Australia V South Africa (Read 4689 times)

Australia V South Africa
Nov 5th, 2012 at 8:03pm

1st Test Friday at the Gabba.....

Dale Steyn was reported to be bowling over 150kph against Australia A in an impressive spell of bowling.....

South Africa appear to be to strong for the Aussies without Watson and Ponting IMO.....Looking forward to some good cricket!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

BatteriesNotIncluded

MediocrityNET: because
people died for this!

Re: Australia V South Africa
Reply #1 - Nov 5th, 2012 at 8:06pm

yEH, BLOODY OATH: I'VE SAVED MYSELF HAVING NOT WATCHED TOO MUCH FOOTY!

OH, BTW... CUNG LEE IS FIGHTING RICK FRANKLIN(the guy that looks like Jim Carrey  Grin Grin ) November 14: THAT IS A MUST-SEE ASWELL!

Wink Wink

*Sure....they're anti competitive as any subsidised job is.  It wouldn't be there without the tax payer.  Very damned difficult for a brainwashed collectivist to understand that I know....  (swaggy) *

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #2 - Nov 5th, 2012 at 8:46pm

Bloody idolaters!!!!!!!!!!!              Cheesy             Grin             Grin             Grin

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

Reply #3 - Nov 7th, 2012 at 12:19pm

Dale Steyn is awesome, he isn't even front line bowling in this team either.

Reply #4 - Nov 7th, 2012 at 7:01pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 7th, 2012 at 12:19pm:
Dale Steyn is awesome, he isn't even front line bowling in this team either.

This will be South Africa's best chance of winning in Australia while the team is rebuilding.....This looks like being a good series with Brisbane and Perth providing quick bouncy wickets to test all batsmen against very good fast and swing bowling.....Hilfenhaus is my bet to trouble the South African batsmen if he can stay fit!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

FriYAY

Reply #5 - Nov 8th, 2012 at 9:12am

Could be a long summer for our cricketers. Injury woos still haunt the team as well.

Great to see Quiney in the team.

Have to agree with recent comments on Kallis (along with Sobers) as being the best cricketer we have seen, after Bradman.

12,000+ runs @ nearly 57av and 280 wicketrs @ 32.

2 players in one.

And his missus is smoooooooooooooooooooooking.

Reply #6 - Nov 8th, 2012 at 10:35am

we are stronger without grandad ponting.

sa are brittle.

Reply #7 - Nov 8th, 2012 at 8:25pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 8th, 2012 at 10:35am:
we are stronger without grandad ponting.

sa are brittle.

SA will do well because their team is stable.....If Ponting does not make runs he is history  for the Ashes.....I think Punter is a legend and deserves every chance to eclipse the records of all the other front runners.....Punter made his runs against the best!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #8 - Nov 9th, 2012 at 9:34am

philperth2010 wrote on Nov 7th, 2012 at 7:01pm:
This will be South Africa's best chance of winning in Australia while the team is rebuilding.....This looks like being a good series with Brisbane and Perth providing quick bouncy wickets to test all batsmen against very good fast and swing bowling.....Hilfenhaus is my bet to trouble the South African batsmen if he can stay fit!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Seeth Effreeca won the last time they were here.... Huh

Looks like Clark's not playing Starc... Sad

He's the form bowler I can't believe it.......

Reply #9 - Nov 9th, 2012 at 12:00pm

philperth2010 wrote on Nov 7th, 2012 at 7:01pm:

Smiley Smiley Smiley

South Africa belted Australia last time as well Phil, so lets not make out its a one off.

I can't see the Aussies winning a single test against this team.
They are strong all over the list.

Reply #10 - Nov 9th, 2012 at 1:06pm

have we won yet ?

Reply #11 - Nov 12th, 2012 at 10:48am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 9th, 2012 at 1:06pm:
have we won yet ?

LOL
You are shite.

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #12 - Nov 12th, 2012 at 12:17pm

Punta got a ...

Warner got not much.

Warner not a test opener in my book & Punta's looking frail.

Reply #13 - Nov 12th, 2012 at 12:44pm

Pontings about 4 years too old, may as well bring back the chappell brothers.

warner is ok, give him time and support.

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #14 - Nov 12th, 2012 at 3:02pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 12th, 2012 at 12:44pm:
warner is ok, give him time and support.

Maybe but not as an opener.  T20 & ODI fine but not in Test cricket IMO.

Bat him down the order I say. 

Cowan has done ok today and Clark again.

Reply #15 - Nov 12th, 2012 at 7:42pm

you might have a point there swaggie.

it'll be good hearing SA collapse tomorow .

Reply #16 - Nov 13th, 2012 at 7:38am

Great double ton from Clarke and a great innings from Cowan.....So much for the SA pace attack!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #17 - Nov 13th, 2012 at 7:44am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 9th, 2012 at 1:06pm:
have we won yet ?

Oh yes, see what some right wing positiveness does ???

Reply #18 - Nov 20th, 2012 at 9:48pm

Ricky Ponting is due and Adelaide will be a draw without a dominant spinner from either side.....Perth will decide the series!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #19 - Nov 20th, 2012 at 11:34pm

could be, adelaide can be strange though, can turn up some surprising results.

Auzz to win in 4 days is my prediction

FriYAY

Reply #20 - Nov 21st, 2012 at 10:04am

SA won’t be too happy with the 1st test and will want to atone.

I’d put Starc in for Hilfy, bit rough on BH maybe but I think we need the variety of the lefty, the attack can look too similar with 3 right arm quicks and Starc is in form.

Hussey and Quiney can add some blowing variety, along with Clarke.

Warner and Ponting need to stop playing at wide deliveries early on. Not convinced Warner is a long-term opening batsman (but would love to see him prove me wrong).

Even match that could go either way.

Reply #21 - Nov 22nd, 2012 at 10:28am

We are on .

Aust have already  won, the toss

FriYAY

Reply #22 - Nov 22nd, 2012 at 1:14pm

Oh FFS, give up PONTING  Angry

Reply #23 - Nov 22nd, 2012 at 1:20pm

WHo needs dicky poontang when we've got WARNER?

Reply #24 - Nov 22nd, 2012 at 3:50pm

4 - 336, kallis injured

how good is that ?
We will declare tomorrow 40 mins before afternoon tea and hurt them bad.

Reply #25 - Nov 22nd, 2012 at 6:31pm

What a shame I missed it.....Work sucks!!!

Angry Angry Angry

FriYAY

Reply #26 - Nov 23rd, 2012 at 9:11am

5 - 482 @ 5.5 runs/over.

Grin Grin

How dam good was that. Cool Cool

Oh and Phil - right on, work sucks. Sad

Reply #27 - Nov 23rd, 2012 at 9:54am

I take back everything I said about Clarke.

Until he has a bad innings, that is.

Reply #28 - Nov 23rd, 2012 at 10:42am

jolly good, warner 119 this innings, run rate at over 100 %
Only person with better run rate was ponting Smiley

Reply #29 - Nov 23rd, 2012 at 10:43am

... wrote on Nov 23rd, 2012 at 9:54am:
I take back everything I said about Clarke.

Until he has a bad innings, that is.

too right rob, got to keep flexible in your mind

Reply #30 - Nov 24th, 2012 at 8:46pm

this games on a knife edge.

ponting let us down bad

Reply #31 - Nov 25th, 2012 at 8:44pm

.......Chasing an unlikely 430 to win, the Proteas crumbled to 4-45 in the final session before AB de Villiers (12 from 101 deliveries) and Faf du Plessis (19 from 74) added 32 runs in a stubborn rearguard that ate up 29 overs.

At stumps the tourists are 4-77 and with Jacques Kallis still to bat remain a tiny chance of defying the home side for three sessions to save the match.............

Reply #32 - Nov 26th, 2012 at 3:57pm

I'm not sure who to direct my hate at:

South Africa, for playing outside the spirit of the game.

OR

Australia for having such a weak attack that they can't bowl a team out in 2 days.

Thoughts?

FriYAY

Reply #33 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:22am

... wrote on Nov 26th, 2012 at 3:57pm:

OR

Australia for having such a weak attack that they can't bowl a team out in 2 days.

Thoughts?

Thoughts?

Why did SA play out side the spirit of the game? They gutted out a great draw, kudos to them. It isn’t easy to play so negatively and for F du Plessis to do so on debut on OZ soil was a remarkable effort.

OR

You mean the attack that lost it’s front line pace man and were left one short? So the others busted their arse in hot steamy conditions and nearly got the result.

Thoughts?

You know SFA about cricket. Smiley

Doctor Jolly

Reply #34 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:25am

Says more about our average bowling attack, and useless spinner.

But, in hindsight, could SA have won it.  Should they have chased down the total ?

Reply #35 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:28am

FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:22am:

OR

Thoughts?

Thoughts?

Why did SA play out side the spirit of the game? They gutted out a great draw, kudos to them. It isn’t easy to play so negatively and for F du Plessis to do so on debut on OZ soil was a remarkable effort.

Call me old fashioned, but if you're not playing to win, you might as well piss off home.

You mean the attack that lost it’s front line pace man and were left one short? So the others busted their arse in hot steamy conditions and nearly got the result.

Nearly bowling a team out when you've got 2 days to do it isn't nearly good enough. At least the bowlers can rotate - you don't think faf got tired after 7 1/2 hours in the middle?

FriYAY

Reply #36 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:36am

Doctor Jolly wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:25am:

But, in hindsight, could SA have won it.  Should they have chased down the total ?

LOL

Lyon 3-49 off 50 overs in an attack that lost it’s key strike weapon.

What a moronic statement you make.

FriYAY

Reply #37 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:41am

... wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:28am:
FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:22am:

OR

Thoughts?

Thoughts?

Call me old fashioned, but if you're not playing to win, you might as well piss off home.

Nearly bowling a team out when you've got 2 days to do it isn't nearly good enough. At least the bowlers can rotate - you don't think faf got tired after 7 1/2 hours in the middle?

That’s not old fashioned, it’s stupid. FFS Teams play for draws in test cricket, always have and always will. They win in Perth and go home series winner and still number 1.

Nearly bowling the world number 1 team out, on a great batting strip after loosing your number 1 strike bowler.

Thoughts?

You know SFA about cricket (about as much as Dr DD)

Reply #38 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:10pm

FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:41am:
That’s not old fashioned, it’s stupid. FFS Teams play for draws in test cricket, always have and always will. They win in Perth and go home series winner and still number 1.

I understand the idea behind it perfectly.  But I did say the spirit of the game.  The spirit of all games is to WIN. 

Nearly bowling the world number 1 team out, on a great batting strip after loosing your number 1 strike bowler.

And the other 4 guys in the team, plus a few part timers (no I in team)coulnd't do it in 2 days.  Fatigue cuts both ways - Kallis was injured too.  Sorry mate - it's a weak attack.

FriYAY

Reply #39 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:19pm

... wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:10pm:

I understand the idea behind it perfectly.  But I did say the spirit of the game.  The spirit of all games is to WIN. 

And the other 4 guys in the team, plus a few part timers (no I in team)coulnd't do it in 2 days.  Fatigue cuts both ways - Kallis was injured too.  Sorry mate - it's a weak attack. 

SA want to win the series, not the game, you have no idea what you are talking about. If you understand prefectly, shut up.

What 4 guys? The bowling attack consists of 4 main bowlers. We lost 1 and nearly rolled the worlds number 1 team, on a geat batting strip.

You have no idea what you are talking about.

You are the SOB of cricket analysis.

Reply #40 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:22pm

FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:19pm:
If you understand prefectly, shut up.

No, you shut up, sook.   Grin

Reply #41 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:24pm

We lost 1 and nearly rolled the worlds number 1 team

There's that word again - nearly.

FriYAY

Reply #42 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:33pm

... wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:24pm:

Yep, nearly rolled the #1 team in the world, that was playing for a draw, on an excellent batting strip, after losing our #1 strike bowler.

And your point is nearly!!

Cheesy

Reply #43 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:37pm

FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:33pm:

Yep, nearly failed to rolled the #1 team in the world, that was playing for a draw, on an excellent batting strip, after losing our #1 strike bowler.

Cheesy

See how I can substitute 'nearly' for a less 'pretty' sounding word, and still retain the same meaning? 

Nearly won't get my 20 bucks back.   Cry

FriYAY

Reply #44 - Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:41pm

... wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:37pm:
FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:33pm:

Yep, nearly failed to rolled the #1 team in the world, that was playing for a draw, on an excellent batting strip, after losing our #1 strike bowler.

Cheesy

See how I can substitute 'nearly' for a less 'pretty' sounding word, and still retain the same meaning? 

Nearly won't get my 20 bucks back.   Cry

The meaning isn't in your semantics the reasoning is..

#1 team (playing for a draw)

#1 batting track

#1 strike bowler injured

A great effort by our cricketers.

All the best in Perth.

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #45 - Nov 28th, 2012 at 11:11am

Of course teams play for a draw in Test Cricket - it's part of the beauty of the game that two teams can battle it out for five days and the result in over a third of international matches is a draw.
Playing for a draw to win a series is very much a part of the spirit of the game.

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #46 - Nov 28th, 2012 at 12:41pm

FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:36am:

LOL

You know about cricket as much as you know about most things. Bugger all.

On the 5th day, the spinner is the key strike weapon.  Three wickets in a day and a half.    0.75 wickets per session. Ordinary to say the least.

At that rate he'd take 13 sessions, over 4 days to bowl them out.  Who is the moron now ?

Reply #47 - Nov 28th, 2012 at 1:13pm

10 days play so far - No result.

yep, test cricket sure is rivetting.

darkhall67

Reply #48 - Nov 28th, 2012 at 1:48pm

Life_goes_on wrote on Nov 28th, 2012 at 11:11am:
Of course teams play for a draw in Test Cricket - it's part of the beauty of the game that two teams can battle it out for five days and the result in over a third of international matches is a draw.
Playing for a draw to win a series is very much a part of the spirit of the game.

Yep.

Whenever I have a conversation about cricket with an american or canadian they always say "but you play for five days and STILL there is no winner. How dull".

I say "but sometimes a team has to play some extraordinary cricket just to salvage that draw".

Which SA did on this occasion.

FriYAY

Reply #49 - Nov 29th, 2012 at 3:22pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on Nov 28th, 2012 at 12:41pm:
FriYAY wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 11:36am:

LOL

You know about cricket as much as you know about most things. Bugger all.

On the 5th day, the spinner is the key strike weapon.  Three wickets in a day and a half.    0.75 wickets per session. Ordinary to say the least.

At that rate he'd take 13 sessions, over 4 days to bowl them out.  Who is the moron now ?

You, still. Basing so much on one innings is as moronic as it gets.

He’s new to the game, playing against the world #1 team, that was playing for a draw, on the #1 batting strip in Australia. It’s not just about your silly little opinion.

It’s about the opposition.

The state of the game.

The wicket.

51 wickets @ 29.13 in his first 15 tests is an excellent start for an off spinner.

Want to compare a few “still the moron”? Nathan Hauritz 63 @ 35 – Krejza 13 @ 43 – How about the great NZ spinner Daniel Vittori? 359 @ 34.

So tell me “still the moron” which current spinner should be in the team?

Do you have an opinion out side of your calculator?

Have I owned your stupid arse enough?

Yep, you’re “still the moron”.

« Last Edit: Nov 29th, 2012 at 3:32pm by FriYAY »  

Reply #50 - Nov 30th, 2012 at 3:47pm

82 - 6

Good selection of fresh bowlers

Reply #51 - Nov 30th, 2012 at 3:55pm

Dat'd be fuggin right.  The first match I didn't back Australia to win, they come good.   Roll Eyes

FriYAY

Reply #52 - Nov 30th, 2012 at 8:28pm

3-40 and an gutsy effort as night-watchman (excellent technique).
On a 1st day Perth wicket.

I was so pleased to see the selectors play the spinner. The faith shown in a young bloke still learning the trade will be an enormous boost to his confidence.

Well done lad.

Reply #53 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 12:32pm

Live on Channel 9 all day in Perth....Now I will get to see Punter bat!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #54 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 12:59pm

Ponting out for 4 lol!!!!

sorry guys, but it is funny!

Reply #55 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:03pm

Six for 45 lol again!

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #56 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:32pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 12:59pm:

No problem. Everyone is aware that you have a burning hatred for anything Australian and this just another manifestation of that.

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #57 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:33pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:32pm:
Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 12:59pm:

No problem. Everyone is aware that you have a burning hatred for anything Australian and this just another manifestation of that.

Cricket isn't Australian.

A day without sunshine is like night.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #58 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:37pm

No, but Ponting is.

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #59 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:39pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:37pm:
No, but Ponting is.

So disliking one Australian makes someone un-Australian?

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #60 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:43pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:39pm:
No, but Ponting is.

Maybe.
You should ask Pansi why she didn't feel it necessary to laugh at the South African batting collapse but did at Ponting's.

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #61 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:46pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:43pm:
bobbythefap1 wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:39pm:
No, but Ponting is.

Maybe.
You should ask Pansi why she didn't feel it necessary to laugh at the South African batting collapse but did at Ponting's.
Then you would be un-Australian as well...
Probably cause their isn't a whole bunch of people gloating about South Africa here.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #62 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:47pm

Meh ... boring.

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #63 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:50pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 1:47pm:
Meh ... boring.

Needs more buzzwords.

Reply #64 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 2:32pm

I can't stand the snotty, snooty little Ponting, he's just a horrible sportsman. He went striding out to bat waving the bat in the air like he's the man. I was hoping he would have been out for a duck, close enough tho!!!!!!!!!!!

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #65 - Dec 1st, 2012 at 4:37pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 2:32pm:
I can't stand the snotty, snooty little Ponting, he's just a horrible sportsman. He went striding out to bat waving the bat in the air like he's the man. I was hoping he would have been out for a duck, close enough tho!!!!!!!!!!!

Of course you don't like him: He's a successful sportsman. You hate successful people.

Reply #66 - Dec 3rd, 2012 at 6:29am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 4:37pm:
Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 1st, 2012 at 2:32pm:

Of course you don't like him: He's a successful sportsman. You hate successful people.

If I hate successful people, why do I admire these wonderfully successful sportsmen and women, Cathy Freeman, Peter Norman, Roger Federer, Muhammed Ali and Didier Drogba, plus I could name many more that have contributed greatly to human-kind.

At least none of the people that I admire are the face of a dodgy product, namely Swisse....................placebo health pills ha! ha!

Just because I don't like you, doesn't mean that I don't like everyone.

FriYAY

Reply #67 - Dec 3rd, 2012 at 9:22am

Why don’t all you try-hard morons, that like seeing their names on posts……

Just bugger OFF…..

Some of the beneficiaries of the Ponting Foundation….perhaps you boring twits can show us all your great work for human kind?

Redkite
Redkite is an Australian charity that supports children, young people and their families through their experiences with cancer by providing emotional guidance, financial assistance and educational services.

David Collins Leukaemia Foundation of Tasmania
The David Collins Leukaemia Foundation of Tasmania Inc. is a Tasmanian organisation dedicately solely to the care and cure of Tasmanians living with luekaemia, lymphoma and related blood disorders.
Since 1980, the Foundation has provided hundereds of patients and their families with care and support through their leukaemia journey, fundeed research for improvements to treatment and awarded scholarships for professional development of medical staff in Tasmania.
Using funding from the Ponting Foundation, the David Collins Leukaemia Foundation will provide a grant to the Royal Hobart Hospital to assist in the provision of projects in Tasmania that have been identified as priorities by Dr John Daubenton, Director of Paediatrics, Royal Hobart Hospital and Tasmania’s sole Paediatric Oncologist.

Murdoch Childrens Research Institute
Murdoch Childrens Research Institute is Australia’s largest and most prestigious child health research organisation.
Its team of 1200 are dedicated to discovering ways to improve the health and happiness of children. Research priorities include diabetes, allergies, premature birth and mental health problems that are on the rise in our children, and conditions like cancer and genetic disorders that remain unsolved.
The Ponting Foundation together with the Victorian State Government, are funding research at the Murdoch Childrens to improve the psychological wellbeing of children with cancer.

Children's Cancer Institute AustraliaChildren’s Cancer Institute Australia for Medical Research (CCIA) was founded in 1976 by a dedicated group of parents and doctors of children with cancer. Today CCIA is at the forefront of national and international childhood cancer research facilities, with a wide range of research programs addressing issues of great clinical importance. It is closely affiliated with both the Sydney Children’s Hospital and the University of NSW and has forged strong collaborative links with research and medical teams throughout the world.
Rianna and Ricky worked together with CCIA for many years to raise funds for vital research into the early detection of relapse in children diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukaemia (ALL), the most common cancer in children.
In 2012, the Ponting Foundation will support CCIA through the Cricket Rocks program with two major events scheduled for May..

Reply #68 - Dec 3rd, 2012 at 10:49am

And back to the game ........

We will win by the 2nd session tomorrow  Smiley

Reply #69 - Dec 5th, 2012 at 10:09am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 3rd, 2012 at 10:49am:
And back to the game ........

We will win by the 2nd session tomorrow  Smiley

He's still a snotty brat and a bad role model as far as sportsmen go.

South Africa kicked our arse  Smiley did Ponting cry?