endearment.

From a white person to a black person, ''ape'' is more pejorative by far. It is freighted with centuries of treatment as a sub-species, of oppression and subjugation, and in this country, of a history that began with near genocide, withheld constitutional recognition until 1967 and that leaves indigenous Australians still among the most disadvantaged in the nation.

It is not the word itself that cuts to the quick, but the attitude it entrenches.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/goodes-critics-way-off-mark-20130527-2n7kr.html#ixzz2UYlI6dmy

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/goodes-critics-way-off-mark-20130527-2n7kr...

So the word "Ape" is to be the aussie version of "n i g . . ." is it? Ahh yes, because the U.S. approach has worked so fantastically well  Roll Eyes

If you'd have a think about the implications of putting such importance on words, you'd realise that you yourself are being racist by default.

And what about the word "idiot"? Isn't it widely known that black people tend to score less well on (Caucasian) IQ tests?
So there's another word that could easily be construed as being racist.
Wouldn't it be easier to just not talk to them for fear of using an upsetting word?

If there's ever going to be anything approaching equality in this nation, it's not going to happen by affording special privileges and providing unfair advantages due to race, religion or gender.

darkhall67

Reply #65 - May 28th, 2013 at 4:05pm

Non sequitur

Reply #66 - May 28th, 2013 at 4:10pm

Amadd wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 3:56pm:
If you'd have a think about the implications of putting such importance on words, you'd realise that you yourself are being racist by default.

Bingo!

FriYAY

Reply #67 - May 28th, 2013 at 4:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 4:10pm:
Amadd wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 3:56pm:

Bingo!

Did you watch that blind Ape Gurrumul on the voice last night?

Amadd

Mo

Reply #68 - May 28th, 2013 at 4:55pm

Why would you call him an ape?

Reply #69 - May 28th, 2013 at 7:12pm

Amadd wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 4:55pm:

Gurrumul looks more like a toad.  Is that racist?

FriYAY

Reply #70 - May 28th, 2013 at 7:15pm

Effect.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #71 - May 28th, 2013 at 7:17pm

... wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 7:12pm:

Gurrumul looks more like a toad.  Is that racist?

Grin I'll pay that one.

I think if he smiled he'd crack his face.
Delta was far more interesting to look at...and listen to. She looks like a Goddess..is that racist?

Reply #72 - May 28th, 2013 at 7:30pm

I think if he smiled he'd crack his face.
Delta was far more interesting to look at...and listen to. She looks like a Goddess..is that racist?

Gurrumul sat there and played his guitar left handed and upside down...and sang like a bird.  Delta sang very well............but, unlike that song bird, could not resist all the stupid artificial  facial pulls which turn me off big time.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #73 - May 28th, 2013 at 8:02pm

Well, seriously, they were both great. A really nice performance  Smiley

FriYAY

Reply #74 - May 29th, 2013 at 9:46am

It was a top performance – agree with Aussie a bit about delta – over doing the facial/emotion side of it.

Gurrumul was awesome, the better half introduced me to his music a while ago.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #75 - May 29th, 2013 at 9:50am

Delta needs to stop trying so hard.

Gurrumul has a beautiful voice.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #76 - May 29th, 2013 at 11:26am

You dont have to watch AFL to know the top half dozen influential players.  I could name the top half dozen of all mainstream sports in Australia ranging from AFL, NRL, to golf and tennis.

Maybe I'm more Australian than others. John Howard would be proud of me, turning in his grave for you numpties.

My lack of knowledge on the AFL is probably due to the Qld media that only ever has information on the Brisbane Lions, and even then, I switch off or over when that comes on.

Alinta

Reply #77 - May 29th, 2013 at 11:51am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 11:26am:

My lack of knowledge on the AFL is probably due to the Qld media that only ever has information on the Brisbane Lions, and even then, I switch off or over when that comes on.

Fair comment...........I'm in Melbourne, a Swans Club member and a fan of many sports. That said, I doubt I would recognise names of rugby or soccer players simply because I'm not interested in the sport and Melb sports media is AFL crazy.

.....and I also think Adam looks more Greek than indigenous....

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #78 - May 29th, 2013 at 11:57am

Qld media often acts like it's a completely different country up here. I never experienced this while living in NSW.

Reply #79 - May 29th, 2013 at 12:23pm

I'm agreeing 100% with Mistie today.

I usually switch off or over when AFL comes on the TV.

The WA media usually concentrates on WA teams though: I know what Nick Natta Wotty (or whatever his name is) does every minute of the day but have no idea who that Greek guy Adam Goodes is.

Big Dave

Reply #80 - May 29th, 2013 at 12:24pm

Leftist scum in the media out to cruxify a little girl because Goodes wanted to do a Nicky Windmar. Aren't they brave.

Cry
        Cry
        Cry
Cry  Cry  Cry  Cry
Cry  Cry  Cry  Cry  Cry
Cry  Cry  Cry  Cry Cry
Cry  Cry  Cry  Cry

Doctor Jolly

Reply #81 - May 29th, 2013 at 12:35pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 12:23pm:

I'm agreeing 100% with Mistie today.

I usually switch off or over when AFL comes on the TV.

Thats a narrow minded view of the world which explains your extreme view. You probably switch off whenever you hear a viewpoint counter to your own.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #82 - May 29th, 2013 at 12:44pm

Has the context of this term - ape - used by the girl been established yet?

I mean, it can be used to mean either "acting stupidly or stubbornly" or that you "look like an ape". Even the latter one may not be a racial slur.

There was an episode of The Simspons once where Lisa called Homer a "baboon". It wasn't a racial slur, it was to do with him being uncaring and stubborn. Additionally, there are many episodes of The Simpsons where Homer is depicted as some kind of ape or monkey, usually to insinuate being of below average intelligence and his odd physical stature.

Reply #83 - May 29th, 2013 at 12:47pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 12:35pm:
Thats a narrow minded view of the world which explains your extreme view.

No, it's not.  I've played football and I've been to WAFL, VFL, and AFL matches.  I simply don't like watching AFL.

And, I don't have an "extreme view".

I don't like AFL: that's all.  I don't want it banned; I don't tell other people not to watch it; I don't care if they put it on TV 24 hours a day.  I don't like it and I don't watch it: nothing extreme about that.

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 12:35pm:
You probably switch off whenever you hear a viewpoint counter to your own.

No, quite the contrary.

I enjoy hearing viewpoints counter to my own.

Alinta

Reply #84 - May 29th, 2013 at 1:12pm

"Has the context of this term - ape - used by the girl been established yet?"

Only that she did not realise it was a racial slur as far as I'm aware.

News in Melb this morning: Eddie McGuire (Collingwood President who rushed to Swans dressing rooms to apologise for Friday night's comment) on breakfast radio talking about King Kong promotion in Melbourne commented "Should we get Adam Goodes down here for it?"

He apologised and attempted to talk his way out of it...kind of reckon that's somewhat worse than the girl's comment??????

Reply #85 - May 29th, 2013 at 1:39pm

Is this racist?

darkhall67

Reply #86 - May 29th, 2013 at 1:46pm

Reply #87 - May 29th, 2013 at 2:06pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 1:46pm:

So is this racist or not?

Reply #88 - May 29th, 2013 at 2:11pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 9:50am:

Delta just needs to stop.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #89 - May 29th, 2013 at 2:13pm

Alinta wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 1:12pm:

If she didn't realise it was a racial slur, then she obviously used it in another context.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #90 - May 29th, 2013 at 2:16pm

It doesn't actually matter what some journalist thinks, it's how the girl  perceived the word.

Looks like a classic case of 'putting words in someone else's mouth'.

Reply #91 - May 29th, 2013 at 2:23pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 2:16pm:

It doesn't actually matter what some journalist thinks, it's how the girl  perceived the word.

Looks like a classic case of 'putting words in someone else's mouth'.

Yep.  Or, putting a thought in someone else's head.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #92 - May 29th, 2013 at 2:55pm

Alinta wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 1:12pm:

News in Melb this morning: Eddie McGuire (Collingwood President who rushed to Swans dressing rooms to apologise for Friday night's comment) on breakfast radio talking about King Kong promotion in Melbourne commented "Should we get Adam Goodes down here for it?"

He apologised and attempted to talk his way out of it...kind of reckon that's somewhat worse than the girl's comment??????

OMFG! I thought you were joking.

I just listened to it now. WOW!! What a monumental stuff up  Grin Grin Grin It's frikin' hilarious  Grin Grin Grin I haven't laughed so hard in ages.
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/sport/afl/collingwoods-eddie-mcguire-makes-king-...

Big Dave

Reply #93 - May 29th, 2013 at 3:44pm

When do 13 year olds know what they are saying? They are on step up from little kids. They just spurt things out. Absolutely disgraceful. Australia is turning into a fascist state. I hope it doesn't damage her and her future.

darkhall67

Reply #94 - May 29th, 2013 at 3:53pm

... wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 2:06pm:

http://maaadddog.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/9george-bush.jpg

Is bush black?   Apart from his heart and reputation.

Reply #95 - May 29th, 2013 at 4:12pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 3:53pm:

ah so it's one rule for blacks and one rule for honkies.

Sounds racist.  Go join the KKK, adolf.

darkhall67

Reply #96 - May 29th, 2013 at 4:31pm

... wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 4:12pm:

From a white person to a black person, ''ape'' is more pejorative by far. It is freighted with centuries of treatment as a sub-species, of oppression and subjugation

Reply #97 - May 29th, 2013 at 4:43pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 4:31pm:

From a white person to a black person, ''ape'' is more pejorative by far. It is freighted with centuries of treatment as a sub-species, of oppression and subjugation

Says who?

Amadd

Mo

Reply #98 - May 29th, 2013 at 4:50pm

..but getting back to Eddie  Grin Grin Grin
OMG.. rotfflmao...the tears are still flowing  Grin Grin Grin

That sort of vindicates the point of this thread doesn't it?
When a professional media person like McGuire can't even avoid the rice paper, what hope does anybody else have?

Given the circumstances, it couldn't have been scripted any better...or was it scripted?  Undecided
More likely it was a conscience slip by McGuire.

This is the best thing to happen for this country in ages.
He should be sacked, but if he has any integrity at all, he'll resign.
It's probably not likely that this will happen, but I am so so so very glad that he and Goodes are now getting some of their just deserts...a trifle one might say.
« Last Edit: May 29th, 2013 at 5:00pm by Amadd »  

darkhall67

Reply #99 - May 29th, 2013 at 5:22pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 4:43pm:

Says who?

Anyone with more than a miniscule knowledge of history.

Reply #100 - May 29th, 2013 at 5:22pm

We're all descended from apes.  Why the butthurt?

Grey

Reply #101 - May 29th, 2013 at 5:43pm

Big Dave wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 3:44pm:
When do 13 year olds know what they are saying? They are on step up from little kids. They just spurt things out. Absolutely disgraceful. Australia is turning into a fascist state. I hope it doesn't damage her and her future.

No Australia WAS a racist state, we're gradually rolling back from that, because being a racist state makes the state an International pariah, that everybody embargoes. Plus it creates unbelievable tensions within the state itself. Not one good thing ever came from racisim, it's not the default position as some here seem to think. A zero tolerance to racism is a very good thing, tough on kids who've been brought up loaded with that baggage, but there you go.   

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

Reply #102 - May 29th, 2013 at 5:49pm

I have no idea who these people are.....What team do they play for???

Wink Wink Wink

Amadd

Mo

Reply #103 - May 29th, 2013 at 6:31pm

philperth2010 wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 5:49pm:

I have no idea who these people are.....What team do they play for???

Wink Wink Wink

Do you know who Eddie is?

Bwahaha... Eddie Eddie Eddie  Grin Grin Grin

Big Dave

Reply #104 - May 29th, 2013 at 6:50pm

Grey wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 5:43pm:

No Australia WAS a racist state, we're gradually rolling back from that, because being a racist state makes the state an International pariah, that everybody embargoes. Plus it creates unbelievable tensions within the state itself. Not one good thing ever came from racisim, it's not the default position as some here seem to think. A zero tolerance to racism is a very good thing, tough on kids who've been brought up loaded with that baggage, but there you go.   

Why don't you form the racism police so you can bust down doors and shine the spotlight on every racist white Mr & Mrs Jones in Australia? You could interogate little girls for hours and try to charge them like they did the other night .  Better still show some kahunas and tackle the racist Indians , Arabs, Blacks, yellows around the world that routinely slaughter one another for these very reasons.

Grey

Reply #105 - May 30th, 2013 at 6:06am

Big Dave wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 6:50pm:
Grey wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 5:43pm:

Why don't you form the racism police so you can bust down doors and shine the spotlight on every racist white Mr & Mrs Jones in Australia? You could interogate little girls for hours and try to charge them like they did the other night .  Better still show some kahunas and tackle the racist Indians , Arabs, Blacks, yellows around the world that routinely slaughter one another for these very reasons.

Well do you want to be better than the racist Indians, Arabs, Blacks, Yellows or not?

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

Doctor Jolly

Reply #106 - May 30th, 2013 at 9:01am

AFL is getting its nickers in a twist about calling people names.

NRL is getting its nickers in a twist about players beating the crap out of their wives.

I think I'd rather the AFL's problems at the moment.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #107 - May 30th, 2013 at 9:03am

Says who?

This from the person who doesnt know who Adam Goodes, Delta or Eddie McGuire are.

FriYAY

Reply #108 - May 30th, 2013 at 10:04am

Oh Eddie…..

Even though some think that calling indigenous people apes is ok, I really think some people need to grow a bit of thick dam skin and get TF over it. Wink

The AFL and McGuire have been tireless in their pursuit of the end of racism and the inclusion of all races and religions. Smiley

What I hate is a few idiots say something and the media and commentators carry on like every person at ever game was dressed in white sheets and burning crosses. Roll Eyes

Alinta

Reply #109 - May 30th, 2013 at 10:12am

"The AFL and McGuire have been tireless in their pursuit of the end of racism and the inclusion of all races and religions."

Yep, makes Ed's comment all the more bewildering to me even taking into account brain fade and fatigue.

Reply #110 - May 30th, 2013 at 10:52am

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 9:03am:
Says who?

This from the person who doesnt know who Adam Goodes, Delta or Eddie McGuire are. 

You off your meds bro?

When did I say I didn't know who Goodrem and McGuire are?

You're losing the plot old boy.

What a strange world, where knowing who Goodes, Goodrem, and McGuire are somehow gives one credibility.

« Last Edit: May 30th, 2013 at 10:58am by greggerypeccary »  

Reply #111 - May 30th, 2013 at 11:05am

darkhall67 wrote on May 29th, 2013 at 5:22pm:

Says who?

Incorrect.  I studied history at uni.

"From a white person to a black person, ''ape'' is more pejorative by far."     Undecided

Please explain.

Alinta

Reply #112 - May 30th, 2013 at 11:19am

bump

Alinta wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 2:49pm:
This should help in explaining why "ape" is racial abuse.........and why Adam Goodes and the AFL community acted in the way they have. Some disagree with the course of action and I'm not expecting your change of opinion. It is simply to inform............as Adam did when he talked with the young girl who didn't know. 

The argument about what he meant goes back and forth over whether he was a racist or not, but there was a longstanding contention that some blacks, being in the same geographical area as apes, and having strikingly different features from whites, may have evolved from apes. Just the blacks. It was scientific theory that was furthered by the general ignorance and convenience to proponents of the theory of the lowly condition of blacks in America in Darwin's time.

Over the years it has been convenient for some to associate the imagery of the primitive ape with blacks in their put-downs and attacks. I've experienced this in the workplace and it got pretty heavy for a time. Ape images were left in my workspace, ape dolls. I was called 'king #$%$ in grade-school for over a year by my classmates (2 non-whites in the entire school).

But, those who've never been on the receiving end seem to have a hard time seeing the insult in the association. The implication to me is that I'm less than human than them. It's meant to divide and hurt."

darkhall67

Reply #113 - May 30th, 2013 at 11:53am

greggerypeccary wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 11:05am:

Says who?

"From a white person to a black person, ''ape'' is more pejorative by far."     Undecided

Please explain.

What's the point.

You arent going to get it anyway.

Just like honky.

As some other footballer said today;

"there is a multitude of people out there that can't see the connection as to why someone like myself or an Adam Goodes or any other person could find that offensive - and that’s where the casual undercurrent of racism lies.""

Doctor Jolly

Reply #114 - May 30th, 2013 at 11:58am

greggerypeccary wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 10:52am:
Doctor Jolly wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 9:03am:
Says who?

You off your meds bro?

When did I say I didn't know who Goodrem and McGuire are?

I just assumed your ignorance was universal. 
Ironic that you claim to know 2 out of the 3 and those 2 are the white ones.

Makes your claim that you never heard of Adam Goodes to be:
1) bullsh1t
2) racist.

I'll assume 1.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #115 - May 30th, 2013 at 12:24pm

Alinta wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 11:19am:
bump

Alinta wrote on May 28th, 2013 at 2:49pm:

I must admit that I didn't realise that Darwin held such strong views about the connection of black people and apes.

It also sounds absurd that as recently as 1967, aboriginals were regarded as "flora and fauna" in our constitution.

Although I laugh at the ignorance of our not too distant relatives, I can understand that there would be plenty of hurt remaining as a result of their behaviour.

Reply #116 - May 30th, 2013 at 12:24pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 11:58am:
I just assumed your ignorance was universal. 

Wrong, once again.

Ironic that you claim to know 2 out of the 3 and those 2 are the white ones.

No, it's not "ironic".

1) bullsh1t

Wrong, once again.  I'd never heard of this "man" before he played the race card on a 13 year girl.

2) racist.

Wrong, once again.  How on earth can it be racist?

I'll assume 1.

Wrong, once again.

You're not very good at this, are you?

Reply #117 - May 30th, 2013 at 12:29pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 11:53am:
greggerypeccary wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 11:05am:

Says who?

Please explain.

What's the point.

You arent going to get it anyway.

Just like honky.

As some other footballer said today;

"there is a multitude of people out there that can't see the connection as to why someone like myself or an Adam Goodes or any other person could find that offensive - and that’s where the casual undercurrent of racism lies.""

Oh I understand it would be offensive.  Insults generally are, that's the point.
But its not racist.

Reply #118 - May 30th, 2013 at 12:31pm

What's the point.

So far you've made a statement, but have provided no evidence to support your claim.

You need to provide something other that your own opinion in order to be taken seriously.

That's the point.

So, please explain why a white person calling a black person an ape is "more pejorative by far" or "racist".

darkhall67

Reply #119 - May 30th, 2013 at 12:50pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 12:31pm:
What's the point.

So far you've made a statement, but have provided no evidence to support your claim.

You need to provide something other that your own opinion in order to be taken seriously.

That's the point.

So, please explain why a white person calling a black person an ape is "more pejorative by far" or "racist".

I've posted why several times.

You have either failed to read it or read it and ignored it without understanding.

Not my fault.

Head. Brick wall.
Head . Brick wall.
Head. Brick wall.

Reply #120 - May 30th, 2013 at 12:59pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 12:50pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 12:31pm:
What's the point.

That's the point.

I've posted why several times.

You've posted nonsense several times, yes.

Would you like to try harder?

darkhall67

Reply #121 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:04pm

Head. Brick wall.

Reply #122 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:11pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 1:04pm:
Head. Brick wall.

That would probably explain you inability to provide any evidence to support your claim.

So far we have your opinion, and the opinion of a sports columnist with The Age.

I'd suggest a little less head hitting and a bit more thought.

darkhall67

Reply #123 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:19pm

Nah.

This is just tiresome.

If you dont know why calling a black person an "ape" , "monkey" etc is different to calling a white person those things then no amount of explaining will convince you.

Some people just dont get, dont want to get it and will never get it.

I pity them and wont waste any more time on it.

Reply #124 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:22pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 1:19pm:
Nah.

This is just tiresome.

White flag accepted.

It would have been easier though if you had just admitted from the beginning that the term 'ape' is not racist.

No biggie.  All sorted now.

darkhall67

Reply #125 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:38pm

greggerypeccary wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 1:22pm:
Nah.

This is just tiresome.

White flag accepted.

It would have been easier though if you had just admitted from the beginning that the term 'ape' is not racist.

Was going to end my last post with "now go ahead and accuse me of giving up and waving a white flag just because you cant be bothered expending a bit of grey matter".

Thanks for being so predictable.

Reply #126 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:41pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 1:38pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 1:22pm:
Nah.

This is just tiresome.

White flag accepted.

Was going to end my last post with "now go ahead and accuse me of giving up and waving a white flag just because you cant be bothered expending a bit of grey matter".

Thanks for being so predictable.

Thanks for (eventually) being honest enough to wave the white flag.

darkhall67

Reply #127 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:44pm

"And yet, inevitably, Goodes has also borne the brunt of a backlash, with two basic themes: firstly that he should not have made a big deal of it, and secondly – and this is the most amazing part – that to call an indigenous man an "ape" is not even racist in the first place.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/goodes-iconic-moment-will-help-change-australia-for-the-better-20130529-2nb0c.html#ixzz2UkBjy5qH
"

http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/goodes-iconic-moment-will-help-change-austral...

Not not "amazing".

Mind blowing.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #128 - May 30th, 2013 at 1:46pm

I'm afraid I'll have to concede my own ignorance in that I had no idea that Darwin held these ridiculous views which were held as "scientific reasoning" for racism.

DARWINISM SAYS THAT BLACK PEOPLE HAVE TO BE ELIMINATED BY NATURAL SELECTION

At some future period, not very distant as measured by centuries, the civilized races of man will almost certainly exterminate and replace the savage races throughout the world. At the same time the anthropomorphous apes... will no doubt be exterminated. The break between man and his nearest allies will then be wider, for it will intervene in a more civilised state, as we may hope, even than the Caucasian, and some ape as low as baboon, instead of as now between the negro or Australian and the gorilla.

http://www.naturalselectionanddarwinism.com/blackpeople.html

That's pretty sad to discover that he held these views. Sad
...and I'll be sure to never use the word "ape" with any reference to a black person.
« Last Edit: May 30th, 2013 at 1:51pm by Amadd »  

Reply #129 - May 30th, 2013 at 2:28pm

Amadd wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 1:46pm:
I'm afraid I'll have to concede my own ignorance in that I had no idea that Darwin held these ridiculous views which were held as "scientific reasoning" for racism.

Neither did Goodes, and given how little even "educated" people know about natural selection and evolution, neither did 95+% of the country.  Which leads me to dismiss it as a non sequitur.

DARWINISM SAYS THAT BLACK PEOPLE HAVE TO BE ELIMINATED BY NATURAL SELECTION

At some future period, not very distant as measured by centuries, the civilized races of man will almost certainly exterminate and replace the savage races throughout the world. At the same time the anthropomorphous apes... will no doubt be exterminated. The break between man and his nearest allies will then be wider, for it will intervene in a more civilised state, as we may hope, even than the Caucasian, and some ape as low as baboon, instead of as now between the negro or Australian and the gorilla.

[/quote]

unfortunately, the title is for shock rather than ccuracy.  All this describes is how more civilised populations gradually (or not so gradually) destroy or absorb less civilised populations.  Look over history - You won't have seen any hunter gatherer bands displacing or conquering city dwellers, because the more complex societies are more powerful than less complex societies.  It's not a moral judgement, it's a mere statement of fact.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #130 - May 30th, 2013 at 3:07pm

I suppose it depends upon how you read the article.

If Darwin was as racist as this article portrays, it would (should) be widely known.

Then again, I've no doubt that back in the day there were more than just a handful of people who considered black people only a couple of rungs up from apes.

Reply #131 - May 30th, 2013 at 3:35pm

Darwin was a scientidt - one of the most important scientists to ever live.  If people don't like his findings they can try to disprove them, but claiming offense, or burying the truth doesnt disprove anything.

Now that we accept that all humans evolved from apes, why doonlonly blacks get butthurt about it?

Amadd

Mo

Reply #132 - May 30th, 2013 at 3:47pm

Yeah, I must be having a softcock moment  Roll Eyes
I looked into this Darwin racism accusation and it does seem to be unfounded.

The important one in this saga is the young girl who has been dragged over the coals by grown men who are now so wrapped up in their poor selves that she wouldn't be spared a thought.
In my book, that's a bloody disgrace.
« Last Edit: May 30th, 2013 at 5:25pm by Amadd »  

darkhall67

Reply #133 - May 30th, 2013 at 4:47pm

... wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 3:35pm:
Darwin was a scientidt - one of the most important scientists to ever live.  If people don't like his findings they can try to disprove them, but claiming offense, or burying the truth doesnt disprove anything.

Now that we accept that all humans evolved from apes, why doonlonly blacks get butthurt about it?

Because when used against blacks it's only purpose is to say that they are less evolved than we whities , that they are less than human, that they are sub human.

And based on the history of blacks being treated EXACTLY that way throughout history why are you surprised that it's considered as racism?

Come on wesley.  You are not an ignoramus.  You must be able to see the enormous difference between calling a big white man an ape and calling a black man an ape based on this history AND based on the attitudes that black people have to face even today.

Reply #134 - May 30th, 2013 at 4:50pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 4:47pm:
Because when used against blacks it's only purpose is to say that they are less evolved than we whities , that they are less than human, that they are sub human.

Incorrect.

I'll give you one more try.

Reply #135 - May 30th, 2013 at 4:53pm

See, anyone who understood evolution wouldn't speak in terms of more or less evolved.  I'd much rather this sort of common misconception be cleared up, than tiptoe around a minefield of unjustified speech codes, each subject to the whims of the individual.  Information over ignorance.

darkhall67

Reply #136 - May 30th, 2013 at 5:02pm

... wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 4:53pm:
See, anyone who understood evolution wouldn't speak in terms of more or less evolved.  I'd much rather this sort of common misconception be cleared up, than tiptoe around a minefield of unjustified speech codes, each subject to the whims of the individual.  Information over ignorance.

Wouldnt that be great.

But you know exactly what I mean (and what is meant by) "less evolved".

Less than human.

Sub human.

Inferior.

Less deserving of respect .

Reply #137 - May 30th, 2013 at 5:18pm

darkhall67 wrote on May 30th, 2013 at 5:02pm:

Wouldnt that be great.

But you know exactly what I mean (and what is meant by) "less evolved".

Less than human.

Sub human.

Inferior.

Less deserving of respect .

I know what you mean, but I think the answer is education.  Real education that is, not 'sensitivity training" which just sweeps the ignorance under the rug.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #138 - May 30th, 2013 at 5:20pm

I think that's rubbish. The word is usually used to describe somebody who is large and "ape-like'.
It's not usually used to describe women, black or white.

What if I said, "I went to the casino the other night and there two big gorilla security guards standing at the door"?
Would it matter if they were both black, both white, or if one was black and one was white?
I'm sure you'd immediately assume that they were both male.

But Ok, if there is some desperate insecurity black people have in regards to the word, I'll add that one to the never ending list that I have stored on a dedicated 8GB usb drive. I may need to upgrade to a 16GB though.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #139 - May 31st, 2013 at 5:08pm

Angry mother says AFL yet to contact teen in race row
May 28, 2013 12:00AM

THE AFL has not contacted the family of the 13-year-old girl in the middle of a national racism storm despite its public promise to provide her with counselling, education and support. 

The girl's mother told The Australian she had not heard from anyone at the league, nor did she expect to.

The girl's mother said she was still angry that her daughter had been detained by police for almost two hours at the MCG last Friday night and questioned, albeit for a few minutes, without a legal guardian present.

Child and adolescent psychologist Michael Carr-Gregg expressed concerns for the girl's welfare after three days of intense media scrutiny and public commentary.

"At 13 she has the emotional judgment of a child," Mr Carr-Gregg said. "The concerning issue for me is how the news editors, particularly with the electronic media, failed to pixelate her face. She is, after all, a minor.
"I am fairly flabbergasted that the MCG security would have hauled her off without an adult present and secondly that the police questioned her without an accompanying adult. That is a violation of her rights."
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/indigenous/angry-mother-says-af...

Reply #140 - May 31st, 2013 at 5:15pm

Amadd wrote on May 31st, 2013 at 5:08pm:
Angry mother says AFL yet to contact teen in race row
May 28, 2013 12:00AM

THE AFL has not contacted the family of the 13-year-old girl in the middle of a national racism storm despite its public promise to provide her with counselling, education and support. 

The girl's mother told The Australian she had not heard from anyone at the league, nor did she expect to.

The girl's mother said she was still angry that her daughter had been detained by police for almost two hours at the MCG last Friday night and questioned, albeit for a few minutes, without a legal guardian present.

Child and adolescent psychologist Michael Carr-Gregg expressed concerns for the girl's welfare after three days of intense media scrutiny and public commentary.

"At 13 she has the emotional judgment of a child," Mr Carr-Gregg said. "The concerning issue for me is how the news editors, particularly with the electronic media, failed to pixelate her face. She is, after all, a minor.
"I am fairly flabbergasted that the MCG security would have hauled her off without an adult present and secondly that the police questioned her without an accompanying adult. That is a violation of her rights."
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/indigenous/angry-mother-says-af...

The whole incident was blown out of proportion.....Who really benefited from all this???

Angry Angry Angry

Amadd

Mo

Reply #141 - May 31st, 2013 at 7:11pm

The media for one.

As for anybody else, I'd hope that some people are better educated to not take offense at the drop of a hat and to remember that kids come first.

That is not happening by a long shot.
These two baboons (Goodes and McGuire) have put their own interests before the welfare of a child  Angry

I'm glad that the public will now have the chance (if they open their eyes) to see how conceited and self-centred these two bozos and many more like them really are.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #142 - May 31st, 2013 at 11:45pm

At least the league this week is concentrating on toning down the abuse of players all-round and not just one specific group.

It's ugly enough to see opposition players being abused from supporters on the boundary, but when they abuse their own players like that DH Brisbane supporter was doing after the game, it makes it all the worse.

I wonder if that Brisbane supporter even knew enough about his team to realise that five of their best players were out.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #143 - Jun 1st, 2013 at 1:47am

I think the term should be "differently evolved", as we are all different in some manner for better or worse with respect to the direction democracy points us.

That's a big if we are allowed to respect the direction of democracy, which is owned by nobody.

Of course there can be no democracy without open and honest fact, commonly known as the truth, which again, nobody owns.
« Last Edit: Jun 1st, 2013 at 1:53am by Amadd »