Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8
Geert Wilders cancelled in Perth (Read 22875 times)
polite_gandalf

Re: Geert Wilders cancelled in Perth
Reply #60 - Feb 20th, 2013 at 10:29pm

Soren wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 10:18pm:
And how is that not your responsibility? How is that something for me to worry about?

you claim muslims are not taking responsibility for the extremists among us. I counter by pointing out that every single time some muslim attrocity occurs, mainstream muslim leaders will come out condemning it and imploring muslims to reject that brand of islam. You also have no idea about the internal struggle going on in islam to counter the extremists and promote the right, peaceful path of islam.

I'm not saying the state of islam in the west is perfect, or that much more can't be done, but don't insult my intelligence by claiming no responsibility is being taken by mainstream islam, or that proactive measures are not being taken to erradicate extremism from the muslim communities.

A resident Islam critic who claims to represent western values said:
Outlawing the enemy's uniform - hijab, islamic beard - is not depriving one's own people of their freedoms.

Soren

Reply #61 - Feb 20th, 2013 at 10:50pm

polite_gandalf wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 10:29pm:
Soren wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 10:18pm:
And how is that not your responsibility? How is that something for me to worry about?

you claim muslims are not taking responsibility for the extremists among us. I counter by pointing out that every single time some muslim attrocity occurs, mainstream muslim leaders will come out condemning it and imploring muslims to reject that brand of islam. You also have no idea about the internal struggle going on in islam to counter the extremists and promote the right, peaceful path of islam.

I'm not saying the state of islam in the west is perfect, or that much more can't be done, but don't insult my intelligence by claiming no responsibility is being taken by mainstream islam, or that proactive measures are not being taken to erradicate extremism from the muslim communities.

I am sorry to insult your intelligence, but whatever 'proactive measures' you are taking, they are not working.

There is no 'moderate' Muslim crowd at the Paki, Afghan, Iraqi, Syrian, Egyptian, Omani, Algerian, Pallo Embassies, protesting suicide bombings, attrocities, disgraceful behaviour. There is no peaceful demo by Muslim demanding an end to the Syrian civil war. There is no Muslim voice raised on the streets against Iran's push for nuclear weapons.

But make a youtube vid about Mohammed and you will have all the motivated Muslims demanding the beheading of all and sundry on the streets of every major city, East and West.

Whatever you are doing, pal, is ineffective. But mostly, you do nothing except stand by and do some special bleating afterwards. And that's because you are even more afraid of the 'motivated' Muslims than your garden variety infidel like me, because they know who you are- you go to mosque with them, you are part of their network.
You are the sea they swim in.

rabbitoh07

Reply #62 - Feb 20th, 2013 at 11:45pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 9:20pm:
rabbitoh07 wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:38pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:34pm:
rabbitoh07 wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:28pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:20pm:
Lol. Can you fit the term racist in a sentence or paragraph any more?

Rabbitoh, answer me this: Is it racist to criticize Christianity?

No.  It is not racist to criticise Christianity.
Just as it is not racist to criticise Islam.

It is racist to say - as your mate Geert says:
Islam is not a religion, it's an ideology, the ideology of a retarded culture. I have a problem with Islamic tradition, culture, ideology. Not with Muslim people.

Calling something "the ideology of a retarded culture. " is not criticism.  It is a bigotted , racist rant.

I'm sure you now want to come back and say "Islam is not a race!" - and you would be correct.  That does not stop this bloke from being a racist however.  He is a bigot of course (just like you, as we have discovered), he is prejudiced - and he is racist.

I can just hear his follows now - on the phone to Jonesy tomorrow - "Gday Alan, love your show...now, I'm not a racist, BUT, I think Islam is the ideology of a retarded culture..."

Anyway - just ignore the bloke.  Just as sensible people ignore Jonesy and Bolt and the morons that listen to them.

A bet each way, huh.
How is saying "Islam is a retarded culture" racist? There's no mention of race in that statement. Islam, to say it again, is a set of practices and beliefs. These practices and beliefs just happen to be "retarded." 

By "retarded" he would mean "backward" or "intellectually deficient." Still nothing to do with race.

Tony Abbott says:
He is entitled to his view but I think that the Muslims in this country see themselves rightly as fair dinkum, dinky-di Australians, just as the Catholics and the Jews and Protestants and the atheists, we see ourselves as Australian

So - you obviously cannot vote for the Liberal party.  You are bigotted towards the Greens.

Who will you be voting for next election?

Is there a Racist Party?

Whoever you vote for will exemplify your bigotry. If you vote for Labor or Greens on principle, then you're being bigoted toward the Liberals and all the other parties. Funny how it works both ways, huh.

That's the problem if you think in slogans or just write based on whatever emotion rises to the surface at the time, you end up contradicting yourself.

Just another "useful idiot."

I am not the one that wrote:

I will not tolerate any Islamic influence in politics, nor any of the extreme leftist views like you find on university campuses and in the Greens.

that was you, bigot

rabbitoh07

Reply #63 - Feb 20th, 2013 at 11:48pm

Soren wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:47pm:
rabbitoh07 wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:14pm:
ian wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 7:55pm:
Im not a fan of Wilders, however my understanding is that Barnett intervened by speaking to the hotel management and implying they may lose state government business if they hosted Wilders. To be quite hionest he shopuld have been allowed to speak here and let his idiocy be exposed. These types of bigots and racists only ever attract a small following (here at least) and its quite often helpful to let them crawl out of the dark and expose themselves.

True.  Ignoring is the best option.

If a group of racists want to go and hear some racist talk about being racist - well, good on them.  And good on Tony Abbott for truing to distance himself from the racist and his racist audience.  But it is a shame that there are others in his party who support the racist and his racist audience.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/bernardi-tests-abbotts-patience...

Tony must be torn.  He wont accept the vote of Thommo in Parliament.  Will he accept the votes of the racists who vote for Bernardi?

Abbott should go and meet Wilders, shake his hand and declare his support for his stance for freedom and debate him on any points he disagrees with him.

Yes.  yes He should.

And if he won't - he should explain to us why Cory Bernardi is still in his party

Soren wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:47pm:
Same for Gillard.

Cory Bernardi is not a member of Gillard's party, is he?

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #64 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 5:09am

Islam is not a religion, it's an ideology, the ideology of a retarded culture. I have a problem with Islamic tradition, culture, ideology. Not with Muslim people.

Calling something "the ideology of a retarded culture. " is not criticism.  It is a bigotted , racist rant.

I'm sure you now want to come back and say "Islam is not a race!" - and you would be correct.  That does not stop this bloke from being a racist however.  He is a bigot of course (just like you, as we have discovered), he is prejudiced - and he is racist.

I can just hear his follows now - on the phone to Jonesy tomorrow - "Gday Alan, love your show...now, I'm not a racist, BUT, I think Islam is the ideology of a retarded culture..."

Anyway - just ignore the bloke.  Just as sensible people ignore Jonesy and Bolt and the morons that listen to them.

Re the controversy 'of' Geert Wilders.

It is an issue of truth;

Geert Wilders is speaking the truth, in his description of ISLAM, and ISLAMIC doctrine.
[...and if Geert Wilders is not speaking the truth, then let his critics debate with him, as to what Geert Wilders error is.
And let his critics prove to us all, that Geert Wilders is NOT speaking the truth.
If he is not.

....But oh no! The critics of Geert Wilders do not want to debate him, and prove his error.

NO, WHAT HIS CRITICS WANT, IS TO SILENCE THE TRUTH SPEAKER. ]

rabbitoh07 is NOT speaking the truth. #1,
He falsely calls a person a racist, but rabbitoh07 [and those like him] refuse to demonstrate to us, how speaking the truth [about a vicious fascist ideology, and its deceitful and vicious adherents] is 'racism'.

rabbitoh07 is NOT speaking the truth. #2,
Bigotry ???
Well, speaking the truth [about a vicious fascist ideology, and its deceitful and vicious adherents] is not 'bigotry'.
It is rabbitoh07 and his ilk who are proving to be the bigots.

Who are the real bigots?

Open a dictionary;
bigot = = a person who is prejudiced in their views and intolerant of the opinions of others.

Bigots, are those people who are,
".....intolerant of the opinions of others."

Speaking the truth, does not qualify as an act of bigotry, unless your 'nick' is rabbitoh07.i
"In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act."

George Orwell

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

rabbitoh07

Reply #65 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 6:44am

Yadda wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 5:09am:

Re the controversy 'of' Geert Wilders.

It is an issue of truth;

Geert Wilders is speaking the truth, in his description of ISLAM, and ISLAMIC doctrine.
[...and if Geert Wilders is not speaking the truth, then let his critics debate with him, as to what Geert Wilders error is.
And let his critics prove to us all, that Geert Wilders is NOT speaking the truth.
If he is not.

....But oh no! The critics of Geert Wilders do not want to debate him, and prove his error.

NO, WHAT HIS CRITICS WANT, IS TO SILENCE THE TRUTH SPEAKER. ]

rabbitoh07 is NOT speaking the truth. #1,
He falsely calls a person a racist, but rabbitoh07 [and those like him] refuse to demonstrate to us, how speaking the truth [about a vicious fascist ideology, and its deceitful and vicious adherents] is 'racism'.

rabbitoh07 is NOT speaking the truth. #2,
Bigotry ???
Well, speaking the truth [about a vicious fascist ideology, and its deceitful and vicious adherents] is not 'bigotry'.
It is rabbitoh07 and his ilk who are proving to be the bigots.

Who are the real bigots?

Open a dictionary;
bigot = = a person who is prejudiced in their views and intolerant of the opinions of others.

Bigots, are those people who are,
".....intolerant of the opinions of others."

Speaking the truth, does not qualify as an act of bigotry, unless your 'nick' is rabbitoh07.i
"In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act."

George Orwell

Could you point out where I suggested he be silenced?
I have simply said he is bigot and should be ignored

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #66 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 8:29am

rabbitoh07 wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 11:45pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 9:20pm:
rabbitoh07 wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:38pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:34pm:

A bet each way, huh.
How is saying "Islam is a retarded culture" racist? There's no mention of race in that statement. Islam, to say it again, is a set of practices and beliefs. These practices and beliefs just happen to be "retarded." 

By "retarded" he would mean "backward" or "intellectually deficient." Still nothing to do with race.

Tony Abbott says:
He is entitled to his view but I think that the Muslims in this country see themselves rightly as fair dinkum, dinky-di Australians, just as the Catholics and the Jews and Protestants and the atheists, we see ourselves as Australian

So - you obviously cannot vote for the Liberal party.  You are bigotted towards the Greens.

Who will you be voting for next election?

Is there a Racist Party?

Whoever you vote for will exemplify your bigotry. If you vote for Labor or Greens on principle, then you're being bigoted toward the Liberals and all the other parties. Funny how it works both ways, huh.

That's the problem if you think in slogans or just write based on whatever emotion rises to the surface at the time, you end up contradicting yourself.

Just another "useful idiot."

I am not the one that wrote:

I will not tolerate any Islamic influence in politics, nor any of the extreme leftist views like you find on university campuses and in the Greens.

that was you, bigot

Useful idiot, if I were to go through your posting history I'd find many things you're intolerant of.

If you had any intellectual honesty, you'd admit the bigotry tag could be applied to any one with an opinion or principles. But when you don't have arguments, slogans is the best you can muster I s'pose.

polite_gandalf

Reply #67 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:01am

Soren wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 10:50pm:
I am sorry to insult your intelligence, but whatever 'proactive measures' you are taking, they are not working.

what does that even mean - 'not working'? What possible measure is this based on? Its just a completely meaningless and ridiculous thing to say. For all you know, potentially hundreds of terrorist attacks have been prevented by proactive measures from muslims themselves: education at mosques, clerics and imams counseling impressionable young muslims, muslim leaders working with authorities (such a program has been running in the UK with great success). Please enlighten me as to what measure you are basing your claim that muslims are failing to rein in the extremists. Just because a handful still exist? That means nothing. You should be asking how many that handful has been reduced from, and how much extremist activity has actually been prevented from proactive work by the muslim community.

There is no 'moderate' Muslim crowd at the Paki, Afghan, Iraqi, Syrian, Egyptian, Omani, Algerian, Pallo Embassies, protesting suicide bombings, attrocities, disgraceful behaviour. There is no peaceful demo by Muslim demanding an end to the Syrian civil war.

you are wrong - all these things have happened, and continue to happen. The US islamic community is particularly active in this sort of self-criticism.

But yes, it is true, they are not very prominent or particularly big. There are two fundamental reasons for this: First and foremostly, the struggle is internal; inside the mosques, inside the muslim community and inside the family. This obviously comes before a symbolic public protest - which, if understood as a gesture towards the non-muslim community to "prove" our rejection of violence and extremism (eg people like you who constantly demand such symbolism) - should be considered redundant. Muslim leaders make it abundantly clear that violence and extremism is unacceptable to islam.

Secondly, muslims are fighting a war on two fronts. They understand perfectly well what drives extremism, and it is the actions of the west in muslim world: 9/11 (as well as the USS Cole and embassy bombing in Kenya before it), was expressly stated as a response to the setting up of US bases in the Gulf. London 7/7 and Madrid bombings were expressly stated as a response to Britain and Spain's contribution to the invasion of Iraq. Every single muslim terrorist or attempted-terrorist's modus operandi is revenge over occupation of muslim lands and killing of muslims. So of course all muslims have a duty to protest against these attrocities as a way of combating the terrorism that results from it. From the muslim point of view, it doesn't make much sense to protest the symptom and not the cause. Yes, of course we condemn terrorism, but we also acknowledge they are fueled by other attrocities - and its these attrocities that need to challenged as the best way of combating islamic terrorism.

Whatever you are doing, pal, is ineffective.

once again - this means absolutely nothing. What measure determines what is "effective" and what is "ineffective"? How many terrorist attacks has the muslim community prevented through various measures? You have absolutely no idea.

But mostly, you do nothing except stand by and do some special bleating afterwards.

Completely baseless. I suggest you look at the program in the UK that has muslim leaders working with police to prevent crime; similar schemes in the US, not to mention education programs where muslims work hand in hand with governments. And thats not even going in to the daily education and mentoring that goes on in mosques all over the western world. How much crime and extremism is being prevented from these every day measures? You have absolutely no idea.

Outlawing the enemy's uniform - hijab, islamic beard - is not depriving one's own people of their freedoms.

Quantum

Reply #68 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 2:18pm

Having programs to help Muslims is basically admitting that their is a problem with them. How many locals have to be bashed/raped/murdered while these Muslims are being educated to fit into society? How many suburbs and communities have to be turned into replicas of middle eastern slums before these programs accomplish their goals? Why should western nations turn themselves inside out to make a home for these people who would obviously be happier back where they came from?

Amadd

Mo

Reply #69 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 5:14pm

rabbitoh07 wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:14pm:
ian wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 7:55pm:
Im not a fan of Wilders, however my understanding is that Barnett intervened by speaking to the hotel management and implying they may lose state government business if they hosted Wilders. To be quite hionest he shopuld have been allowed to speak here and let his idiocy be exposed. These types of bigots and racists only ever attract a small following (here at least) and its quite often helpful to let them crawl out of the dark and expose themselves.

True.  Ignoring is the best option.

If a group of racists want to go and hear some racist talk about being racist - well, good on them.  And good on Tony Abbott for truing to distance himself from the racist and his racist audience.  But it is a shame that there are others in his party who support the racist and his racist audience.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/bernardi-tests-abbotts-patience...

Tony must be torn.  He wont accept the vote of Thommo in Parliament.  Will he accept the votes of the racists who vote for Bernardi?

It's probably a bit ironic that you inadvertently got that right in that Islam sees itself as an idealistic nation.

Of course ordinarily, the word "racism" would not apply when speaking of religions as there is no particular race involved.

But yes, it is true that many muslims are more loyal to their Islamic nation than their country of citizenship.

It's hard to tell if there are in fact any muslims who would be loyal to a western nation such as Australia as the quran calls for lies to the infidel (us and our government) to further Islam.

Soren

Reply #70 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:07pm

Quantum wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 2:18pm:
Having programs to help Muslims is basically admitting that their is a problem with them. How many locals have to be bashed/raped/murdered while these Muslims are being educated to fit into society? How many suburbs and communities have to be turned into replicas of middle eastern slums before these programs accomplish their goals? Why should western nations turn themselves inside out to make a home for these people who would obviously be happier back where they came from?

My sentiments entirely.  Why embark on all this education and outreach, why buy into and import Islam's internal struggle so it has now become our problem as well - when we could just say No?

What is gained by spending countless treasure and limitless effort on trying to fit Muslims into what is fundamentally against every tenet of their religion?

It is a one way street - there is no open door to non-Muslim influence and presence in 'Muslim lands' - they will blow up anyone who tries to adjust them to the 21st century.

We might as well try to accommodate stone age people to the 21st century!

(Oh!?! We are?!? )

polite_gandalf

Reply #71 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:59pm

Soren wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 9:07pm:

My sentiments entirely.  Why embark on all this education and outreach, why buy into and import Islam's internal struggle so it has now become our problem as well - when we could just say No?

highlighted for irony.

Grin Grin Soren, I couldn't agree more! Why meddle in muslims lands and import their greivances and problems here? - why illegally invade sovereign muslim countries for oil? why support Israel unconditionally in their wars of aggression and ethnic cleansing? THAT is what creates the terrorist threat in the west Soren - no matter how much we try and convince ourselves its about them "hating our freedom" or whatever.

As it stands, the majority of law abiding muslims in the west are stuck between a rock and a hard place - fighting a war on two fronts. On the one hand they are doing absolutely the right and proper thing by protesting strongly against western meddling and aggression in muslim lands - because they know this is the root cause of terrorism - and on the other hand trying to keep a lid on emotional reactions to this western meddling from a minority of hot-headed impressionable muslims.

So yeah Soren, please promote this surprisingly enlightened message of yours to our political leaders loud and clear: stop the meddling in the internal affairs of the muslim world and importing their greivances and making it our problem as well!

ian

Reply #72 - Feb 21st, 2013 at 10:00pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 9:55pm:
ian wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 9:32pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:04pm:
How is it racist to criticize Islam? It's a set of religious practices; race has nothing to do with it. Does the racism tag work for Christianity too? Have the numerous criticisms of Christianity over the past 200 years in European literature been a form of racism? Does that mean the postmodern left, who criticise Christianity at the drop of a hat, is racist too?

Wilders is presenting Islam as an idealology not a religion and basing his criticisms on that. When he talks about Muslim immigration he is actually refering to middle eastern and african immigration. Not only does this ignore the majority of Muslim people in the world but tars them with the same cultural brush.

Whether it is an ideology or religion doesn't matter as they both have a set of practices and a doctrine that is adhered to. It's a 7th century religion that is incompatible with liberal democracy. The insertion of race into the argument is done by the left to try and gain some traction over the existing arguments. They can't argue for Islam on cultural grounds, so they use the racist tag to demean opposition, as if this somehow makes their 7th century religion more acceptable to modern standards.

Nonsense, to start with, you dont even understand that the majority of the worlds Muslims do not live in the middle east and are as moderate as most Christians in western countries. All you are doing is spewing right wing rhetoric you probably heard on the talk back radio. If you cant distinguish between culture and religion then you shouldnt even be in this debate.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #73 - Feb 22nd, 2013 at 7:39am

ian wrote on Feb 21st, 2013 at 10:00pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 9:55pm:
ian wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 9:32pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 20th, 2013 at 8:04pm:
How is it racist to criticize Islam? It's a set of religious practices; race has nothing to do with it. Does the racism tag work for Christianity too? Have the numerous criticisms of Christianity over the past 200 years in European literature been a form of racism? Does that mean the postmodern left, who criticise Christianity at the drop of a hat, is racist too?

Wilders is presenting Islam as an idealology not a religion and basing his criticisms on that. When he talks about Muslim immigration he is actually refering to middle eastern and african immigration. Not only does this ignore the majority of Muslim people in the world but tars them with the same cultural brush.

Whether it is an ideology or religion doesn't matter as they both have a set of practices and a doctrine that is adhered to. It's a 7th century religion that is incompatible with liberal democracy. The insertion of race into the argument is done by the left to try and gain some traction over the existing arguments. They can't argue for Islam on cultural grounds, so they use the racist tag to demean opposition, as if this somehow makes their 7th century religion more acceptable to modern standards.

Nonsense, to start with, you dont even understand that the majority of the worlds Muslims do not live in the middle east and are as moderate as most Christians in western countries. All you are doing is spewing right wing rhetoric you probably heard on the talk back radio. If you cant distinguish between culture and religion then you shouldnt even be in this debate.

Ideology, religion, and culture are all intertwined. Each partly effects the other.
What does Islam have to offer the West? What of value can it give us that we don't already have? They've produced nothing of value in 800 years. There's a reason for that. Submission to a deity trumps pragmatic political and social concerns.
I wonder if you'd have any problem of Australia/Europe returning to conservative Catholicism? You probably would. And there we'd see your double standards.

polite_gandalf

Reply #74 - Feb 22nd, 2013 at 9:21am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 22nd, 2013 at 7:39am:
They've produced nothing of value in 800 years

Stop embarassing yourself. If it wasn't for the islamic world, Europe would still be stuck in the dark ages. While the Europeans were wallowing in war, disease and ignorance, the islamic world was busily translating and protecting all the most important Greek works - works that today we consider the pillars of our civilization and knowledge. During the time, islam had the only centres for science and learning, while in Europe the only places that had any semblance of learning was in the monasteries.

To get an idea of how reliant our modern day prosperity has been determined by the islamic world, consider:

- have you ever used numbers? Thank the islamic world (not developed by arabs, but introduced to Europe by the arabs)
- does modern medicine have a firm knowledge of the human anatomy? thank the islamic world
- do we know how to combat infectious diseases? Thank the islamic world
- do we have a basic concept of washing and personal hygiene that is so crucial to our health? thank the islamic world
- like listening to the violin or guitar? thank the islamic world.

And on and on the list goes...

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8