Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11
Australians asked open their homes to boat people (Read 10170 times)
corporate_whitey

Archivist
Re: Australians asked open their homes to boat people
Reply #30 - May 3rd, 2012 at 10:58am

buzzanddidj wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 8:42am:
Now HERE'S an idea with MERIT !

Homestay for asylum seekers sought

May 3, 2012 - 7:24AM

Australian families will be paid up to $300 a week to temporarily house asylum seekers to make up a shortfall in community housing.

The program will begin next month, with the federal government seeking 5000 homes to be registered with the privately run Australia Homestay Network, News Limited reports.

Families will host asylum seekers released from detention centres on bridging visas.

The move has backing from the Refugee Council of Australia.

"Mandatory detention makes people mentally ill and is expensive," spokesman Paul Power told News Limited.

Communications Minister Stephen Conroy described the proposal as a possible short term solution to overcrowding in detention centres.

"An organisation has come to us and said `here is a possible short term solution' and we're investigating it and seeing if anyone is interested," Senator Conroy said.

"If it saves costs to the Australian taxpayer then it's an improvement. It's not any extra money for the budget."

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-national/homestay-for-asylum-seekers-sought...

GREAT idea, in fact

FAMILIES may be difficult, but what a bonus to PENSIONERS - in taking in a single boarder for $300 a week

( ... as opposed to the THOUSANDS per week - to the taxpayer - for the cost of detention)

I'd like to see more DETAILSii

Potential Host

Q. What is Homestay?

A. Homestay is a cultural exchange between a local individual or family (called a host) and a visiting student. The student lives for an agreed period of time as a guest in your home.

Q. How does it work?

A. As a host you would generally be required to provide the student with all their basic needs, including their own room, food and space to study.  Over the period of their time together the host assists the student to become familiar with the local area and customs in a relaxed and friendly household setting. The student is also encouraged to share with the host information about their home country and culture. This interaction is what makes homestay ideal for students and hosts looking for a unique cultural experience.

Q. How much do I get paid?

The student pays a weekly fee to cover management and supervision costs, insurance, 24/7 emergency support services and to also reimburse the host for day to day food and accommodation expenses support. This fee varies from State to State and generally ranges from $ 220 to $300 per week. The host receives approximately 85% of this fee to reimburse them for day to day expenses.

This income is tax free (non assessable)  for up to 2 students being hosted

http://www.homestaynetwork.org

Now that is just sadistic and reflects your contempt for our elders, rather than give them (our elders) the $300 you force them into economic hardship to make them take in illegal immigrants.  Unfortunately your sense of entitlement outstrips our ability to fund you. Sad Huh

World Wide Working Class Struggle

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #31 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:01am

... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:55am:
bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:54am:
... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:53am:
bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:51am:
From what I can read most of them are receiving money because they are studying for the first few years.
Which is fair enough, that is an investment by the Australian government.

So show me "what you can read"

You show me what you read first

Shall I also jump through a flaming hoop?  Roll Eyes
You are the one who has sited this dodgy survey

A day without sunshine is like night.

Reply #32 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am

bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:01am:
From what I can read most of them are receiving money because they are studying for the first few years.

Dodgy survey by the immigration department?  Yeah, they're dodgy mate.  Reaaaal dodgy.

Humanitarian migrant
households are far
more likely to be in
receipt of Centrelink
payments than other
streams. Around 85%
of Humanitarian
entrants’ households
are in receipt of
Centrelink payments,
while around 28% of
Skilled migrants’
households make use
of Centrelink
payments.

Page 19 of the link I provided.  Don't atc liek you didn't already know.

So...wheres this stuff that "you can read" that suggests it's because they're studying?

Uncle Meat

Tasmania
Reply #33 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am

... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:20am:
Or is this the part where we play the boring, lame semantic game about the differnce between illegal immigrants, asylum seekrs and refuigees? 

'Asylum seekers', 'refugees', and 'illegal immigrants' are all different.

The confusion is widespread though, and the media are partly to blame.

http://www.aph.gov.au/binaries/library/pubs/bn/sp/asylumfacts.pdf

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #34 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:08am

... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am:
bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:01am:

Dodgy survey by the immigration department?  Yeah, they're dodgy mate.  Reaaaal dodgy.

Commissioned by the immigration dept.
Done by Australian Survey Research Group Pty Ltd

Uncle Meat

Tasmania
Reply #35 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:12am

... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:37am:
cue the boring, lame semantic game about it being all centrelink beneifts, not just the dole.... Angry

Hardly a "lame semantic game".  Just the facts: it includes many Centrelink benefits.

Going by your "logic", thousands of Australian citizens with full-time jobs have been on the "dole" for many, many years.

Reply #36 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:13am

Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am:
Or is this the part where we play the boring, lame semantic game about the differnce between illegal immigrants, asylum seekrs and refuigees? 

Who cares though really?
None of them are a good thing, they are all liabilities.

Soren

Reply #37 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:13am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 7:59am:
ALP now askes Australians to open their homes to boat people for cash.

C'mon lefty numpties, open your homes to these deperate children. Or at least take them to Advanced Hair STudio for a humanitarian hair transplant.

Reply #38 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:14am

bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:24am:
bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:19am:
... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:08am:
bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 10:03am:
... wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 9:57am:
They'd soon get to know the meaning of hard work if I opened my doors to them.  They'd be wishing they were back at the detention centre, or even back in kabul.  Unlike the traitor class, I expect them to actually earn their keep.

That said, I did have an afghan refugee as a boarder in late 2001 or early 2002 - right when everyone was fretting about afghan tearrrism.  He was a nice guy, but definitely not of benefit to society. 

Yes tolerator because I am sure cleaning up after your domestic bliss would be a lot harder work then they have ever done

It's harder than sitting around on the dole, that's for sure.

There are not many asylum seekers who do that

yeah, only 85% of them.

YAAAAWN.

Do you have a link to back that up?
Last time I looked they were all human.

How are they our problem though?
Why take in strays?
Why import problem people?

They are nothing to do with us, let them go somewhere else.

They get short sympathy in my house. We all have problems in life.

Uncle Meat

Tasmania
Reply #39 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:18am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:13am:
Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:04am:

Who cares though really?
None of them are a good thing, they are all liabilities.

Well, I care.

I have no time for illegal immigrants.  Send them all home immediately.

Asylum seekers and refugees though, are certainly worthy of assistance and I have no problem with them being a "liability".

Overall, I consider helping people in genuine need a "good thing".

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #40 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:19am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:14am:
They'd soon get to know the meaning of hard work if I opened my doors to them.  They'd be wishing they were back at the detention centre, or even back in kabul.  Unlike the traitor class, I expect them to actually earn their keep.

That said, I did have an afghan refugee as a boarder in late 2001 or early 2002 - right when everyone was fretting about afghan tearrrism.  He was a nice guy, but definitely not of benefit to society. 

Yes tolerator because I am sure cleaning up after your domestic bliss would be a lot harder work then they have ever done

yeah, only 85% of them.

YAAAAWN.

Why take in strays?

Sorry but saying things like that does not make your genitals bigger

Soren

Reply #41 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:21am

Uncle Meat wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:18am:
Asylum seekers and refugees though, are certainly worthy of assistance and I have no problem with them being a "liability".

Overall, I consider helping people in genuine need a "good thing".

The only problem is that most of them are not genuine:

HAYDEN COOPER: 7.30 can reveal that the claims of visa fraud go much further. One more Immigration Department employee has blown the whistle anonymously on the extent of the problem.

(female voiceover): "Illegal facilitation of non-family members, children, child brides and unknown strangers via false documents, false statements and false applications."

HAYDEN COOPER: This Department insider says some visa holders already here are sponsoring family members who in fact are no relation at all.

(female voiceover): "Afghans in Pakistan are now coached by ever more informed relatives and agents in Australia how to sidestep DIAC's integrity processes. ... When particular visa subclasses are being cracked down on - for instance the 'Orphan Relative' and 'Carer' visas - the fraud simply moves to other caseloads. ...
Family reunification visas are now the preferred 'fraud de jour'
."

FORMER VISA OFFICER: Absolutely. I can wholeheartedly agree. I know that's happening, yes.
http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2012/s3494197.htm

Fraud du jour.

Uncle Meat

Tasmania
Reply #42 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:22am

Why take in strays?

"One of the major challenges facing the world today is protecting refugees who have been forced to leave their homes by armed conflict and human rights abuses.

"The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) estimates that there were 43.7 million forcibly displaced people worldwide at the end of 2010, the highest number in 15 years. Of these, 27.5 million were internally displaced persons, 15.4 million were refugees and 837 500 asylum seekers.
See: www.unhcr.org

"As a member of the international community, Australia shares responsibility for protecting these refugees and resolving refugee situations. This commitment is most strongly expressed through the Humanitarian Program."

http://www.immi.gov.au/media/fact-sheets/60refugee.htm

Uncle Meat

Tasmania
Reply #43 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:23am

Soren wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:21am:
The only problem is that most of them are not genuine:

The majority are granted genuine refugee status.

Reply #44 - May 3rd, 2012 at 11:23am

bobbythefap1 wrote on May 3rd, 2012 at 11:19am:

yeah, only 85% of them.

YAAAAWN.

Why take in strays?

Sorry but saying things like that does not make your genitals bigger

Ah from a guy who applauds the deaths of 9/11 civilians and thinks it was a "good thing".

A guy who calls another poster "Jew boy"

A guy who said the Jews "deserved the holocaust".

How are you not permanently banned off here for the above?
It's beyond me.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11