Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
Welfare ban on Grog, Smokes, Porn & Punting (Read 9209 times)
Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Welfare ban on Grog, Smokes, Porn & Punting
Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:13pm

Centrelink begin welfare ban on booze, tobacco
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/centrelink-begin-welfare-ban-on-booze-toba...

RENT, bills and food are in but alcohol, cigarettes and gambling are out.
A federal government trial in which Centrelink manages the money of welfare recipients began yesterday amid an angry protest.

Bankstown, in Sydney's southwest, is one of five areas where the trial is being conducted.

It is designed to help allocate Centrelink benefits so that expenses are paid.

Under the government's Stronger Futures legislation, the trials will direct money from some welfare recipients to pay for "priority items" such as food, housing, clothing and utilities.

The remainder of the money can be used as they wish - but with strict exclusions.

Recipients are forbidden to spend their welfare on alcohol, tobacco, pornography and gambling.

Hey, its taken almost 5 years but the Govt has finally got something right................ Cheesy

Uncle Meat

Tasmania
Re: Welfare ban on Grog, Smokes, Porn & Punting
Reply #1 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:17pm

Swagman wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:13pm:
Recipients are forbidden to spend their welfare on alcohol, tobacco, pornography and gambling.

I should certainly hope that they aren't spending their money on pornography.

They can get all they want on the internet for free.

« Last Edit: Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:37pm by Uncle Meat »  

FriYAY

Reply #2 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:19pm

The dole bludgers won't be happy.

Reply #3 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:22pm

Doesn't say anything about whores and heroin though.

Reply #4 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:24pm

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/centrelink-begin-welfare-ban-on-booze-toba...

A federal government trial in which Centrelink manages the money of welfare recipients began yesterday amid an angry protest.

Bankstown, in Sydney's southwest, is one of five areas where the trial is being conducted.

Under the government's Stronger Futures legislation, the trials will direct money from some welfare recipients to pay for "priority items" such as food, housing, clothing and utilities.

The remainder of the money can be used as they wish - but with strict exclusions.

Hey, its taken almost 5 years but the Govt has finally got something right................ Cheesy

'
That is ridiculous. How would you like to be retrenched and told how to spend your money?

Reply #5 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:24pm

A disgusting, discriminatory plan.

Should never have gotten this far.

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #6 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:26pm

The Crown is pushing well outside the limitations of its powers to disadvantage Australian citizens economically and will certainly face class action and massive compensation claims.

World Wide Working Class Struggle

Reply #7 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 3:59pm

None of you Abbottites has a problem with the intervention, so good to see you are supporting this move.
I don't have a problem with it, perhaps they should target long term, multiple recipients in 1 house, than just a suburb approach.
If it's a good enough excuse to try & help Abo's it's good enough to help Bogans.

Don't like it get a job.
Simple I know Kat, but sometimes KISS instead of finding excuses works better.

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #8 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:05pm

This is an abuse of the power of the Crown, expect massive claims for any attempt to manage my income - just try it, I am itching for a fight - wanna have a go?

Frances

In a Castle in the Hills
Reply #9 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:07pm

But, judging from this part of the article, it sounds like it will only be done where people request it or where people are unable to manage their finances properly:
The scheme is voluntary, but it can be made compulsory for people who are falling behind in rent and bill payments or because of child protection issues.

There can't be any argument about the conditions being applied to someone who has asked for it.  As for the other option, I suppose the issue there is where is the line between those people who are falling behind in rent and bill payments and those who are not is going to be drawn.

Sure God created man before woman. But then you always make a rough draft before the final masterpiece.

FriYAY

Reply #10 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:16pm

I’m all for cracking down on the obvious bludgers.

But this……hmmmmm.

My rule would be presenting at centerlink/employment provider in a clean, neat and tidy state – fit for work.

When I was forced onto unemployment benefits I had a mortgage. 1st thing i did was give up the choof.

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #11 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:18pm

Any attempt to forcibly manage incomes of Australian citizens will cost the Crown dearly and if you are a well off beneficiary of the crowns benevolence expect to pay dearly for this action.  Don't want to pay?  Don't mess with the limitations of the law for your own greed or you will pay for it through the nose.  Believe me you will pay for it.

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #12 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:21pm

FriYAY wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:16pm:

But this……hmmmmm.

My rule would be presenting at centerlink/employment provider in a clean, neat and tidy state – fit for work.

When I was forced onto unemployment benefits I had a mortgage. 1st thing i did was give up the choof.

What you want does not matter, its the limitations placed on the crown and how it can use its power.  What I want is to make the crown pay through the nose if it seeks to mess with my legal rights through abuse of its power and by default make you pay for the crowns liability to me.

Reply #13 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:33pm

FriYAY wrote on Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:16pm:

But this……hmmmmm.

Well that explains a lot - drug addict dole bludger huh?

Reply #14 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 4:34pm

With a bit of luck they'll cut you off fat boy!

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5