The Mr $15 Million Dollar Man Is Staying Put. (Read 843 times)
imcrookonit

The Mr $15 Million Dollar Man Is Staying Put.
May 30th, 2012 at 7:23am

Coles' fresh food hero is staying on

by: Amy Wilson-Chapman
    May 29, 2012

IAN McLeod, the $15 million man responsible for turning around ailing supermarket Coles, is staying put.   Huh

Coles’ parent company, Wesfarmers, announced today the managing director would be paid an undisclosed sum to stay on after his five-year, fixed-term contract was up at the end of June.

“Ian will move to a new employment contract consistent with other senior executives within the Wesfarmers Group, which includes a six-month notice period,” said Wesfarmers managing director Richard Goyder.

Mr McLeod was one of the highest paid executives in Australia last financial year - earning $15.6 million thanks to an $11.1 million bonus. He is expected to earn between $35 million and $40 million for his five years at Coles, depending on the performance of the supermarket major.   Sad

Having been recruited from the UK in 2008 by Mr Goyder, the supermarket boss led the company to a 21 per cent jump in earnings for the 2011 financial year.

Mr Goyder said he was pleased the supermarket boss was keen to stay on after the final stage of the supermarket’s five-year turnaround.

“Ian and his team have achieved outstanding results over the past four years, delivering at Coles a sustained period of industry out-performance in both sales and profit growth,” Mr Goyder.

Wesfarmers shares were up 1.29 per cent, or 37 cents, at $29.03 at 1232 AWST.

Comments on this story

1Grumpy of WA Posted at 7:16 PM May 29, 2012

Well Mr $15 million dollar man, you've done absolutely nothings in quite a few Coles stores that I visit on a regular (not now) basis. If fact you have achieved something with your $15 million, driven me away never to shop in a Coles store ever again, fruit, meat and grocery items way too dear, can't buy what I've bought for years in Coles, sick of standing (when I went to Coles) waiting to get my items through a cash register. Bye bye Coles for ever, hello Woolies, my local green grocer for fresh veggies/fruit sells them cheaper than the big 3, why is this with their massive buying power? greed.    Sad

imcrookonit

Re: The Mr $15 Million Dollar Man Is Staying Put.
Reply #1 - May 30th, 2012 at 7:28am

Yes exactly right 1Grumpy, what do these overpaid CEOs do to earn their money.    Sad

Verge

Reply #2 - May 30th, 2012 at 10:25am

Yes exactly right 1Grumpy, what do these overpaid CEOs do to earn their money.    Sad

21% increase in profits last year?
Huge increases in profits and sales in the last 5 years.
Responsible for turning around ailing supermarket Coles.

Read the article mate.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #3 - May 30th, 2012 at 11:45am

Verge wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 10:25am:

Read the article mate.

Yes but has his pay rises been above CPI ??

Sounds like it Sad

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #4 - May 30th, 2012 at 11:47am

Read the article mate.

If these coles dudes are so good then why aren't they competing in overseas markets ?

They get away with ripping people off here until someone like Aldis comes along and shows them how to run a real business Wink

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Verge

Reply #5 - May 30th, 2012 at 11:48am

Sir lastnail wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 11:45am:

Read the article mate.

Sounds like it Sad

I think you will notice a majority of his salary is performance based, which he has obviously achieved in.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

mozzaok

Reply #6 - May 30th, 2012 at 11:49am

They increase the profits for their company.

Interestingly former Victorian Liberal Premier, Jeff Kennett is mounting a bit of an investigation into allegations that Coles may be engaging in unethical, and possibly illegal, business practices.
What is alleged is that suppliers are compelled to show a Coles representative ALL their financials, to work out the actual unit costs for whatever they are selling to Coles.
Coles then tells the supplier they are allowed only to apply a 3% profit on the product, or else they will remove all that companies products from all Coles Group stores.

Now if the CEO can be proved to have instigated and implemented, such a system, he should be offered a government award, as well as his usual bonus.
This could, if allegations turn out to be validated,                                                   see him offered free room and board from the government.

Of course, nobody really believes that big busssiness CEO's would ever engage in unethical practices, let alone illegal, do they???????????? Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #7 - May 30th, 2012 at 11:53am

Anyone could make profit when your company holds a monopoly

A day without sunshine is like night.

Reply #8 - May 30th, 2012 at 11:57am

Verge wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 11:48am:

Read the article mate.

Sounds like it Sad

I think you will notice a majority of his salary is performance based, which he has obviously achieved in.

Still way above CPI !! He doesn't own the company. He just works for them like all of the other lowly paid workers. Shouldn't get anymore than the CPI in my opinion !!

Verge

Reply #9 - May 30th, 2012 at 12:17pm

Sir lastnail wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 11:57am:

Read the article mate.

Sounds like it Sad

Still way above CPI !! He doesn't own the company. He just works for them like all of the other lowly paid workers. Shouldn't get anymore than the CPI in my opinion !!

If the lowly paid would be happy to go to performace based pay, then so be it.

Reply #10 - May 30th, 2012 at 1:08pm

Verge wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 12:17pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 11:57am:

Read the article mate.

Sounds like it Sad

If the lowly paid would be happy to go to performace based pay, then so be it.

they are performance based. If they don't turn up to do the job they don't get paid Wink

imcrookonit

Reply #11 - May 30th, 2012 at 8:26pm

Well put Nail, he shouldn't get more than CPI.    Wink

Reply #12 - May 30th, 2012 at 9:02pm

Well put Nail, he shouldn't get more than CPI.    Wink

Getting much more than the CPI is an outrage !!

Verge needs to be reminded of the manager of a Korean ship building yard who is in charge of 20,000 workers and only gets four times their pay Wink That is how a real CEO runs a company Wink

http://sixtyminutes.ninemsn.com.au/stories/richardcarleton/259329/ship-ahoy

RICHARD CARLETON: By now, you're probably thinking that Korea can do all this because they pay their staff peanuts. Well, that's what I thought and I was wrong, too. True, they work a 44-hour week. But they are very well-paid. I asked a manager at Daewoo just how much the average shipyard worker earns in a year.

DAEWOO MANAGER: US$50,000 for labour.

RICHARD CARLETON: US$50,000 for a labourer?

DAEWOO MANAGER: Yes. That's average.

RICHARD CARLETON: That's almost A$70,000 for a shipyard worker?

DAEWOO MANAGER: Yes.

RICHARD CARLETON: That's very high.

DAEWOO MANAGER: Yes, I think so.

RICHARD CARLETON: Now considering $40,000 or $50,000 is a good salary in Australia, Korea can hardly be called a low-wage country. The Koreans I spoke to were rightly proud of all this and more than happy to talk about it. But they were a little uncomfortable discussing just one thing — the boss's salary. So I asked Peter Bartholomew. If the average welder is getting $70,000, what is the boss getting — the man with 20,000 employees?

PETER BARTHOLOMEW: Maybe three times that, four times that, but not much more than that, frankly speaking.

RICHARD CARLETON: No $20 million?

PETER BARTHOLOMEW: No, not even $1 million, thank you. The money they make goes back to making more money. It goes, really, back into the core of the shipyard.

RICHARD CARLETON: That's sort of perfect capitalism in the theory, isn't it?

PETER BARTHOLOMEW: I don't know if it's perfect but it sure works.

« Last Edit: May 30th, 2012 at 9:19pm by Sir lastnail »  

Reply #13 - May 30th, 2012 at 9:40pm

Good post Crook,
& the checkout chick gets  $15 an hour & she does all the work.

It's criminal to be taking $40 million out of a business by these fat cats.

Reply #14 - May 30th, 2012 at 9:43pm

Bobby. wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 9:40pm:
Good post Crook,
& the checkout chick gets  $15 an hour & she does all the work.

It's criminal to be taking $40 million out of a business by these fat cats.

I'm just glad that Aldis exists and is a viable alternative to high  prices from these ripoff merchants and their yuppy polished floor board experience !!
« Last Edit: May 30th, 2012 at 9:50pm by Sir lastnail »