State of Origin (Read 10057 times)
Armchair_Politician

State of Origin
May 23rd, 2012 at 8:46pm

I think that rugby league bosses are making a massive blunder with State of Origin on three fronts this year:

1. No games should be played in Victoria as there is no Victorian side in the series (and never has been).

2. The matches should be played on a weekend, not right in the middle of the week when most people have to work the following day.

3. The week of the State of Origin should be a bye for all clubs, so that those teams that have multiple players representing their state are not unfairly disadvantaged when playing against teams with few or none on representative duties.
« Last Edit: May 23rd, 2012 at 8:58pm by Armchair_Politician »  

Armchair_Politician

Re: State of Origin
Reply #1 - May 23rd, 2012 at 10:08pm

The decision to award a try to Greg Inglis in the 73rd minute is nothing short of disgraceful. Radio and television commentators I was listening to at the time were all in agreement - Inglis dropped the ball and it should not have been a try. The standard of refereeing in this series opener had been - until that point - a major disappointment. Following that decision, I turned off the television. I just couldn't stomach the blatant bias against NSW from the referees. I realise that everyone makes mistakes, but the video referee presiding over the game tonight should be sacked, never to hold that position again. A blunder of that magnitude when the correct decision to be made was crystal clear is just not forgiveable.

Reply #2 - May 23rd, 2012 at 10:13pm

The Try and the send off were probably two of the worst decisions in Origin history.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #3 - May 23rd, 2012 at 10:26pm

Dnarever wrote on May 23rd, 2012 at 10:13pm:
The Try and the send off were probably two of the worst decisions in Origin history.

The try - I agree. The send-off, I am not so sure. He did run over and come in with a swinging arm and closed fist. Can't have that but perhaps being put on report might have been enough.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #4 - May 23rd, 2012 at 11:43pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on May 23rd, 2012 at 8:46pm:
I think that rugby league bosses are making a massive blunder with State of Origin on three fronts this year:

1. No games should be played in Victoria as there is no Victorian side in the series (and never has been).

2. The matches should be played on a weekend, not right in the middle of the week when most people have to work the following day.

3. The week of the State of Origin should be a bye for all clubs, so that those teams that have multiple players representing their state are not unfairly disadvantaged when playing against teams with few or none on representative duties.

The NRL need to quit having Origin games in Melbourne.  Victorians just aren't interested in the game. 

The Inglis try was a joke and so was the sin bin.  There was easy half a dozen that should have been binned.  Geesus such a close match was swung by crap decisions... Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

Big Mal in his press conference reckons Inglis's try was fair  Grin Grin.....I wonder what he would have said with the boot on the other foot...??? Sad

Reply #5 - May 23rd, 2012 at 11:48pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on May 23rd, 2012 at 10:26pm:
Dnarever wrote on May 23rd, 2012 at 10:13pm:

The try - I agree. The send-off, I am not so sure. He did run over and come in with a swinging arm and closed fist. Can't have that but perhaps being put on report might have been enough.

It was about 15 on one at the time and the guy who started it only got a mild slap on the wrist.

I have seen origin matches where if it was ruled to that standard all players on both teams would have been sent off.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #6 - May 24th, 2012 at 6:26am

Swagman wrote on May 23rd, 2012 at 11:43pm:

The NRL need to quit having Origin games in Melbourne.  Victorians just aren't interested in the game. 

The Inglis try was a joke and so was the sin bin.  There was easy half a dozen that should have been binned.  Geesus such a close match was swung by crap decisions... Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

Big Mal in his press conference reckons Inglis's try was fair  Grin Grin.....I wonder what he would have said with the boot on the other foot...??? Sad

I agree that Origin games should not be played in Victoria, but disagree that they aren't interested in watching the game down there. It was a sellout crowd at the game last night and I suspect that is why (or one of the main reasons) the game was played there.

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #7 - May 24th, 2012 at 6:54am

Armchair_Politician wrote on May 24th, 2012 at 6:26am:
Swagman wrote on May 23rd, 2012 at 11:43pm:

I agree that Origin games should not be played in Victoria, but disagree that they aren't interested in watching the game down there. It was a sellout crowd at the game last night and I suspect that is why (or one of the main reasons) the game was played there.

Considering NSW have had one sell out in about 6 years i am amazed that Melbourne doesn't get a lot more games.

Wednesday is the traditional day for Origin, i was at the first game Wednesday night great feeling, oh and most importantly it is a ratings bonanza so they won't get the money for it on a weekend.

Ask yourself, if the incident had happened in general play what would it have been? I say it would have been play on six to go, it was a try or it was a penalty try for kicking in danger. Either he played at it in defence of the try and it was legal or he was lashing out and it was ilegal.

The bin was justified so long as that now stands as the benchmark for the series. Jennings ran 40 mtrs and then threw a clear punch with intent. At any other level he would be rubbed for six weeks, it was a lame attempt by an out of form player.

I see the players said it was a very fast game, it looked slow and QLD looked to struggle for most of the game, NSW were the better team but between some poor decision making in their halves and the joke they call a coach they will struggle to win. Stuart was disgraced as the Australian Coach with an outburst of bad sportsmanship and should never have coached at first grade level again

"Faced with what is right, to leave it undone shows a lack of courage."
Confucius

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #8 - May 24th, 2012 at 9:19am

They had me worried a bit, but in the end we pulled through. I watched the whole thing in a bush pub. (Probably the last time for me in Moura.) They are always the best for atmosphere.

QUEENSLANDER!!!

1523 people like this. The remaining 7,134,765,234 do not 

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #9 - May 24th, 2012 at 10:03am

nairbe wrote on May 24th, 2012 at 6:54am:

Considering NSW have had one sell out in about 6 years i am amazed that Melbourne doesn't get a lot more games.

That's not the point.  When NSW play QLD it should be in either NSW or QLD not VIC. 

Wednesday is the traditional day for Origin, i was at the first game Wednesday night great feeling, oh and most importantly it is a ratings bonanza so they won't get the money for it on a weekend.

Fair enough but clubs should get a percentage of gate & broadcast rights payments per representative player that are unavailable for club games due to origin.

Ask yourself, if the incident had happened in general play what would it have been? I say it would have been play on six to go, it was a try or it was a penalty try for kicking in danger. Either he played at it in defence of the try and it was legal or he was lashing out and it was ilegal.

It would have been a simple knock on and a scrum with a NSW feed.

The bin was justified so long as that now stands as the benchmark for the series. Jennings ran 40 mtrs and then threw a clear punch with intent. At any other level he would be rubbed for six weeks, it was a lame attempt by an out of form player.

No way , totally disagree.   He should have been placed on report and dealt with by the League judiciary.

This Ref decision arguable effected the result.  Take a man out of the defensive line in the Origin just before half time and it was a gift 6 points.  Stupid and biased decision. Angry .  The guy that threw the ball should have been binned as well as all the other guys that threw punches.

I see the players said it was a very fast game, it looked slow and QLD looked to struggle for most of the game, NSW were the better team but between some poor decision making in their halves and the joke they call a coach they will struggle to win. Stuart was disgraced as the Australian Coach with an outburst of bad sportsmanship and should never have coached at first grade level again

I watched last night's game at the pub, it was packed.  Last year it was empty.  There's alot more anticipation that NSW are back and competitive.

I'm looking forward to the next games as long as the Refs have a trip to Specsavers in the mean time... Cheesy

Reply #10 - May 24th, 2012 at 10:35am

I thought the ref had a good game.

the NSW ran in from 30 M away and threw a haymaker - have a rest mate.

the ball was kicked from Inglis's hand - which is illegal.

We won, NSW lost. It was a good game.

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #11 - May 24th, 2012 at 4:25pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on May 24th, 2012 at 10:35am:

Really.....you'd better go to specsavers... Cheesy

Yeah, have a gloat but It wouldn't be the Origin without a 'blue' (no pun intended) Smiley and last night's was pretty tame anyway.  Yes, as I said the League should penalise the bloke but not the team.  Put him on report and suspend him.

Sorry the boy from
Bowraville NSW
that plays for
QLD
spilled the ball but as usual QLD got the benefit of all the dodgy calls....

If this happened to you Toads or the mighty Bonkos you'd be in uproar.. Sad Sad

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #12 - May 24th, 2012 at 5:30pm

That's not the point.  When NSW play QLD it should be in either NSW or QLD not VIC. 

No the point is that both teams make the sacrifice every third year alternately and it is in the interests of the game as a whole. That NSW always has a pathetic whinge about it show everyone exactly why they are struggling.

Fair enough but clubs should get a percentage of gate & broadcast rights payments per representative player that are unavailable for club games due to origin.

This is already in discussion. It has been put forward for debate in the lead up to the next media negotiation, both paying bonuses to players and compensation to teams who loose players to origin. Interesting that this attitude that the club matters more than state or country is what killed it in the AFL. NSW selfishness will kill Origin.

It would have been a simple knock on and a scrum with a NSW feed.

Rubbish, it would have been a penalty to QLD for kicking in danger. Roll Eyes

No way , totally disagree.   He should have been placed on report and dealt with by the League judiciary.
This Ref decision arguable effected the result.  Take a man out of the defensive line in the Origin just before half time and it was a gift 6 points.  Stupid and biased decision. Angry .  The guy that threw the ball should have been binned as well as all the other guys that threw punches.

For fighting yes or any normal incident but that was a total brain explosion. He ran in from distance and threw a punch with intent to injure. It was a Les Boyd moment.

I watched last night's game at the pub, it was packed.  Last year it was empty.  There's alot more anticipation that NSW are back and competitive.

I'm looking forward to the next games as long as the Refs have a trip to Specsavers in the mean time... Cheesy
[/quote]

NSW need to be loyal to what is an excellent team that can win this thing. There biggest impediments are their attitude to difficulty, team spirit and the idiot Coach. I see he was verbaling Harrigan today. He has no honor.

Confucius

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #13 - May 24th, 2012 at 11:06pm

There is NO WAY this was kicking in danger.  Inglis just spilled the ball.

Nothing like Billy the Skid Slater from the 2008 GF.

QLD are due for a few dud decisions, maybe one will cost them the series huh.... Wink
« Last Edit: May 24th, 2012 at 11:23pm by Swagman »  

Reply #14 - May 25th, 2012 at 12:31am

Swagman wrote on May 24th, 2012 at 4:25pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on May 24th, 2012 at 10:35am:

Really.....you'd better go to specsavers... Cheesy

Yeah, have a gloat but It wouldn't be the Origin without a 'blue' (no pun intended) Smiley and last night's was pretty tame anyway.  Yes, as I said the League should penalise the bloke but not the team.  Put him on report and suspend him.

Sorry the boy from
Bowraville NSW
that plays for
QLD
spilled the ball but as usual QLD got the benefit of all the dodgy calls....

http://resources3.news.com.au/images/2012/05/24/1226365/103891-defcon-gi-joke.jp...

If this happened to you Toads or the mighty Bonkos you'd be in uproar.. Sad Sad

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #15 - May 25th, 2012 at 8:33am

Ok fair enough.........no use complaining.....the results in the score book..... Cry

Enjoy rubbing it in....... Sad

One of these years, decades, or centuries the Blues might just win a series......

......and it gets worse the T-Rex is out for 6 weeks

http://www.foxsports.com.au/league/nrl-premiership/manly-sea-eagles-second-rower...

I'm a Manly supporter as well...... Cry Cry Cry Cry

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #16 - May 26th, 2012 at 7:51pm

Swagman wrote on May 25th, 2012 at 8:33am:
Ok fair enough.........no use complaining.....the results in the score book..... Cry

One of these years, decades, or centuries the Blues might just win a series......

http://www.foxsports.com.au/league/nrl-premiership/manly-sea-eagles-second-rower...

The boy from Bowraville, my home town till 12 month ago, has never complained about playing for QLD. He was taken as a teenager from Macksville to brisbane before he played senior footy. By your theory Sterlo the boy from Toowomba should have been a QLD'er.

NSW still need to stop whinging and blaming others for their own stupidity like Jenkins sin bin, if they can they will win a series no problem. Oh that idiot of a coach will need to go too.

Confucius

Reply #17 - May 26th, 2012 at 9:46pm

Swagman wrote on May 25th, 2012 at 8:33am:

good on you swaggie.
Nsw looked the better team to me on the night.
the send off cost them the game.
changing players too much is detrimental to them

you'ld get very good odds on NSW to take the series now

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #18 - May 30th, 2012 at 3:11pm

Ok.
You all know that I believe that the other half of a very successful Sharks 'centre' pairing that are also very successful away from the game ...should be the NSW Blues Coach.
Mark 'Sparkles/The Hammer' McGaw

I still have yet to see the recent game.
My prediction was a NSW win in a QLD won series again.
Ricky Stuart to blame the Refs as usual. He played Union where the 'rules' are rules ...unlike League, and he still can't adapt to Rugby League's 'stupidity' of rulings.
Under McGaw (runs the 'Scientific' Sports Academy with HEAPS of success), he would push the players to score tries 5 to 1 to nullify anything the Refs could 'blunder'. Its like going overseas (or to QLD to fight Mundine / team Fenech) to fight in Boxing and knowing you will need to knockout the opponent to win, not via the judges. Read Kostya's books and he'll tell ya straight about this mentality.

...so I wasn't far off in regards to the game.
Inglis scored - the ball was dislodged by a kick, he fell upon the ball again for a try.

Ricky Stuart teaches players to attack/blame the Referee and so Gallen did just that.
STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH fellas  Roll Eyes

I also predicted this T-Rex dude to get sent off. Did this actually happen also? Was he the one sent off?

Although BIG (headswell) Mal is listed as the Greatest Aust Player, etc and belted an aged non-boxing Mark 'Jacko' Jackson (AFL) around the ring in a very anal match.
Mark McGaw is someone who always bettered Mal Meninga, as a Centre (thats when the blues began winning Wink) as a pair of fists and hopefully as a Coach.

I predict Mal to retire asap when news of Mark McGaw coming onto the scene let alone his lip to curl in anger at the sight of that 'sparkle' in Mark's eyes as he smiles at the QLD demise.

Ef-Off Stuart you little angry Ref biatching. Go hang out with Ian Roberts again. Maybe take a plane to Christchurch where I saw you because you couldn't cope with coaching the Sharks.

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #19 - May 31st, 2012 at 12:52pm

Des Hasler would be my vote for NSW coach.

He has the best recent club record and the experience.

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 3:11pm:
I also predicted this T-Rex dude to get sent off. Did this actually happen also? Was he the one sent off?

Hmmm I really don't think you watched the game too closely did you?....which is why you think the Inglis try was legit I suppose... Cheesy

Reply #20 - May 31st, 2012 at 2:15pm

Farrah Played at the ball.

About 85% of the time this type of thing happens it is ruled as no try.

Looking at the point in the air where Slatter first touched the ball the reality is that it probably went forward, when you consider that his momentum was fwd and he landed on the line he had to have been a few feet before the line when he made contact and the ball landed closer to the try line. While you could not see this from the film it had to have been the case as it is the only way the ball could have landed where it did. Slatter clearly did not touch the ball and then drop at 90 degrees.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #21 - May 31st, 2012 at 3:05pm

I've watched the YouTubes, but not the whole game.
I've been informed it wasn't T-Rex who got sinbinned.

Did the ball leave Inglis's hands 'onto' the leg or did the leg 'dislodge' the ball ??
If it is the former, then NO TRY, the latter - the TRY.
The fact that there was mention of 'BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT' is absurd and thus makes us wonder why we have Video decisions in the first place Huh Roll Eyes
Just have the Ref, his call and at the end of the match he is paid/deducted $$$ according to his success rate. I'm pretty sure the decisions will suddenly become a lot more 'accurate' ...also in cricket. Wink

I was astonished to see Gallen say what he said. Guess that's Ricky Stuart's REF WHINGING philosophy at work there. Disgraceful, even as a Sharks fan. Embarrassed
Stop being the Ref Gallen and just play the ball!
Christ. Roll Eyes

We need a SPARK to HAMMER the Toads. Wink
A coach with a BRAIN.
Hasler is like Folkes and Pearce - super trainers that make superfit teams that come home in the latter stages of a game.
Bennett & Gould are super motivators.

Would Sterlo crack under pressure and take on the role? Huh

No - the only option is to get 'Sparkles' McGaw away from his Science Academy of Sport and training other 'Champions' to take the Blues forward in a THINKING GAME.

Mark McGaw

...and of course we know how successful E.T. has been too.
Two guys who haven't had to spend their days doing adverts. Tongue

Reply #22 - May 31st, 2012 at 3:53pm

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on May 31st, 2012 at 3:05pm:
I've watched the YouTubes, but not the whole game.
I've been informed it wasn't T-Rex who got sinbinned.

Did the ball leave Inglis's hands 'onto' the leg or did the leg 'dislodge' the ball ??
If it is the former, then NO TRY, the latter - the TRY.
The fact that there was mention of 'BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT' is absurd and thus makes us wonder why we have Video decisions in the first place Huh Roll Eyes
Just have the Ref, his call and at the end of the match he is paid/deducted $$$ according to his success rate. I'm pretty sure the decisions will suddenly become a lot more 'accurate' ...also in cricket. Wink

I was astonished to see Gallen say what he said. Guess that's Ricky Stuart's REF WHINGING philosophy at work there. Disgraceful, even as a Sharks fan. Embarrassed
Stop being the Ref Gallen and just play the ball!
Christ. Roll Eyes

We need a SPARK to HAMMER the Toads. Wink
A coach with a BRAIN.
Hasler is like Folkes and Pearce - super trainers that make superfit teams that come home in the latter stages of a game.
Bennett & Gould are super motivators.

Would Sterlo crack under pressure and take on the role? Huh

No - the only option is to get 'Sparkles' McGaw away from his Science Academy of Sport and training other 'Champions' to take the Blues forward in a THINKING GAME.

Mark McGaw

...and of course we know how successful E.T. has been too.
Two guys who haven't had to spend their days doing adverts. Tongue

the latter - the TRY.

In my view it was definatly the case and the correct interpritation is that it is a try however this is mitigated by the fact that it is only ruled this way about 15% of the time.

You often hear the commentators say things like no ball security or he didn't have control of the ball.

This is one of the more flexable areas where the refereeing decision is more related to the phase of the moon than anything which happened on the field.

THe probability is about 85% that this same incident would be ruled to be no try next time around so in that respect the referees were wrong.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #23 - Jun 1st, 2012 at 9:31pm

I agree with your point.

If I was Ref: If I was not 'sure' of it being a try (for that is why the players and ball are in that zone of the field - to be a try) by more than 50% confidence. Then I would declare it NO TRY (and scrum). I guess its like 'rounding-up' or 'down' in  numbers. If its 2.6 ...it becomes 3 rather than 2.
Rugby League sure is up the clacker in rules, etc these past few decades - no doubt about it. I lost confidence in the game when they stopped placing the ball in the 'middle' of the scrum. Imagine trying to explain the rules of this game to a foreigner - the hypocrisy is incredible.

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #24 - Jun 4th, 2012 at 6:32pm

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Jun 1st, 2012 at 9:31pm:
I agree with your point.

If I was Ref: If I was not 'sure' of it being a try (for that is why the players and ball are in that zone of the field - to be a try) by more than 50% confidence. Then I would declare it NO TRY (and scrum). I guess its like 'rounding-up' or 'down' in  numbers. If its 2.6 ...it becomes 3 rather than 2.
Rugby League sure is up the clacker in rules, etc these past few decades - no doubt about it. I lost confidence in the game when they stopped placing the ball in the 'middle' of the scrum. Imagine trying to explain the rules of this game to a foreigner - the hypocrisy is incredible.

I think you are missing the most important issue here. The ref made it clear by the decision that the NSw player played at the ball. This means quite clearly that the ball was live. He then made it clear that the Qld player did not play at the ball, so this is a rebound. The alternates in old rules before it was allowed to use a boot to defend the line would probably have been kicking in danger penalty try.

Confucius

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #25 - Jun 12th, 2012 at 4:04pm

The Video Ref's interpretation was that Farrar played at the ball, the consensus of most everyone else was that he didn't.

If Farrar had time to use his foot then Inglis had time to avoid it.  The fact is that Farrar's action was unintentional and so was Inglis's.  Neither had the time to react.  The bottom line being that it was a simple knock on and the Ref made the wrong call. Sad

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #26 - Jun 13th, 2012 at 10:15pm

Well, the Blues managed to scrape a win. I guess they had to. Let's see how they go in Brisbane.

There was a lot of fumbling and dropping the ball, mainly from Queensland.

Reply #27 - Jun 13th, 2012 at 10:36pm

just watched it ... good game, blues outplayed qld, although they had me worried for the last 25 mins .... game 3 should be good ... lets hope the refs don't determine who wins

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #28 - Jun 14th, 2012 at 7:31pm

John Smith wrote on Jun 13th, 2012 at 10:36pm:
just watched it ... good game, blues outplayed qld, although they had me worried for the last 25 mins .... game 3 should be good ... lets hope the refs don't determine who wins

You should have been worried. The Blues had the lions share of the ball, field position and decisions but only just managed to scrape through on a piece of total arse when Haine dropped the ball and it hit his foot, other wise it was a QLD win on what could only have been seen as a very off night. The funny thing is QLD had the sin bin this time and dam near still won but NSW can always find something to whinge about.

Confucius

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #29 - Jun 14th, 2012 at 8:14pm

It all happened for NSW when Cronk went into the sin bin for 10 minutes.  Of course, being a Queenslander (take heed),  I won't whinge about that.  Try not to whinge too much when the Maroons win the decider in Brisbane.

The outcome of game 2 will only make the final game more interesting.

It was funny at the local pub when a sole Blues supporter was making most noise. He had a bunch of blue balloons. Eventually, somebody popped his balloons.

Reply #30 - Jun 14th, 2012 at 8:49pm

nairbe wrote on Jun 14th, 2012 at 7:31pm:

You should have been worried. The Blues had the lions share of the ball, field position and decisions but only just managed to scrape through on a piece of total arse when Haine dropped the ball and it hit his foot, other wise it was a QLD win on what could only have been seen as a very off night. The funny thing is QLD had the sin bin this time and dam near still won but NSW can always find something to whinge about.

Who's whinging? it's arse when the luck goes to NSw , and skill when QLD get lucky? get real ...

Reply #31 - Jun 14th, 2012 at 9:16pm

The Blues celibrated like game two was their grand final.

They should have won that by 20 but stopped playing when they got in front.

Except for the hurt Qld players I would say that NSW can not win game 3.

The NSW halves were both almost useless.

Reply #32 - Jun 14th, 2012 at 9:28pm

Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2012 at 9:16pm:

the only one NSW needs to change is that moron that let the ball bounce (forgot his name) ..... twice he let QLD score ... useless twat ... didn't once contest the ball in the air

Reply #33 - Jun 14th, 2012 at 9:37pm

John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2012 at 9:28pm:
Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2012 at 9:16pm:

the only one NSW needs to change is that moron that let the ball bounce (forgot his name) ..... twice he let QLD score ... useless twat ... didn't once contest the ball in the air

It came down 3 yards from the goal posts - while I agree about the winger being a problem that one was the full backs ball.

Reply #34 - Jun 14th, 2012 at 10:00pm

two incidents in the game.

The ball was ruled as forced when it was bobbling around in the ingoal area, I suspect that had Qld forced the ball it would have been awarded as a try or BOD YRT TRY YRT.

When the Qld player was tackled near the sideline and the NSW player chose to not go on with it and push him into touch then he got up and played on. Had the NSW player pushed him out it would have been penalised.

Very strange decisions made no difference.

John S

Fascist Party = Liberal
Party

Reply #35 - Jun 15th, 2012 at 2:50pm

I wonder how the 34 players pull up after the game and how many are going to play this weekend

'The worst Labor Government is always better then the best Liberal government for Australians workers'

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #36 - Jun 15th, 2012 at 8:39pm

John S wrote on Jun 15th, 2012 at 2:50pm:
I wonder how the 34 players pull up after the game and how many are going to play this weekend

Yeah - it was a rough game.

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #37 - Jun 16th, 2012 at 7:46pm

John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2012 at 8:49pm:
nairbe wrote on Jun 14th, 2012 at 7:31pm:

Who's whinging? it's arse when the luck goes to NSw , and skill when QLD get lucky? get real ...

Is that a sensitive nerve that i touched? Smiley Smiley Come now 6 straight series and a seventh very likely is luck is it? my goodness NSW really do need to do some serious soul searching.

Confucius

Reply #38 - Jun 16th, 2012 at 9:25pm

i thought NSW were better in both games.
now we have many walking wounded and they have their backs up

it's not looking good to me.

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #39 - Jun 17th, 2012 at 1:08pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 16th, 2012 at 9:25pm:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/billy-slater-will-miss-up-to-6-weeks-thank...

No Billy the Skid will make a massive difference..... Smiley

Reply #40 - Jun 17th, 2012 at 1:12pm

Swagman wrote on Jun 17th, 2012 at 1:08pm:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/billy-slater-will-miss-up-to-6-weeks-thank...

Billy was lame in both games - a teriffic player but has done nothing in this series, Frightening that they could replace him with Inglis who may well tear us apart.

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #41 - Jun 19th, 2012 at 9:33am

Dnarever wrote on Jun 17th, 2012 at 1:12pm:
Swagman wrote on Jun 17th, 2012 at 1:08pm:

Billy was lame in both games - a teriffic player but has done nothing in this series, Frightening that they could replace him with Inglis who may well tear us apart.

Inglis - great player his is, can't cover the ground Slater does.

Although I hear Glenn Stewart was injured last night and is out of O3 which is a big loss for NSW & Manly.  Excellent defender.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #42 - Jun 24th, 2012 at 2:40pm

I walked away from the game at half-time.
1. I'm in NSW and they served only VB & XXXX, not Resches or Tootheys New.
2. The game was a bore of dropped bores and points scored from mishaps and as usual ...kicking. Roll Eyes

I say this as a Blues supporter.
Ricky Stuart is so unimaginative and his style is mostly based upon - yep, ...kicking. Roll Eyes So they plugged away with kicks to Slater. Wow - what a tactic Roll Eyes

Thank god he ain't coaching the Blues next year and even I can agree that QLD will win Game 3  Embarrassed

Meninga's EGO wants a DECADE OF WINS and he can achieve that. But I'll still plug away at Mark (Sparkles / The Hammer) McGaw being the saviour of NSW and what a nice touch it would be to see Meninga snuffed out at the 9th Grin Tongue.
Mark McGaw is Meninga's NEMESIS and he is a very successful one at that - both on field against Meninga and in his 'after league' life as well with his Science Academy of Sport ...a success just like his centre partner Ettingshausen.
Most other NRL players have to get by doing adverts or promos after football.  Roll Eyes

I think Des Hasler will be next Coach ...but even he will fail.

Its not QLD that has to be beaten ...its MENINGA. Shocked

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #43 - Jun 26th, 2012 at 1:43pm

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Jun 24th, 2012 at 2:40pm:
Its not QLD that has to be beaten ...its MENINGA. 

Big Mal was a great player but is an overrated coach.

Mal is the preverbial "drover's dog" which could have coached QLD over the last 6 years and won...

The Toads just had the best players, Lockyer, Slater, Smith, Thursten, Inglis, Hodges, Thaiday etc etc all in their prime.....but the gloss is fading.... Cheesy

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #44 - Jun 26th, 2012 at 6:57pm

I definately agree Swaggie. Meninga is over-rated as a Coach, but he has the stats to back his Ego up considerably. He is the quintessential Maroon 'Big Bully' who is getting his spoiled way and 'Big Bubba' wants his Decade of Wins ...and what Big Bubba wants, Roll Eyes

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #45 - Jul 5th, 2012 at 8:34pm

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Jun 26th, 2012 at 6:57pm:
I definately agree Swaggie. Meninga is over-rated as a Coach, but he has the stats to back his Ego up considerably. He is the quintessential Maroon 'Big Bully' who is getting his spoiled way and 'Big Bubba' wants his Decade of Wins ...and what Big Bubba wants, Roll Eyes

WOW isn't that a bitter looser outburst.
It would be fair to say that Maninga proved a pretty ordinary NRL coach and even funnier political candidate but when it comes to Origin he has shown that at the representative level he is in a good head space. No doubt to manage a team of champions, it takes certain abilities. We saw Bennett fail as national coach because his own persona didn't blend at that level. Meninga has the goods for origin and no question he has had the cattle.

The next 3 years are the challenge for Meninga with the need for some new forwards and some consideration of the backs with Inglis looking in need of a fitness coach and a few others like Billy starting to loose that magic edge. Most important for QLD though will be the resigning of Stewart as NSW coach. That will almost get them there. As this is the man that embarrassed a whole nation by his bad sportsmanship toward a referee as the national coach and a coaching record of destroying teams i find your comments reek of sour grapes.

Confucius

matty

East Sydney
Reply #46 - Jul 5th, 2012 at 8:49pm

Why are rugby supporters such bogans? No wonder Swan's so into it.

BILL SHORTEN WILL NEVER BE PM!!!!

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #47 - Jul 5th, 2012 at 10:39pm

Keee---rrryst......another year of gloating Queenslanders.... Sad

Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry

Reply #48 - Jul 6th, 2012 at 12:06am

Swagman wrote on Jun 26th, 2012 at 1:43pm:

Mal is the preverbial "drover's dog" which could have coached QLD over the last 6 years and won...

The Toads just had the best players, Lockyer, Slater, Smith, Thursten, Inglis, Hodges, Thaiday etc etc all in their prime.....but the gloss is fading.... Cheesy

Apparently Mal does little coaching, as such. he is more the public image, the front person.
So it leaves the real coaches out of the limelight and able to focus on what they do.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #49 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 5:09pm

Not intereted in watching the final game tonight.

Until they have MARK 'Sparkles'  (The Hammer) MCGAW as the COACH...

...for starters, Laurie Daley (although a step in the positive direction) never got the better of Wally Lewis,
like McGaw got of Meninga (so-called 'Greatest Player') ...even with the Biff.

Reply #50 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:16pm

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #51 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:27pm

Smiley Smiley Smiley

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

Reply #52 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:31pm

Must make Abbott want to be more than Rudd is as a Queenslander, wot!

Reply #53 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:44pm

Phew

Reply #54 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:51pm

bugger me, as a blues supporter living in Qld, this is all I'm going to hear about for the next 4 weeks. ...... again ... I'm getting used to it though.

Reply #55 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:51pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:44pm:
Phew

Yeah, Sprint, it was an ugly win.  But, we'll take it.  I reckon we are good for nine..............ten could be a challenge.

Reply #56 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:54pm

matty wrote on Jul 5th, 2012 at 8:49pm:
Why are rugby supporters such bogans? No wonder Swan's so into it.

yeah, why is that?

Reply #57 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:57pm

Aussie wrote on Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:51pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:44pm:
Phew

Yeah, Sprint, it was an ugly win.  But, we'll take it.  I reckon we are good for nine..............ten could be a challenge.

An ugly win is a good win.
better than snatching defeat from the jaws of victory any day thanks Smiley

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #58 - Jul 17th, 2013 at 11:35pm

Told yas.
Nananananana

Meninga will get his PERFECT 10

...unless McGaw appears to just give him 9

Knowing NRL (and AFL ...which is like watching the Ren & Stimpy Show)
...they won't bring in McGaw.
That would be 'common sense'

shockresist

sydney
Reply #59 - Jul 18th, 2013 at 6:38pm

Swagman wrote on Jun 26th, 2012 at 1:43pm:

They still have some good upcoming players.

Mcqueen has been very good, boyd has years left in him, teo is a good runner.

Hannant is lucky not to be in the team

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #60 - Jul 18th, 2013 at 8:34pm

Officially today on TV:

Michael Hagan is the 'brains' behind QLD
Mal Meninga is the 'father figure' (have heard of a 'pedophile' history with Mal and why he was moved to Canberra years ago  Shocked)

So Mark McGaw to over-ride Meninga like he did on the field during those NSWinning years.

Who will combat Michael Hagan?

...this is why QLD can play so pathetically and STILL WIN.  Roll Eyes

C'mon - who has the answer?
Huh

Reply #61 - Jul 20th, 2013 at 2:34pm

We win more than we should because we wear the colour of passion.

NSW wear the colour of calm, precision, confidence inspiring.

Reply #62 - Jul 20th, 2013 at 6:19pm

John Smith wrote on Jul 17th, 2013 at 10:51pm:
bugger me, as a blues supporter living in Qld, this is all I'm going to hear about for the next 4 weeks. ...... again ... I'm getting used to it though.

As a Queenslander living in NSW i will be grinning for another year, 8 in a row.

The NSW players/supporters did not  whinge about the ref this time,NSW won the penalty count so they could not use that as an excuse.

The NSW players punch like girls,fair dinkum cheap shots from the big men in NSW and they couldnt even drop someone with a free punch.