AFL (Read 6954 times)

AFL
Mar 31st, 2012 at 12:20am

Well done Hawthorn.....My tip for this years premiership with Geelong to be the other main contender.....Go the Hawks!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Anyone care to have an early tip for the flag???

nairbe

Rural NSW
Re: AFL
Reply #1 - Mar 31st, 2012 at 6:03am

Come on a resurgent Lions will give them all a scare.  GO THE LIONS

"Faced with what is right, to leave it undone shows a lack of courage."
Confucius

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #2 - Mar 31st, 2012 at 10:16am

Probably Geelong

A day without sunshine is like night.

Reply #3 - Mar 31st, 2012 at 11:30am

west coast for the flag

Nic natanui for brownlow.

OK only one of those is a genuine predicion.  But which one.........?
I don't give geelong much chance at winning the flag.  they'll be up there, but with half their team retired, they wont quite be good enough.

Reply #4 - Mar 31st, 2012 at 6:48pm

... wrote on Mar 31st, 2012 at 11:30am:
west coast for the flag

Nic natanui for brownlow.

OK only one of those is a genuine predicion.  But which one.........?
I don't give geelong much chance at winning the flag.  they'll be up there, but with half their team retired, they wont quite be good enough. 

West Coast will give it a shake I would think.....But Nic Nat needs to be more consistent before he has a dip at the Brownlow.....He is definitely one player with heaps of potential though!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #5 - Mar 31st, 2012 at 9:32pm

Great win Freo.....Scatlett might be in trouble for the Cats after his left hook on the little fella Balantyne.....Not a good start for the Cats!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #6 - Mar 31st, 2012 at 9:42pm

Philperth - Hawthorn
Nairbe - Brisbane
PoliticalPuppet - Geelong
The Tolerator - West Coast

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #7 - Mar 31st, 2012 at 9:46pm

Unlucky North Melbourne losing after missing a goal after the siren!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #8 - Apr 1st, 2012 at 11:48am

LOL @ ballantyne.

He's well known for being a cheeky little niggling bastard.  Funny though, and he had the last laugh.

Reply #9 - Apr 1st, 2012 at 5:40pm

West Coast off to a good start tolerator.....The Eagles where very impressive against the Doggies who normally give them some trouble.....West Coast will be hard to beat this year judging by their first outing???

Smiley Smiley Smiley

FriYAY

Reply #10 - Apr 3rd, 2012 at 3:44pm

Well I’m a Swans supporter, I don’t think we are premiership material, but the team is shaping up well and we haven’t lost too much ground after winning the flag and just loosing another.

Hawks look good….such a long way to go.

Reply #11 - Apr 9th, 2012 at 10:58pm

Geelong have downed the Hawks by 2 points.....The Cats seam to have it over the Hawks since the 2008 Grand Final.....Well played Geelong!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley
« Last Edit: Jul 1st, 2012 at 5:11pm by philperth2010 »  

Reply #12 - May 22nd, 2012 at 9:05pm

Unfortunately West Coast are looking pretty good at this stage of the season.....My whole family goes for the WEagles.....They seam to have a good balanced team all over the park???

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #13 - May 23rd, 2012 at 11:54am

Told ya.  West Coast premiers 2012. 

Back to back 2013.

Reply #14 - Jul 1st, 2012 at 5:14pm

Collingwood have played well so far.....West Coast are also looking very solid.....At this stage there are several serious contenders including Hawthorn and Essendon as outsiders!!!

Huh Huh Huh

Reply #15 - Jul 1st, 2012 at 5:19pm

What about the Ducks Swans - or is that a different game.

Reply #16 - Jul 1st, 2012 at 7:51pm

Dnarever wrote on Jul 1st, 2012 at 5:19pm:
What about the Ducks Swans - or is that a different game.

Not at all.....The Swans are in with a big chance.....However you cannot pick them all!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #17 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:42pm

Predictions

Hawks vs Pies

Crows vs Swans

Cats vs Dockers

Eagles vs Roos

My selection

Reply #18 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:46pm

Anyone game to make a prediction???

Reply #19 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:47pm

philperth2010 wrote on Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:42pm:
Predictions

Hawks vs Pies

Crows vs Swans

Cats vs Dockers

Eagles vs Roos

My selection

Pies
Swans
Dockers
Eagles

Cool

Reply #20 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:49pm

no team has even made the final from outside the top 4 in the last 15 years ,
i do give the cats a slight chance though.

hawks look unbeatable to me.
hodge, mitchell, sewell rioli, buddy and rough head.  unless buddys hammy gives out they should win the flag.

dockers and roos just happy to make the 8
swans..overachieved as always.

question is really whether crows or pies will be up against hawks.

my bet is pies v hawks with hawks to have a very big win in the grand final

Reply #21 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:51pm

... wrote on Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:47pm:
philperth2010 wrote on Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:42pm:
Predictions

Hawks vs Pies

Crows vs Swans

Cats vs Dockers

Eagles vs Roos

My selection

Pies
Swans
Dockers
Eagles

Cool

The Dockers Wes.....It would be a milestone for the club if they can pull it off but IMO the Dockers are the least likely to win this weekend out of all the opponents???

Cool Cool Cool

Reply #22 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:53pm

aquascoot wrote on Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:49pm:
no team has even made the final from outside the top 4 in the last 15 years ,
i do give the cats a slight chance though.

hawks look unbeatable to me.
hodge, mitchell, sewell rioli, buddy and rough head.  unless buddys hammy gives out they should win the flag.

dockers and roos just happy to make the 8
swans..overachieved as always.

question is really whether crows or pies will be up against hawks.

my bet is pies v hawks with hawks to have a very big win in the grand final

I think it will be the Hawks against Sydney with the Eagles as my outsiders!!!

Reply #23 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:54pm

You're livin' in the past man!  Geelong are a SPENT FORCE.  Has beens.  Also rans.

Hawthorn will choke and the crows v swans might as well be a nil all draw for all I care. 

It doesn't really matter though - it's all just a contest to see who can get thrashed by the eagles in the grand final.  Cool

Reply #24 - Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:58pm

... wrote on Sep 6th, 2012 at 7:54pm:
You're livin' in the past man!  Geelong are a SPENT FORCE.  Has beens.  Also rans.

Hawthorn will choke and the crows v swans might as well be a nil all draw for all I care. 

It doesn't really matter though - it's all just a contest to see who can get thrashed by the eagles in the grand final.  Cool

LOL.....Go the Hawks!!!

A Hawks vs Eagles Grand Final would be awesome with the Mighty flying Hawks winning by 1 point to really leave the Weagles supporters disappointed!!!

Wink Wink Wink

Amadd

Mo

Reply #25 - Sep 9th, 2012 at 9:24pm

Well, only one non-bird team left now.

I thought it might be the cats to gobble up a few birdies, but they got thrown in a sack and weighed down with an anchor.

Reply #26 - Sep 10th, 2012 at 10:31am

Eagles now premiership favourites.

Reply #27 - Sep 10th, 2012 at 1:41pm

... wrote on Sep 10th, 2012 at 10:31am:

lol

hawks look unbeatable,  do west coast have to play collingwood ?  hope they can get over the top of them.
beau waters gone for the year and i think kennedy has a sore foot.  i presume if they beat the pies they play sydney.
if so would that be in sydney or at mcg.  they are a rough hope.

Reply #28 - Sep 10th, 2012 at 1:41pm

Amadd wrote on Sep 9th, 2012 at 9:24pm:
Well, only one non-bird team left now.

I thought it might be the cats to gobble up a few birdies, but they got thrown in a sack and weighed down with an anchor.

cats were bad but pavlich was remarkable

Reply #29 - Sep 10th, 2012 at 3:22pm

*SHRUGS*

noone believed me that the dockers would beat geelong either, yet here we are....

Amadd

Mo

Reply #30 - Sep 10th, 2012 at 5:26pm

... wrote on Sep 10th, 2012 at 10:31am:

@ $11 they are very long-priced favourites.

I'll put a fiver on them.

« Last Edit: Sep 10th, 2012 at 5:33pm by Amadd »  

Reply #31 - Sep 10th, 2012 at 7:07pm

... wrote on Sep 10th, 2012 at 3:22pm:
*SHRUGS*

noone believed me that the dockers would beat geelong either, yet here we are....

yes they are on a roll, seems unfair they have to travel next week,  that coach must have the magic words.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #32 - Sep 10th, 2012 at 10:00pm

Along with WC's firepower, I think that the roos didn't handle the heat very well.
It's tough to go over there at the best of times, but being more acclimatised to the conditions is an added advantage.

As it happens so often these days (years) in finals, the bigger bodies seem even bigger compared to a smaller opposition.
W.C. will be missing Lynch & Waters for their clash with the pies, but I think they can cover that considering the plethora of big guns that they have.

The pies will be missing Maxwell and had a very hard hit out vs. the Hawks. I reckon they're out in straight sets this year.

Reply #33 - Sep 11th, 2012 at 7:53pm

Amadd wrote on Sep 10th, 2012 at 10:00pm:
Along with WC's firepower, I think that the roos didn't handle the heat very well.
It's tough to go over there at the best of times, but being more acclimatised to the conditions is an added advantage.

As it happens so often these days (years) in finals, the bigger bodies seem even bigger compared to a smaller opposition.
W.C. will be missing Lynch & Waters for their clash with the pies, but I think they can cover that considering the plethora of big guns that they have.

The pies will be missing Maxwell and had a very hard hit out vs. the Hawks. I reckon they're out in straight sets this year.

Lynch is clear to play!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Amadd

Mo

Reply #34 - Sep 12th, 2012 at 5:42pm

Yeah, Lynch cleared to play and things may be looking even more rosy for W.C.
Not that I care that much being a downtrodden doggie, but I've put a few bucks on 'em for interest.

Reply #35 - Sep 12th, 2012 at 6:12pm

I put my fiver on the eagles when they were at $17.

I also put a whole $2 on freo @ $31.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #36 - Sep 12th, 2012 at 10:26pm

Very good odds now.
It might be worth a bit of a hedge if one of them makes it to the gf.

Reply #37 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 5:59pm

Amadd wrote on Sep 12th, 2012 at 10:26pm:
Very good odds now.
It might be worth a bit of a hedge if one of them makes it to the gf.

It does not matter what the odds are as Hawthorn will cream who ever they play!!!

Wink Wink Wink

Reply #38 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 6:01pm

Hawks = chokers.

Freo vs West coast grand final.

Reply #39 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 7:15pm

... wrote on Sep 13th, 2012 at 6:01pm:
Hawks = chokers.

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

should be a  prize for funniest post of the day.

ring buddys house, check hamstring is ok, prepare cabinet at hawks clubhouse to put premiership trophy

Reply #40 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 7:21pm

That's what they want you to think.  It's all a bookies conspiracy.

Reply #41 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 8:41pm

... wrote on Sep 13th, 2012 at 6:01pm:
Hawks = chokers.

The Victorians would be spewing.....But I doubt Freo have the fire power to go past Sydney!!!

Undecided Undecided Undecided

Reply #42 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 8:48pm

... wrote on Sep 13th, 2012 at 7:21pm:
That's what they want you to think.  It's all a bookies conspiracy.

Apart from the fact the Hawks finished on top of the ladder with easily the best percentage in the League and have won 11 of their 12 last games you could be right.....Perhaps it's all a bookies conspiracy???

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #43 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 8:58pm

Yes.

I hear pakistanis are involved.  I wonder if karnal knows anything?

Reply #44 - Sep 13th, 2012 at 9:35pm

... wrote on Sep 13th, 2012 at 8:58pm:
Yes.

I hear pakistanis are involved.  I wonder if karnal knows anything?

lol.....I heard about the Eagles and the no balls claim made against them.....The general opinion is they need Cocks Cox to perform!!!

Wink Wink Wink

Amadd

Mo

Reply #45 - Sep 15th, 2012 at 1:02am

Freo gone..a bit of pity really. I like the way that they were playing.
I think they would've won if they had that extra day to recover.

Reply #46 - Sep 15th, 2012 at 7:44pm

Yeah that whole freo v wc grand final thing was just a typo.

Obviously WC vs adelaide was what I meant.

Reply #47 - Sep 16th, 2012 at 12:14pm

... wrote on Sep 15th, 2012 at 7:44pm:
Yeah that whole freo v wc grand final thing was just a typo.

Obviously WC vs adelaide was what I meant.

West Coast are out.....Another typo Wes???

Wink Wink Wink

Reply #48 - Sep 17th, 2012 at 9:55am

It's this non-standard keyboard I bought from Hong Kong.  Making typos all the time. 

FriYAY

Reply #49 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 10:23am

Hawks V's Swans GF?

Hawks will beat Adelaide.

Swans/Magpies 50/50, maybe slight edge to swans due to rest and home groud, though the Pies have the wood on them.

Cool

Go Bloods. Wink

rabbitoh07

Reply #50 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 10:46am

THis is about that gay game they play in the small, unimportant states, right?

Reply #51 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 10:57am

Theres always one.

FriYAY

Reply #52 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 11:36am

rabbitoh07 wrote on Sep 18th, 2012 at 10:46am:

QLD = 2 teams
NSW = 2 teams
SA = 2 teams
WA = 2 teams
Plus all the VIC teams

A game in NZ next year.

Home games in every other state and territory.

Save your banal, uneducated garbage for the politics section.

rabbitoh07

Reply #53 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 12:18pm

FriYAY wrote on Sep 18th, 2012 at 11:36am:

QLD = 2 teams
NSW = 2 teams
SA = 2 teams
WA = 2 teams
Plus all the VIC teams

A game in NZ next year.

Yeah right.  Teams in NSW and QLD?!?!  As if that will ever happen!!  If they did exist they would only be watched by sad, loser refugees from Melbourne.

BTW: Remind us - who won the last AFL World Cup again?

Reply #54 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 12:25pm

rabbitoh07 wrote on Sep 18th, 2012 at 12:18pm:
Teams in NSW and QLD?!?!  As if that will ever happen!!

lol.

FriYAY

Reply #55 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 12:26pm

rabbitoh07 wrote on Sep 18th, 2012 at 12:18pm:
FriYAY wrote on Sep 18th, 2012 at 11:36am:

QLD = 2 teams
NSW = 2 teams
SA = 2 teams
WA = 2 teams
Plus all the VIC teams

A game in NZ next year.

Yeah right.  Teams in NSW and QLD?!?!  As if that will ever happen!!  If they did exist they would only be watched by sad, loser refugees from Melbourne.

BTW: Remind us - who won the last AFL World Cup again?

Oh i see, you are deliberately being a moron - continue, you seem adept at it. Cool

Reply #56 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 5:55pm

FriYAY wrote on Sep 18th, 2012 at 10:23am:
Hawks V's Swans GF?

Hawks will beat Adelaide.

Swans/Magpies 50/50, maybe slight edge to swans due to rest and home groud, though the Pies have the wood on them.

Cool

Go Bloods. Wink

accurate assessment
point is, hawks should easily thrash crows, should be able to rest some players a bit in 2nd half,
get buddy off once the games won.

pies and swans, probably be a close one, pies seem to be carrying too many injuries, daisy looks slower,

swans should win.

grand final,  hawks midfield just too slick,
goodes is a champ but his legs must be getting tired, he's carried them for quite a while.

my prediction is a hawks annihilation of their opponent in the  GF.
havent seen a team so dominant for a while.

the nrl is much closer,  i honestly couldnt split storm, manly and dogs.  will enjoy both codes.

i slightly prefer nrl being a traditional qlder but the video ref is ruining the sport. what a debacle last week Cry Cry

Reply #57 - Sep 18th, 2012 at 6:56pm

Although the Hawks look good nothing is certain in football.....Adelaide have the potential to lift and Collingwood cannot be underestimated if they can get past Sydney.....The Hawks are favorites but not unbeatable!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

FriYAY

Reply #58 - Sep 19th, 2012 at 4:29pm

philperth2010 wrote on Sep 18th, 2012 at 6:56pm:
Although the Hawks look good nothing is certain in football.....Adelaide have the potential to lift and Collingwood cannot be underestimated if they can get past Sydney.....The Hawks are favorites but not unbeatable!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Ergo, if the Swans get past the Magpies, they can't be underestimated.

Go Bloods Smiley

Amadd

Mo

Reply #59 - Sep 19th, 2012 at 11:09pm

Yeah I'll be going for a Hawks/Swans GF, it looks the most likely.
And hopeful of a swans win if they play a decent brand of footy, otherwise I hope they get flogged.

FriYAY

Reply #60 - Sep 24th, 2012 at 10:00am

I'm Swans, the missus is Hawks.

Someone aint getting a root this Saturday night!!

Wink Grin Grin

Go Bloods  Smiley

Reply #61 - Sep 24th, 2012 at 12:01pm

Times running out for the hawks to choke.

Reply #62 - Sep 24th, 2012 at 1:03pm

well coached side sydney.

if it was hawks v pies i'd be very confident.
hawks should still do it.
roughead was quiet, he should fire.

saw gary jack in the crowd for sydney.  there's a blast from the past

Reply #63 - Sep 26th, 2012 at 6:13pm

Hawthorn by 5 points???

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #64 - Sep 26th, 2012 at 6:19pm

The footy gods appeared to me in a vision, and gave me a message:

Hawks choke.

So, I have been expecting them to choke for the last few weeks, but it hasn't happened.  That leaves this week....

But the footy gods work in mysterious ways.  I, as a mere mortal interpreted the message as being an on-field choke...but what if it was more literal?  The players must be extra cautious when eating - choking and losing the grand final is devastating enough, but choking on your dinner and losing your life is much, much worse.  I don't wish that on anyone, so in the interests of saving lives, I really hope Swans win this weekend.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #65 - Sep 28th, 2012 at 11:22pm

I'll be going for the Swawks.

It's gonna be a really crappy day for footy, so hopefully it's a draw and we'll get a better match next week.

However, considering the terrible record the Swans have at the "G" (one win, one draw from the past 15), I'll pick the Hawks by 37pts.
« Last Edit: Sep 28th, 2012 at 11:34pm by Amadd »  

Reply #66 - Sep 29th, 2012 at 10:14am

FriYAY wrote on Sep 24th, 2012 at 10:00am:

Wink Grin Grin

Go Bloods  Smiley

Who's the other one rooting then?

FriYAY

Reply #67 - Sep 29th, 2012 at 12:17pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 29th, 2012 at 10:14am:
FriYAY wrote on Sep 24th, 2012 at 10:00am:

Wink Grin Grin

Go Bloods  Smiley

Who's the other one rooting then?

Why did the man jump over the fence?

Because he fell in a hole.

Reply #68 - Sep 30th, 2012 at 10:51am

Well played Sydney.....Very disappointing from the Hawks!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

FriYAY

Reply #69 - Sep 30th, 2012 at 12:47pm

CHEER CHEER THE RED AND THE WHITE!!!

Awesome grand final, awesome win.

Me happy man  Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley

GO BLOODS

Wink Wink Wink

Reply #70 - Oct 1st, 2012 at 7:14pm

philperth2010 wrote on Sep 30th, 2012 at 10:51am:
Well played Sydney.....Very disappointing from the Hawks!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Told ya theyd choke.

FriYAY

Reply #71 - Oct 4th, 2012 at 11:46am

Cheer cheer the Red and the White Smiley