HERE YOU BLUDGERS CROOK & NAILS READ THIS (Read 1964 times)
FRED.

HERE YOU BLUDGERS CROOK & NAILS READ THIS
Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:10am

The outgoing owner of a Melbourne bus company has rewarded staff with cash gifts totalling tens of millions of dollars.

When Ken Grenda sold his bus company for $400 million, he wanted to thank his almost 2,000 staff members for their hard work.

The amount given to each staff member is based on their length of service.

Some workers received more than $100,000 each.

The owner's son and the company's managing director, Scott Grenda, says his father was sad to sell the business and wanted to express his gratitude to staff.

"You know we've got employees that stretch over 40 years so it is a pretty nice thing to do," he said.

One bus driver, John, says Ken Grenda has been a great man to work for.

"He is a generous person and a true gentleman," he told ABC local radio.

The company has been bought by transport operator Ventura.

Topics:human-interest, melbourne-3000

First posted February 01, 2012 07:40:16

Contact Stephanie March

More stories from Victoria

Search ABC News

Featured Video

Video The ABC's Adrian Raschella on all the action at the inaugural AACTA awards in Sydney where Red Dog won the gong for best film.

Video Republican voters in Florida are expected to pick Mitt Romney as the man to go against Barack Obama in the US presidential election.

Video The ABC's Nick Grimm looks at how the most popular social networking website Facebook is going public for the first time.

Got a news tip?

If you have inside knowledge of a topic in the news, contact the ABC News Online Investigative Unit.

Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

« Last Edit: Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:20am by FRED. »  
FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au  

Re: HERE YOU BLUDGERS READ THIS
Reply #1 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:12am

OK. Read it.

Good on him.

But fail to see how it makes me a bludger.....

bobbythefap1

Listen now to the rain
Reply #2 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:16am

Arent 'bludgers' usually told to go work at mcdonalds or whatever.. Cant see them doing this there or at any of the major employers in this country

A day without sunshine is like night.

FRED.

Reply #3 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:19am

Kat wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:12am:
OK. Read it.

Good on him.

SORRY KAT ITS MENT FOR CROOK AND NAILS   LOL

FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au  

Reply #4 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:26am

FRED. wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:19am:
OK. Read it.

Good on him.

Heheh, no worries.

It's good to see, though, that the bloke valued his employees that much.

Must be a good place to work, too, I'll bet.

Reply #5 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 1:10pm

OK. Read it.

Good on him.

So what is your point dumbarse ??

For a change try and explain it using more words and less emoticons this time Cheesy LOL

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #6 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 1:11pm

Kat wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 11:26am:
OK. Read it.

Good on him.

Heheh, no worries.

It's good to see, though, that the bloke valued his employees that much.

Must be a good place to work, too, I'll bet.

Contrast that to CEOS greed lining their pockets with millions whilst retrenching 100's of workers Sad

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Re: HERE YOU BLUDGERS CROOK & NAILS READ THIS
Reply #7 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 1:30pm

All those bus drivers could have been a bunch of bludgers. Maybe its a 'who ya know' business and thus I wonder why the Bus Company had to sell in the first place? Poor performance, unable to compete.
Hell, the owner probably paid off all his staff because they hooked him up with young teenage girls they would 'pick up' along some 'route'. Reminds me of the Cronulla-Sutherland Rugby League club and how their CEO/Manager was such a 'mate' by turning a blind eye, while all the other staff did the dirty work.
No wonder they are in dire straights financially and even the Sutherland Club further west won't bother to bail them out.
I'm also a C/S Sharks supporter.

So me thinks, having worked many a job in this country - the ones that get the 'easy' money in this country ARE THE BLUDGERS.

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #8 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 1:36pm

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 1:30pm:
All those bus drivers could have been a bunch of bludgers. Maybe its a 'who ya know' business and thus I wonder why the Bus Company had to sell in the first place? Poor performance, unable to compete.Hell, the owner probably paid off all his staff because they hooked him up with young teenage girls they would 'pick up' along some 'route'. Reminds me of the Cronulla-Sutherland Rugby League club and how their CEO/Manager was such a 'mate' by turning a blind eye, while all the other staff did the dirty work.
No wonder they are in dire straights financially and even the Sutherland Club further west won't bother to bail them out.
I'm also a C/S Sharks supporter.

So me thinks, having worked many a job in this country - the ones that get the 'easy' money in this country ARE THE BLUDGERS.

Offer far too good to turn down???

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Reply #9 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:42pm

Sold to the evil Ventura for a quick buck? What now for the vulnerable employees?

Reply #10 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:47pm

do you think crook missed that headline???.. or maybe he only likes the worst boss in the world and another company find for being mean and nasty! kind of  stories..

I thought this was a wonderful thing... and good luck to them some had been with him 40 years..

so you miserable lefties who do nothing but criticize anyone who is a boss eat your heart out...

its noticeable none of them are on here praising this guy

Reply #11 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:48pm

freediver wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:42pm:
Sold to the evil Ventura for a quick buck? What now for the vulnerable employees?

see what I mean... according to the news.. all employees are safe it went with the deal..

so there..

Reply #12 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:53pm

For now. I hope crook keeps an eye on things and keeps us updated. I bet you the new owners replace the decent coffee with instant.

Reply #13 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 9:10pm

cods wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:47pm:
do you think crook missed that headline???.. or maybe he only likes the worst boss in the world and another company find for being mean and nasty! kind of  stories..

I thought this was a wonderful thing... and good luck to them some had been with him 40 years..

so you miserable lefties who do nothing but criticize anyone who is a boss eat your heart out...

its noticeable none of them are on here praising this guy

I did.

Twice. Wink Wink Smiley

Reply #14 - Feb 1st, 2012 at 10:36pm

freediver wrote on Feb 1st, 2012 at 8:42pm:

who in their right mind would pay 400 million for a bus company ??

that's as bad as Telstra paying 600 million for the fricken Trading Post rag Sad Who reads the trading post these days when  everyone is buying and selling on ebay etc !!